For All Time (TV Movie 2000) Poster

(2000 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A wonderfully evocative time travel movie!
lonnien23 October 2000
This is just simply a wonderfully done, quiet, well acted time travel tale. The overall plot is based on portions of a classic "Twilight Zone" episode, though this film stretches that earlier TV episode out, and takes it to a slightly different direction. Mark Harmon does a fine job as the time traveller, frustrated with the pace and direction of 21st century American life, and Mary McDonnell gives an excellent, understated, but very moving performance as the 1896 widow with whom he falls in love. Again, if you are at all interested in time travel films, and are not looking for one of those computer generated special-effects fests that seem to be produced so often nowadays, but just a quiet, evocative, time travel tale with interesting characters, see this film. It is terrific, and haunting!
32 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful
Lilibetp18 July 2003
Why have I never heard of this movie before? I saw it last night and it was absolutely terrific! I only regret I didn't videotape it. I definitely will next time. This is a movie I'll want to see again and again.
18 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One Very Fine TV Film
lisagirl1172 December 2002
I stayed up into the early hours of the morning to watch this last night and it was well worth it. Fine performances abound: Mark Harmon does a nice job and always looks good but I thought, not surprisingly, that Mary McDonnell stole the show. She was simply marvelous in the female lead, effectively portraying a quiet woman with enormous inner strength.

Beyond the acting I think this was the kind of film that hit a nerve with most people. The possibility of getting a second chance, as well as the idea of vacating the frenetic pace of our era for a simpler time is one many of us have have entertained.

I was hoping this movie would be available on VHS but it apparently is not. The next time I see it coming up I will be taping it.
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Richard Matheson's black sheep
tgreene_msp26 April 2002
The reason I called this by the above name is that Mr. Matheson was a major writer for the Twilight Zone, and is also well-credited with writing a time-travel story of his own, "Bid Time Return". Some of you may know this story better by its Hollywood nom de voyage, "Somewhere In Time".

Speaking of that other movie, in 2000, when this movie was released to the viewing public, it was one week prior to SIT's 20th anniversary Re-release on DVD. While some other networks rushed through production their own story that matched the general theme of SIT, this Canadian-filmed release seems to at least incorporate the main points of the established film. There was a watch, a choice, and a love story. Since SIT was set at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island, the railroad connection was a bit of a reach, as The Grand Hotel was originally a railroad hotel.

All in all, this movie was an excellent production, due in no small part to the ability of its main characters to work within the framework of the script. Mark Harmon's moment of indecision on his last train trip does not come across a man who is lost, but a man who is taking stock of what is most important. the same can be said for Ms. McDonnell's performance in the film, as her embodiment of a woman of the time is well played.

All in all, A good film to watch when you can.
21 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent Time Travel Movie - Where's the DVD ?????????
nicholas.rhodes28 June 2003
An excellent time travel movie which doesn't need tons of special effects and weird sets to have the spectator riveted to his or her seat. I thoroughly enjoyed this one as the sets were very natural, the story totaly logical and the pricipal characters were both beautiful persons. The story is simple and easy to understand - my only question is why on earth can't one find it anywhere in the world on DVD ??
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wish it would never end!
dragonmagic25 December 2006
I absolutely loved this movie!! From beginning to end it intrigued me! Mary Mcdonnell, my favorite actress, is stunning as usual! This is a story about finding love and going out of the usual to challenge those who stand in your way. It makes you want to laugh and cry and jump for joy! I just want to watch this movie over and over and over again!! When ever it comes to DVD you can be sure that I will be one of the first to buy it! It ended so abruptly that you were just left craving more and that is what I love about this movie you can leave it up to your own interpretation. Just check it out you will not be sorry.

I just wish it would never end!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best unique time travel movies EVER!
nancydrew-114 July 2005
Uniquely produced time travel movie that calls you to a simpler time and place.Mary McDowell and Mark Harmon make the time era come alive to make you just want to be there.If you like time travel,Twilight Zone or Victorian times,you will just love this movie.It is one that has your attention from beginning to end. When I watched this movie I felt like I had to own it.It is definitely one that you can want to watch over again.A movie worthy of belonging in your library.I do not see why it it not out on video or DVD.It would surely be a BIG seller.10 stars plus...WATCH it for yourself and see!It is truly a MUST SEE,MUST HAVE movie!
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Story of love and second chances - Outstanding!
fgunther5 April 2003
The folks who've commented on this movie earlier have said it all, much better than I could. Mary McDonnell leads a fine cast, with Bill Cobbs outstanding as the Conductor who offers Charlie another chance at happiness in life. This film borrows some ideas from "Needful Things", and a healthy dose from the classic Twilight Zone episode "A Stop at Willoughby", stirs, blends well and produces an evocative masterpiece.

Great movie for a date - heck, you can always watch the end again in the morning, if you get distracted.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
5 star movie
ejames1328 May 2003
Very,very enjoyable film!!!!!; Mark Harmon & Mary McDonnell were great!. Great detail in time area and clothing. I felt like I could visit there myself given the watch and train tracks. A highly recommendable movie!. I takes us back to the time of are grandparents and the mode of transportation they had.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I highly recommend this movie.
MaryPoppins648 August 2003
I really enjoyed this movie. If it ever came out on Video or DVD I would definately buy it. Mary McDonnell does a wonderful job and the story is excellent. I would highly recommend this movie if you ever have a chance to see it.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
regrettably not available as DVD or video
tube-726 November 2006
This film was recently shown on Friday 24th November 2006 in the United Kingdom, on our Channel 5 TV, as part of an afternoon movie spot. I caught most of the film less the first 20 mins or so and was totally awe inspired by it. Obviously did a search, but its a TV movie and I guess it wont be released for sale, probably contractual issues - a TV movie it will no doubt remain. I particularly liked the ending. It was subtly done, the train conductor, who was absolutely brilliant, telling Charles, "you do know THIS is the very last stop" and apart from seeing that he made it through the tunnel, we never saw Mark Harmon or Mary McDonnell again except as in pictures in the book back in our time. A very happy and fairly emotional story which sets you thinking and made me sad but you need to forget about some of the 'sugaryness' - I doubt if the 1890's was as sublime as made out.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Delighted that others recognize this solid family entertainment.
mariansamgram3623 October 2001
"For All Time". . .An absolutely refreshing and entertaining film. Delighted to have this type of fascinating story on the screen in my home. I frequently enjoy watching it again after fortunately having recorded it. It is a prized and valued video. The music, the settings, the intrigue (without any violence, IMAGINE???) Each time I watch it, I realize I have a warm smile feeling from beginning to end. I suppose I sincerely fantasize right into the im???possible plot.

Yes, I agree with some others. This story, or certainly one of it's plot, manner, content, humor and romance (again, without violence)is so very refreshing. It would be exciting for me, anyway, to look forward to similar programming in the near future. Please continue, all those responsible, to make this valuable type of evocative, romantic and almost sublimely comedic entertainment. It is such fun to smile and just plain feel good after watching this Time Travel adventure.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great movie!
WiseGuyKW15 September 2001
I was a little skeptical at first because I usually enjoy watching a movie only if it's a comedy, but this was a two-thumbs-up, five-star movie in my opinion. I wasn't familiar with the main actors/actresses except for Bill Cobbs (he's played smaller roles in many movies I've seen) and Catherine Hicks (I occasionally watch "7th Heaven"), but it was a great film nonetheless. If you haven't seen it yet, I would urge you to do so.

Overall, a wonderful production I would definitely classify as a film that's great for the whole family.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Provocative, Deserves award rating across the board.
mariansamgram3620 October 2001
"For All Time", Director Steven Schachter. This lovely story came onto my TV on the Sunday after the overwhelmingly tragic 9/11 event. I was very comforted amd entertained by the professionalism of every single actor portraying the intriguing characters, and the heart wrenching plot. Fortunately for me, I made a (partial) copy of the movie and watch it over and again allowing the music, characters, story and pictures to pleasure me. The romantic 'desire-to-climb-into the TV settings' evocatively drew me back to the exotic towns of New England, The Cape, the islands, Provincetown, the ocean, beaches, bays, birds, seafood, and the people of my powerfully happy and romantic life of years past. Romance is an adventure given to the blessed, and the wonderfully uninhibited lovers of life. This movie, this story, allows me to know that there are many others who recognize and enjoy such gifts. I wish to thank all responsible for this movie for a true gift of entertainment. It will always be a valued addition to my treasured collection. Mark Harmon, Mary McDonnell, et.al., I thank and salute you. Any chance for a follow up?
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Comments
collegejoy15 December 2002
Wow! What a great movie! I watched the movie after coming home from classes on 9-11-02 and was feeling so bummed because it was the one year anniversary for the Trade Towers, and this movie came on and it made me happy again. The movie was shown commercial free and all I could think about after I saw it was "man I should of taped it!!!!" I love the fact that that Charles Lattimer (Mark Harmon) didn't do Anything rational with Laura Brown (Mary McDonnell) becuase he was married even though his marriage was crumbling. This movie is very good even though it's a made for TV movie. I think that this movie should be made into tapes and DVD's for everyday enjoyment. The movie is well written and had excellent actors and actresses. Out of a 10 rating i would rate it an 11!!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What more can be said?
westerfieldalfred1 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Like most other reviewers, I saw this film when originally broadcast and never forgot it. As a fan of Twilight Zone I fondly remembered "Willoughby" and immediately recognized the connection. However, I was not prepared for how sweet, romantic and wonderful For All Time was. As a railfan the train motif was a real plus. And as with others I occasionally would check if the film was available on video. Well, the other night I checked the reviews again and then went hunting. Turns out the film is current available (6/1/13) on YouTube. The quality isn't great but at least it's there. Better hurry to see it in case it's taken down.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie for all time
janetbrt5 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This is a wonderful made-for-CBS movie that, to my knowledge, hasn't played anywhere for at least the last 2 or 3 years, because I've been looking! Based on Twilight Zone's "A Stop At Willoughby," "For All Time" is beautifully fleshed out and lovingly played by all the actors, including Mark Harmon, Mary McDonnell and Bill Cobbs, the magical watch shop proprietor/conductor ***who sets things in motion to change history. Unhappy in his fast-paced job and unsatisfying 15-year marriage, Charlie finds the answer to his dreams when his newly purchased watch gives him an opportunity to start over.*** If you ever notice that it's being replayed, stop whatever you're doing and get your recorder set up - you'll surely want to watch it again and again, as well as share it with your friends. I was thrilled to recently find an old forgotten VHS tape of the copy I made during its 2000 premier and loved it all over again. It was even in stereo, and is now the newest DVD in my dubbed collection! What a shame whoever owns the copyright now hasn't put it out on DVD so the masses can enjoy it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful Family Format
skfk18 October 2000
This movie was not only good but also wonderful for family viewing. My hope is that this movie ends up being a pilot for a new series definitely worth watching. This movie could help teach our children about history and how things happened in time. It could also serve as a means of getting people to slow down and appreciate the moments that we share together.

Thank you for airing such a wonderful film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A good little made-for-TV movie
newscat18 July 2003
I started watching this last night without seeing the name or who starred in it and found it interesting enough to watch the entire thing! A good family movie. Only objectionable content might be that there is divorce implied. It's an old-fashioned, well-acted movie.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This one is so good that I'm trying to purchase it.
Thomas_J_Bennett18 July 2004
This is a vintage Rod Sterling production, which originally was done as the thirtieth show of "The Twilight Zone" in 1960. The main character takes a train to work and after going through a tunnel is transported back 100 years. This is mysterious, but after transferring back and forth several times, he meets a lovely young woman from the 1890's and falls in love with her. But he already has a wife. Then he realizes it will be another 70 years or so before she is born. What does he do? Stay with the new sweetheart who lives in the uncomplicated 1890's, or go back to the faultfinding complainer of the 1990s? The train conductor tells him he's got to make a choice and stick with it. The special thing about this movie is that men will automatically identify with one of the male leads, and women will see a little of themselves in both the wife and sweetheart. I've seen the updated version (Mark Harmon and Morgan Freeman) twice, and would very much like to get a copy for myself. As an aside, my wife recently purchased the British movie "Love Actually" and likes it so much that she's watched it 6 or 7 times. I may do the same thing with "A Stop at Willoughby."
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
For All Time Is A Really Great Time Travel Fantasy Movie.
Hotwok201324 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This made-for-television movie was based on the Twilight Zone episode "A Stop At Willoughby" which creator Rod Serling has admitted was his favourite. It stars Mark Harmon & Mary McDonnell as the two central characters, both of whom are excellent. Charles Lattimer (Harmon) is unhappy with both his job & his marriage and dreams of something better whilst travelling on board the train home from work. After finding an old pocket watch he gets transported back to a small town in 1896 where he meets Laura Brown (McDonnell). An independent newspaper printer by trade, she is a gentle & charming woman whom he soon falls in love with. What follows is utterly captivating & more entertaining, in my opinion, than the original. As other people commenting on this have said, (to whom it may concern), PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE ON DVD!!!.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The "Magical" TV Movie that CBS Doesn't Own
mike481288 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This is a gem of a movie of the week from CBS in 2000. Although it resembles "Somewhere in Time" in several aspects, it is based on a 1960's "Twilight Zone" episode, written by Rod Serling, titled "A Stop at Willoughby." Much better ending than the 1960 Twilight Zone episode. A middle-aged man (Mark Harmon) time travels back to 1896 via a magical railroad pocket watch and a mysterious train conductor. (Bill Cobbs). He falls in love there with the small town newspaperwoman (Mary McDonnell) and eventually makes the decision to leave his present pointless life and career. He "invents" newspaper comic strips. He must return there one last time to save his true love from dying a sudden death in a gas-line explosion. Unlike "Somewhere in Time" (and "A Stop at Willoughby") he does not die! Changing the ending makes all the difference. He stays in 1896 and marries the woman! I have been looking for it on DVD since 2006! I only have it on an old VHS tape with commercials! The CBS online store does not offer it. Only available on-line as an unauthorized DVD-R.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Entertaining
jdefelice6520 June 2007
Reminded me of the times when a good Rod Sterling episode kept you glued to your seat. Wish I could purchase the show on DVD. Mark Harmon is always a good actor to watch and Mary McDonell (spelling?) was very compelling. Wish there was more programs like this to watch instead of what our current choices are. Are you listening CBS or NBC ? There are adult Baby Boomers out there longing for good entertainment with an actual thought provoking story to it! Where have all the good writers gone? Mostly I've given up on trying to find a story with intellect behind it. It's all about the "Show" today and computer enhanced everything. It's like Paris Hilton is in charge of all network TV, all show and no sustance!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A delightful film for family viewing
keifa625 November 2006
This film, which is family acceptable viewing and which contains no blasphemous words of any description, is a joy to watch and listen to.It is also very predictable which is what we all like as we are then somewhat involved within the film itself. I dearly wish to secure a copy of this film but as a previous observer commented " where is the DVD?"

Mark Harmon takes the part off so well as do the other actors in the film - it is strangely conceivable that we could travel through time and accept it -this is of course down to the script writers who are to be congratulated.

Although this is a précis of what I would like to write as a comment on the film I feel that I have covered all the points I wish to make.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Obtaining "For All Time"
Thomas_J_Bennett8 January 2006
A few years ago my wife and I were in Scandanavia, and while staying in a hotel, saw part of "For All Time" starring Mark Harmon as Charles Latimer, and Mary McDonnell as Laura Brown. We were fascinated by the plot, and later on during that trip, we saw most of the movie in a different country. There are not very many movies we've seen that are worth seeing over and over, or purchasing, but For All Time rates top drawer in both categories. We both would love to purchase a copy of it.

Unfortunately, the clerk at Safeway can tell me the aisle where something is, and even though I'm near it, someone usually has to come and show me exactly where it is. Thus it is possible that there are several sources where I could get For All Time either in the VCR or DVD format, but I haven't been able to locate any of them.

My research has shown that For All Time is based on Rod Serling's Twilight Zone story named "A Stop at Willowby" Oh! As long as I'm on a roll here, I'd like to know if it is possible to get copies of Twilight Zone episodes, as well as those of the Carol Burnett show, especially the spoof she did on Gone With The Wind.

Please post how to access copies of these three items - 1) For All Time, 2) The Carol Burnett Show 3) Twilight Zone episodes.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed