Gavin & Stacey (TV Series 2007– ) Poster

(2007– )

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
American loving British Comedy
cneidel15 January 2011
I must say that I have really started to like British Comedy. Gavin and Stacey has become my second favorite show behind the IT Crowd. I love some American shows like Seinfeld and All in the Family, but love watching and learning about the different cultures of British television. I just don't understand the 6 episodes per year for 3 years thing. I really need more of Gavin and Stacey as I'm just starting to really love it and it is already over. So much talent, character development, and plot only to be cut short by about 100 episodes. The show is really one of those shows that you just can forget about life for a while and have fun watching on the weekends. I find myself saying Lush, Cracking, and Hiya more times than I really want to say them. On the off chance that the stars of the show ever read these reviews please do everybody a favor and make more episodes. I see so many talented people think they can create something better, when the best thing they have ever done is right under their noses. I'm not sure the actors know what this show means to the true fans. We work hard each week and wait to watch the next episode. 20 is not enough and the story has not been told but only just started! This is a cannot miss for almost any fan of sitcoms. Do yourself a favor and spend about 8 hours watching all 20 episodes and you will be craving a 4th, 5th, and 6th season like the rest of us.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest comedy in years.
An absolutely superb comedy, top class acting and the writing is incredible. This truly is one of the greatest comedy series I have seen in years.

Following the relationship between Gavin (Matthew Horne: Teachers and Catherine Tate) and Stacey (Joanna Page) from their initial phone flirtation, to their wedding day and beyond into married life this programme is skillfully written by James Corden and Ruth Jones who also star as Gavin and Stacey's best friends Smithy and Nessa (who completely steal the show in my opinion.) Those who've given this show a poor rating obviously have no sense of humour and can't appreciate decent comedy!
38 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hugely refreshing
daftpunkparis30 April 2011
I bought the complete series of Gavin & Stacey in a box-set and could not stop watching it even though I wanted to delay watching the third and final season as it would mean that my viewing pleasure would be shortened.

Gavin & Stacey is a story centred on 2 individuals, their family and friends. It has a very simple storyline showing how the characters relate to one another in their ordinary day to day lives.

The romance between Gavin & Stacey aside, what I loved about the series is the friendship between Gavin & Smithy and Stacey and Vanessa. It is easy to identify with how the separate pairs of besties relate to each other and remain besties throughout the series despite their changing circumstances, like Gavin & Stacey getting married and each having to leave their hometowns and their besties at different points in the series.

I particularly liked how Vanesssa (played by Ruth Jones) is so tough and yet vulnerable. Vanessa also makes makes some very terse remarks in her Welsh tongue which cracked me up. I love the soundtrack, and how the characters relate through music (music by New Order, for one).

All the actors hold their own and both scriptwriters Ruth Jones and James Corden deserve the all accolades they have received for this series.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Decpetively good
paul2001sw-128 May 2008
In the 1980s, the most famous hit of writer John Sullivan was 'Only Fools and Horses', but what actually won bigger ratings was a gentler comedy drama he wrote about two people falling in love, 'Just Good Friends'. And in some ways, 'Gavin and Stacey', a low key hit, is the 'Just Good Friends' of our time. At initial acquaintance, it's not riotously funny, and it's certainly not savage (unlike 'Pulling', another BBC3 hit); but the more you watch it, the more you find yourself smiling throughout, simply because the world it depicts is unquestionably the real world: this, in a way that few other television programs are, is a story of contemporary life. The central role of Gavin is quite passive and non-comic: the other characters are one-part sitcom staple, one part modern cliché, but still original - the mix works, supporting by acting and direction which overplays nothing and stays true to the rhythms of the everyday. As such, it's a record for the historians of the future to judge our age by; but very much also a comedy for us to laugh at now.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very well written, Witty, well acted comedy - Very Rereshing
nicohovell19 July 2007
I must say I can't quite understand the previous reviewer, as I think they are on a different planet to anyone else and I felt compelled to put the record straight.

Gavin & Stacey is one of the best comedies I have seen in recent years. It features a wonderful cast and a brilliantly written script form Ruth Jones and James Cordon. The programme is set around Gavin (an Essex boy) and Stacey (a receptionist from Barry Island) who begin their relationship over the phone when they are at work.

Feedback from the series has been so good that a second series has already been commissioned.
52 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cringe like never before
crap-junkmail17 March 2008
Being Welsh this is a typically stereotypical view of the way we live out life in Wales. But we don't mind being the but of a joke every now and then. Particularly when the joke is as good as this.

I have often met like people like Nessa and Gwen (Nessa's character being taken to the extreme however) but where in the world did Bryn come from? There are characteristics of Bryn that I have seen in many elderly Welshmen I have met in the valleys and even in my own Grandfather who grew up on the edge on the Rhondda valleys, but Bryn as a whole is unfathomable to me. Such a brilliantly unique character of heart warming naivety and innocence (and horrendous cringe worthiness) that no explanation can accurately describe him.

I have to say that this series completely took me by surprise. I expected it to be completely over the top and totally removed from real life...... and it is. Having said that it works to such a degree that I urge you to try it out for yourselves.
33 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best comedy on television for a very long time
blakedw19 March 2008
This is an absolutely brilliant series with wonderful characters saying hugely funny things. I'm Welsh and I have never seen anything which captures the rhythm of the way Welsj people speak like this, but the Essex characters are just as good in their ways. This isn't just the best comedy the BBC has done for a long time; it's the best series of any kind for a very long time. Everyopne will have their favourites amongst the characters but I defy anyone who has ever been west of the Severn Bridge not to see Bryn as the ultimate hero. Lots of the success lies in the timing, because the actors don't stand around for hours trying to milk laughs. All in all a very tidy show.
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic. The BBC finally produce some comedy worth watching!
tank-bullock6 March 2008
I recently caught the entire series on BBC3 back to back in one evening and must confess, I was laughing out loud more than any BBC comedy for a very long time.

James Corden and Ruth Jones should be commended for writing a show and not making themselves the central characters a-la Ricky Gervais, Steve Coogan and Co.

Great music throughout the series and some genuinely touching moments as well as some slightly 'blue' ones but all in all it is a very refreshing step in the right direction for the Beeb.

Really looking forward to the second series and finding out what Uncle Bryn and Stacey's gay brother did on that boat trip!
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Too clever for some
alunthomas21 January 2008
This was an outstanding series - won a few awards as well. This is Welsh humour and needs to be listened to so that you understand the joke. Many might need slapstick for humour but this picks up on the way many Welsh families are intertwined and how the matriarchal and patriarchal figures are often figures of humour. Ruth Jones demonstrates real skill in playing such a part and the cast is full of home grown talent.

They must be watched in order - each episode runs naturally on but will spoil the previous episode if watched out-of-synch.

Roll on series 2
45 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Still the funniest thing on TV
hicky55919 April 2008
I cannot understand the previous comments either. This is one of the funniest 'feel nice' programmes I have ever seen. Perhaps it will only appeal to the British humour, but I doubt it. Ruth Jones is simply the best or in her own words 'Tidy'. The writing by Jones and Corden is ingenious and appeals to all age groups, the well deserved their awards. I watched the first series whilst it was showing for the first time, I watched it again during the BBC3 Gavin and Stacey evening, and even bought the DVD. (Something which I don't usually do) The second series is now being shown on BBC3 and it is just as good as the first. Lets hope there are more to come. If the BBC keep coming up with programmes like this then I will never moan about paying my TV licence again!
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gavin & Stacey
jboothmillard4 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I had never watched this before when it was broadcast on television, but I had heard about how popular and critically acclaimed it was, so when I was able to I watched the whole lot in one go. Basically level-headed Gavin Shipman (The Catherine Tate Show's British Comedy Award nominated Mathew Horne) from Billericay, Essex, and bubbly Stacey West (Love Actually's British Comedy Award nominated Joanna Page) from Barry in the Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, have been talking romantically on the phone for six months, and they finally arrange a face to face meeting. Gavin lives with his parents, down-to-earth father Michael 'Mick' (EastEnders' Larry Lamb) and house-proud, over-protective and reputation caring Pamela Andrea 'Pam' (Clockwise's Alison Steadman), and spends time with his oldest and closest best friend, Neil 'Smithy' Smith (The History Boys' BAFTA and twice British Comedy Award winning (and nominated), and British Comedy Award nominated James Corden). Stacey meanwhile lives with her caring widowed mother Gwen West (Being Human's Melanie Walters), gets frequent visits from protective and jolly uncle Bryn (The Big Fat Quiz of the Year's BAFTA and British Comedy Award nominated Rob Brydon), and spends time with best friend Vanessa Shanessa 'Nessa' Jenkins (Fat Friends' British Comedy Award winning (and twice nominated) Ruth Jones). Throughout the series we see the key moments of the relationship, the first meeting, the first kiss, meeting each other's families, becoming engaged, getting married, finding a house, briefly splitting, looking for new jobs and trying to conceive. The series also consists on the full family coming together for the small and non dramatic events, e.g. playing a pub quiz, having a takeaway, having a night out, a day at the beach, and the same goes for the conversations, realistically simple and non significant, but there are also the meaningful occasions, such as weddings, christenings, birthday parties and Christmas. While Gavin and Stacey provide the emotional core of the show, there are also the smallest subplots, such as Smithy and Nessa have a contrasting relationship, filled with dislike and one-night stands, one of which creating a baby that forces them together, and when Nessa becomes engaged to Dave Coaches (Ali G Indahouse's Steffan Rhodri) there is a big conclusion to their relationship in the end. Other subplots in the story that create other interest and humour are Pam trying to convince everyone that she is vegetarian when of course she is not and is desperate to keep up the pretence and not eat meat, which is hard, Bryn has many encounters with Stacey's older brother Jason (Robert Wilfort) who is gay, and they often discuss something that happened on a fishing trip between them. Also starring Russell Tovey as Budgie and Pam Ferris as Cath. This programme is really funny when it wants to be, but it is also brilliant for being so simple with many lovable characters, not least Smithy with his fun-loving and cool persona, and Nessa with her catchphrases "What's occurring?", "How's it going', alright" and "Oh!", the relationship concept building up quickly by each episode is clever, and the scripting by Corden and Jones is fantastic, I would highly recommend everyone watch this highly entertaining British romantic comedy drama. Note not just the Christmas special, but also the fantastic number single made for Comic Relief by Bryn, Nessa and Sir Tom Jones, "Islands In The Stream", and other great Comic Relief appearances by Smithy. It won the British Comedy Awards for Best Television Comedy, Best New TV Comedy (Scripted) and Best TV Comedy, and it won the National Television Award for Most Popular Comedy Programme. Very good!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Warm, sweet and funny. An absolute winner.
bloodhound4221 April 2008
Gavin & Stacey is proof that a comedy with heart can easily win out over the inundation of over-hyped, charmless sitcoms from the US.

This is the type of show that perhaps the US could produce, if the show had only two writers and less than a small army of producers. And of course, the series would only run for six or seven episodes. Americans just can't seem to make a series that doesn't outstay its welcome.

Instead, here we have a triumph: an adult comedy series that is clever without being mean-spirited and sarcastic, filled with wonderful characters and wonderful writing.

A winner all round! I can't wait to see more.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely brilliant (I'm not going to lie to you!)
IloveStarsky6 May 2012
This came on the telly when we were having a more stressful time than usual at home, when the need for light relief on the box is essential. It does not have a deep complex plot or a constant supply of gags, the humour is in watching the characters do their stuff. I guess it wont appeat to some people but we love it and have watched it over and over. All the acting is brilliant, all the characters are well drawn and quirky in their own way, and the joy is in watching how these characters will behave in this week's episode. The humour is very subtle, never laboured and we have noticed things we missed even after watching several times. This wont appeal to everyone and I think if after giving a couple of episodes a go you haven't enjoyed it you probably wont. But if you like stuff thats not quite mainstream and a bit different, and want something you can watch again and again to lift your spirits, then I cant recommend this enough. We reckon that the character of Ness could be a category of her own in the British TV quiz, 'mastermind'. If you see it you'll get what I mean.....
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cast are legends
cambo24326 March 2008
Gavin and Stacey is the best programme on TV at the moment. The cast are absolute legends and the casting team could not have picked better at all. Alison Steadman has me in stitches and Rob Brydon singing James Blunt has to be a classic. The whole cast is brilliant....i don't know how you get any work done. Keep up the good work guys you are fantastic!!!!!!

Gavin and Stacey is the best programme on TV at the moment. The cast are absolute legends and the casting team could not have picked better at all. Alison Steadman has me in stitches and Rob Brydon singing James Blunt has to be a classic. The whole cast is brilliant....i don't know how you get any work done. Keep up the good work guys you are fantastic!!!!!!
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beyond superb
indole_ring2512 April 2010
If you've never seen this show, but you've read the premise and seen a clip or two, let me guess what you're thinking...... (1) The premise sounds a bit flimsy especially for three series' worth (2) The clips aren't very funny (3) It's the BBC, meh meh meh. I thought all these things too. I cannot stress too strongly how utterly, completely wrong I was. Gavin & Stacey is so good it's stunning. The writing is glorious - how can they create such characters? They're carved from real life and yet they just spring into your living room, it involves you right from the start, you feel part of it. And the performances.....! Effortless! Not a single moment is wasted in any episode, every character from the mains right down to characters that only appear once.... it's rich, powerful, hilariously funny, heart-wrenching and completely lovable. It will make you glad you're alive.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An original and contemporary romantic comedy drama from the BBC
Stompgal_877 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
My younger sister (she's 19) and I (aged 22) both love this series. Before I watched the third series on BBC One, I saw the majority of series two episode four where Gavin and Stacey go house-hunting and have an argument at a bowling alley when it was repeated on BBC Three. My care home support staff gave me the first two series of the show on DVD for Christmas last year. I'd already heard of Ruth Jones and Rob Brydon before I watched this series because they were previously in 'Little Britain.' Now I've heard of most of the cast because of this show and I have also seen Joanna Page as the woman in the simulated sex scenes in 'Love Actually.'

The third series of the programme was very up-to-date (with references to Twitter and the recession). One of my favourite places to visit as a child, Barry Island in South Wales, features strongly in most episodes and it's an instantly recognisable place for those who have been there before. Other places in the series I could recognise were London's Leicester Square and the Severn Bridge tolling booths. A TV series revolving around the relationship of an Essex boy and a Barry girl is one of the most original ideas I've ever heard of.

There is a modern soundtrack throughout the series. Songs to feature in the programme include 'Don't Look Back Into the Sun' by the Libertines, 'Brianstorm' by Arctic Monkeys, 'Pencil Full of Lead' by Paolo Nutini and 'Wisemen' by James Blunt. The theme tune 'Run' by Stephen Fretwell is so beautiful I had to download it from iTunes.

The only downsides of the show were not getting to see Gavin and Stacey's child (due to Stacey falling regnant in the very last episode) and the train station where Gavin proposes to Stacey looks nothing like London Paddington, despite its signs. 9/10.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where's the Salad?
laurenoxley_9617 June 2011
From great phrases to great characters. Gavin and Stacey has it all. The characters are all unique and have a story. The first episode, starts by the two main characters, Gavin Shipman ( Mathew Horne) Stacey West ( Joanna Page) talking on the phone at work, the characters are meeting up in London, after their relationship has blossomed online. They meet and the characters instantly bond. By the second episode, Gavin has proposed. To which Stacey's widowed mother Gwen and uncle Bryn (Rob Brydon) aren't to pleased about, has Stacey has been engaged 5 times before!. On the other hand, Gavin's parents Pam Shipman ( Alison Steadman) and Mick Shipman (Larry Lamb) are really happy about and plan to meet Stacey's family. With laughs love and excitement, Gavin and Stacey is the perfect programme to watch and is suitable for all.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is British Life. (Anglo-Welsh version)
ian-onions24 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I have just watched the 2008 Christmas special. I feel a mixture of emotions, but the strongest is the oddest, but perhaps the most important. If any of you foreign (not British) followers of the IMDb have any queries about what life is like for the majority of us Brits-THIS IS WHAT IT'S LIKE.

Not glamorous, not repulsive. We don't live in squalour, (mostly): we don't live in mouldy mansions (predominantly). For some reason, I care what the world thinks about my country and its peoples: and I inevitably think about how we are presented in films and T.V and the rest of it.

We aren't a bunch of stuck-up racists. We aren't all bad-toothed creeps. We aren't all posh, manipulative back-stabbing Hollywood criminals.

We're just people. Screwed-up, sensible; kind and cruel. Loving yet vicious. Hot and cold, yet sweet and sour. Gavin and Stacey is the one series I feel I can show to the world and say; "If you want to know what we Brits are like...that's pretty much it!" And if you don't like it....your problem.

Also, Ruth Jones is Lush.

Tidy!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It is just unacceptable!
tilucionafinlandia29 December 2009
The English have done it again, they do this marvelous TV show and give us about 6 episodes a year, it is unacceptable that I will have to wait till the end of next year to watch some more "Gavin and Stacey"! It is the same thing with "Peep Show" and "The IT crowd".

They should do it like the American and give us more, I couldn't get enough of it, I could watch these show all day long.

Gavin and Stacey is the finest comedy, with lots of hidden(and not so much hidden) jokes, I surely would understand much more if I were English or even more familiar with them culture, but nonetheless it is fantastic.

Blood hell, give us more.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Gavin And Stacey
contrarygirl-115 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Gavin And Stacey is a brilliant show. One of the best UK sitcoms of this decade, revolving around the general theme of a long distance relationship, quick marriage and how the distance between Essex (Gavin's home) and Barry, Wales (Stacey's home) underlining that situation – us being treated to the idiosyncrasies of their rival clans along the way. Two strong supporting characters are Nessa and Smiffy (Ruth Jones and James Corden – the show's writers), who try to face up to the life lessons an unplanned pregnancy brings, whilst Rob Brydon shines as stand-out character Bryn (Stacey's ever-present Uncle). There are some poignant moments along the way. The last episode of the first series, where Bryn reads a note from Stacey's deceased father, is very moving indeed. Some moments are a little bit too cloying for my liking (the last episode of series 2 featuring far more situation than comedy), but on the whole I've thoroughly enjoyed the series.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
'Bread' was a hit too, and that was just as lame as this.
justincward22 June 2008
The BBC seems to have commissioned some very conservative stuff (ie soft writing about soft targets) for the main channels lately. I suppose 'G&S' comes under the banner of 'regional comedy', like 'Bread', or - sorry, but I can't think of any other gag-free, mawkish, undemanding sub-soap operas at the moment. Apart from 'My Family', that is. But even though you can see the payoffs in that coming a mile away, at least 'My Family' makes a stab at witty dialogue and plot structure. 'Gavin and Stacey' fans, however, seem content to laugh at people 'just like their Nan' picking their noses, usually in slow motion, though maybe that's just the leaden writing giving that impression. These are supposed to be real characters, are they? Yes, and very, very ordinary they are too. Presumably a nation brought up on 'Bob the Builder' and 'Thomas the Tank Engine' considers a Welsh or Essex accent the height of in-depth characterisation. Alison Steadman deserves particular excoriation for her patronising caricature of somebody 'common'. G&S is anodyne mush for the self-loathing masses, who voted for it in droves and only proved how much they love to be patronised and mocked behind their backs. If you happen to be a Martian visitor reading this (and the contradictions this review will no doubt draw, assuming anybody reads this far) please remember that G&S isn't universally popular, so don't judge the whole planet too harshly. For current observational British comedy with any bite at all, try 'Pulling' instead.
20 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I'm not going in there bareback
joe-cope-74-82666518 June 2019
Absolutely banging tv series, which has only become a nostalgic part of my life like the only fools and horses. Characters and their relationships with one another make this real life comedy drama a peach to watch. Probably watch it every Sunday hungover with the wife. My only annoyance if Gavin's and Stacey themselves other than that no complaints.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest show ever
iescottycg2 May 2018
Warm, loving, funny, caring and all round based well natured. More shows like this please
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My absolute favourite.
sophie_d6 June 2016
Gavin and Stacey is a programme I'll always hold close to my heart. It is funny, romantic, witty, entertaining and has amazing characters. James Corden and Ruth Jones put their great minds together and wrote this genius series. They are both outrageous and subtle with their writing and the characters are definitely relatable. I could watch it all day every day and it always cheers me up. I remember watching it as a family when it came out in 2007.. That's 9 years ago and I still love it. Also I'm from Essex like Gavin and I like that they chose a different side of Essex (than some programmes) to make comedy with. Brilliant!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I feel sorry for anyone who hasn't encountered this show yet.
karamedina3 June 2015
This is a WONDERFUL comedy, and I can't recommend it enough! The very first episode had me hooked, and I finished the entire series in pretty much one sitting. Smithy and Nessa are my favorites, they're completely lovable characters and I think Jones and Corden were at their prime for this entire show. As someone who isn't Welsh or English, I liked how the slapstick and deadpan comedy still made everything so relatable and even though some of the obscure references went over my head, I still think every inch of it was ace. Every episode guarantees a good time, and some hearty laughs. It took me a while to warm up to some of the supporting characters though, but I think all in all they're collectively brilliant, and this show deserves to have more reruns aired on regular TV! Absolute must-see. Please give it a chance! It is very much comedy gold and is SO MUCH BETTER than most of the crap that passes for comedy on TV nowadays (ex., later seasons of HIMYM, blech). Have fun seeing it!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed