Powerpuff Girls Z (TV Series 2006–2019) Poster

(2006–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A disappointing adaptation of the original
homey10415 November 2012
When I heard that PPG was going to be turn into an anime I was like "Oh hell yeah!!!" cause I could already imagine what a PPG anime would have been like and how cool it would be compare to the original show but after the show premiered and after 26 episodes into it my enthusiasm had went from skepticism to disappointment because honestly... PPGZ isn't what I imagined nor was I expecting as an anime style PPG series.

Compare to the original this version is nothing short but childish, ridicules, illogical and well, once again... Disappointing! It ignores the traits & essence that made the original series great in the first place to the point that the show was more on comedy and less on action rather than being a perfect balance of both as the original show. For the main characters themselves, they were portrayed very different than the original counterparts in terms of characteristics/personalities not to mention they came off as being less powerful than their original counterparts.

I highly wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is a hardcore fan of the PPG, it won't be worth the look! In edition, I would advise to just stick with the original show because this one will only make the one that it is loosely based on look much better in comparison.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL POWERPUFF GIRLS AND DEFINITIONLY THE REBOOT (in my opinion)
kieransinghmawee5 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Powerpuff girls z is a great show as the original is very action oriented and to so much I Just can not get into it at all ,don't get me wrong powerpuff girls is not bad not bad at all it just is not for me do not miss the chance to watch it is a great show and could be for you. On the other hand Powerpuff girls 2016 is s piece crap ,except one episode and the movie (TTG vs PPG), this show is to comedy oriented and it doesn't only fail miserably but it also is to comedy oriented for me to even watch a few episode ,just don't watch PPG 2016. Both shows are not complete bad and Powerpuff girls has a lot of good jokes as PPG 2016 has a few ok fight scene ,their is just not that many and they are just barley ok.

But when I saw Powerpuff girl Z I instantly fell in love with this show and the show has to be the number-one under rated show ever. You know what I just said about this being the number-one under rated show ever ,yea, I take that back it is the most under rated anything drawn with the game SpongeBob Squarepants battle for the bikini bottom. This show is amazing it is the best edition of all of the powerpuff girls the art style is 100 x better compered to the original and 1,000 x better compered to the piece of crap we call PPG 2016 I would the art style a 10\10 ,the shows art style just works with the show.

The animation is amazing it is stunning and very flowing and I would rate it 10\10. The characters are all amazing ,and it a better plot and is defiantly funnier and it lovely in my opinion. But this cartoon is so special to me because unlike 99.99% of other cartoon this show my cry tears of sadness and happiness and pretty much every other has never mad me cry.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It is a good concept,but was not used well
christalks88119 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
People have heard of Cartoon Network's Powerpuff Girls, so shouldn't this one be as popular too,right? At first, I liked it, but now that I tried to watch it again, it just gets worse. Well let me start off. The Good Part: the origin story from where they came from was a good idea like starting off as regular teenagers (I found out that they are 13 in a website I forgot) instead of being created by a guy that mixed random things to create life. The design of the costumes improved a lot from the original. The music (Japanese version) was really memorable and fresh. The dubbed version sounded like it was meant for a Japanese Power Rangers transformation theme. The relationship with the girls,the professor and his son are strong. The Bad Part: the girls' interest is filled with clichés. Blossom likes comics, Bubbles likes fashion, and Buttercup likes sports. Nothing special is from them. Their powers make no sense. Blossom's power (yo-yo) and Buttercup's power (hammer) are OK, but Bubbles' power (bubble stick) is stupid. I know it makes sense for Bubbles to have that, but it would not hurt someone unless if it hits the eyes. The idea of common sense is altered to be something stupid altogether. In the show they get powers from a source called the light z rays from chemical z. The results are that they get new clothing, a toy stolen from an innocent kid that used to have a regular version of it. Some powers we get are flying and breathing in space.The flying part is from their shoes. All these powers are tools (like Batman) not like having supernatural powers (like the original Powerpuff Girls and Superman). By getting powers from chemical z, it would make more sense if they were supernatural powers right? These girls are basically weak and would fit in the supernatural category just fine. The audience seems shortened. In the original, I felt like everyone can enjoy it fine. The anime just makes it just for kids if you are bothered by their common sense. If you are an adult and you like it, good for you. The people in Townsville are stupid. The original had this, but that was used and somehow was funny. PPGZ makes it stupidly annoying like this one part where they can not tell the difference between 3 regular girls that look exactly like the Powerpuff Girls (the only difference is the clothing) and the actual Powerpuff Girls. I am sure that someone would notice by now, but they don't. Their voices sound like a little girls voice,not a 13 year old. The only girl that sounds close to a 13 year old girl is Blossom. Now time for the villains. The Amoeba Boys and the Gangreen Gang are not really different (just one girl was added). Princess Morbucks is not threatening and Mojo Jojo is too. Fuzzy Lumpkins sounded dull. Him is more of a clown than a devil. The Rowdyruff Boys suck. Their powers seem like it came from a 5 year old girl telling the makers how disgusting boys are. I can't spoil more about them. The only good villain was Sedusa. Her alter ego was an innocent girl called Annie that likes a boy called Jason, but is distracted by fashion and if she is pretty or not. Their relationship is really strong there. There are other original villains, but most of them suck by using everyday items as villains which is so stupid and dumb. The items aren't even threatening.Their relationship with PPGZ is horrible. They talk about how the villains are bad which a 5 year old can already grasp. If there was one thing they can improve on, then it should have the charm of Sailor Moon and the greatness of the classic (and maybe as dark and more realistic like the Dark Knight Trilogy?). If you like the classic PPG and watch it a lot and want to watch it, you would probably hate it. As for the rest, watch it only once.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is lame Warning: Spoilers
I don't even like the original "The Powerpuff Girls" cartoon, but I think that this anime series is a terrible remake. I mean, it somehow managed to be much worse than the original cartoons having dumber characters and even less funny jokes.

The new versions of most of the characters are way more annoying than their original counterparts, and the new characters are pretty boring and clichéd. The animation is extremely poor and the new designs are ugly and uninspired, being nothing more than an incredibly generic magical-girl show.

This anime series is so bad, that I would rather watch the original "Powerpuff Girls" than this drivel.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What could have been regarding Hyper Blossom and her two friends
siratlas19686 August 2015
I hoped that this anime television series will be dubbed by Cartoon Network Studios with the voices of Cathy Cavadini, Tara Strong, Elizabeth Daily, Tom Kane, Tom Kenny etc. But we got The Ocean Group dub instead. Why? I have no idea, but it would be better if this anime television series was dubbed by Cartoon Network Studios with the voices from "The Powerpuff Girls" (1998). I wonder. Was this anime television series originally intended to be dubbed by Cartoon Network Studios with the voices of the original Powerpuff Girls? When I discovered on Wikipedia that The Ocean Group is going to dub this anime television series, I was really shocked. So from which men such decision came and why? Also, I think that The Ocean Group dub of this anime television series caused "Xiaolin Chronicles" (2013) with the voices of Canadian voice talent residing in Los Angeles. If this anime wasn't dubbed in Vancouver, the "Xiaolin Showdown" performers like Jeff Bennett as Clay would reprise their roles for "Xiaolin Chronicles" (2013).
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A decent adaptation of the original Powerpuff Girls
Stompgal_8728 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I discovered this cartoon last year on Wikipedia and I was thrilled to see that episodes of this show have been uploaded on YouTube.

Momoko (Hyper Blossom), Miyako (Rolling Bubbles) and Kaoru (Powered Buttercup) are three ordinary 13-year-old girls who have to divide their time between saving the world and keeping up with their studies at middle school. One fateful day, a mysterious iceberg appears in Tokyo City and beams of black and white light start shooting from it. The three main girls transform after being hit by white light. When people,animals and objects are hit by black light, they become villains/monsters.

My favourite things in this cartoon are the transformation sequences, the return of many of the original supporting characters, the girls' unique weapons and cute new characters such as Peach (Profrssor Utonium's robotic talking dog) and Ken (Utonium's 8-year-old son). The worst thing about this cartoon is that it is currently shown in Japanese so I'll have to watch subtitled episodes on YouTube. I hope this show is dubbed in English one day. 8/10
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Two Words: Super Awesome
scorzine4 November 2013
I had no idea any anime adaption would be this worth watching. In fact, I find it even better than the show it was based on. Please note that I love both this and the Power Puff Girls from 1998, but I actually prefer the even more awesome Power Puff Girls Z. The story and design are creative, and the theme song? That's even better than the original. There is nearly nothing I don't like about this. However, I would only give this show 9/10 because it got cancelled very early on. In my opinion, this belongs on TV and needs to have more episodes made. Aside from that, Power Puff Girls Z is highly recommended for all who have seen Power Puff Girls and even those who haven't.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's Teen Titans Go, Only Somehow Even Dumber
ikrani1 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I am not a major fan of the original Powerpuff Girls cartoon. It could be really good at times, and I used to watch it while it aired, but I don't have anything much to say about it other than "It's good. It's not bad, it's not great, it's just 'good'."

By contrast, I have A LOT to say about this piece of sheit (referring to the English dub).

First: the animation. They have taken Craig McCraken's edged, distinctly "Powerpuff Girls" design and turned it into watered down anime. The character designs are boring and unmemorable (Mojo Jojo's the worst, with a design that clearly rips off Piccolo from Dragon Ball Z). The backgrounds look like they were made by a YouTube animator. Heck, I've seen web cartoons on YouTube with more professional looking animation.

Second: the characters. These are some of the most obnoxious, unfunny, zero-dimensional characters I have ever seen, and I've sat through episodes of Teen Titans Go. None of the Girls have any unique characteristics. They're not even simple archetypes. No, they are CARICATURES of archetypes: watered-down and completely interchangeable with one another. Oh, and did I mention this superhero show has NO SUPERHEROES?

Someone out there is calling foul on that statement. Let me elaborate. Would a superhero run away in terror (keywords are "in terror") at the first sign of villainy? Would a superhero allow a villain who admitted to breaking into their home walk away without a second thought? Would a superhero allow three disgusting boys to terrorize random people with their disgusting ways?

And now we get to the biggest sin of the show: the premise. It's the Teen Titans Go premise: "Beloved characters who used to take part in strong, entertaining stories are now reduced to comic relief and random shenanigans." Except here, it's done a million times worse. Not only do the Power Puff Girls have NO character, but they also have no SUPERPOWERS. Oh, sure, they can fly, and, yeah, they have those retarded toys that they use to pick away at an enemy, but the Girls themselves are WEEEEEAK.

For those of you who say, "It's a parody", no, it's not. It doesn't poke fun of the original show or Dragon Ball Z nor does it attempt to emulate either one in any way. So if it IS trying to be parody, that only adds another level of "FAIL" to the pile.

And for those who say, "It's for kids. Don't judge it too harshly", I have to ask: what the f**k do you let your kids watch? This? Out of all the amazing cartoons out there like Samurai Jack, Darkwing Duck, Peter Pan & The Pirates, Batman: The Animated Series, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Xiaolin Showdown, The Real Ghostbusters, Ed Edd 'n' Eddy, Justice League, and Animaniacs, THIS is what you want influencing your impressionable child? This concoction of idiocy and nobody-in-the-production-team-giving-a-crap? THIS?!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's not like Teen Titans Go
lastpal123416 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I think this cartoon Powerpuff Girls Z is not all that bad, to be honest I think this show is good. But if you didn't like the original Powerpuff Girls cartoon, I don't think you'd like Powerpuff Girls Z. Some people compare this to Teen Titans Go, I disagree Powerpuff girls Z has action like the original Powerpuff Girls and the girls fight evil and save Townsville like in the original Powerpuff girls. In Teen Titans Go the characters don't really fight enemies, they just sit and goof around, in original Teen Titans the characters fought evil, and saved the city. So, I think Powerpuff Girls Z is not like what happened to Teen Titans at all.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love the Powerpuff girls a.k.a. Whoop*** girls =/
Ayauna19943 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I believe the original PPG was absolutely the best. I was a 4 year old girl when it first came out. It was my replacement for Sailor Moon when it started to come off of the regular TV schedule. After being with the original PPG, it's kinda hard to see it change. It's like you've known the show for sooo long and all of a sudden someone comes up with a new one and they get so many characteristics out of place. PPGZ is basically Powerpuff girls mixed with Sailor Moon, what with the transformation and the super girly details. I can't say that I like PPGZ better, but I am going to say that it is an awesome show. I can't judge this show too much... I've only seen 3 episodes. It took me 2 years and a half to figure out about this show. All I can say is.. "You go Craig McCraken!". He is making quite a few famous cartoons. "Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup have dedicated their lives to fighting crime and the forces of evil!", Thank You Boomerang.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lovely Cure
w-0832328 March 2020
I like the ending song.Full of vital energy Just like them.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's very underrated
nameuser-798331 December 2019
That's it it's just really good seeing all the characters from the show in an anime form
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magical Puff Girls
camiacono-5311729 March 2018
This is sort of an oddball little gem among the fan base, PPGZ may seem like an unofficial fan film, but it not as bad as people make it out to be. It has it's own heart to it's story telling and while it does go against some cannon it doesn't feel cheap or half bake. The Magical Girl take on the Power-Puffs is already a fun idea and the more cartoony art style is a nice addition to the show's flare, the slice of life moments are nice and over all it's an insetting spin-off. But here's how I think It can be improved. Do what they Did with Ghost Stories but with The Power-Puff Girls Z, it be funny to see them squeeze in more jokes for an american audience and make it more welcoming to viewers unfamiliar with anime tropes and themes. It would also be done by the american voice cast, oddly enough the Current English dub was done by the ocean Group it was aired only on Cartoon Network Philippians for some reason. Overall it's worth checking out if your interested. Way better than just a 5 rating.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sub was better than the other two...
Ninetails199120 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
O.k. Just to clear things up, I *HATE* the original PPG. With a purple passion. So, hearing that there was a remake, well, I was less than thrilled. But, I tried it out, and... (Gulp. Do I have to say it?) I liked it. I started to watch all the episodes, but in Japanese, with the English subtitles.

But, I watched the English dub, and it sounded like they took a vacuum to their heads, and SUCKED THEIR Intelligence OUT! Granted, sometimes, it was cute, but... COME ON! Anyways, I'll give the *JAPANESE SUBTITLED VERSION* an eight out of ten. It was funny at some points. I guess that some remakes are better than the original. Some, not all, though!
6 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed