Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
272 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Realistic and wonderful movie
gundugumblock6 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was excellent. It was a truly adult theme and very realistically made. This genre of movies has not been explored in India because of social taboos but it happens all the time. People fall in & out of love, they may never be 'in-love' with their spouse but think they do and keep looking for a deep romantic love. This movie explored all this with tenderness & dignity as the dominant themes. What's more, it was not primitive in it's treatment of the story i.e. the previous tone for movies would have been to kill these people who fall in love outside of marriage or suddenly turn their spouses into abusing monsters - to justify the people falling in love - who die and bless the new couple in the dying scene to be together! The movie had a realistic and logical conclusion. The only thing is that it could have been shorter. Nevertheless, it was not boring. All the actors have given it their best shot.
52 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Karan hits a new low
maxqnzs4224 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Kabhi "kank" na dekhnaa!! This movie had the best ending of any BW film I've seen. The only way to improve on the ending of this film would have been to move it 190 minutes closer to the beginning.

I must congratulate KJ on blending unsympathetic, whiny, self-absorbed characters with a convoluted, self-indulgent and incredibly overblown storyline. I should also thank him for making me think kindly of Mother India, which now seems like a 10 minute comic riot when compared to this month-long episode of "Hamare Zindagii ke dinoN". I was easily able to understand how desperation to get out out of it caused Big B to have a heart attack. Talk about life imitating art! Still, it must have been less painful than being stuck in the nightmare of that movie. The guy is well-read, thoughtful and well-spoken off screen, but is painted a sleazy lecher in the first 45 minutes of this film. When Preity says "this marriage is over", my only reaction was "but this movie's still got 40 minutes to go!" Poor Kajol should have avoided this stinker like the plague, opting for classy, high-quality drama like "Girlfriend" instead.

I now have a soft spot for Preity, and hope that starring in this clunker doesn't weigh her down with too much bad karma. Now I'm off to do pooja for whichever deity inspired the FF button, to say thanks for preventing my suicide.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Experiment gone awry
Arunirvana12 August 2006
I make onion poha for breakfast thrice a week, with the bare minimum ingredients possible. One day I tried to experiment some (inspired by the stalls outside my Engineering college) and tried some sugar (caramelized onions anyone?), extra turmeric and some red chilli powder. The result was anything but edible but I humbly gulped it down.

KANK is an honest attempt to break away from the mauled of sugary romances by the new age love guru Karan Johar. An honest attempt, huh? Its the result that speaks volumes in the age of fast-food and fast-love. What we get to witness this time is not the time tested elaborate shaadis, karwa chauths or the big fat Indian family reunions, reminiscent of his and Yash "uncle's" earlier movies. This time its the bold subject of infidelity - the sensitive (ahem!) portrayal of seeking love outside a loveless (???) marriage. How far does Karan succeed? Lets check it out through the eyes of a neutral, unassuming viewer.

KANK is the story about Dev (Shahrukh), a footballer whose career dreams are broken along with his leg when he meets with a freak accident, which makes him a recluse. His ever complaining ways puts his marriage with Rhea (Priety), a successful woman, on the rocks. In another part of New York city, there is marital tension between Rishi (Abhishek), & Maya (Rani) for reasons only known to Karan dude. Maya is a cleanliness freak and doesn't know why she is married to Rishi even after 4 years being together. She thinks that she is trapped in a loveless marriage, whereas her hubby still goes ga-ga over her. In the midst of all this mayhem, we have the swinging sexagenarian Sam (Big B) who could be the poster boy for Viagra and Dev's endearing mom played by Kirron Kher.

Its baffling to comprehend the first meeting between the protagonists Dev & Maya on the latter's wedding day and the subsequent exchange of words between total strangers. She is confused about the marriage right from the word go due to godforsaken reasons. Cut to the present times and the duo meet up under similarly make-belief circumstances. The sequences revolving around a bizarre character "Black Beast" is corny to the core (now I wish I had seen Krrish!). The first half is laced with incoherent scenes like these, barring a few. The screen lights up whenever Big B is there, he provides the much desired light-hearted moments. His tete-a-tete with Kirron Kher is quite funny.

Well, coming back to the crux of the movie, the protagonists become pally, meet up regularly and discuss ways to save their crumbling marriages. At this point, Karan dude goes over the top again and gives us the work which resembles that of an overzealous amateur. The scenes where Maya teaches Dev the art of giving a good massage in a furniture store and Karan trying it on his wife and Maya metamorphosing into a seductive hunterwaali clearly takes the movie to abysmal levels. Then the inevitable happens, the duo become too close for comfort and decide to cheat on their respective spouses - what set out as mending work created a bigger monster.

Now lets talk about the performances, which forms the most important aspect of a Karan Johar movie as he employs the best in the industry. Shahrukh plays the role of Dev with conviction and nobody else could have bettered him here, but hey wait a minute, haven't I seen the same expressions in half a dozen of his earlier movies? Rani is competent but one hardly tends to sympathize with her character inspite of crying a bucketful. Abhishek Bachchan is the surprise packet, he goes through a range of emotions as if he is already a veteran, great acting from the junior. Priety looks glamorous and in a couple of scenes manages to overshadow king Khan too, but was that cleavage show necessary? Kirron Kher too does a great job but its Big B who again proves yet again that he is the real king and this time he gives a certain Mr.Hashmi a run for his money. He is ice cool in the first half and philanthropic towards the latter stages.

All said and done, the stellar cast raises the bar of the movie but then to what extent? A movie with such a half baked plot and treatment can't be saved from the obvious, it disappoints. The screenplay leaves a lot to be desired and that poses a question in front of Karan dude - Is it really worth to break away from the mauled? An ardent fan of his movies would be satisfied watching the protagonists running around trees and mustard fields and elaborate traditional celebrations of filthy rich families.

Nowadays I make onion pohas with a dash of lemon and they taste just fine. I guess I've learnt that the right way of making it by pondering over my mistakes, without going overboard with experimentation. Good luck Mr Johar!
60 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
very disappointing
vani_mehra200315 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Karan,I wait for your new releases anxiously but this one was disappointing.It was not that the whole concept was bad,but it could have been better.There were very negative elements in the movie which i think were not taken care off.Dev had been shown as a bad father because he is always found his son scolding and even at the end he prefer his selfishness instead of his child.If Maya could not be happy with such a good husband then she will be never satisfied with anyone else,cos there is not a single reason shown in the movie which shows that Dev can love her more than Rishi.I feel that Riya and Rishi were very good pair for two of them and still they wanted something more.Till the end of the movie Maya and Dev have not realized their mistake.Dev's mother preferred living with Riya ,his son is happy with his mom and doesn't miss his father anymore,Rishi compromised marrying again to fill the emptiness in his life and these two selfish characters are happy in the end disturbing so many lives.If end would have been shown as realizing what blunder they did and would have shown cared for their family,it could have win audience applause,Rishi and Riya were not at all wrong instead both of them were so lovable then why they had to undergo from such a pain?It could have been a hit if the story line would have been better.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Most overrated film
shikhasinghi12 August 2006
Saddest take on extra marital relationships. No justification for anything. Why SRK falls for Rani? How is she so different from Preity? Why is Rani angry with Abhishek? What does SRK give her? There is no justification and as a viewer I do not get interested in any relationship whatsoever. Because nothing looks real. One does not feel any emotions and the stars are crying all the time! Everything looks artificial and concocted. The director does not seem to have any depth and any understanding of the sensitivities. One should have a look at Arth and Silsila to see how this kind of cinema should be attempted. Good locations and costumes do not make up for an atrocious film.
101 out of 190 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Please do not watch this movie
anol_o21 October 2006
Watch it only if your life depends on it. Perhaps. In a country where millions of people are living below the poverty line, are dying of curable diseases like malaria, living like rats and dying like flies ... making movies (even bad ones) about rich, confused, NRI a**h***s is not only pointless but OUTRIGHT WRONG. Or may be it is not such a bad idea after all - "if they have no bread, let them eat cake". This movie can be described by these words - TORMENTING, TORTUROUS, HORRIBLE, EXCRUCIATING, AGONIZING, HARROWING, PAINFUL, TORTUROUS and MIND-NUMBING. Also sitting through this movie proves that there is something seriously wrong with me and that I should reevaluate my life.
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lack of focus and conviction
rraj513 August 2006
So, how do we make movie.

Step 1: Start from an idea Step 2: ... No point going to this step and onwards because that's where the thinking part ends in this case.

The idea was good, different and definitely unconventional. The execution was flawed and suffered from lack of thinking and complete inability to knit a story around that idea.

Let's start with lack of identity in and relevance of characters: Sam - couldn't figure out why is this character in the movie. He could not resolve anything, could not set an example of any kind. If he is trying to be Hugh Hefner, so be it - don't mix or dilute that character with stints of love for his late wife.

Kamaljit - Such a fine actress - totally wasted because of the same issue as above.

Maya - why is she unhappy? is she very fond of cleaning and Rishi very fond of throwing trash around; she wants to do or achieve something in life that Rishi is not letting her to? is she in love with some other guy before marriage (like Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam) and she is stuck here? Not explained at all in the movie.

Dev - Why is he so irritated all the time? What does he want in life? Why does he feel bad when Rhea kind of shows her generosity when she declines the promotion but he makes sarcastic remarks when he wins some small time cup in the beginning of the movie but she is unable to make it because of her interview? His love towards Maya all these years (even though he was married) and his waiting or letting the trains go, keeping a close watch at her etc. comes as a big surprise to the audience as well (at least tell us about it so that we can at least appreciate and understand your character and try to defend you.. because ultimately it is going to be your story)? How was he wronged to an extent that he had to leave his son, his mother because of some Maya after more than 5 years of marriage? What led him to pull the chain in the end when he didn't even know that Maya wasn't living with Rishi anymore? Totally confused guy with no sense of life.

Rhea - Understood. She is a career oriented woman and work comes first and family second. That's a personal choice and I appreciate that. She is very successful and took the magazine to No. 1 spot in less than 2 years (she joined when her son was 5yrs old). But her way of dealing with personal situations is very immature - don't believe she played any role in dealing with people issues to make the magazine such a big success. And what was the meaning of - Now we are No. 1 and now let us go back to our husbands and family. Are you saying that leaving husbands and family was part of the project plan to bring the magazine to No. 1 spot and that now there will not be any effort to keep it that way. Trust me, fight for sustenance at No. 1 spot is far more hard than achieving it.

Rishi - The most reasonable character in the movie. Although we don't know what is going on in his mind and how he wants to resolve things than just being totally committed and in love with Maya..but still.. we can grant him some room.

Arjun - A cute little angel with Chicken Little looks. He could have played a significant role in the movie to turnaround things and situations. But he is a kid...he gets to suffer in the end...so let us leave him for now.

In short - if we have so many weak characterizations playing the lead role in the movie, howsoever good the concept is - it is bound to fail.

The only good thing in the movie (that is why 1 star) 1- Music. Great Music!! But the songs, lyrics and the situations were totally out of sync with the storyline.

Mr. Johar - I have been a big fan of yours and I am sure you know this but I don't know why you missed it this time - There's a lot that goes into a movie to make it watchable than designer dresses, new york streets, and the most expensive and talented set of actors in Indian film industry. Please take charge of the movie and understand your responsibility and accountability to get the best out of them.

This is not a Karan Johar movie - this is a movie that happens to have Karan Johar's name as the director.
98 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A disappointing rendering of a sensitive emotion
tulip0616 August 2006
Hello Karan, This one's for you...Did you know that extra marital affairs or relationships are NOT built on flimsy grounds. It takes a lot of courage, pain, thought, guilt, yes, no, yes, no and finally when the partners give in (particularly when both are married) there is a lot of intensity, commitment to each other and hidden emotions which are so strong that you start to "feel" even if you are a listener/counselor/friend/confidante.. So just imagine how deep such a bond is, when it breaks the fetters of society. I am surprised that a person of your SENSITIVITY handled this theme with such a casual attitude.... And SRK who is at his emotive best in other films just lazily glides through this... as if the entire gamut of emotions is happening to someone else.. and Rani was a BAD choice despite her histrionic talents she could not handle this one... Kajol would have been better...since the basic rendering of the theme was so poor and disappointing, the characters did not depict any sensitivity/intensity/guilt/reason for an affair... no point in going into other cinematic content... it is a long awaited but disappointing finale..Study human relationships next time... before you venture into adult stuff..Good Luck anyways
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your money.
calvin_hopes12 August 2006
This is possibly the most advertised and well promoted movie in a long time. It has more stars than can be seen on most nights from Gurgaon. It is supposedly the most expensive Indian film made with a budget of over 70 Crore (~ USD 15 million) most of which might have gone towards paying the stars. The songs have been repeated tiresomely on the TV music channels and the radio channels. It has been one of the most awaited for movies in a long time, with advance bookings opening on Wednesday for the Friday show. We were among those who managed to get tickets for this weekend. So how was it?

Awful.

The story. Dev Saran, a football champion, breaks his leg in an accident and becomes a good-for-nothing, while his wife Rhea is a successful magazine editor. Insecurities abound and he is always in a bad mood. Rishi Talwar is a suave party planner, while his wife Maya is a teacher who can't have kids. More insecurity abounds, and she is always sad. The movie was supposed to be about relationships. It was supposed to offer insights into dealing with the situation of finding your soul mate after you are married. If it had stuck to this plot it would have been a good movie. I am no expert at relationships, but in this case I can confidently say I have more insight than Karan Johar or any of the cast and crew of this movie. Karan's first mistake was to showcase the two couples as struggling in marriage. This is unnecessary. A couple can be perfectly happy in marriage and yet find someone else to be their soul mates. This would have a much more difficult situation. His second mistake was to give both protagonists Dev, and Maya a weakness, or insecurity. This is the basis of their relationship and is totally flawed to begin with. Why could they have not been normal people who find interesting things in each other rather than comfort for their insecurities? Karan's third mistake was one that all Indian directors seem to make and I am beginning to believe is probably part of Indian upbringing now. People only listen to their elders on their death bed. On Samarjit's (Rishi's dad) last wish, Maya and Dev confront their partners and tell them the truth. But after being kicked out, they lie to each other, hoping to gain some sympathy with the audience for being nice. Unfortunately letting 3 years pass till you are accidentally reunited is not true love, or soul mate material, so oops, missed again.

There were other characters and plot lines, something about a child kidnapping Black Beast, a friendly tie-up between the Hugh Hefner with Indian morals Samarjit (Sam) and Kamaljit (Dev's mom) and a really weak link between Rhea and her boss at the magazine, but none of them were necessary.

The acting. Shah Rukh (Dev) is the worst. His list of expressions is reducing from movie to movie and he is better off playing roles with very little facial expression needed like Swades. Preity Zinta (Rhea) had no role so no scope for acting. She looked good yes, but if that's all that was required of the role, then someone like Malika would have been enough. Rani Mukherjee (Maya) was all gloss and at a loss for any kind of emotion. Maybe the make up was too constricting and all too obvious with the fake tears literally rolling effortlessly down her cheeks. A below par performance for a critically acclaimed actress. Abhishek (Rishi) was the saving grace. He is maturing into a fine actor. Granted his character was also the most real of the entire cast, but he managed to use that to his advantage and got the audience, me, to feel sorry for him. Amitabh, the playboy, should retire, his wrinkles just too scary for big screen. Kiron Kher was OK. Arjun Rampal, Kajol, John Abraham and Saira Mohan were wasted. So a big plus for Bachchan Junior and huge negative for everyone else.

The Cinematography and music Too repetitive. I got bored of seeing the NY skyline, something I never thought was possible. Columbia University and the station were overused. If this was really a story about relationships it might as well have been shot in Fursatganj. Shankar, Ehsaan and Loy under deliver. Gone are the days of Dil Chahta Hai or even Bunty Aur Babli.

In General The first half deserves a 1 star rating while the second probably a 2. One other thing, I was uncomfortable with is the film rating. It was a U/A. I saw lots of kids in the theatre and am not sure how this movie got a U rating. Is it okay for kids to know about kinky sex these days? Omkara got an A rating and I would rather kids see that than this. Maybe that was his biggest mistake – making this movie suitable for everyone and not concentrating on the adult audience.

Definitely not worth spending money on this one.

http://iamnovip.blogspot.com/
96 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this Movie!
nitap30 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
If you enjoy watching Bollywood movies about relationships especially real life marital relations, I think this movie is worth watching. At any rate, Karan Johar had courage to make this film and made it intensely serious as well as adding good comedy at the right moments. The songs are enjoyable and the performances by all the main actors were superb. It takes courage to take on the topic of infidelity and Johar does so brilliantly. We can relate to the characters on some level. It was wonderful to see the father-son team of Amitabh and Abishek team up in their mostly comic scenes. Shah Rukh Khan does intensity very well. Even though many Bollywood movies love to play with the idea that the couple that starts out in a movie isn't the couple that will end up together at the end, most Bollywood movies give it a fairy tale type ending where everybody is happy with the end result. But KANK does good by showing that there are repercussions when following your heart, and it doesn't feel good when we break another person's heart. This movie really explores the emotions and dilemmas that are involved in extra-marital affairs which I think is important for people to explore. Keep making these great films Karan!
32 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
dismal
parulshri19 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I had not watched the movie till lately.But unfortunately had to watch it.And i got so disgusted that i had to search for the site, become a member to post the comments! Because if by any chance it reaches the makers of the movie, i want to tell them that it was a sheer waste of money and energy, and should not be repeated in a country like ours! First of all, the movie is shot in foreign location when according to the story there is absolutely no need for doing that. The makers are clearly aiming at the overseas audience who will appreciate anything and everything in the name of India..not their fault.

I don't want to write much about the flaws of the movie as a lot of people have already done that on this very site. However, what is worth mentioning is that the concept was very good n could have been a very good movie.. The problem is that the protagonists are not normal people with normal problems n expectations. They are on the wrong stand through out and so manage to gather no sympathies what-so-ever. It is also impossible to identify with these people and therefore we don't feel like crying every time they cry(which happens way too often) instead, towards the end, every time they break into tears, we feel like yawning.

Shahrukh Khan could not have been worse, Rani was wasted and Amitabh Bachchan was disappointing beyond limits. Preity Zinta kept a straight face throughout, i know not why!! All in all, a sensitive topic completely wasted. Only one message to the makers, the audience is not so naive anymore.. it takes a lot more to make a good movie than huge mansions, designer clothes, half clad white women in 2 or 3 party songs, and dozens of bottles of glycerin. You can do much better than this. And if the promos of your next movie are remotely on these lines, i really wonder if Karan Johar will remain Karan Johar anymore, who can attract crowds only by his name.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A big disappointment...
idrees_salam-116 August 2006
Normally my expectations for Karan Johar movies are very high, but I am really disappointed this time, because the plot of the movie is very bad and very boring. There are no great and sudden scenes in the movie. Everything goes slow and expected. You can guess the climax of the movie from the every start. There are no trills, no excitement, no surprises. There is just a couple of dramatic scenes and that is all. I don't know why Karan Johar has decided to tell the story in this boring style, but there is just one thing I can say to him right now: "DUDE, YOUR MOVIE SUCKS" I will definitely try not to get fooled by trailers of a movie further on.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A good attempt flawed beyond belief
shashikrishna13 August 2006
Storyline # 1 - Dev Saran (SRK) is a football champ who breaks his leg in a freak car accident and retains a permanent limp. He is married to Rhea (Zinta) and has a child. His insecurity lies in the fact that he could not achieve what he wanted to in life. But what makes it worse is the fact that he seems to hate that his wife, on the other hand, is the 'man of the house' while he lives off her. This makes him terminally ill with 'male chauvinism syndrome' as it were as he huffs and puffs his way across this 3.5 hour debacle.

Cut to storyline # 2. Maya (Rani) a humble school teacher is married to Rishi (Abhishek) who is a party planner in NYC and a childhood friend of Maya. Maya is shown as someone incapable of having children and a cleanliness freak.

Both marriages are on the rocks thanks to inexplicably unreasonable characters Dev and Maya. Dev is always mad about one thing or another without a break. I was wondering why Rhea stuck it out with as long as she did. On the other hand we have Mrs.Weepy-Eye Maya who never really explains why it is she cant satisfy her honest husband's genuine needs. If he requires a little passion in bed then she would rather 'discuss' it than do anything more. Needless to say the man is patient and puts up with this borderline insane woman.

Then we have Rishi's Playboy dad Sam (Amitabh) who is waltzing around with girls a quarter his age while mouthing sentimental stuff about his dead wife. Yawn! When Dev and Maya meet the first time, being the strangers that they are, Dev actually manages to have a profound conversation with this complete stranger with questions like "Do you love him?" Seems like Johar was so eager to let them get used to each other from the very first frame and realism apparently doesn't matter anymore. A few meaningless lines later off goes Maya into her bridal suite and off goes Dev into a passing car.

4 years pass by. Don't worry. That means nothing.

Takes one to meet and understand one indeed. Dev and Maya meet up again due to some random accident and voila! We have the two couples exchanging greetings with each other. When they both "realize" that they are in the same boat they decide to help each other out with some ridiculous tomfoolery around beautiful NYC. You will have to see these scenes to hate them.

A few songs and hip shakes later we have the couple checking into a suite somewhere as they have just realized that "Hey! We don't need to fix our marriages. Lets fix each other up with one another!' while poor old Abhishek and good old Zinta are gyrating in a night club somewhere oblivious of where exactly the "party is that night".

KANK is about relationships outside marriage and what happens if one were to say 'meet their soul mate' after marriage. Very noble indeed. But the flaw is not with the question but with the answers Johar Inc. provides. Neither are they reasonable nor believable as 3.5 valuable hours of our finite lives are exhausted in this meaningless merry-go-round of 'relationships'.

Performances hands down belong to the Bachchans. If you thought you had seen the last of Big B then you better watch out. Despite being borderline vulgar the legend pulls off an amazingly new and refreshing role of a Casanova. In the same breathe there is his kiddo Abhishek. In the entire cast he seemed the only dude who had any honesty in his performance. If there is anyone to benefit from this Titanic of a movie then that is Abhishek. Rani…hang on. I forget when it was she acted in the movie between all that crying! Good lord woman! Have some integrity for crying out loud! Preity is OK in her very reserved appearance although I felt more sympathetic for her and Abhishek towards the end than these 'love birds'.

I kept SRK for a different paragraph for a couple of reasons. This man needs to start rethinking doing movies for Johar. He has hammed like you have never seen before. If in Kal Ho Na Ho he wouldn't die…then in KANK he doesn't live. Not for one minute. His loud and over the top acting makes me wonder if he indeed was the man who made a classic like Swades. It's a shame his choices have gone downhill again.

Music is truly over rated since it sounds like a lot of tunes you have already heard before. Editing and camera work is more on NYC rather than scenes. How many times will we get to see NYC, Mr. Johar? Some of us live there you know.

All said and done KANK is a good attempt gone very wrong. My advise – skip it and save yourselves a few hours of your mental and physical health.
49 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I didn't like it
Bengali_Princess28 August 2006
I watched this film as soon as it came out purely because my brother was dying to see it.

Shah Rukh Khan should never have agreed to act in this film nor should Rani Mukherjee. They must have been desperate for the cash.

It was AWFUL, never would happen in real life. Music was dreadful. I left an hour early because it dragged so much.

I just felt ashamed for even watching this film.

Would not recommend at all.

Save your money and spend it on something useful like a pencil so that you can poke your eyes out instead of watching this film.
35 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Beginning of the end..
deenabeckham13 August 2006
The storyline is weak. It lacks a good foundation to build a good plot...though I am glad that Karan Johar took the initiative to break out of his routine-happy-movies...he definitely missed the mark. Could this be the beginning of the end for him?....

The content was unconvincing, fake and unreal. There is no justification for any of their actions, namely Maya (Rani) and Dev's (SRK). To put it simply...it's just something the general audience will not be able to digest.

The backdrop is all too familiar with Kal Ho Na Ho and the songs aren't that great either. The film felt like it was on a never-ending roundabout...so much could've been edited and so much of it was unnecessary...felt like I was in the theatre for ages. BUT... nonetheless, I personally think the acting was satisfactory- and that goes for Preity, Rani, Abhishek, ..and maybe even SRK.

I wouldn't be surprised if this turns out to be a big flop.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic film, and a bold attempt
enasstinah17 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
before seeing this film , i had great fears about what could Karan Johar do this time( hated k3g). I was pleasantly surprised actually, i was pretty shocked how this is a total different director from the days of k3g. this film is bold( in terms of social norms in India), it says that the institution of marriage shouldn't be a rigid structure where people feel trapped by it. The thing I like about this film , is that you can't hate anybody in this film, everyone of the 4 main characters has moments when you love them and sympathize with them, and other moments where you want to smack them for their idiocy. i loved the comedy in the first half, and loved the drama in the 2nd half. the film has also high production values, the music is superb,the locations are amazing and Anil Mehta cinematography is top notch as usual.

the film is little lengthy( which I didn't care about), and it could use some editing...otherwise, this was a very entertaining , thought provoking film that i didn't expect from Karan Johar.
21 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid at all cost..
hebron0024 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I have never waited for a movie to end as much as i did in the case of KANK. I mean what were they thinking when they made this movie? From the very start to the very end, this K3G-cum-KHNH adventure was nothing but a big disaster. There was nothing worthwhile in the movie except Amitabh's(Sam) usual great performance, whose character did not have much to deliver even. Now what was the need to introduce the character of Dev's(SRK)mother (played awfully by Kiron Kher)? Abhishek Bachan(Rishi) was unimpressive as usual and aging SRK was superimposing his over-emotional performance like always. Rani Mukherjee(Maya) would have done better, something she is quite capable of. Priety Zinta(Rhea) looked good but thats all. The idea of the movie was new but somehow the weak screenplay could not justify the two characters getting sick of their marriages and ultimately ending up cheating on their spouses. The music was just average except the Mitwa song(sung beautifully by Shafqat Amanat Ali). A solid track with a real catchy tune and done justice by the singer. This is supposed to be India's most expensive movie ever(Rs 70 crore). Well, except for the payment of the big stars, i am not sure where was all that money spent. Karan Johar knows how to make a good movie but he needs to come out of that my-formula-will-always-work type mentality. I mean K3G looked good and so did KHNH, but not always. Why do we have to see a bhangra-cum-rock n roll dance track in every movie whether it is needed or not. Same goes for, let me see, Sonu Nigam's one sentimental track Or guest appearance by some stars. The list goes on. In a nut-shell I would say that even if you don't have something good to do, please take a walk or something but don't watch this movie.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cheap, bad humor and disturbing portrayals
bollywoodjunkie2 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This hugely disappointing film was so bad, it made me wonder why in the world such talented actors would agree to being associated with it. The feeble and ridiculously cheap sexual nature and cheap attempts at humor were no less than an insult to anyone's intelligence. Bad dialog, ridiculous mix-ups, highly flawed details, mediocre filming.

What disturbed me the most about this film was the fact that Dev blatantly abuses his son and this issue is completely ignored from an ethical standpoint.

There may be some reality to the film and it is certainly laudable for adults to accept failed marriages, move on, and still wish their unfaithful ex-spouses well, but personally I don't like the messages this movie sends: the hero is a child abuser, a misogynist, and infidel; Dev is so unpleasant, even if he is so handsome - no woman in her right mind could fall in love with him. The only thing that saved this film were two good songs and the extremely handsome/beautiful actors/actresses. I really hate seeing such talented people like SRK, Rani, and Daddy Bachchan play such shallow characters. The laudable attempt to deal with issues of contemporary life that are not congruent with traditional Indian values is completely destroyed by the cheap dialog, situations, and humor. They should have just stuck to the drama and the movie would have been find.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the reality hurts
aamir272729 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
all of u who gave it low ratings, what is wrong with u? it is simply a story about the reality within a society, it is the truth, these things are happening every day yet we run away from the truth.

brilliant film, brilliant scenes, gr8 dialogues, fantastic acting and fabulous direction. im not an overkeen fan but i appreciate good cinema and this is brilliant cinema, bitter yet leaves an impact

shahrukh is wonderful. those who think that he went over the top, well it was his character! the only downfall of the movies is probably amitabh bachchan who did some overacting!

recommended to all who love international and hard hitting cinema!
25 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hindi movies are not "hindi" anymore
tdh_cognac4 February 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Will all the other comment writers stop looking at Hindi movies as escapism from their current foreign surroundings and concentrate on the storyteller instead.

Why does everyone in a Hindi movie have to be prudish, why do Indian audiences around the world have to comment on the actions of every actor. why does everything have to be black and white. it is the shades of Gray that make our personalities colorful.

Just when someone tries to make in your face cinema that all goes awry. why is it so hard to accept that love does come without warning like death - as rightly said by the character of amitabh.

yes Shahrukh is surely over the top... but isn't that the reason why he is where he is today. no character has to justify their actions but for the fact that they are driven by their emotions... which is pretty common among common human beings.

full marks to karan for bringing this out and kudos to all in the movie for great performances.

the dialogues are splendidly thought out.

One thing i wonder--- why new york... maybe the same reason why Lamhe was set in London for the radical part of the story ! but the fact is that such stories may happen anywhere from Mumbai to Delhi to Bhutan's... just that we prefer to close our eyes to the same.

watch the movie with rationality... think of the characters as human and yes... you will find 3 hours worth it.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Let it Go Karan......
a_rpit_garg16 August 2006
Many said I am mad when I saw Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gam 10 times or so. Such a fan I was of Karan-Shahrukh-Amitabh trio. I created an air around me in which their combination could never fail...

But like all mortals they proved nothing different. This time they have struck rock bottom. I cant even think of how the cast could have seen through the movie in the special screening, when I a die hard Karan fan could not bear to see it through.

Everything, the characters, the emotions, the dialog's were all fake. This was not a Karan venture at all. KANK supposed to break Krrish record may well recover its cost due to high publicity but not worth it.

Karan darling you have certainly played a loser. Come on baby let it go, let someone else direct your movies like KHNH and if possible we need a better script and please let go your dialog writer.

The only high point of the movie being sexy sam,...Amithabh rock.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good solid movie
sydney_canadian18 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I am not sure what people are complaining about ...this is a good movie...its taking a look at a very important issue.....finding your soulmate.....and telling us about the state of marriage these days....its well reality....we all have friends going through trouble in their marriage......its well the truth....

i think the movie was trashed in India cause they are ready to see the truth....

the songs are great...the movie has a very modern look to it.....i think this is a very solid ...movie...and enjoyed it....sure its a bit depressing a bit...but hey Karan johar..he hates marriage and i guess decided to write a movie about it...lol....there are some hilarious scenes in it....

there is no way this movie is a 4.6/10 as rated on IMDb.....people have just trashed it...for some odd reason....maybe there weren't expecting the shock treatment Karan Johar likes to do with the audience....

the movie has probably the best cast ever ........with even surprise appearances by John Abraham and Kajol Preity Zinta looks great....not as chubby as she was in kal ho na ho...she has slimmed down looking smart...everyone in the movie look like big time actor/actresses..they all look great....the movie has a very modern look to it...looks great.

go out and rent out...stay open minded.....its a good solid movie..8/10.
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
its a great movie
evemorn903 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this movie. Its just a great movie some people criticized it because they don't have a sense of humor and like movies where everybody has to fight and kill and more of that nonsense but this movie really pushes the imagination.You really start to love the characters and don't know who's side you should pick. Because they all have good and bad things about them. You should think that it is a predictable movie but you get surprised every time. OK the ending leaves you a bit cold but it's better then other movies that people like because of there mindless violence and a ending where every one cries. This is just a alternative movie for people who like comedy with romance and drama. So don't say this is a bad movie just say that it isn't your taste.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Regular Bandwagon at Public Expense
danzs12 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Dear Karan,

When one goes for your movie, by now he knows what to expect. There are emotions and more emotions coming his way, vibrant and colourful songs with skimpy clad foreign models… good songs though, especially the title track… and the final tsunami of emotion to leave the handkerchief without a square dry inch. Those have been your success mantra till date, but please Karan, give us a break from your regular bandwagon at public expense.

Here's a story of Dev (Shah Rukh) and Maya (Rani Mukherjee). The movie starts out with these two strangers meeting on a bench where the would-be bride Maya is biding her time before tying the knot with childhood pal Rishi (Abhishek). Follows next is a dialogue where Dev raises a question: 'What if a person fell in love after marriage?' After uttering this portent line around which the movie revolves, our promising footballer, married to an ambitious Rhea (Preiti Zinta) is still on the high of getting his team to the next round on a penalty kick and being offered a $5 million contract, till he meets with an accident outside the bride's house. Sure comes across as a promising start. But the rest simply leaves an unfinished taste in the mouth.

The plot thickens as we cut across to the scenario after 4 years… Dev, the frustrated husband with a permanent limp living off his wife's earnings due to his accident injury; Maya a cold turkey in a marriage with Rishi that has borne neither kids nor mental and emotional satisfaction at her end.

So when Dev and Maya meet again, an extra marital affair is on the cards with Amitabh Bachchan as playboy Sam dropping in between scenes to add a shot of adrenaline to dull proceedings and remind the audience of his presence in the script as Dad for Rishi and foster Dad for Maya.

The movie drags on then for its entire runtime of close to three and half hours. However on the positive side the movie showcases: 1)The director's courage to deal with a theme on an extra marital affair for a traditional mindset back home. 2)Good performances by Amitabh, Rani, Preity, Kiron Kher (playing Mom for Dev), and Abhishek who thrives in his role of a faithful and caring husband. He sure has earned his award for 'Best Supporting Actor.' Purely for the performances extracted, this movie gets a 6 out of 10 from me. 3)Handling with flair the emotive moments. 4)Catchy musical numbers especially the title track that should make for good listening while driving down in your car.

Alas, the negatives outweigh the positives, them namely being:

1)A plot that tastes like gum after losing its flavour in the first 20 minutes but one is forced to chew on it for the next 3 hours. 2)Shahrukh who is the main actor but gets on the viewers nerve with an extra effort at his end which an actor of his talent does not require. 3)We could do without your clichés: including your lucky mascot Kajol for a 10 sec cameo. That has become quite commonplace. Now you add insult to injury by giving a cameo to John Abraham and Arjun Rampal. -Getting Amitabh again to lie down on the hospital bed in a critical condition; -Making Abhishek wear the famous lapel coat worn by his dad Amitabh for the movie Silsila and trying to titillate an educated movie audience of the 80s. -Your camera focus which should start showing something else besides Rani's eyes, Preiti's dimples and exhibiting your preference for mini skirts, chiffon saris and miniscule cholis. 4)Please Karan … Give us a break! Why do you have to include these phirang models dressed to the bare minimum in all your dance and party songs? We Indians are not that starved after the adequate doses you and your ilk have fed us over the past. 5)How hypocritical to portray Amitabh as a flamboyant playboy and then have him deliver a speech on the virtues of a good marriage and his love for his expired wife. 6)Making a movie that caters more for an urban educated class that visits the multiplexes but would leave the masses at towns and villages with a movie that is hard to identify with.

Well Karan, perhaps you are under the impression that you can use all your usual ingredients and come up with a winner. You sure do deserve credit for coming up once again with a theme that is different for Indian cinema since you talk of falling in love after marriage.

But why give it a 'Tea Break Treatment' while shooting for 'Koffee with Karan.'

Yours faithfully, A Disappointed Fan.
26 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
its pathetic and fake
ihdcb14 August 2006
when I left theater after watching movie the only emotion I felt was emptiness. I neither felt happy for those so called soul mates nor i felt sad for their partners. In my whole life I had not seen a single movie based upon infidelity being made so cheaply and lightly. Karan Johar tries to show whole movie like great family value. sorry karan but its big nonsense and total plastic.As advance booking of movie was good and will earn good in first week, people will start calling it a big hit and thus trying to increase the 2nd week collections but it will drop and drop badly as such hollow movie does not deserve to earn big. I wish I had not spent money on this movie. But Karan next time ,you are not going to make me fool again and I am not going to spend my hard earned money thats easily and cheaply for you
35 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed