1 user

World Professional Darts Championship 



Add Image Add an image

Do you have any images for this title?



Credited cast:
Russ Bray Russ Bray ...  Referee (1997- )
Eric Bristow Eric Bristow ...  Darts Pundit (1999-)
Dougie Donnelly Dougie Donnelly ...  Presenter (1993-98)
Martin Fitzmaurice Martin Fitzmaurice ...  Emcee (1988-)
Bobby George Bobby George ...  Darts Pundit (1998-)
Tony Green Tony Green ...  Commentator (198?-)
John Gwynne John Gwynne ...  Commentator (1993-)
Phil Jones Phil Jones ...  Emcee (1993- )
Dave Lanning Dave Lanning ...  Commentator (1993-)
Steve Nicholas Steve Nicholas ...  Referee (1994-)
George Noble George Noble ...  Referee (1994-)
John Part John Part ...  Commentator (1995-)
Stuart Pyke Stuart Pyke ...  Commentator (2003-)
Bruce Spendley Bruce Spendley ...  Referee (1987-)
Jeff Stelling Jeff Stelling ...  Himself - Presenter (1993-)


Add Full Plot | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

darts | non fiction | See All (2) »









Release Date:

January 1978 (UK) See more »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs


See full technical specs »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Confusion reigns in feuding worlds of arrows' slinging.
15 April 2002 | by idiosyncratic_anomalySee all my reviews

This annually televised darts' jamboree has, since its inception in 1978, sought to determine who is the best player on the planet. Its mix of beer-swilling stars, rowdy fans, light-hearted banter and tungsten-slinging action have made it a welcome inclusion to the Christmas festivities.

In 1993, however, following the formation of a rival, breakaway governing body - the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC)- two versions of the same championship have been staged at around the same time each year. The long-standing BDO Embassy tournament continues to be televised by the BBC, while the rival PDC spectre airs on Sky Sports.

Almost inevitably, the presence of each respective organisation has served to devalue the other's product, while dividing the game's top players. Consequently, darts is somewhat absurdly able to boast two world champions.

1999 witnessed a special one-off televised darts' challenge, which pitted the two respective champions in a head-to-head. This was won with ease by Phil Taylor, possibly the game's greatest ever exponent.

By 2002, of the world's top four players (Phil Taylor, Raymond Barneveld, Ronnie Baxter and Richie Burnett), only Barneveld remained with the BDO Embassy tournament, which was in crisis following the decision of the UK Government to outlaw its tobacco sponsorship by the close of 2003.

For historians of the game, the internal feuding, back-biting and sniping, ultimately resulting in the sport's schism, was chronicled in a BBC documentary (2001) - Blood on the carpet: poisoned arrows.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See one user review »

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed