Man of the Year (2002) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
MY DINNER W/ ANDRE on steroids
hazbegoten2 March 2003
The concept is simple: 20 or so people, 20 or so cameras, the whole thing shot live and the throughline being the downfall of a big kahuna whose great success every celebrates at a dinner party. A little ALTMAN, a little TIME-CODE, for sure, but this piece has its own identity because it's so tight. Every single character seems to be the star of his/her own story. Nearly everyone is interesting in some way. But, because you know that the John Ritter's character is about to crash and burn, he's the one you look out for the most.

There's something about unscripted humor that's borne of a situation. It hardly ever happens in movies, but this one has loads of it. Some comes from editing, the balance comes from the actors, whose roles seem almost improv.

There are a few soft moments. The tension lags and some storylines get in the way of the better ones. But, perhaps the most interesting part is that this could be a prototype of a new genre, a post-modern New Wave in this "reality-driven" age (of TV, at least).

All in all, an incisive, hip effort. It'll be great to see if it get some proper theatrical play.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pioneering, orignal and totally engaging
EccentricCattle-218 March 2003
I recently attended a screening of MAN OF THE YEAR, starring John Ritter. Here is a movie which was shot on something like 22 cameras at once. On a multi-split screen, we view the action of several stories simultaneously. Naturally, all of the stories eventually dovetail into one story. I found it to be totally engaging.

It's the kind of concept that could either really work, or really fail. This movie works. I enjoyed the sort of voyeuristic thrill of watching these characters interact in a way that felt totally candid. As it turns out, their stories were scripted, but the performances were all improv.

It was incredibly well done. I hope to see more from this filmmaker in the future, and from John Ritter, who was actually amazing as a totally sleazy oil executive.

Hopefully, this picture will play at the multiplexes one day. It's a refreshing break from so much of the unoriginal, formulaic stuff Hollywood asks us to digest.

Go and see it.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SLAMDUNK!
moviestar-720 January 2003
I just saw this movie with a full house at Slamdunk. A totally daring movie. They really pulled it off! Great performances all improv. Very Cool Well Done. I especially liked the Pineapple. It's also very funny albeit dark humor. John Ritter is really Good.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
extremely engaging from start to finish
rboyle21 March 2003
I thought the unique format would be distracting but it added to the character development and to the complexity of the story. Really good movie. Entirely satisfying. Ritter was great. The film had a 'real' and spontaneous feel to it.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Man of the Year is the film of the year!
marqueepro20 January 2003
This is one unique movie. The use of split screens throughout makes for non stop action that keeps the viewer's eyes glued to the screen. An interesting premise that's fully realized. It's truly unbelievable that the entire dialogue was improvised...it sounds as if it was shot from a script. The actors are uniformly excellent. Hats off to John Ritter for a sensitive, groundbreaking performance. And Lin Shaye is laugh-out-loud funny, too.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wonderfully innovative and entertaining!!
crashbrenda20 January 2003
I was blown away by Straw Weisman's Man of the Year!! This is truly an ingenious film with strong characters and great acting performances. It is very interesting and holds your attention throughout the film with a unique and creative style. The film has a very impressive editing technique that really helps to define the feel of the picture. I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone!
4 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Innovative = Garbage
floyd-526 January 2007
Interesting how every comment to date (and not many at that) is ridiculously positive about this movie.

What is to like? Short answer: nothing at all. A bunch of web cams installed at a boring party would produce the same as this effort.

There is a LOT of drinking in this movie. Personally I don't drink and don't admire those that do. Alcohol is the stupid drug and this movie is proof.

The movie is unedited, people -- completely without editing. The Sundancers call this innovative. You decide.

I think editing is probably the most unappreciated aspect of a movie. We all know that we need a good story, good acting, good directing, good photography and music that compliments all of these. But without editing you still end up with a steaming pile of cow dung.

This one steams. Avoid if you can.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Truly fascinating and wonderful film
NYCshadLA20 February 2003
I saw this film recently at the Santa Monica Film Festival because I knew one of the producers. I had no idea what to expect going in and found myself truly enthralled and blown away by the accomplishments of this film. Fast, funny, brilliant, twisted, bizarre, touching, intelligent--everything you hope to find in today's indie scene but rarely do. And when you add in the technical facts--improvised dialogue, 20 cameras, one night shoot--it stands as a great representation of what can be accomplished when creative people refuse to hear the word "impossible."
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
wow how cool
fariewing14 February 2003
what an interesting film. Very different. I thought it might be a challenge to follow but it was very easy and even moving at the end. I hope people get to see this is in the theaters I saw it up at Slamdunk and it was the most innovative thing I saw.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Man of the Year is a Slamdunk
olliechangroses20 January 2003
I just saw Man of the Year in Park City. Wow. Despite its obvious budgetary restrictions, this movie more than makes up for it in its unique editing style, fun and interesting story and memorable characters. John Ritter as Bill is a real head turner...one of his best characterizations ever. Up there with Slingblade. This film has real theatrical potential. The audience really went for it. Lots of laughter at first, but the film gradually turns, with some interesting twists. Well worth it.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a wonderfully innovative & astonishing achievement in filmmaking
AMZNGGRACE22 January 2003
Just saw this movie at Sundance -- what a cool idea! I can't believe they made this movie in just one night with 20 cameras & no script -- it's awesome! Great cast, great performances -- lots of laughs -- really fun to watch --
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great party!
mtolan21 January 2003
Man of the Year was a great ride. I was captivated from start to finish. The bird's-eye view of each character's storyline was cutting edge and enabled the audience to feel like a fly on the wall observing the sordid lives of the elite party-goers. Loved the fact that it was shot in twelve hours with most of the dialogue unscripted. "Man's" fast pace kept the audience laughing and empathizing with all of the characters, especially John Ritter. The maid was hysterical. This movie is a must see.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed