Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,047 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Brilliant, Mind-Bending Storytelling
call_me_grudge31 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
From what I understand, Fox was embarrassed they released a PG-13 Alien/Predator movie not so long ago. It was not well received by any means.

Not exactly sure where to go next, seeing as they thought Anderson was the best director for the franchise and they had produced a true sci-fi gem, Fox turned to it's small, but knowledgeable group of monkeys for answers.

These monkeys were by no means veterans of writing sci-fi flicks, but had seen Burton's Planet of the Apes remake and House of the Dead.

Their first task: hire actors. Fox gave them a reasonable budget but the monkeys wanted to save the money. They hired fifteen TV actors shortly after.

Now, the script. The monkeys wanted to save more of the budget so they wrote the movie themselves. Leaving out important aspects of the two franchises was the easy part. Thinking of great new lines for the general audience to remember years down the line - that was more difficult. They butted heads awhile and came up with a truly award-winning screenplay equipped with cliché characters, idiotic decisions an gaping plot holes.

Fox was pleased thus far with the results but wanted to see what was to become of the centerpieces to the film - the aliens and predators. The monkeys again wanted to save money in the budget so they decided to trash the great robotics used in the otherwise terrible AvP original and go with the man-in-the-suit Alien seen in the old films. The actors playing the aliens had trouble fitting into the suits as they weren't properly sized by the monkeys so they jiggled their plastic heads throughout the film with honor. As for the predators, the monkeys decided one predator was enough this time around (again, saving budget) to fight the hordes of aliens that seemingly come out of nowhere.

But what about the effects, you ask? Come on now, people. They may be monkeys but they clearly knew CGI would play a key role in the film. Without diving into the budget, the monkeys used a standard Final Cut program and cut and pasted some very nice fire and spark effects throughout. Putting red and green filters over the camera lens provided some excellent Predator visions.

The setting was something the monkeys thought long and hard about. If this was to be on Earth, in Colorado of all places, they needed to make it realistic. This was where they admitted they might have made a mistake. See, the monkeys didn't have proper training in this department so they thought turning the lights off in the city and having the movie play out in the dead of night and in the rain was the right thing to do. They simply forgot people like to see the creatures instead of looking at shadows and rain the whole film. To add insult to injury, the monkeys accidentally filmed all the fight scenes incredibly close so no one could see what was fighting or who it was. But again, rookie mistake.

The rating. Fox told the monkeys to make the movie R-rated. That was easy. Without showing how many of the injuries or deaths actually happened, the monkeys made a habit of showing the carnage after the fact. It was simple: the viewers got the gore they desired and the monkeys didn't have to film the majority of action shots involving that violence.

Some of the actors originally had questions concerning the screenplay. Why does a blue liquid the Predator has endless amounts of magically disintegrate whatever he wants it to and nothing more than that? Why is an ex-convict driving around in a police car the entire movie? Why did the monkeys forget to show a full body shot of the Aliens? Why does a clock play a more memorable role than any of the main characters? The list of questions just kept growing but the monkeys ignored them and finished their masterpiece.

Fox was thrilled with their work. So thrilled that they opened the movie nationwide on Christmas Day and even spent a few bucks advertising it the week before it came out. The monkeys had successfully made another installment in these cherished franchises.

But some ask, what ever happened to the budget the monkeys forgot to use? They put it towards their next film: Aliens vs. Predator vs. Hulk Hogan. They knew the general public would be upset with the title but they have since released this statement:

"To the people- do not worry about our upcoming film. It will be rated R and will have violence."

And everyone lived happily ever after. The end.
422 out of 508 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
B movie
nadjadiamond10 January 2008
I love B movies, but I like to be aware from the beginning that I'm watching one. I can't believe someone could mess up a movie about aliens and predators so bad.

Aliens and Predator are AWESOME. This movie made a big joke out of them. The creators didn't take this movie seriously at all. I am throughly disappointed in how the Strauss jerks handled this film. They made a mockery of amazing characters. It's like they were trying to be serious in the beginning, then their writers got high and gave up. Almost nothing was continuous, the main characters were awful and were NOT Aliens or Predators. I am so ridiculously sad that no one takes Alien and Predators seriously anymore. These characters are icons of American pop culture and the creators of this movie showed no respect to the original films. They should not be allowed to cash in on the names of the previous films and they should be ashamed of themselves
347 out of 463 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Slasher flick: a breakdown of AVP-R
LordBlacklist30 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
With this movie I was really hoping that the idea was to make up for the hashed together ineptitude of the first AVP, and yet to my horror: Requiem is far worse than I could have imagined.

My hopes were up in the opening moments of the film inside the Predator ship, and I almost breathed a sigh of relief when we finally saw the Predator home world (a throwaway digital matte painting, but still nice to finally see it) and then of course, the humans (if such poorly written characters can be referred to as such) are introduced...

One must wonder why it seems to be impossible for Fox to make a good film out of Aliens and Predators. At the very least the supposed filmmakers could have done their homework.

Characters are set up in the same manner in which we would expect from the worst Friday the 13th Sequel. The pizza delivery scene was cringe inducing as was every other scene of character interaction that followed it. Bimbos and teen non actors do not make for a REAL film, they make for a cheap flick, and Alien 1-3 and the Predator movies were good because they were produced above the concept (remember that the 1st Alien is a "B" movie done as an "A" movie) The Strause brothers really missed an opportunity, that could have been rectified by simply knowing their Alien+Predator roots: In both the Alien and Predator films we are introduced to characters that are part of a larger group (Alien: Refinery workers, Aliens: Marines, Alien 3: Convicts and in the Predator films we generally follow a main hero part of a unit; Predator, Arnold--Special forces, Predator 2: Danny Glover, Police) and it's easy to see where the filmmakers of both franchises started to go wrong: in Alien Ressurrection we have pirates...or something, AVP we have...explorers?...with guns?? and of course in AVP-R we have teen slasher clichés. What is there to identify with here? In concept the idea of a convict returning to a small town and a war vet returning seemed a set up for a First Blood type of action hero, but like many things it was never paid off.

The Film-making is equally devoid of rhyme of reason. There is no sense of forward momentum to the action, just small sequences that build the most minuscule levels of tension or interest only to cut away just when they're getting interesting...taking the audience out of the movie at every turn. The action scenes themselves, though much ballyhooed in the trailers, are so darkly lit, it is literally impossible to tell what is going on during the fight scenes when they finally occur. Basically, the movie is hindered from many levels. Bad actors combined with poor direction and an atrocious screenplay (which as a screenwriter myself I noticed, seemed to hit every wrong note and cliché that only the most untalented writer devoid of ideas could have hashed together) The WRITING, if it can be called that, is not even direct to video quality, nor does it demonstrate a shred of respect for the established lore of the previous entries in the series. Why does the Predalien all the sudden have the ability to shoot alien embryos down a pregnant woman's throat to use her as an incubator for chestbursters? More than likely because the brain dead screenwriter needed a way to have more aliens for the predator to fight (and given the accelerated growth time even more so than the first AVP: as quickly as possible. Why must meaningless small talk between cardboard cutouts on sticks (meaning the supposed characters)substitute for real character development? (Remember a character is defined by what they DO, not SAY). Why is the Sheriff leading civilians to a cache of guns? (isn't he an officer of the law?) How does the bimbo of all people know where they are? Why does the Predalien wait for the Predator to VERY SLOWLY remove his mask before it attacks? Why are the aliens still falling into that nasty series-post-Alien 3 habit of hissing all the time to let their prey know to run? How on Earth did this series devolve to a character saying "People are dying...we need guns!" (how this writer even works is beyond me, and reflects badly on Fox's already destroyed artistic reputation. It's like everyone involved in the making of this film suffered from a mental impairment or really are that inept at every level of the film-making process.

The EFFECTS are pretty lousy this time around. The Aliens look like men in suits and ADI is just getting lazy with their creature design. The Aliens look like modified leftovers from Alien Resurrection, with that same bulky musculature around the arms as if they did not learn from that movie that it was not a good design, nor a good one to recycle. Again, everything is shrouded in such a state of darkness not to create mystery or atmosphere, but simply to hide how bad the creatures look. And just like in AVP, Stan Winston is sorely missed when the fake looking Predator face is revealed.

There are too many faults to list so I will just say this: Do not waste your money on this movie. Fox is beyond caring about the fans, as this cheap and trashy film is clearly evidence of. I felt bad having taken my girlfriend to see it (though it was free) and apologized to her profusely after. This is one die-hard fan who is done with the franchise.

Note to Fox: What we really wanted wasn't a mindless slasher flick, it was a film adaptation of the original Darkhorse Comicbook, which was better than anything you've produced for this franchise post 1993.

Signing off.
73 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stop! Stop! Stop! Stop making anymore now!!!
luke-34613 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
There was a time when the Alien series was a success with even the third installment, Alien 3, showing promise under the guild of a fresh and young David Fincher. The first Predator was a box office hit mainly due to its story, "in peak" star Arnold Schwarzenegger and director John McTiernan (Die Hard). The films Alien, Aliens, Alien 3 and Predator were all highly successful and created massive followings among general film fans and science fiction fans alike. Arguably Predator 2 and Alien Resurrection should have signaled the end for both franchises, but studios were undeterred and saw the opportunity to pander to the rumours among fans and combine the two. Step in Paul W.S Anderson, Alien Vs Predator, and now the Brothers Strauss (visual effects graduates, not even directors or writers). The problem was that by allowing such profound and revolutionary creations of the Sci-Fi genre to fall into the hands of firstly a mediocre director and now directorial newbie's has led to nothing more than profanity, epitomised by incompetence. Upon witnessing Alien Vs Predator Requiem (AVPR) die-hard fans will feel sick to their stomachs that this series could have got any worse.

One example of the cinematic deterioration of this franchise is in the opening scene and is likely to cause nausea among fans. The film begins with an Alien making its way onto the Predator ship, spurting from the predators chest, growing in to a full grown Predalien and bringing down the Predator craft (which now seems to have far less Predators on it than it did at the end of Alien Vs Predator) and all this occurs with the ship still in Earths atmosphere. Once the ship has crashed AVPR quickly resorts to cheap plot methods and basic narrative conventions, it makes no venture at utilizing any of the twists or subversions served up in the two original films. The wearisome plot progresses with tedious pace, punctuated only by the near rousing conflicts of Alien and Predator and when that runs the risk of boring us we are treated to either an alluring blonde in a bikini or rapid gunfire. AVPR is plagued by an endless array of continuity errors and plot holes with little or no narrative elucidation i.e. members of the public outwitting an elite military unit or the Predator not adhering to laws established in previous editions. This is a film that has a complete disregard for its predecessors, it breaks some of the most fundamental rules of a sequel and in doing so one gets the feeling that it is trying to set itself up as a stand alone feature. Independently the film has no heart, no conviction and no soul and with reference to the other films lacks even the most basic continuity. This is exemplified by the over arching narrative of the film as it undermines the basic premise of the first Alien. Because if the species had been encountered before then those in the first Alien film would have been more proficient and not so ill prepared when encountering them.

On a cinematic note the film is close to being dire, I felt urged at some points to shine a torch at the screen, the lighting was so bad. Through utilizing such gloomy and dark effects the audience may feel as though they are being cheated out of some the action – which is ironically its purpose and also indicates the films lack of budget. As with all science fiction one scene normally surfaces as being the most memorable, in this instance it is probably the hospital impregnation scene as it ever so tenuously draws on the themes of the original Alien by literalizing it. The directing is poor, performances weak and the script rotten. AVPR is the product of a conveyor belt system of film-making in which ideas and techniques are assembled by ineffective people and then the finished product distributed among cinemas. This is personified by the absence of gory death scenes and drawn out blood battles because the certification will not allow it – a lower certification achieving a larger target audience. AVPR was purely a business venture and nothing more.
87 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stay away, Brothers Strause.
emerald_dark18 January 2008
One of the worst films I have ever seen and a shameful abuse of one of the greatest movie monsters of all time. The Alien is no longer scary. Gone is the elegance. Gone is the menace and chilling patience. Made by people who know how to make FX but have no real idea about how to make a movie. I sometimes wondered if they were making fun of what had gone before, like a Zucker/Abrams flick as it seemed to veer into what could be construed as parody. Sadly, no.

Remember when you were a kid, playing with, oh let's see, some Star Wars figures? It would be some adventure not from the films but just your own kiddie imagination recreating certain feelings of excitement. And even if Han and Luke were stranded on some carpet planet, they might wind up saying some familiar lines, like "I have a bad feeling about this," or find themselves in a situation more than a bit like one from the films. Just your kid imagination putting together a story that pleases your own juvenile sense of what you feel it should be. And that's fine, because you're a kid and really shouldn't know any better. What's more, you're not getting paid to do it either.

Brother's Strause, go and buy some toys and never go near a film camera again.
80 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
waste your time and money on something else (spoilers)
frich71-126 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The review on the main page admits that the movie is horrible but that you should forgive it because it is nicely violent. No you shouldn't. There are spoilers at the end of this review but how I can "spoil" this rotten movie I have no idea. Even if you are a die hard Alien/Pred fan like I am wait for the DVD. It isn't worth a 3.99 rental either but you'll be much less inclined to truly hate this film if you pay that than 12 bucks or better per person plus concession purchases at a theater.

In the theater I watched AVPr there were exactly two laughs, both by a girl sitting next to me. Other than that there was total silence throughout. No ooohs, or "that was bad ass!", nothing. Imagine being a patient on an operating table and just being given the anesthetic. Now you know what you'll feel like in the theater after the opening scene of AVPr.

What was the budget on this movie? Like War of the Worlds, MI 3, and other f/x driven movies the director seems far more involved in what the CGI people can come up with than developing characters or a plot. Spielberg has tried and failed at this several times, usually with Tom Cruise. Sure the movies make money but should they? War of the Worlds and Minority Report had the budget to pay for a decent script, Tom Cruise et al, and SS himself but were still awful. I'm sure AVP wasted 90% of their budget on CG and had no choice but to hire any actor that would say yes even though the casting agent would have done better by going to the supermarket and picking actors at random.

There is no tension developed in any scene so we are never close to being surprised. Who cares who gets killed? We didn't know any of them, we all know what happens when the lil aliens make their corporeal exit, we all know the blood is acid. In Alien, Aliens, 3, Resurrection, and even AVP the directors make use of the fact that the Aliens can think, can hide and can lay traps. This director decided that the Ridley Scott, James Cameron, and others were idiots for developing characters you actually want to see either live or get killed. In this installment you will never care who lives or dies, not a kid, a parent, a pregnant woman. The characters serve only one purpose in this movie, to die. The opening scenes establish the fact that the movie is going to be a predictable joke. The character development scenes mix clichés, bad humor, and bad acting and numb the viewer to the point where we really don't care if they get killed so long as they die in never before seen ways. But they don't. The director tried to make something different from those who preceded him in the Alien franchise but only succeeded in discarding the good parts of the first films, the human protagonists, and stealing the rest from other recent sci-fi films.

There is not one original use of the either the Alien or Pred characters. The Pred actually has little trouble killing Aliens by the dozen even though the last movie led us to believe that Pred revered the Aliens as such a deadly foe that they used the killing of one as Rite of Passage. The AlienPred is never really developed as a fearsome creature. Its ability to inject parasites into a host is ripped from several different movies most recently probably was Hellboy where Samiel's dismembered tongue injected eggs into Hellboy or Doom where the mutated creatures would leave their tongues behind after they speared a victim's throat.

Simply put we aren't given reason to care about anything in this movie. There is violence but it doesn't shock or surprise and is nothing that hasn't been seen in any of a hundred slasher flicks. The CG is OK and both species of alien are made to look and move as they have in movies past. But since the characters are never developed and the acting is so bad we kind of hope that they all die. The little girl was probably the best actor of the bunch but sadly we aren't made to care whether or not kids, women, or anyone else lives or dies. We just want the movie to end. Eventually it does but not before another stolen plot line from Resident Evil 2 has a nuke aim Gunnison's way to wipe out the "infection". And not before yet another stupid scene that is supposed to open the door for further sequels but does it? In a movie filled with bad scenes the worst may have been saved for last.

Sorry for the repetition but everything bears repeating: bad script, no plot, unoriginal action scenes, uninspired direction, abysmal acting, decent f/x that were wasted because of the many flaws.

I don't mind going to an indie film and being disappointed. The actors and directors and crew are probably getting their careers going and working on a shoestring budget. For a movie with this type of budget and hype I feel cheated along with disappointed. This movie is a painfully boring waste of time from the opening scene to closing credits. Sad to say that a preview of Hellboy 2 was the best part of AVPr and HB2 didn't even look that good.
178 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Alien vs Predator: Trainwreckuiem
gloshpit31 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Where to begin? There were a few points in this movie that, whilst in no way redeeming, were at least interesting. The way that seemingly main characters got killed (the blonde love interest, I did actually have to check to see if it was the other expendable blonde after the big whirly blade finished her off), the fact that it wasn't going to shy away from having women and kids attacked as well as meatbag males, and that the Predator was a cleaner rather than a hunter. Now I've got those grudging comments out of my system...

This movie reeks. The first one was at least mindless action that you could turn off your brain and enjoy things like the references to the other movies, a little like the first Resident Evil film. Like the second RE film, this is a diabolical mess of sub-Dawson's Creek wangst and drama, forgettable characters (I confessed to my friend whilst watching that even a good hour in, I had no idea of the character's names. And neither did they), ridiculous special effects that looked like a bad video game, terrible acting and a complete ignoring of what went before.

The previous films tended to have real people as characters, not stereotypes, so you cared about their fates. The dialogue wasn't forced. And the aliens/predators actually were SCARY. Now the humans are just targets, the aliens are more like annoyances (apart from to the woefully inept humans), and the predators are useless without their big guns. All characterisation is out of the window, there are painful "additions" to the franchise (injecting chestbursters using mouth to mouth? The predator now being a totally inagile lunk? The predalien looking like a fan-made alien with a mushroom on its head?) and the "action" scenes are muddled, dark and badly edited.

With so much material in the past twenty years to draw from, I'm amazed this dreck got made. I actually had tears in my eyes, a mix of laughter at the uselessness of the movie and the slaughter of two good franchises. And what was up with the repeated six or so shots of the cloaked predator slamming into the ground just to show he'd arrived? Or the acid blood not affecting him? Or the magic blue goo that dissolves entire bodies when applied only to a bit of them, including clothes? Or... *snip*
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie is a waste of time and money!
mrforestranger28 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
My qualifications for this review? I own all the Alien and Predator movies & I have and have read almost all the books I can find that are related to this series.

I can safely say, this movie is a Stinker. Save your money & don't waste your time. If you like mindless action, mindless gore, no plot to speak of & like being taken by Hollywood, see the movie.

If you are a serious Alien series fan, send a message to the over stuffed, over paid suits in Hollywood & 20th Century Fox & don't give them a penny.

This movie has so many plot holes in it you could sieve pasta through it. Read the other negative reviews to get the big picture, it has all be said accurately, so I don't have to repeat them.

The characters in this movie are cardboard. You want them all dead. And, the movie doesn't disappoint, almost all of them die. Even the hot, bubble headed blond. Do you feel sorry for her? Nope. No plot, no character development....who cares. The Predators are now idiots too. They scan everything but their own dead warrior. They are suppose to be a high technology society, right? In the Predator movie, they scanned the soldiers and the girl to determine who was armed. Trophy kills. In AvP, they scanned Charles Weyland and let him go because he had Cancer. Major Plot hole!

Also, the R rating is because they have kids in the movie that get a face hugger, lots of gore and violence and there is one hospital scene where a very large pregnant women is injected with chest bursters. She is implanted by the Hybrid Alien with 4 or 5 eggs in a mouth-to-mouth love scene-orgy and they all hatch in, say, 30 seconds. Sensational gore a plenty, nothing more. These scenes are laughable, not serious. It is almost like the violence happens and the Alien looks at the camera and waits for applause, a thumbs up or a nod of some sort.

The Aliens in this movie are all on performance enhancing drugs. They develop fast and spread quickly all over the town, tons of them, everywhere in record spawn time. Pathetic because it does not stick to the series story line and adds nothing to the Aliens, Aliens Predator continuity.

I have noticed the positive reviews are written by people who love the gore. Laughable. As a movie, as a continuation of the Aliens franchise and the development of the Aliens vs Predator franchise, this movie is a cheesecake cliché at best. If you have faithfully followed this series, all the rules are broken and the Aliens and Predators are reduced to comic book characters.

There is not one fantastic, memorable action scene. There are almost no special effects worth remembering. There are no brand name actors. The plot is as thin as onion paper that ultimately ends with a, "We have two choices to get out of this mess...The Hospital or the center of town!". I just about wet myself. The center of town means everyone is going to get nuked by Big Brother who somehow knows the town has been infested because they have an AWAC in the air that can see the infestation on a radar screen in special effects Red Spots. I just about fell out of my chair. Special effects red spot alien radar on an AWAC over middle America. I am splitting my gut laughing.

Having to get to the Helicopter Pad made me choke on my popcorn. Has anyone played a game called ZOMBIES!? You have to get your playing pieces to the Helicopter Pad to win. I almost wet myself laughing.

The ending is enough to make you shake your head in wonderment. Who did 20th Century Fox hire to write this script!? OH, OH, ask me.... a Grade 5 student. There really can't be any other answer. Oh, yes there can be another answer... Low Budget Cheesecake Sci-Fi.

The ending? "Col. Stevens takes the Predator pulse rifle to Ms. Yutani (Francoise Yip). She tells him that the earth is not ready for the technology it represents. Col. Stevens knows Yutani doesn't want the technology to use on earth." You are kidding me, right? Ms. Yutani? Who is Ms Yutani? (forshadow:Weyland-Yutani: The Corporation) She is in the movie exactly 2 seconds and yet, in her infinite far east wisdom, she says the world is not ready for the technology. Seriously??!! The Brothers Dweebs (Strause) as directors? Who is responsible for this hemorrhage-abortion of a movie? They are the Doug and Bob McKenzie of directors and yet Fox entrusted the flailing Alien franchise to them. They are touted as special effects experts and yet the movie is all low budget special effects. Hmmm, I see a pattern. Laughable.

This movie is only made to empty your wallet. It serves no other purpose. It has no plot. It has no main characters worth mentioning. It is disjointed. It does not adhere to any of the character principles established in previous movies. It does nothing to advance the franchise. The special effects are lame, minimal and low budget. And, it has no ending to speak of. It is low budget and strictly designed to take your hard earned money. Nothing more.

Save your money. Either watch it on TV where it will very quickly end up. Buy a bootleg or miss this bleeding ulcer altogether. There is a reason why Fox did not Preview this movie to the critics. The critics would have eaten this mess alive and no one would have gone to the theaters to see it. JR Giger, the original creator, is at this very moment, leaning over a toilet spilling his lunch.

20th Century Fox, this movie is a stinker. It is as bad or worse than Alien 3. You insult us.

Flush now...
33 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage!!!!
SUNLION7779 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Ed Wood is rolling over in his grave. He could have made a hundred cult classics for the price of this waste-hole. The worst script in memory (it makes "X-Men 3" sparkle like "Citizen Kane"); the most amateur directing; pre-K cinematography; the cheesiest "special effects" (I'm talking about "Friday The 13th" sequel territory); and throw in a pointless, revolting, deeply disturbed, maternity ward sequence. The lack of any talent or sensibility that put this garbage on-screen is astounding. That the "industry" might reward anyone involved in this celluloid cess-pool with future projects ought to be cause for serious alarm.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst Alien or Predator experience so far...
mik302 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
The production value of AvP2 can be described by one adjective: AWFUL

The script is ridiculous, even in the fictional area of AvP: What are the facehuggers good for on the Predator's ship? Why is the Predator cleaning up all signs of his influence and than wasting precious time with eviscerating and even presenting the body of an insignificant human cop? Why is the Predator alone? Why is the Predator equipping himself only on earth but on his home planet? Why does the Predator make his job so uneasy for himself by hunting down the Aliens rather than bombing the whole countryside like the humans do in the end? Why is the Predator dropping more & more of his few weapons rather than collecting them to keep them together after using one. In the end he is even dropping his armor before fighting the Predalien in hand to hand combat: what a bad plagiarism of the first predators final fight between Arny and the Predator. The Predator's gestures are so exaggerated that he is moving more like a Japanese sumo than like highly skilled extraterrestrial-safari-hunter. As one can see immediately the whole story is a mess. But it gets even worse because this botched-up job is filled up with boring patchwork of senseless interludes like a lengthy pizza ordering episode or some detailed information about the criminal past of the two brothers (Dallas & Ricky). The Sheriff is of course the friend of these two criminals who he puts regularly behind bars. (not convincing & absolutely superfluous for the plot).

In addition to that the cast of actors is horrible. Compared to the high class of directors & actors of the former Aliens or Predator movies AvP2 is an embarrassingly bad piece of crap.

At last the action of the movie is really poor. There is not a single scene of action combat in which the audience can see the whole set. Each and every fight is filmed in short & shaky bursts with close up zoom at nearly full darkness. That results in an atrocious experience for the audience because one can mostly see nothing but a dark shaky screen.

I suggest the two directing brothers Strause to buy themselves a steadycam and get a lesson in modern CG so that the next film contains some visible action of visible figures and might not need to disguise their bad directing abilities in such a manner.

I would advise anybody (even die hard AvP fans) against watching this film: prefer the first one or the original Aliens or the original Predator films but avoid disappointing yourself by wasting your precious time on this failure.
183 out of 269 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What a mess!
Joe_ollie22 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
When Aliens vs Predator 1 was released there was a lot of hype around the title, fans were excited as a battle between two A-list classic sci-fi villains seemed like a dream come true However the film was seen to be a disappointment due to poor execution (script writing, camera angles and shots) etc. The same fate befalls is the second instalment of the franchise.

Anyone who is a fan of either the aliens or predator films like myself, will most probably feel saddened when the credits roll.

To put things into perspective, take an unoriginal plot, a director with a love for extremely low brightness levels, a couple of classic antagonists, a large splash of gore, mix it all together and you have the recipe for Aliens vs. Predator- Requiem.

The plot doesn't really kick off at any point; leaving the viewer waiting for something interesting to happen which unfortunately never occurs. It is also filled with plot holes and contradicts itself on a few occasions, an example being that the predator uses a blue liquid to dissolve evidence so that the humans will be none the wiser but then happily kills a human he sees spying on him, skins him and leaves him to hang upside down. This then alerts the authorities. Clever Boy!

Another issue with the predator is that it is seen as the protagonist in some ways, as the good guy, the day saver. If you've watched predator 1 and 2 you'll know he clearly fails in the hero category. I know alien vs. predator one revamped the species lore but it feels as if the director throws in a few predator-human kills to try and show the viewer that the predator is still not your friendly alien like E.T.

The first film portrays the predators as excellent skilled hunters where they bred aliens as game and hunted them in mass numbers but as soon as the hybrid emerges it outclasses the predators in strength, stealth and dexterity. Predator lore tells that underneath its armour and without its weaponry it has similar strength to a human, so really as the hybrid doesn't use any of the predator technology, shouldn't the predator with his experience be able to dispatch the hybrid with relative ease?

My main disappointment with this film however was the brightness levels. The film is almost all shot in the nighttime, which is OK but the brightness levels are very low making it hard to see detail on the aliens/hybrid and sometimes the predator, although he suffered from this much less. It leaves you wondering if the director deliberately did this to hide poorly made puppets from being seen in their full glory.

This film has a fair amount of blood; mutilations etc so gore lovers will not feel disappointed here.

Overall if the aliens/predators were not present in this film it would of got lower score, their presence is what made me give it a 4. It's not a great movie, not a good move for the franchise and a bit of a disappointment.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
plain awful
matches811 January 2008
I really, really don't understand how that movie could get a rating bigger than 4 here on IMDb. It's simply a huge mess, and I have to admit that I actually liked AvP 1: Close to no story, okay, I can live with that, but at least they got to the point pretty much at once. AvP 2 does not. After the stupid premise has been presented there is well over half an hour of stupid and unfitting teenager clichés, dumb as hell dialog and close to nothing else, except for a few Alien scenes that feel like an excuse to have that first half of the movie and Predator scenes that make you ask yourself whether those guys making the film even watched any other Predator movie or just didn't care enough to be bothered.

After that, that crap-fest finally gets to the point where the Predator starts attacking the Aliens, or at least pretends doing so. And boy, is that Predator stupid, blind and deaf. It's awful. How he even managed to earn that stuff he has is beyond me. He misses with almost every shot, only notices Aliens when they're right in his face or if it's absolutely necessary for the script, so that he can move where he has to be. He even gets caught on surprise by puny human teenagers and deputies all of the time. What's that guy supposed to be? After the first hour of that abomination I was more or less constantly shaking my head at every scene. Close to no scene in this movie passes by without unbelievably stupid dialogs, stupid Predator actions or stupid lack there-of or stupid actions from our "heroes".

Then, that thing finally ended. To my surprise not only me and my friends didn't know whether to laugh or to cry, but everybody I overheard leaving the room was half-crying, half-laughing about those 1 1/2 hours they just wasted.

Don't watch. Never.
446 out of 683 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Blood and Guts
ignorepeter26 December 2007
I was psyched to go see this movie. I was not a fan of the first AvP and I like so many others, chalked its awfulness up to being rated PG 13 and focusing on the human side of the story. Once I saw that red R glistening after the AvP, I was excited. As it turns out, I was wrong. Certainly there is a good amount of gore in AvPR, melting limbs, dismemberments, even some violence against children. The Predator is once again, the most bad-ass extraterrestrial on Earth, and it was fun to see the infamous predalien. But the movie just sucks. I tried really hard to look past its gaping plot holes, inane dialogue, and vapid characters, and I pretty much succeeded in not letting those inadequacies bother me. It was the pacing and the lack of tension that killed the movie for me. There was no sense of dread in the flick, no impending doom or even a sense of diabolical hunt. It just, sort of, happened, and then was over. Some fun homages to the originals: amongst them the return of the all-time great line: "Get to the chopper!" And again, some fun blood and executions, but no tension, no dread, no guts in the otherwise bloody film.
328 out of 498 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rubbish
chechrissie2 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
If only I had read the review by Alex Sander (sic) on here rather than looking at the rating of over 6 from a select choice of the ignorant viewing public I would not have seen this desecration. Alien was a fantastic, dramatic and well made horror/sci-fi. Predator was a great sci-fi/action mess-about. I do really have only myself to blame though as I saw 'Alien versus Predator'. It too has an average grading of over 6 stars from the connoisseurs of film that frequent this site.

STOP READING NOW IF YOU HAVE ANY FEAR OF THIS EVER SO SUSPENSE RIDDEN PLOT BEING RUINED FOR YOU.

Right from the beginning this film was ridiculous. No explanation was offered for the Predator ship overrun/not overrun by Aliens. OK so maybe they were again going to throw aliens down to Earth to hunt them and something went wrong but how did this result in an Alien/Predator hybrid and why did the rest of the crew not realise sooner despite their great technology? The start was actually the most coherent and interesting part of the film because we had some idea of who was who or what was what and perhaps why. From then on it gets really ridiculous. I always leave my disbelief strictly suspended above the door of the screen before entering and collect it on the way out. I couldn't here.

A father and son are hunting in the woods. The damaged ship crash lands to (from the view given) I would calculate at the very least 10 odd miles away through thick woodland. The man and boy track there alone and find the ship and get face hugged. Even at this point you feel very little for them mainly because the face huggers are almost comical rather than scary in their movement and actions and the father seems like such an irresponsible, dumb redneck muppet.

An edgy, thriller-type scenario is introduced with an ex-con returning to the town near the crash site to be met by his somewhat emotionless, dull now cop friend from the bus. When I say introduced I mean a feeble attempt with crap actors and no feeling is played out. A slasher/horror element is then introduced with a sexy girl and the usual supposedly nerdy or somehow undesirable cute guy who gets beaten up by the over protective, crazy, nasty Jock type (American sportsman not a Scottish man). Oh the cute/not cute boy is the ex-con's brother by the way. Yes they're clever these director brothers whose name I will research in order to avoid any other shite they put out again. Then a modern role reversal oh so boring attempt at PC, Ripley credential type character introduction comes with a female soldier returning home to her husband and child.

Guess what happens next? I won't tell you much more about the actual (smiles sadly to himself about the demise of storytelling in the large majority of recent films) plot just in case you have got this far and are not the brightest star in the Alien-ridden universe.

The Predator is stupid for the reasons stated by the previous poster whose post I read too late. The Aliens are boring. The Predator-Alien is ridiculous. The action is at times exploitative, gratuitous, disgusting nonsense. The hospital scene with the pregnant mothers?!?! Oh I was shocked alright. Shocked at how low some people will go to get what? A scare? Some shock? To titillate the perverse? What? If you really wanted to shock, titillate and scare people who are not pregnant or expecting fathers or who have no souls why not just have the Alien/Predator shagging the saucy women and teenage girls rather than killing them? The characters have no depth and neither does the plot. It's filmed and paced badly. It's acted by disinterested people not that I can blame them. It further tarnishes two rather interesting and good sets of sci-fi characters. This film was rubbish and if you gain enjoyment from it I really have to worry about you. If you haven't seen it then well please make your own decision.

PS Did I even mention the way that trained soldiers are all killed in about 20 seconds while amateur civilians survive throughout?
53 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
OK Not as bad as people said but kinda rushed
shaunmcculloch15 April 2010
AVP2 Wasen't as bad as i had been told but there was still something lacking that made both AVP movies not live up to their original standards it felt as if two movies were kinda spliced together with the Alien vs Predator battles happening outside the town and near the ending happening in the town and watching the town people get on with their daily life it didn't feel like a alien or a predator movie but still i did like the fact that only one Predator could take on so many foe's and made it feel again the Predator is a one man army but the Predator is seen too much for my likening unlike in the 1st Predator movie were he is not scene fully to nearer the end and the main characters are really underdeveloped and give me little to no interest at all about their fate and it feels like the story was kinda rushed throughout but despite this not a bad movie to watch and get some friends round and watch with a few beers probably better to rent this movie rather than buy it and blu ray really makes a difference. but there's hope the new Predators movie makes up for the AVP Movies but still avp2 is worth a shot it could end up as it is to me a guilty pleasure as fury the film fan would say enjoy the show.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a disappointment!!! (speaking as a fanatic who's hard to disappoint)
alex_dbs18 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
After waiting so long for this to come out and after all the hype and excitement, I'm am extremely disappointed! So disappointed in fact that i am writing this after seeing the film 2 hours ago.

Now I'm a great fan of movies, I am also an easy person to please. I love loads of films, own far too many and am afraid to say i like bad films too. I cannot see what's wrong with AVP, I hear so many people complaints about it being terrible. When i think its one of the best, it delivers everything (except on the gore side of things). It didn't package itself as a serious film, so stop complaining that "its not as good as alien". I don't want a carbon copy of alien.

While waiting for this to come out - expecting it to be excellent because people kept commenting on the Strause brothers being "serious about aliens"... well, they can die. I was amazingly unimpressed... and that rarely ever happens! My problem with it, was that i didn't feel like i came away with anything. What was the point? I didn't like any of the characters! They really didn't bother trying to make you like them either. The soldier/mother and daughter characters didn't go anywhere, the bad boy who comes back to town doesn't do anything "bad". The only character I vaguely liked was Jesse and she dies. The editing was a bit to quick, there weren't any moments to breathe and take in what had happen. It happened all at once. I also felt a bit confused during fight scenes and had to look away for a moment.

The Predalien was very cool, but void of much point, It would have been nice if it had spread embryos and then triggered the next stage of it life cycle (which was to be a queen according to the Strause brothers). Or maybe just include an ordinary queen? I would love to see the life cycle of a queen in a movie, growing in size each time you see her. that would be cool!!!! The effects in this are brilliant, no doubts there. The one thing you can say about previous alien and predator films is that they have always been character driven, thats where the Strause brothers tripped up. Next time lucky I hope!!!! Or just get someone else!!!! I hope you like it and to the Strause brothers.... what the f**k? I could do better!!! xxx
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful!!!
alex-125015 February 2008
this movie made me watch Paul W.S. Anderson's AvP1 and enjoy it! I am not even going to dream of comparing Requiem to any of the Alien or Predator series' movies,this is a HORRIBLE TEENAGE B-HORROR FOOTAGE SET IN AN American SMALL TOWN NO ONE CARES ABOUT.

AvP1 at least had heaps of handcrafted art carved into the movie sets,it had bags of eye-candy not previously seen in any of the original movies - but was ruined by unconvincing characters/acting.

Requiem takes bad acting to the lowest imaginable level,and it also lacks in every other department just as much...it's a sacrilege to include alien and predator suits in this kind of rubbish.
71 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pants
squicker19 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Well done Fox; you have two of the best franchises in movie history, both with loads of kudos that have started massive acting careers and had some amazing directors at the helm, and what do you do? After making a pigs ear of AVP1 you hand direction for number 2 to what must be the two biggest boneheads in the film industry. Absolutely genius.

These two Strand brothers couldn't organise a trip to the cornershop, let alone direct a heavyweight sci-fi film. Together these total imbeciles have destroyed all future Alien or Predator variants, and certainly damaged the preceding films, for a lot of people anyway. The only way an Alien or Predator fan can protect the previous films in each series is to pretend this film has never happened. If you even imagine it as a stand alone movie it is so appallingly bad the taste it leaves in your mouth will last forever. It is so bad you cannot even watch for MST3000 style humour value. It really is a steaming dog turd of a film.

Reasons (without going into spoiler detail, although how you 'spoil' a turd such as this is open to debate: Plot inconsistency with previous Alien, Predator and AVP film(s). The Strudel sisters must never have seen another film from the series, but handed research over to some spotty 16 year old oik to do, who evidently sat back getting stoned with his dweeby mates instead of checking out core facts about the universe of both entities.

Laughable monsters. Not just bad FX but non-scary very thick monsters of both breeds (not to mention the humans who are brain dead twits of the highest order, one suspects in real life too - due to them acting so badly or even accepting such a dire script). Whereas both the alien and the predator are cunning and genuinely frightening creatures in previous movies (including AVP1 to a certain degree), the idiots depicted here are throwaway mindless cretins that bumble around the cardboard sets with no direction. Probably because the 'directors' cannot direct.

No character development. All previous films in the franchises have a smaller number of human protagonists that have characters, developed to a greater or lesser degree. Here we get weak, watery eyed pea-brains whose names you cannot even remember, least of all care about their life expectancy.

No strong plot yet loads of weak story lines. You cannot concentrate on the 'story' due to the fact it flits about from scene to scene without ever delivering a cogent thread to follow.

Poor cinematography. You ended up bored witless, staring at the exit light in the cinema for amusement rather than the screen that just flashes and jitters about like a very poor MTV music video.

No real suspense. Instead of the nail biting suspense of Predator, Alien, Aliens et al, there are moments that the directors evidently feel are 'pushing the envelope', more like pushing out a giant turd. The moments don't come across as sick, frightening or suspenseful. More like the fake shocks of an unruly teenage punk who plays his Anti-nowhere League records too loud to annoy his middle class parents. Tiresome but never shocking.

I can't be bothered to go on, but see this film at your peril. It's a huge mound of faeces the Twit Twins have unleashed here, and just remember...You cannot polish a turd.

Ben
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
'Requiem' for the Original franchises
rijoenpial-15 January 2008
WARNING - SPOILERS I had very low hopes when I went to see this movie the other day.

I mean, a TV cast, inexperienced directors, Shane Salerno still onboard after that dreadful first draft he did reviewed by AICN...? Despite all that, I went in...

Oh boy... And I thought I had some issues with AVP... AVPR is nothing but issues....continuity, plot, script, special effects, camera work and angles, editing, pace, lighting (made worse by the blackout plot device), terrible line delivery and acting... Nothing survived...

AVP had problems, but it was mostly an enjoyable movie, with good VFX, cool production design, provided we didn't think too much about it... Now this sequel was so badly filmed and edited, made worse by the dull, wooden acting and the Predator's 'What the hell' incoherent MO and Aliens' 'mere cannon fodder-ish' portrayal...

It has a less budget than AVP and given the story and setting, it required two or three times that...

The movie falls more to the lower teen slasher movie genre, with gratuitous violence shown inflicted on pregnant women, newborn babies (though only implied) and a child, with a chestburster coming out of him... And even then, the fact that the scenes are so darkly lit, it doesn't show much of anything, neither the action sequences between Aliens and Predators, nor the gore, only seeing some dark substance which we assume is blood... So, even the gore is disguised by the low lighting, making everything very hard to see: every Alien-Predator or Predator-Predalien fight sequences, and I do mean EVERY...Not to mention considerate plot holes in all of them, namely the apparently un-acidic Alien blood and the poor, docile Xenomorphs' antagonistic display during their 'fights'(if we can call them that) with the too-detectivesque Predator...

So, this is a step backwards regarding AVP in every way, from script to technical issues, and not a good prognosis for an Alien 5 or Predator 3 at all...

The money this movie makes will be the judge of that...

Although, given the fact that since ALien 3, the movies have been decreasing in terms of quality, I find it difficult to believe that someday, down the road, we will be having any more movies featuring these two creatures on their own...which is how they work best...

Only time (together with a good script surfacing and an adequate budget with it) will tell...
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The fact this movie was a theatrical release astonishes me, as it is deserving of the direct to DVD category.
littlejimmy83527 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Starting where the last AVP left off, an Alien "chestburster" emerges from a dead Predator on a Predator spaceship, and causes the Predator space ship to crash into modern day Gunnison Colorado, where it breeds several more Aliens which start to cause havoc. The Predator race sends down a lone highly experienced and armed Predator to "clean up the mess". Our human characters are caught in the middle of the intergalactic battle.

The biggest problem with this movie is the pacing. This movie moves along way too fast. The opening credits have only just rolled and already the Predator ship crashes into the Earth after the Alien grows to full hight, a hunter and son character are introduced but before we even get to learn their names they are both killed, then we see the Predator home-world and the lead Predator flies off to fight the Alien infestation, and all this happens within the first five minutes. This unnatural pace does not let up for the entire movie; the National Guard comes into town but within two minutes are all killed without even getting a good look at a single ones face, the manager of a pizza store gets one scene of character development only to be killed off the very next time we see him once again without even learning his name, random hobos, a coffee shop waitress and chef are killed again without learning their names. One moment our main characters are at home, the next running around town, the next in a gun store , the next in an APC, and this random set jumping over and over just doesn't ever let up leaving the audience no time to settle in leaving them grasping for straws.

Another problem is the settings and time frame. The movie is set in modern day Gunnison Colorado. Every other Alien and Predator movie was shot in enthralling settings, such as industrial space ships, guerrilla war zone rainforest's, alien planets, and underground labyrinths. Now comes along AVP-R, set in a small modern day American town, with set "highlights" including a sporting goods store, parking lots, Pizza Shops, and little girl's bedrooms. I mean, were they actually trying to make the movie look as dull, drab and uninteresting as possible?! It's hard to perceive these monsters as frightening creatures when they are standing next to a shelf full of Reeboks, or hiding in the bushes outside little girls bedrooms.

Continuity is a big issue with this film. The Alien series was set in the future, no human had even heard of an Alien before the first film, and the Aliens not only had never been to Earth, but if they ever did reach Earth, humanity would be destroyed. This movie ruins that entire concept by being set in modern day, with Average Joes seeing the Aliens all over the place, and by the end of the movie, humanity is not destroyed, not even suffering what could be considered minor losses. It pisses all over that entire concept of the other movies. Attempts to maintain continuity are made with massive Deus Ex Machina's. The Predator just happens to carry around a bottle of unlimited magic blue liquid that's just to melt away any bodies with just a single drop, the army at the end of the movie just happens to go to overly drastic measures and drop a nuclear warhead that just conveniently erases all evidence of the Aliens existence despite the fact there were many survivors of the incident who are witnesses, and many more bad attempts are made at filling up impossible to cover plot holes.

Also, for a "Verses" movie, it has unrelenting bias in favor of the Predators. For the majority of the film, a lone Predator manages to kill dozens if not tens of dozens of Aliens, all at mêlée range while barely gaining a single scratch, while the Aliens just get slaughtered left right and center like clay pigeons, merely waiting their turn to be killed by the Predator without putting forth any effort to defend their selves. This movie should not be called "Alien vs. Predator", as much as it should be "Predator massacres Aliens". I mean, how can you have two species battle it out with suspense and tension, when one is portrayed as being vastly superior to the other?

The characters in this film are amongst the biggest flaws. Not only do they pale in comparison to the characters from the previous Alien and Predator movies, but even as a stand alone movie they are bland, dreary, and even at times cringe worthy. The characters in this movie consist of I kid you not, horny couples wanting to get laid, pizza delivery boys, blonde bimbos, high school bullies, children, and a blatant copy and paste job ripping off Ripley and Newt; the worst and most cliché possible ideas for characters. Not only that, but all of the aforementioned characters are acted by teenagers. While the casting of teenagers is an obvious attempt to pull in younger audiences, its only effect is to make the movie look and feel like a typical teenybopper slasher-porn movie, with actors who are too young to have learned how to give a convincing performance, with them mostly having completely blank facial expressions delivering monotone dialog. Not only this, but these characters do some of the most cinematically retarded things ever, such as using Predator guns, commenting the powers out when it has been for hours, following dumb plans to get out of town rather than just walking out of town somewhat quickly, and just so many other idiocies that the movie actually had the audience in my theater sighing out of frustration.

In the end this movie is just a horrible B movie, something deserving of the direct to DVD category. The fact this movie was a theatrical release astonishes me, as every part of the movie just ranks of amateur work.
66 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Aliens vs Predaturd
tibetanpunk3 August 2008
This film and the 1st AvP film both all over the whole Aliens and Predator franchise.

They are awful films, badly acted, badly scripted and terribly directed. They just seem like someones desperate attempt to make money off of the good name of the original aliens and predator films but instead of delivering a well thought out, quality production, they came up with the predaturd.

The original Alien/Aliens/Predator/Predator 2 films were great, they redefined the horror/thriller genre by inventing these insane (and yet still believable) creatures who took the role of the 'serial killer', as opposed to a human.

These films are just milking the franchise and do nothing but darken its name.

The Aliens vs Predator comic books were brilliant and had a great story. They were true to the Alien/Predator mythology, didn't crap all over the original stories etc... Why didn't they make the comic book into a great film? Because Hollywood are idiots, thats why.
114 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Looney Tunes of the Alien and Predator franchises.
Caustic Pulp26 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
9 stars out of 10 seems pretty ridiculous for a movie that has the most threadbare of plots and the most two-dimensional of characters. Make no mistake: AvP:R is a terrible, terrible film.

But it is an AWESOME movie. Anyone who goes to this expecting anything other than absolute, mindless, relentless carnage deserves what they get. Those of you who really just wanted to see a movie with aliens and predators wrecking crap and each other will have a blast.

The movie is a checklist of clichés, gimmicks, and devices. But more than that, it's a checklist of all the superficial crap fans want to see. Ever wonder if an alien's retractable jaws can punch through a safety helmet? NOW YOU KNOW! There is no logic or sense, rhyme or reason to this movie. But it IS loaded to the gills with violence. It's ridiculously, over-the-top, gloriously violent. Every time you get sick of the plot or characters, something dies. Even if you count JUST kids in the movie, there are still five kills (counting kids in utero at least) alone. Let me be clear: they killed pregnant women and children. It is hilariously, cartoonishly violent.

This is the Looney Tunes of the Alien and Predator franchises. It is modern grand guignol. It is GLORIOUS.
619 out of 1,024 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where's the suspense?
pmaglinger29 December 2007
This entry doesn't contain a spoiler. It doesn't have to. The movie is as predictable as the sunrise. The element in the first Alien movies was the suspense that something COULD happen. This was so in the first two Predator movies, though less prevalent. Requiem has totally removed the element of suspense and replaced it with blood and gore. You know people are going to die (well duh, it is a AvsP movie), but you know WHO is going to die and WHEN they are going to die, AND WHERE they are going to die before it happens. The directors should take a lesson from Hitchcock who said, "Suspense is not a time bomb going off under a table. Suspense is a bomb NOT going off under the table". What's the sense in going to a movie when you know exactly what is going to happen and when? If you really, really want to watch this movie, wait until it comes out on video and then RENT IT, but by no means would I ever buy it.
297 out of 482 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete waste of money
agentgates1 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
The worst movie in the Alien/Predator categories. Due to the ending of the first AVP movie I was expecting a lot from this. I thought it is going to be great, well designed work, but after the first fifteen minutes I was so angry...

There are three main problems make this movie dog food.

Alien ship crashes. Predator general/boss/lord/squire/whatever watching transmitted CCTV records of the ship on Predator's planet, he saw the Predalien. He is in the hurry. The trouble is big. I was expecting he will call a few other well-trained Predators and they will go to Earth together. No, this guy says NOTHING and goes alone. Okay, I trust the guy, he's going to do something extraordinary.

Now he's on Earth in the forest where the ship went down. He makes a basic research in the ship then destroys the wreckage. Now it is clear for the audience probably he will destroy all the evidences. Then he's destroying corpses hit by the Alien. He's following them in the tunnel, cleaning after them. Then once he runs into a policeman watching him behind. He kills, skins the guy and pulls him up to a tree. That was when first I said to myself: "it's non-sense". He's so busy to hide everything then once he brutally kills someone and leaves the corpse where people will find it. The whole work before was waste of time. There were so many chances to make a good scene... (e.g. The policeman's keep following him, LONG TIME following him! He can see what he's doing and he has time to be in dread of Predator. Maybe the Predator can hear a noise in the forest on the front of him and he quickly turns the camouflage on. And now our guy is shaking, getting swallowing he's fist: "Mother of god." The Predator is seeking on the front of him for the noise, using the laser, still in camouflage. Our guy's starting to lose self-control, Predator can hear our guy's movement. The guy is trying to keep himself behind the tree, now the P. is seeking behind where our guy is. He can't see him yet because the tree. But our guy also can not see him in the camouflage. Predator is approaching the tree, our guy is still behind the tree and trying to stay in the opposite side where he believes the Predator is. Then NOW the radio VERY QUICKLY, the guy's keep turning scared, he looks behind but "somebody" is already waiting there. And NOW comes a blade.)

This is the first main problem with this movie: nobody is scared. Including the little approx. 6-year-old girl, who is actually a witness of her father's brutal murder? She sees AvP fights, dead bodies, a 'cheap woman' fixed to the wall by a star and there is no sign of mental trauma? If nobody is scared, the audience is also not scared. If the audience is not scared in a horror movie, the whole thing is waste of time and money.

So, Predator's moving on, killing Aliens, Predaliens by weapons, by hands - either simultaneously, then once he probably takes a look at his watch: "oops, end is coming, so now I need to drop weapons, mask…" and he begins a fight by hand with - probably not the last – less significant Predalien. Why?

This is second main problem in this movie: nobody is thinking.

Fights: to fast, too dark, zoom is too in; camera is switching positions too often: opponents can not be tracked and distinguished well. When they're having a short break audience can maybe find out who got the last punch from the previous round.

There is a young woman who decides a jump from a guy to another as monkey from tree to tree in the Jungle. Then she fires the guy, reports it to the other one: "okay, my now I am ready". Is it the accepted way as people are doing over there? Was it necessary to set these people in 'positive' role in a movie that millions will see?

Then let's see the brutal scenes. Was it also really necessary to put pregnant women in a sci-fi horror movie and get killed like this?? Isn't there any feeling of human dignity too? Then the kid in the forest… awful…

However created this movie, have a quite distorted vision or social ambient.

And this is the third main problem, the largest one in this movie: creators are also not thinking - which can be the cause of its failure in my eye.

This movie was a bin of rubbish; I am not going to buy it on DVD and probably my friends are also included.

There were 3 nice scenes too - but they're still not making this movie any better in my eye. The Alien and the father through the window, the human-eating-Alien gets a pike in the head, and the one at the power station Predator's walking on the bridge and the Predalien's following him quietly underneath.

Avoid this movie. :-(
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Aliens battle Predators on Earth where unsuspecting residents realize that something horrible is stalking their little town
ma-cortes13 February 2015
Spectacular but mediocre Aliens/Predators movie set in a little town where a motley group takes on extraterrestrial monsters . As warring alien and predator races descend on a small town, where unsuspecting residents must band together for any chance of survival and they find themselves caught up in a battle between the two legend beings .

Stirring but inferior sequel with plenty of thrills , chills , suspense , disgusting special effects and lots of blood and gore . In fact , this is the second Alien film, and also the first Predator film, to get a rating other than R . It was decided at an early stage that this movie would be R-rated as "it is what the fans want from the series". Moving and thrilling screenplay by Shane Salerno based on "Alien" characters created by Ronald Shusett and Dan O'Bannon as well as ¨Predator" characters created by Jim Thomas and John Thomas . This is the first movie in both the Predator and the AVP-based movies that actually feature scenes of the Predators' home planet. It was at one time hoped to include scenes of the Aliens' home world ; conceptual art was created and it was even storyboarded to be used as the closing shot of the movie, but ultimately the idea was dropped in favor of using it in a potential third film . ¨Aliens versus predators¨ I and II were a project that had floated around for about 10 years , it was only when director Paul W.S. Anderson and Strause Brothers did his verbal pitch to the suits at 20th Century Fox that anyone showed any real interest . This horrifying as well as heart-pounding movie contains shocks , stomach-churning violence , filled with action , thrills and results to be pretty entertaining . This nail-biting picture contains tension from start to finish , gory scenes aplenty , thrills , some strong scares , slime , emotion , entertainment and so-so acting . It is an acceptable though middling cinematic combination of Sci-Fi , monster movie and terror . This is a brutal , considerable violent and exciting sci-fi thriller that scales new heights of savagery even by the standards of the 70s , 80s , 90s and 2000s . The result is a throughly violent but undeniably thrilling action movie with an unknown though passable cast giving sweatily good value to their abrasive characters . Based on the comic books by writer Mark Verheiden, creator of the first Alien vs Predator comic series and the first story involving both species , contrary to popular belief, the comic was released prior to the infamous shot of the alien "skull" in Predator 2 (1990) . The Alien vs. Predator story crossed over virtually all forms of media before becoming a feature film . There was a successful comic book series, toy line, multiple video games, soundtrack of the PC game and even a trading card series . Breathtaking as well as bloody slaughter sequences took long time to shoot and were extremely difficult to make . Magnificently designed creatures , originally created by the artist HR Giger . Top-notch special effects by SFX designer Alec Gillis and Tom Woodruff Jr ; the latter has a brief cameo , in fact this is special effects maestro Tom Woodruff's fourth time in the alien costume . The Animatronics were controlled by a motion-control rig which could save her movements digitally . The ending part is particularly exciting with our protagonists battling the malicious aliens as well as brutal predators and with impressive scenes that took various weeks to film . ¨Aliens vs. Predator 2¨ (2007) by Strause Brothers has a decent but little known cast such as Steven Pasquale , Reiko Aylesworth , John Ortiz , Johnny Lewis , Kristen Hager , Ariel Gade , Sam Trammell , Gina Holden , Ty Olsson and Robert Joy . The picture packs an original music by Brian Tyler , plenty of frightening and stirring sounds . However ,some score and sound effects from previous films in both franchises were used in this film . Colorful but dark cinematography by Daniel Pearl with several scenes filmed at night . The motion picture was regularly directed by Colin Strause and Greg Strause both wanted the film to be 3-D, however the idea was dropped, because it would be too expensive. Being shot in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada ; according to directors , if they'd filmed in Hollywood, the sets would have cost them $20 million .

There was seven years between the release of Alien (1979) and Aliens (1986), six between Aliens and Alien 3 (1992), and five between Alien³ and Alien resurrection (1997). The original and the best was ¨Alien¨ by Ridley Scott , it was starred by Sigourney Weaver as a great action woman similarly to Sanaa Lathan ; it is followed by ¨Aliens ¨, also visually astounding by James Cameron with Paul Reiser , Jenette Goldstein , Lance Henriksen ; and this Alien . All of them starred by the great Sigourney Weaver who performed one of the best female leads created in years followed by Sanaa Lathan . Furthermore, ¨Alien vs. Predator¨ (2004) that was first film in the "Alien" franchise to not feature Sigourney Weaver, who has said in interviews the idea of the crossover "sounded awful and ¨Aliens vs. Predator ¨ (2007) by Paul W.S. Anderson with Sanaa Lathan , Raoul Bova , Ewen Bremner , Tommy Flanagan , Joseph Rye . The original and the best ¨Predator¨ (1987) by John McTiernan in which Arnold leads a team of CIA-hired mercenaries into the Central American jungles with Jesse Ventura , Bill Duke , R.G. Armstrong , Carl Weathers , Elpidia Carrillo who appears briefly in ¨Predators II¨ with Bill Paxton , Danny Glover , Ruben Blades and ¨Predators¨ (2010) by Nimród Antal with Adrien Brody , Topher Grace , Alice Braga and Walton Goggins
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed