"The X-Files" Bad Blood (TV Episode 1998) Poster

(TV Series)

(1998)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Funniest X-File of them all!
Muldernscully28 March 2006
The X-Files was most famously known as being a dark and scary television show. What casual observers of the show don't know is that the X-Files had an assortment of humorous episodes sprinkled in this monster-heavy series. These "humorous" episodes do not disappoint either. Bad Blood is arguably the best of this bunch. When Mulder kills a teenage boy who he mistakenly believed to be a vampire, he and Scully must explain their actions to Skinner, their superior. What ensues is a hilarious "he said/she said" account from Mulder and Scully, each explaining his/her version of the transpired events. You won't stop laughing after seeing Mulder and Scully give completely different "versions" of the exact same event. As Mulder tells Skinner at the end of the episode, "That is... essentially... exactly the way it happened." If you're ready for a light-hearted episode with plenty of dark humor, Bad Blood is a must-see.
74 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't Say I Never Did Nothing' Fer Ya
mattressman_pdl10 July 2008
A young boy is dead, a victim of an apparent overreaction on the behest of Mulder. His reason...the boy was a vampire. One of the best teasers finds Mulder staking the young man, violently, and then retrieving the fake fangs before disclaiming "oh, sh...." Now in deep trouble, Scully and Mulder must sort out their stories for Skinner. But can their separate idiosyncratic behaviors be cast aside to discover the truth. Not sure, but the voyage is hilarious.

The characters, set up by five years of behaviorisms and attributes, are hilariously lampooned in this episode, helping the viewer to catch a breath after some mythology-heavy episodes. Luke Wilson is present for a talented supporting cast but it's the show's leads that take the proverbial cake.

Mulder: "I was DRUGGED!"
38 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yall must be da guvment peepuhl!
Sanpaco1316 November 2007
I truly love this episode and it is one of my top ten. The best part about it is the different points of view that we get to see from Scully's side and then from Mulder's side. This is so interesting and entertaining because we get to see how each's frustration with their partner comes out. I also love the way that certain jokes and details were noticed by one but not the other. Obviously they pay attention to different things. This is the first vampire episode that I ever saw though I know that "3" was before this by a few years. As a comedy episode this really is a gem and there are just way too many good parts to even name a few favorites. Suffice it to say that Vince Gilligan deserves all 10 points from me.
33 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Near Dark" with laughs
Twins6527 March 2006
Just checked in on this ep. again after several years. I was reminded of it after recently catching another early Luke Wilson vehicle, "Bottle Rocket".

I always liked the dark humor episodes way better than the "conspiracy" ones on the X-Files, and this one is obviously one of the former. Wise-cracking autopsies, sarcastic morticians, and Luke wearing nasty fake choppers are sure to delight. And when was the last time you saw one of those 1970's "Magic Fingers" beds in a motel anyway?

Throw in some trailer trash vampires (not quite as vicious as Lance Henriksen and his NEAR DARK crew), and you've got another winner from the pen of Vince Gilligan.
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My #1 Episode
MulderManiac20 August 2009
"Bad Blood" is my absolute favourite stand-alone X-File episode. Watching the story being played out by first Scully's view and then Mulder's was original and funny. This episode pokes fun at the way each agent sees the case--always differing from the others point of view. It really displays the difference of views and opinions in Mulder and Scully's partnership.

Bad Blood is packed full of laughs and great one-liners, and the character of Lucius Hartwell (played by an amazing Luke Wilson!) is hilarious. I love Mulder's interaction with him. The storyline isn't bad either, but, really, what's not to love about the guv'meant peepuhl, vampires and big buck teeth? 10/10
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exanguinated?
koalablue_19938 October 2008
This was a fantastic episode. It really is one of the funniest X-Files out there. Mulder and Scully go to Texas to investigate a series of bizarre exanguinations by what Mulder believes to be a vampire. The script is brilliant, and one of the best ever written for the X-Files. Vince Gilligan is as good as Darin Morgan here. Scully's wise-cracking and sarcastic autopsy was truly something hilarious to behold. Luke Wilson was really good as the sheriff Scully falls for. This is definitely in the top ten episodes ever made. Mulder and Scully's different points of view where fun to watch. I laughed allot. Did the sheriff really have buckteeth or not? We will never know.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
your cell-mates nickname will be 'Large Marge'
inthemoodswing19 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This episode is an excellent satire. It seems to me that the producers of the show said to the cast, 'OK everyone, let your hair down and have a giggle'. The shows fans should view this story in the same way and enjoy the spectacle of Mulder and Scully exaggerating their personal idiosyncrasies.

There are too many comic moments to list individually but I love the scene immediately after the opening credits. Mulder and Scully meet the morning after the night before to sort out their story, setting the mood for what is to follow. Mulder's childish tantrum when he flattens the waste bin and Scully's description of his attack on Ronnie, "I didn't do the..(imitates hammering action), with the thing", had me laughing out loud. In the same scene Gillian Anderson almost consigns one take to the blooper bin. Its the bit when Mulder warns Scully she's going to end up in prison with a cell-mate called Large Marge who reads a lot of Gertrude Stein - watch her put her head down and cover her face with her hand. If you look closely GA has the broadest of grins on her face at this point before she recovers her composure.

The ending makes perfect sense to me if you take note of the last scene between Scully and Sheriff Hartwell. He apologises for Ronnie Strickland's actions 'he doesn't understand the concept of low profile', we (vampires) are not like that anymore, we're good neighbours, we pay taxes'. I take that to mean this community of vampires doesn't harm or kill people, they just want to live, as far as possible, ordinary lives. Ronnie it appears, watched too many Bela Lugosi movies just like Scully said. The vampires incapacitate Mulder and Scully to make good their escape. They don't kill them, that would only invite further intrusion into their world by the authorities. Presumably the vampires flee to set up a new community elsewhere away from the spotlight.

Other favourite lines;

Mulder: Come on Scully get those little legs moving!

Scully: Its not that Mexican goat sucker either!
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Talking 'bout Shaft...
hoornstram12 December 2016
Sometimes I imagine Chris Carter and the X Files writers sitting around a table sorting story ideas into three stacks: Conspiracy stories, Monster of the Week stories, and Crap. Because even in the world of X Files monsters, maybe a vampire story is a bit of a stretch. Maybe not, but maybe. I just think this episode would have bombed if they had played it straight. However, X Files is brilliant at making that Crap pile shine by turning into comedy. This is my all time favorite X Files comedy episode and it never fails to make me laugh out loud, particularly when Mulder objects "I...did...NOT!" to Scully's cheeky telling of the whole Shaft thing. I love the device of telling the story from their own unique perspectives. Mulder sees Scully as a whiny stick-in-the-mud and Scully sees Mulder as something like an annoying human chihuahua. On the occasions when I get to introduce X Files to someone, this is one of my go-to episodes. Absolute brilliance!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughed Out Loud!
mkita-15 December 2010
I was never an X-Phile while the show was running. In fact, I had never seen an episode. I recently "caught the bug" and started with Episode 1:1 and have been watching them straight through, in order.

While I have lots of "favorites", this one is so unlike any other episode i have seen to this point. Duchovny and Anderson turn in tremendous performances.

Watching them each tell their story, and show how they perceive each other and themselves was just hysterical. Luke Wilson fits right in on this episode as well.

Gets a 10/10 for me!!
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very cute and funny
aurrora_australis12 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I thought this episode was very funny, and I was cracking up when Mulder came to after being drugged and started singing "Shaft". I enjoyed how Mulder and Scully each exaggerate the events from their own point of view, painting their partner in a less than flattering light. Also funny was when Mulder tried to arrest the vampire while he was in his coffin but he was being less than cooperative. This episode had some unexpected surprises, and it is one that will not disappoint. Seeing Scully drool over Luke Wilson and throw intestines into the scale was a departure from her normally serious character, and was a nice change, especially after we saw her go through her ordeal with cancer and losing a child. I would've given this episode a 10 but I didn't really understand the ending and why the agents' lives were spared. Either way, I love it, and you should watch it.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Probable cause of death…gee, that's a tough one
DWilliams108926 July 2010
Ah, "Bad Blood." I had been eagerly anticipating re-watching this for the sole purpose of conjuring up a review but words cannot convey just how timelessly funny this episode is. In a season largely full of somber stand-alones and emotional nadirs regarding the loss of Scully's genetically-conceived daughter Emily, it's refreshing to revisit the days of season three when it seemed like every other week offered up a comedy. Much like Darin Morgan's "Jose Chung's 'From Outer Space'," Vince Gilligan's "Bad Blood" tells its story by means of multiple perspectives, but unlike that episode, it is told through the lens of Mulder and Scully. In a way it goes beyond the confined definition of a "standalone" because it is essentially an episode about our two agents and what they bring to the other's ordeals.

The opening sequence is perhaps the funniest of the entire series. You will have to see it to find out why. Equally hilarious is the bucktoothed (or is he?) deputy played by Luke Wilson. Patrick Renna, who I recognized from The Sandlot, plays the pizza guy Ronnie, whose autopsy is as comical as it is predictable. The pinnacle of this episode for me however involves Mulder and an RV. If you've already seen this you know what scene I'm referring to but I don't want to give it away to the newcomers. It's genius.

Without a doubt this is my favorite of the fifth season. Highbrow humor, a great guest cast, and an episode that at its core focuses on the dynamic relationship of Mulder and Scully makes for a superb X-File. Several years ago this ranked #1 on a fan-chosen marathon on the Sci-Fi network and I'm not at all surprised. Gilligan struck gold.

10/10
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Creep!
is23824 February 2011
By far, this has got to be the funniest X-files episode I've ever seen! It's laugh-out-loud funny! What I like about it are the two different viewpoints of the same events, Mulder's and Scully's. It's really like they're a married couple who see the same exact things in a totally different way. It's hilarious! Especially because there's so much truth to it. And Luke Wilson is just too stinkin' funny! This is a must see for any X-Files fan, or anybody wanting a good laugh!

Two favorite lines:

"Yall must be da guvment peepuhl!"

"Creep!"
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Episode
mthrlza9 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Some of the comments here are taking this episode way too seriously. Why not see it as a wonderful humorous addition to the series we all know and love. A series which so often pokes fun at conspiracy theories, even when it is at its most serious. The reason the characters act "out of character" is because we're seeing them through their own eyes. I guarantee that if you ever had an interesting experience while on a trip with a friend or colleague and you each wrote separate accounts of what happened, you would very likely disagree with your friend's portrayal of you as well as the accuracy of small details or events. This is just because so much of what happens to you ie. your thoughts and opinions, never actually leave your head.

I didn't think the ending was that bad. It was the only logical way to end the episode. If the vampires killed Scully and Mulder, they would risk exposing themselves. And anyone who kills 2 police officers is far more likely to be hunted down than someone who kills 2 drifters and 2 police officers. It would probably have been better if there had only been one vampire - but then the episode would no doubt have ended in the same way as so many other episodes (with the killer being institutionalized in a safe facility) rather than distinguishing it from them, as was no doubt intended.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Do vampires have fangs?????
abhishekkr2-112 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I think this is the best screenplay I have ever seen in X-Files. Though its common in movies, different views are shown as different part of the script, but for the X-Files this was the first. Now the next thing the humour lot in X-Files, this episode surpasses all others and its good. Mulder is good, Scully is good, Sheriff is good but the end is not good. But......My God..... what was the ending, a brilliant episode ending in such an open way. I think this episode at least meant a little more than others and we were expecting a more obvious but conclusive end. I didn't wanted to demean this episode in any way and I think for 1st time watch it will keep you glued until the last moment.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best X-Files episodes
harryplinkett143 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I can't stand the 'mythology' episodes. They are insufferable and they never go anywhere. I like the stand-alone episodes, and my favourite kind is the reflexive, humorous kind. 'Bad Blood' is a perfect example of this type of episode.

Of course, there are some minor problems here, especially regarding the internal logic. Where would these vampires leave without the government being able to catch up with them? Was the entire town filled with vampires? If so, who were these victims? And how much money can you make delivering pizza in a town of three hundred people? Anyway, apart from these details, the episode is great. It dared to be silly without feeling awkward, it is well told, with the comedic combination of two different perspectives on the chain of events, we see Scully acting like a woman for a change, which I always love, we are introduced to interesting vampire lore, which is well incorporated into the story, and we have a lot of suspense, despite the largely comedic tone.

It's funny how Mulder and Scully tend to reveal themselves best precisely in these tongue-in-cheek episodes.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Fox Mulder the great Vampire Killer
Of course not, I don't like Bad Blood my honest opinion. I did not got this episode like this is the first time when I see Scully (Gillian Anderson) been mean to Mulder (David Duchovny). Luke Wilson is in this episode and he is funny. This episode is more comedic than a horror.

Bad Blood is a about a Vampiers killing people and they have green eyes. Which I never saw green eyes before in any movies or any TV shows. Second the ending makes no sense to me why all vampires left and why they left Mulder and Scully alive? it makes no sense to me. I know people love this episode they considiring as one of the best X-Files episodes I am like really? I don't understand what is so great about this episode? I don't understand people who gave a10 to this episode? I felt bored with it. Almost nothing happens. Mulder stakes a kid trough his heart but when the object is removed he is alive? He wears a fake teeth so that he fools Mulder thinking he is a human? Too much comedy elements with Luke Wilson in it that did not work for me.

The only reedeming aspect is Mulder and Scully talking in the office about this case but that is it. Bad Blood I don't like and Mulder is not a great vampire killer.

I love Fright Night (1985), Fright Night Part II (1988), Fright Night (2011) remake, Vampires (1998), From Dusk Till Dawn (1996), From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money, The Lost Boys, Bram Stoker's Dracula, Sundown: The Vampire in Retreat and more vampire movies. Bad Blood isn't for me never will be.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good comedy, bad X Files
ttapola10 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe this is rated (at the moment of writing) over 9 out of 10. I can't believe that people have missed the severe problems this episode has. Sure, it is funny as hell, but is it a good X Files episode? Absolutely not. Were this a short movie with Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny playing characters other than Scully and Mulder, it would deserve 9 out of 10. As an X Files episode, however, it is only a poor man's "Jose Chung's 'From Outer Space'" (which is THE best X Files script ever). First problem: This is an episode containing subjective storytelling, but unlike in "Jose Chung's 'From Outer Space'", the storytellers are not unreliable witnesses - they are Mulder and Scully. This is a problem because as partners who've bonded over the course of 5 years, they would NOT portray the other in a manner on display here. Are we supposed to believe that Scully portrays Mulder as overbearing and belittling? Are we supposed to believe that Mulder portrays Scully as hostile and uncooperative? Are we supposed to believe that both portray their relationship as passive-aggressive? That their versions of the events would really be THIS different? I don't buy it and neither should anyone else. Outside Mulder and Scully's stories, Mulder is behaving very out of character. He seems unwilling to accept responsibility for his actions (killing Ronnie) and rather worrying about his career. And then there is the ending, which is a major disappointment - nothing climactic or concluding happens. It just falls flat. Even the jokes are not as good as in the first 3 quarters of the episode. So frustrating.
17 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Repeat Business"
sollyharv17 February 2020
One of the best episodes of the show so far. It's masterfully written and directed, with Anderson and Duchovny both giving exceptional dramedic performances as usual. The writers for this show (with some exceptions) really excel at juggling comedy, mystery and horror all at once, and this episode is a perfect example of that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Needs more dental floss
That_SteveGuy5 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Right off the bat, the episode begins with Agent Mulder stabbing a child with a wooden stake. At first I was like 'oh damn'. And then the plot thickens when, shock horror, the teeth are fake...

CUE X-Files theme.

Unlike most episodes written for the previous seasons of X-Files, this episode could almost have come from a 'pick a creature from the hat' writers room meeting. When first watching the episode it seems as if its going to be another case of Skinner reprimanding agents Mulder and Scully, with Mulder having to sit in front of a court and try to explain why he has stabbed a young boy; Scully racing against time to prove Mulder's innocence and all the while the Cigarette Smoking Man and his goons would be lurking in the background, toasting another successful day of roping agent Mulder into believing one of their hoaxes.

But that is not what this is. Instead, we get a hilarious episode, in which agents Scully and Mulder recap the previous night's shenanigans, each from their own perspective. With some hilarious dialogue (including Mulder quoting Shaft) and Luke Wilson's character of Sheriff Hartwell, being shown from both agent's perspectives, the episode is a fun one to watch, and gives viewers a bit of a break from the usual race against time to solve the latest case cliché that is expected from an X-files episode.

Although one of the most fun episodes I've watched, it did seem a little weird to watch, very similar to the episode "The Post-Modern Prometheus" (which was filmed entirely in black and white, and was heavily based off of the Frankenstein story), as it sort of takes the viewer out of it, and you feel like you're watching the actors have a bit of fun with the whole thing.

Overall, a thoroughly good episode, and personally one of my favourite to watch. Highly recommended if you're bored and want something fun to watch.

TL:DR Mulder the Vampire Slayer and Scully the Sceptic get up to some fun in Texas
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hartwell: Is there anything else? Mulder: A faint groaning coming from under the earth. The sound of manducation -- of the creature eating its own death shroud.
bombersflyup12 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Bad Blood is about Mulder and Scully recounting the events that led to the staking of a teenager in Texas, that Mulder claims was a vampire.

An amusing episode on Mulder and Scully's point of view of the other and an alternative take on vampires. Both "The Sandlot" kid as Ronny and Luke Wilson as the hick sheriff, excel in their roles. Even to the naming of the office girl to Sharlene, ha. While full of funny moments, it's ironically hollow because of its satirical nature. It isn't based within the context of the show's reality. That doesn't mean it isn't still better than most things though.

Mulder: The coroner's dead? Skinner: No, his... throat was bitten. It was sort of... gnawed... on.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"I just put money in the Magic Fingers!"
classicsoncall13 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I can see how this would be a Top Ten episode for fans of the X-Files. Scully and Mulder are hilarious in their explanations of how they wound up investigating a paranormal case in Chaney, Texas, with Mulder on the hook for potentially killing a teenager he thought was a vampire. My initial reaction to the teaser scene was how in the heck the FBI agents ever got out of Texas following that harrowing incident, but then we eventually come to learn that the entire town had a secret they were sharing and pulled up stakes when that secret finally got out.

The funniest scene for me occurred when Scully was doing an autopsy on the first exsanguination victim in the story, and suddenly developed an appetite for pizza. It's a scene that would turn most people green in real life, but here she is working on an empty stomach and can't get her mind off food.

Adding to the goofy ambiance of this story is the presence of Luke Wilson, offering up a double dosed version of Sheriff Lucius Hartwell depending on who's telling the story, Scully or Mulder. Hartwell's reveal at the end put everything in perspective for the astonished Mulder, who now had to conjure up his interpretation of events for Assistant Director Skinner back in Washington. Scully's under no illusion that she can salvage this case, and has no other choice but to confirm Mulder's basic explanation with - "That is... essentially... exactly the way it happened." Even if it didn't.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed