As Far as My Feet Will Carry Me (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A wonderful forgotten WWII morality tale from the German perspective
tonyg349 January 2005
I had the great pleasure of seeing this film at the 2001 Houston Int'l film fest and spoke briefly with the director. This is an exceptional film both in terms of subject and technical production. For far too long the German heroes of world war two, ordinary family man who's lives were destroyed by Hitler's war machine as thoroughly as those the German's invaded, have been considered guilty by association. As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me, a film version of an equally excellent book, tells the true story of one man and his struggle both during the war and in a Russian concentration camp, and his ensuing decades long struggle to rejoin his family. While the film does stray from reality, it does so to great dramatic effect (the scene on the bridge). I have been pining for four years now to get my hands on a copy of this film for my home collection. If you ever get a chance to watch this film it is one of the best war films you will ever see.
62 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great adventure
AristarchosTheArchivist25 January 2002
This film is a good example of how new German cinema could be like. Though shot with a minimum of budget, the authentic atmosphere and the great landscapes, altogether with Bernhard Bettermann's very convincing acting made me enjoy this powerful adventure. The great score by Edward Artemyev, comparable to those great works of Maurice Jarre, added to the suspenseful and emotionally touching attitude. The often laconic dialogue and the very "American" (too emotional for many Germans - Americans will like it!) ending did not damage the pleasing overall impression I had watching it. In addition, "So weit die Füsse tragen" (As far as my feet will carry me) comes up with a topic that is - at least in Germany - seldomly discussed: German POW in Russian gulags after WW2. This is not a war movie! It's a single man's breathtaking adventure, returning to his family at all costs. Clemens Forell's three year walk through Siberia is a true story, which makes the film even more touching.

A strong 8 out of 10, because of the effort the filmmakers put into it.
49 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"People will help a creature down in the dust--even their worst enemy..."
waredavid1 February 2002
I saw this film as part of Boston's Museum of Fine Arts film series. It is an extremely well-acted and well-produced adventure, based on the true story of a German POW's incredible journey through the dauntingly wide expanses and multi-ethnic terrain of the former Soviet Union in the late '40s and early '50s. It is beautifully shot on location, outdoor scenes of the rugged Russian landscape being a principle attraction. It is also quite well-acted by Bettlemen, who evokes both sympathy with and admiration for his character, and the rest of the cast. The principle actor spoke for about an hour afterwards. As he admits, the film does not go into detail about why the prisoners were there--no doubt some of them deserved punishment. However, many scenes also concentrate on the main character's wife and children back in Germany. Bettlemen, whose grandfathers both died in Russian POW camps after WWII, said he did the film as much to illustrate their family's plights as that of the prisoners.

The film (and the book) also illustrate that Samaritanism is not dead, and was not, even in Russia at this time. Forrell was, after all, a German soldier, but he would have been unable to cross Siberia without help from people of many diverse people. As Bettlemen related, "People will help a creature driven into the dust, even if it is their worst enemy."
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True Story - 3 years Odyssee across Asia
Thusnelda11 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
After WWII, in 1946, a German POW named Clemens Forell is sentenced by the Soviets to 25 years forced labor in east Siberia at Cape Deshnev. Unlike many others, he arrives alive. In Siberia, he has to work in a lead mine - poisoning the POWs with the effect of a terrible low life expectancy (if they did not starve before anyway). It is a desert full of ice - there are not even any guards needed to keep the prisoners from trying to flee. The German doctor of the labor camp helps Clemens to flee: He had already prepared his own flight, but unfortunately found out that he suffered from cancer due to the lead - he would not make it to Germany anyway. So, he urges Clemens to fee instead of him: "If you make it to Germany, please tell my wife that you've seen my grave - died in February. No, better tell her I died in May - thus she'll imagine the grave with flowers." In October 1949, Clemens starts his trip home from Siberia to Germany - more than 14.000 kilometers on his own very feet! After a series of breathtaking adventures, he finally arrives in his little home town in Bavaria and reunites with his wife and children.

Too unbelievable a story? "We suspected him to be a spy and wanted to hang him. But - if he really was spy he would have invented a more plausible story, wouldn't he?" The thing is: It's a TRUE story. Josef Martin Bauer wrote the book with the same title as this movie in the 1950s after having a series of long interviews with Clemens Forell. It was a great success and became translated in 15 languages. In 1959, there was a Mini-Series on German TV. This movie here is the first version for the "big screen".

"As Far As my Feet Will Carry Me" is really a movie worth seeing. It's very suspenseful like a thriller. And you can even get an insight into a topic quite rarely told in Western cinema: the many different peoples and landscapes in Siberia and Central Asia. As for landscapes: The late Pavel Lebechev (camera) does a great job showing the endless snow-covered width of Siberia - and (in contrast) the narrowness and confinement of the railway carriage during deportation.

A movie worth to see. If you can't find the DVD, please at least read the book by Josef Martin Bauer: "As Far As my Feet Will Carry Me" - a true page-turner.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Revolutionary content, heartbreaking script.
2nd_Ekkard30 April 2003
A revolution took place and the german media never mentioned it: Except from some ignorant right wingers the general media was not willing to comment on this first major production on the topic of german prisoners of war. The original version from the fifties and the book are interesting - this movie is watchable for a big public. I appreciate the courage of the moviemakers to touch this forbidden legacy of germany. Great, heartbreaking cinema, that leaves you in tears at the end - as far as I am concerned.
37 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An entertaining, quite OK film
oktjabr8 April 2006
I agree with some other commentators who said that this movie was somewhat overtly dramatic - in some points getting almost too sugary/tear-jerking experience. I haven't read the book so it is hard to comment how faithful the film is to the book, but seems that the authors of the film almost a bit overemphasized the great survival story and the connection between the father and the child.

This is counter-balanced by good acting, rather good cinematography and beautiful images of nature. "So weit die Füsse tragen" is fairly entertaining as an adventure film and I was strangely attracted by the story about travelling through endless wastes of Siberia. The portrayal of nature is captivating. The film isn't a remarkable masterpiece, but I'd still recommend seeing it if the subject sounds appealing. After all, German POWs in Russia isn't exactly the most worn subject of films.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very nice movie
jb-2149 January 2005
I like this movie very much - from my point of view its one of the best German movies i saw last years.

Protagonist of movie is Clemens Forell, a German soldier in WWII, judged by Stalins Soviet Union to many years of "Arbeitslager" (you can also say "Gulag") in the most north-east of Siberia - what was normally equal to be judged to death (for example only 6000 from close to 100.000 POWs from the "Battle for Stalingrad" returned ever home - last ones in 1956 - 3 years after Stalin died).

So, this movie shows the escape of Forell, going (mostly) by feet thousands of miles to escape from this point in the Soviet Union, where no tree grows - East Siberia.

What is nice in this movie is the fact, that you realise, that not Forell, or the Russian people, have any hate against each other - its government, who made all this - the tyranny of Hitler and Stalin.

This movie is really nice made - you don't want to stop to watch - as you cant stop reading a good book - i recommend it for everybody who want to see something about a part of WWII, where nobody speaks too often about - or who want to watch only a really nice movie.

10 of 10 from me for this movie.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A galvanising movie.
galvaniser20 June 2007
Atlast the wait is over, we see a German POW portrayed in good sense,up against all obstacles,hurdles a human could ever tolerate.Its about Clemens Forell(POW)making his way all through the feet to him hometown. I donna want to spoil the plot by detailing the events.

The film scores in its background & theme music,adds Chilling effect to the frozen sheet.The exotic locations is visual treat for eyes. Irina Pantaeva locks you in her charm and beauty.Even though the film ends in a positive note,you will suffer from the DISTANT WALK.This film made me look beyond the horizon Hollywood, and ignited a liking for German movies.A great movie if you have the TIME. If you like this movie you will also like THE GREAT ESCAPE(pow classic)
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not your usual WWII film, and beautifully filmed, you will remain transfixed...
tmanly3 February 2002
So weit die Fusse tragen (As Far as my Feet Will Carry Me), is a beautiful and unusual WW II film. It is based on a true story of a German prisoner of war captured by the Russians. The film locations are strikingly beautiful and severe. The hero's encounters with other prisoners and various folk (and animals) keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is superb. I loved every suspenseful minute of it.
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tailor Made For "Truth is Stranger than Fiction" Lovers!
KissEnglishPasto1 August 2016
........................................................from Pasto,Colombia...Via: L.A. CA...and ORLANDO, FL

Immediately after watching "So weit die Füße tragen" an inescapable question popped into my head: Why did it take nearly half a century for this movie to get made? If ever there was a film that serves as irrefutable proof of the old adage "Truth is Stranger than Fiction", believe me, "As Far as My Feet Will Carry Me" is it!

Imagine trying to wrap your suspension of disbelief around all of the following elements: At the end of WWII, a German POW, Clemens Forell, is sent to a Siberian forced-labor camp, in the far northeast corner of the Soviet Union (Russia), only a few hundred miles west of Alaska. After years of the most inhumane treatment and paltry diet imaginable, Forell manages to escape with the aid of the camp Dr., his compatriot. Thusly, he becomes the most sought after fugitive in the Communist Bloc. His life-sustaining obsession: To reach his family in Germany, over 8,000 miles away, on foot!

Now if this premise were presented as a work of fiction, it would seem so preposterous that, more than likely, it would have been laughed out of theaters. This film should appeal to several diverse groups: To those of you who seek out true stories; to fans of escape films; to those who enjoy Man vs. The Wild/Nature themes; to the fans of German and/or foreign cinema and to those with an interest in diverse cultures and film shoot locations.

One thing that really impressed me; Most "True Stories", in recent years, stretch the truth quite a bit, for "dramatic impact"! It is obvious that this film refuses to compromise the truth. This apparent faithfulness to the original true story was influential in my decision to give it a 9* rating. By the way, very solid ensemble acting and some very beautiful exotic locations.

9* Stars ....ENJOY/DISFRUTELA!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mediocre attempt at telling an epic tale
wii194412 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I give this one a 4 instead of a 1 because the overall subject is fascinating. But the movie was a big let-down especially after reading the book.

Although much touted for it's visual image, I was disappointed by the lack of little details. Many parts just didn't give one the feeling of being there. Forinstance, the train ride eastward; if it has been done like in Dr. Zhivago, it would have been great.

The Russian camp commander was a totally cardboard character. Evil and mean but with no depth. And he is supposed to have followed a single escaped prisoner for 3 years and 8000 miles. Where was his accountability to his superiors for taking off on his own like this. Surely they wouldn't have permitted his being away from his command for months on end in the pursuit of a single escaped prisoner. In reality, the searchers spent a couple of days scanning a 50 kilometer radius then gave the escapee up for dead.

And when; after dogging his prey for 3 years the commander finally catches up with him...and then lets him go? Oh please. I have seen better turns of a plot on womens afternoon shows.

And that Siberian woman who fell instantly in love with him and bedded down with him the same day he came to in her Tee-pee. She happened to be beautiful and wore only the finest quality "traditional" garb. This was a totally unnecessary addition to the film.

I know that a movie can't follow all the detail of a long book about a longer journey. But so much was glazed over.

The dramatic end was conversely wonderful. The reunion with his wife was a great scene and done so well. It brought to life what must have been the most powerful emotions. But was cut off short by the ending credits. if they'd have added a couple of minutes to the end, it might have gone a long way toward saving something of this movie.

Overall "As far as my feet will carry me" had me longing for my feet to carry me out of the theater. At best it is a medium quality "made for TV" production.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nicely done, pretty underrated film
Horst_In_Translation22 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
"So weit die Füße tragen" or "As Far as My Feet Will Carry Me" is a German movie from 15 years ago and I am quite surprised how this film is really not known at all in Germany right now. It is probably more known abroad because of the subject. but I will come to that later. The reason for which it may not be too famous is that director Hardy Martins, who started as a stunt coordinator and already worked with Wim Wenders over 20 years ago, never made another movie after this one here. He was also part of a team that adapted the novel for the screen here. The lead actor is Bernhard Bettermann here and he is also not known at all today anymore, mostly acts in television series these days. This is quite a shame as he does a really good job with this movie and is in basically every scene from start to finish and what is even more impressive is that he carries this film for over 150 minutes. He is the main reason why this works pretty well. And the script is too of course.

What I found most interesting is the plot of the film. There are so many German films about World War II, military operations, the Fuehrer, she suffering people, the chanting people etc. but this one here plays with the exception of the first couple minutes when everything is over. We see the protagonist spending time in a Soviet labor camp. The first third of the movie roughly is about the man's attempts to break free. Everything afterward is about how he succeeded, but is still fighting a really rough battle in order to survive and make it back to his family. This family background is the emotional aspect of the movie and this is also where it delivers pretty nicely. So as a whole the film includes really quite a few areas and works well in pretty much all of these: drama, war, survival, romance and history. I recommend this film. Go check it out. It is really impressive how it never dragged despite the massive runtime. Thumbs up.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bridge Nonsense.
yorryk29 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILER BELOW

How in the hell could a Russian NKWD officer be coming from the Iranian side of the bridge ? Perhaps he told the Russian border guards "Hi guys,please let me pass. I will go near the Iranian side to wait for a German POW who escaped from my camp. If he arrives and he surely will, I will tell him "I defeated you" and let him go". Behaviour of this guards suggests that nobody actually had crossed the border before Forell(this day of course) Then he told the Iranians"Excuse me, could you shine mirror at this man coming towards us? I have to appear out of nowhere,you see.And thanks for the tea".The only logical answer to this problem is Forell had hallucinations.So that scene occurred only in his mind. Why is it so important then?
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining and beautifully shot
ochichornye3 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Comments so far range from indignation about the depiction of German soldiers as victims to praise for not vilifying them enough. As often my feelings lie somewhere in between. There could have been more direct evidence of German atrocities preceding the prisoner's transportation, but in more subtle ways the makers do suggest that Forell and his compatriots were not as pure as the driven snow. In the scene before the transport where he receives his sentence of hard labour, reference is made to anti-partisan activities in which he had participated (and in which many innocent civilians were usually killed). In the train, one soldier starts a fight for claiming they deserve their fate for what they did to the Soviet people. And then there's the dialog with his Jewish helper at the end of the film.

I do not find the depiction of how ordinary Soviet citizens help an individual German soldier that incredible. Unlike the average German of the time, often indoctrinated with racial hatred, it seems ordinary Soviets were quite capable of distinguishing between the individual German soldier and the horrendous system that sent him. But life in general was cheap in Stalinist times, and this may go some way in explaining how the prisoners were treated.

What added to my enjoyment was that, untypical for most German movies, most of the Soviet protagonists actually spoke Russian. It's a pity that the makers caved in when characters had more dialog, so we inexplicably hear the two Siberian trappers speak heavily-accented German with Forell. Overall, the authentic period feel and beautiful scenery make for an entertaining 2.5 hours of viewing a forgotten piece of history.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
To cheesy to be really good
Ehrgeiz30 October 2003
"So weit die Füsse tragen" - translated in English "As far as the feet can carry" came out in 2001 and was kind of flop in Germany. The movie has some good actors in it, like Michael Mendl, Hans Peter Hallwachs and also the main actor, Bernhard Betterman, does a good job. Its a story of a single german POW Clemens Forell, who escapes from prisoners camp in siberia and walks thousands of kilometers to the border of Iran, where he would be in safety of the sovjets. It was a true story, and in the 50ies a very popular TV series (much popular than this movie) was made of it. I did not like that movie very much. I think there were just to much thinks mixed together - a love-story, the plot with russian smugglers, the scenes with Forells family and much more. It could not really concentrate on one topic: the hard conditions of war prisoners in Germany and adventurous scenes were put together - in a bit cheesy hollywood-like style. That works in Germany with american movies, but not with german ones. And so it could not satisfy german watchers: For people interested in politics or history of that time, it contained not enough information; for blockbuster watchers was not enough action in it. Thats why I think this movie is even better for foreign watchers: they get a bit about german history, but theres some adventure to and it never gets to deep that they cant understand some things. Rating: 4/10
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An epic journey with some epic omissions
ozzy_in_uk31 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
"As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me" takes the audience on the epic journey of a Nazi POW who escapes from a brutal GULAG on the far eastern shores of Siberia. It is essentially a remake of a popular television series that was made back in the 1950's, and deals with a subject that has been for the most part ignored, perhaps for a good reason. It is a good, thought provoking watch, but falls disappointingly short of the cinematic masterpiece it could have been.

Beginning in the summer of 1944, Clemens Forell bids farewell to his pregnant wife and young daughter, as he ventures off to the Russian front during the last 12 months of the war in Europe. The film then jumps forward a year, with the war over and German POW's in Russia being transported to the GULAG's in Siberia. The scenes on board the train showing the appalling conditions mirror those that you would expect to see in most Holocaust films.

Upon arrival at the end of the line, the prisoners then embark on a march through the snow until they reach their final destination and the very eastern tip of the USSR. Once at the GULAG at Cape Dezhnev, the prisoners are sent down lead mines where, historically, most perished over the next 10 years.

The film effectively shows the harsh conditions imposed on the prisoners, although at this early stage of the film, the viewer is still deciding whether or not they feel sorry for the central character and his countrymen, who's exact crimes are not made clear in the film. During WW2, the USSR witnessed the very worst atrocities carried out by the Nazis, so feeling sympathy for these guys is hard to do if you know the history.

When Forell makes his successful escape, following an unsuccessful one, the journey that follows is truly remarkable. From the desolate barren landscapes of Arctic Siberia, Forell encounters a variety of characters, including a tribe of Siberian Eskimos that thankfully only took up a small portion of the film. The romance with the Siberian girl was silly and unnecessary.

The remainder of the journey leads Forell to eventually cross the border into Iran, but not before another silly scene with the GULAG camp commander, who has supposedly chased the escapee for 3 years only to meet up with him on the bridge between the border posts. This was daft and took away a lot of credibility that the film does earn at different stages. A large chunk of the story them seems to disappear as Forell finds himself in a prison in Tehran waiting to be executed for being a Soviet spy. This part of the story could have been the subject of a film on its own.

I'm not going to spoil the end, but it was quite effective, if not brief. I will say that the viewer will be left still thinking whether or not the hero of the film really is a hero. Watch a film like "Come and See," then see how you feel about the Nazi POW's portrayed in this film.

Overall, the film was a good watch, not a great one as it could have been had a few more details been provided for the audience. Hardy Martins' direction has its moments. The acting was generally good, although Anatoly Kotenyov was wishy-washy in the role as Kamenev, the Soviet officer who chases Forell throughout the film. Michael Mendl in his brief role as Stauffer was memorable. Bernhard Bettermenn in the lead role was solid, although the true nature of his character is never fully realised. As a Nazi officer fighting on the Russian front, the good-guy persona needed to be more toughened up. Realistically, only the hardened of men could have survived what Clemens Forell did.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Truth is stranger than fiction
ZuniMtnRailroad2 May 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Can it be I'm only the fourth American to comment on this film, and its already been out for three years? In that amount of time, I could walk from Siberia to ... never mind. Its a shame few people know a good story when they see one on the shelf or on the internet. Who's failing to promote this movie, anyway?

Leave artistic considerations out when you bring yourself to watch this. Not that its a poorly made film; if this is a low-budget film, it doesn't show. The camerawork is good, the acting too (don't expect a POW on the lam to have of profound interactions with people every minute) but the main draw ought to be the story itself. Where the movie succeeds is that its polished enough not to be a distraction from the telling; that is, you could easily and comfortably forget its a movie, and just sit back and watch. After all, there's not a whole lot of complexity with an escapee on a journey home.

**mild spoilers below**

Upon watching it, you may have objections, such as: how could this guy not've known what the Nazis were doing in the war? can he really be as pure as the driven snow around him, the only one of the POWs seen to be nobly helping others and connecting with people? isn't that "wigwam" scene with the squaw --I mean, Yakut girl-- too cliche? what of the feel-good scene where the Jew helps the German? All I can say is, if the part about a guy trudging 13,000(?)km from the eastern tip of Siberia to Iran is verifiable, who's to say the rest of the story didn't transpire as shown? Nothing would be too far-fetched. In fact, the dignity with which Clemens treats friend and foe alike could go a long way toward explaining the strength of character necessary for such a feat.

As an aside, I once read an account of a Polish POW who escaped a prison camp after WWII and walked -the whole way- to India with two companions; it hasn't been independently verified and bears so many similarities to Clemens real-life adventure that I wonder whether the Polish guy's story is just a knock-off.

**end spoilers**

The film is on the long side. That should be the case; its about a very long and lonely journey over harsh landscapes in difficult circumstances. What would've been nice is to use that length to get to know the character's psyche, his drive and what must've been very fierce doubts at times.

My vote: ***1/2 of ****

tiny gripe: the family's saga in Germany was too marginal to the rest of the story. It also would've been interesting to see what in the way of international news this man could glean during his journey.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great Potential, But Horribly Done
twelthmanonthedealteam19 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I love foreign films. I was absolutely invigorated by the Argentina movie "The Secret In Their Eyes" which i saw yesterday and was the greatest movie I have ever experienced. So, when Netflix recommended As Far As My Feet, i was excited. To compare this to a Schindler's List quality is unfair. The quality was fair at best, some positive acting performances (the lead actor and his wife/children). But, the absolute carelessness of writer/director was offensive to a movie buff as myself. First, the Russian search would not have extended beyond a few days as they would have believed he died and was eaten by the wolves or covered in new snowfall. Next, at that time in history and still today, Russia was poor. And for two Russian hunters to come across him asleep and not rob/kill him is a stretch. Then, for those hunters to take him in, another stretch. Then for one of those hunters to be caught and taken to exact same Russian post (even though by that time they were much closer to other posts) is unbelievable. Then, to come across natives that have a stunningly beautiful woman who just happens to have lost her husband, and she is ready to strip and give herself to this new man entering the camp, another stretch. Also, a jew helping a German escape, and prepares to commit suicide if caught helping the German? Sure, that happens a lot. The train scene where they catch Clemens, his dog saves him as he runs off, and several Russians shoot at him in close range with machine guns, and of course he doesn't get hit. (That worked well in Rambo II and III). Then, the most unbelievable is the Russian camp leader treking all over the Soviet Union trying to find this one German, even going as far as Siberian to the Iranian border, and of course gets to the EXACT same check point, then lets him go? This movie was so poorly done, it is hard to classify as a Drama, it was more of a Comedy. I gave it a 3 instead of a one due to glimpses of a wonderful story with this man refusing to break a promise to his daughter. This movie has tremendous potential with a quality writer/director.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intensely touching and powerful
Gordon-1111 December 2007
This film is about a German prisoner of war escaping from a camp in the eastern most tip of Siberia.

"So Weit die Füße Tragen" is amazing. Clemens' struggle to survive is almost unbelievable. His initial journey across Siberia is a lonely and hard one. The joy he experiences (and I completely feel it too) when he sees a bare tree is overwhelming. In the land of pure wilderness, the simplest item can exhilarate. It is a stark reminder of how materialistic the world has become, and we are taking so many things for granted.

It is heartbreaking to see that he learns not to trust anyone, as his escape is filled with prosecution and betrayal. This keeps the thrill and suspense throughout. In fact, I had to pause the film several times to calm myself down.

The execution of the film is also very good. It does not feel like 2.5 hours, in fact I think no scene can be cut away without harming the integrity of it. There are many memorable scenes, such as the raft on rapids, and the many concentration camp scenes. The most striking scene is the final bridge scene. The immense natural beauty is contrasted with the most dreaded encounter. The suspense and emotion of it is beyond words.

Apart from the tight and intense plot, and the excellent execution, "So Weit die Füße Tragen" is filled with very touching elements. The ending will surely bring anyone to tears. To think that Clemens have suffered three years of unimaginable hardship to achieve this one solitary goal is inspiring and moving.

"So Weit die Füße Tragen" is inspiring and thought provoking. It celebrates the will power to struggle and to survive. I will remember this film as one of the most touching and powerful film I have ever watched.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great story
miguelbgood10 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I would like to comment on those who say a German should not be portrayed in a positive light.

We do not know what the German soldier in this movie knew or did not know about his country and what they did at the time he went to the war.

All we really know is that he was called upon to serve his country and so he did. Did the American soldiers during the Viet Nam war know that their fellow soldiers would commit atrocities? Did they know that later, historians would consider it an unjust and useless war for the U.S. to have been involved in, even though we bombed Cambodia and North Viet Nam to hell? So, for the sake of this movie we are to assume that this was a man serving his country, nothing more. We only know that he himself was treated very unfairly and cruelly by the Russians in a P.O.W. camp and that he endured great suffering in order to escape and arrive back home.

So in that sense it is a beautiful movie about the human will to survive and get back to one's family.

This movie is about a human being who suffers. Aren't we all human beings who suffer? I am not apologizing for or minimizing the horror of what the Nazis did, and I don't think the movie is meant to do that, either. It's just a story about a German who happened to endure an amazing journey, that's all. And as such it is a very good movie and an amazing story.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
bs
vpatryshev-14 December 2010
We will probably never know what actually happened with the prototype of the story. They way it is told here is just, er, ridiculous.

Seems like the camp comendant drops everything and follows the hero to the very end of his journey. The hero changes his clothes so many times... how does he shave? At least occasionally, he is shaved.

The idea that he could escape the trap by just jumping on a train... that's Indiana Jones. We were supposed to listen to a true story.

Anybody checked whether there's a railroad to Chukotka? But most of all, I don't know how about the general public, but a hero that was executing guerillas... he is just a war criminal. The fact that the German public kind of sympathises with him, it is pretty sad.

In short - it is full of lies.
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best movie made from the book so far...
matthias-heyner25 November 2005
OK i know the book is better than the movie but considering the many movies and series made before this one seemed to me to be the best of them all, but if you really want to get the whole full story read the book. If you start it once you will not stop reading until you're finished. I have read several comments concerning the drama of showing "communists" as the bad people saying that the fascists were worse then the communists. Now i am not here to discuss politics and history, but what do you want? Do you want to count everyone who was killed and then compare them? Do you really think just because either side killed more or less people that this side is better? I don't know where the the numbers i read here are from, but they are certainly not from any history book... But back to the movie... i think that the movie could have shown a lot more than it actually does, but how much can you really fit in there? I also have a recommendation for you especially if you like cold war books (i don't think there is a movie to that one) The spy who came in from the cold. I would like to see more historical but interesting and not too dramatized movies like that one.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hated It
sasairport2 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
An awful, awful movie...I am a sucker for foreign (i.e. non-American) movies, and have yet to seen a bad one, which makes it all the more sad that this one was beyond bad. Horrendous script, right out of chauvinistic B movies from Hollywood..From the very first scene when one of the child actors started looking at the camera rather than the co-star, I knew this was gonna be a dread.Acting was laughable, but what can you do with lines like ..Spoiler Ahead......"It is my victory" at the end(those who have seen the movie will know what I am talking about)...What the heck was that all about..This reminded me of those pathetic propaganda movies that west and east used to produce by cookie cutters during the cold-war times...What a waste...
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The otherwise forgotten Stalinistic Concentration Camps
hasosch3 November 2009
"So Weit Die Füsse Tragen" (2001), directed by Hardy Martins, a stunt coordinator who seems to have a natural great talent in directing and who will hopefully continue making movies in this genre, despite Vilsmaier, has presented a movie that is in two respects more than remarkable: First, it focuses on the often forgotten Stalinistic concentration camps. No one is to accuse the Nazis because of their concentration camps unless he also accuses those of Stalin and makes known of what happened not only before, but also behind the Iron Curtain. Second, the movie tells the story of one single individual without any attempts at generalizing the fate of others or smuggling pseudo-documentary material (f.ex., as it is unfortunately so often the case, in the form of archive footage) into the movie. In its compromise-less realistic and not naturalistic description lies the big value of this movie.

Without any scroll-work, the film shows the way of Clemens Forell from his way from Munich to Stalingrad in the last year of World War II, then his deportation to a Stalinistic Concentration Camp in Siberia, afterward his flight, made possible by a terminally ill German physician who provides him with the preparatory work originally intended for himself, then his basically indescribably pains on his unimaginable long and excruciating way through ten thousands of miles of Ice deserts, the taiga, downwards to the South into an Iranian prison, and then his miraculous, yet not fairy-tale-like release and return to his family after more than eight years of absence on Christmas Eve, like scheduled for Midnight Mass.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A story of inspiration.
cmyklefty20 April 2002
I watched As Feet as My Feet Will Carry Me a week at the Philadelphia Festival of World Cinema. The story is heart wrenching and inspiring at the same time. It is unbelieve but true. Movie you hope when there is any left. The film makers made a good making this film. Future film makers should follow their example of making a well done film. It is worth a look.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed