Rush Hour (1998) Poster

(1998)

User Reviews

Review this title
335 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A great Hollywood Comedy-Action flick
fernandez_198919 December 2006
This movie is pure comedy from the beginning to the end. You will have a good laugh thanks to Chris Tucker in his role of Carter, a clumsy LA cop. The city of Los Angeles is spectacular and is a great scenario for this entertaining movie. Jackie Chan at its best kicking asses everywhere with an outstanding humble attitude. I think Americans love Jackie Chan because he's so nice and great person.

The main reason why I like this movie is the wonderful duo they play, constantly arguing, while walking around exciting California, USA, about everything, but in the meantime they are loyal partners. The great diversity there is in America singles out in a city like Los Angeles when we go through Chinatown. And fortunately, the movie brings us out there. Interesting cultures melt into a huge variety of ethnicities that make anything possible to happen. This is why America is so interesting and wonderful and we from abroad love her as a beautiful land.

All in all, this is a worth-seeing Hollywood movie and probably you would like to watch it several times!
51 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Chris Tucker at his best!
Smells_Like_Cheese5 November 2003
Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan, the best comedic duo since Lethal Weapon bring us Rush Hour. A classic action movie that brings great action as well as awesome comedy that makes you laugh every minute. Chris Tucker has always been one of my favorite comedians, even before I saw Rush Hour, so it was great to see him in Rush Hour. I know a lot of people find him annoying, but I thought he was just so funny. He showed off his talents in Rush Hour. Not only him, but this is the film that is making Jackie Chan into a world wide super star. His stunts are simply incredible. Rush Hour is one of those very fun action/comedy movies that I'm sure you'll enjoy if you love movies like Lethal Weapon or 48 Hours. The story was just pure entertainment and really kept me on the edge.

Lee is a body guard to the Chinese ambassador and is also a close friend, he also is a teacher to his daughter, Soo Yong. The ambassador goes to the United States with his daughter, but she is kidnapped by an evil man of the Chinese Consol. They want 50 million dollars in return, but the ambassador thinks that Lee should be involved, so he sends for him, but the F.B.I. doesn't want him near the case. So they hire L.A.P.D. screw up, James Carter, to babysit him. But together, the fastest hands in the east meets the fastest mouth in the west, they must learn to work together despite their complete opposite personalities and get the girl back.

Rush Hour is a guaranteed classic down the lines somewhere, I'm sure. It's already spawned a sequel and it's been a success. Chris and Jackie are such a great team, I was really impressed with their chemistry. My favorite scene is where Lee plays "War" by Edwin Starr in Carter's car, and he doesn't know how to say the lyrics correctly, and Carter shows him some moves, it was such a classic scene that brought me down to the floor laughing. I highly recommend Rush Hour, it's all in good fun and it'll give you more than a few good laughs.

8/10
103 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
buddy comedies ever after
lee_eisenberg7 April 2006
Obviously, "Rush Hour" is mostly just another buddy comedy, but there's so much hilarious dialogue between Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker, that it's all worthwhile. When a consul's daughter gets kidnapped, Tucker gets hired to take the case, but Chan gets brought in from Hong Kong to assist. Naturally, they have a very hard time cooperating.

I guess that a major aspect of these movies is that you shouldn't try to take them seriously; just accept them as completely crazy. With Chan doing his martial arts and Tucker being a loudmouth, it's a great time from start to finish. Also starring Elizabeth Pena, Chris Penn, and Tom Wilkinson. I liked the sequel equally.
38 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fast, funny and fantastic
Li_8512 June 2006
Rush Hour is fast, funny and Fantastic. It is 2 hours of non stop entertainment. I have seen the sequel, No where near the Classic. Jackie Chan is amazing as the martial arts expert cop from Hong Kong. Chris Tucker is Hilarious as the fast talking cop from America. What happens when two people like this meet, Excitement and entertainment. This is Jackie's Best Hollywood Movie. I have seen a few Chris Tucker movie, this is his Best performance. I hope the third in the series will entertain as the First. If you have not seen this movie, then i recommend this movie. A great action comedy movie for all type of audience to enjoy. One of the best cop buddy movies since Lethal Weapon.
67 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Entertaining film which owes its success to the chemistry between the two leading stars.
ChoiBaby7 March 1999
Detective James Carter (Chris Tucker) is a wisecracking, plays by his own rules type policeman who gets a little bit carried away with his job. When a drug bust goes haywire and two cops caught in the crossfire are shot, the LAPD Supervisor knows it's all Carter's fault! Not looking very highly towards Carter, the LAPD Supervisor gives him two options: Either be suspended without his badge for two months, or help the FBI chase after a gang of ruthless criminals who have kidnapped a Chinese Diplomat's daughter (Julie Hsu). The choices for this egotistic, self-centered cop will not be simple...

Enter Detective Inspector Lee (Jackie Chan), a police officer who wrote the book on fighting crime. Back in LA, Carter immediately gets his feet wet before shortly experiencing a chagrin moment. Detective Carter has learned that his assignment is to baby-sit Inspector Lee. Carter must make sure that Lee does not interfere with the FBI's business. Carter is not happy with the workload he is responsible for, but he must fulfill his duty nonetheless...

Carter usually works alone...this time, he has company. Reluctantly, the Lee and Carter align together and a culture clash becomes obvious. The wonderful pair is drawn to a series of mishaps, conspiracies, and plenty of high kicking action and adventure! Carter shows Lee a tour or two around the city of Los Angeles; and the pair quickly become best buddies. However, Lee and Carter can't help but to interfere with the FBI's affairs. Lee cares only so much about the kidnapped child. He feels that he must help track her down before the nefarious villains murder her... Meanwhile, Carter ticks off a few of the locals before he faces absolute terror. Can Lee convince Carter to focus on this mission to rescue the Diplomat's daughter held for ransom? Or will it be too late?

RUSH HOUR is one of the most jamming action/comedy mixtures ever. This film is one awesome venture with the presence of both Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker helping to create a winner for the action genre. RUSH HOUR is entertaining, a fast-paced cop-buddy flick. Part of this film's success owes to the eccentric chemistry between the two leading stars. For example, Jackie Chan's athletic capabilities are strikingly in contrast to Chris Tucker's overzealous, fidgety reactions. Chan's ability to maneuver high risk jumps, leaps, and other assorted dangerous stunts definitely keeps the energy going while Tucker's jittery silliness always creates a warm smile on the viewer's face. Tucker's motor-mouth is surprisingly compatible to Chan's martial arts prowess. Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker are a definite revelation!

The cast in RUSH HOUR prove themselves worthy of their roles. Besides the two main characters, the supporting cast is terrific. Elizabeth Pena adds a touch of sentimentality as Tucker's unappreciated sidekick who turns out to be an asset to the police department after all. Mark Rolston (ALIENS) and Tzi Ma (CHAIN REACTION, RAPID FIRE) as a strategic FBI agent and Consul Han respectively all add credibility to their parts. Newcomer Julie Hsu is also fabulous as a hostage who proves to be more difficult for the bad guys than they can handle...

RUSH HOUR has top notch stunts mixed with one-of-a-kind comical moments which help make this film an enlightening combination of action and comedy, with a dash of Chan's fantastic skill work.

The Chan-Tucker collaboration is the best on-screen duo since Abbott & Costello! The duo has showed all their right moves and have proven themselves a spectacular heroic pair for moviegoers to cheer on everywhere. Again, the action in RUSH HOUR is no short of exhilarating with outrageous sequences such as Chan trying to protect a valuable vase from the wrath of the bad guys.

Great dance moves by Tucker, but nobody impresses the audience like Jackie Chan leaping from place to place, mowing down the bad guys! RUSH HOUR is fantastic fun! A must-see for die hard action enthusiasts. This film is Jackie Chan's and Chris Tucker's finest hour. Watch for the requisite funny outtakes by the film's end credits.

RATING: *** out of ****.
41 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
amusing buddy film
Special-K8813 February 2002
The Chinese Consul's daughter is kidnapped and the FBI steps in to investigate the case. The Consul doesn't trust them however, so he calls in an old friend and police inspector from Hong Kong to aid in the rescue of his daughter. Not wanting to work with outsiders, the FBI pairs him with a cocky, loudmouthed street cop who dreams of becoming a federal agent but doesn't work well with partners. The formula is tired and predictable, but it's redeemed to a surprising extent by the effective pairing of Chan and Tucker who are an ideal action-comedy duo. Lots of gimmicky action scenes and big time laughs, with the added bonus of a script that doesn't require a lot of thinking. ***
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A fun addition to the buddy cop genre
bob the moo4 January 2002
When a diplomat's daughter is kidnapped in the US, a Chinese policeman Lee is sent to help the FBI with the investigation. Not wishing his help the FBI arrange a LAPD officer Carter to keep him out of trouble. However with both Lee and Carter keen to be involved in the investigation, they set out on their own to find the girl overcoming both bad guys and cultural differences.

This is yet another buddy cop movie where different partners must overcome their differences to solve a crime. Here the difference is the black culture and the Chinese culture. The story is very unlikely but it makes enough sense to get by, all it needs is to hang in and create lots of set pieces. Which it does - there's not as much action for Jackie Chan as I would have liked and his fight scenes feel toned down in favour of Tucker's manic comedy (this was partially reversed in RH2). This is a shame because Tucker is funny but his manic antics can get a bit irritating in large doses - it needed more of Chan.

However it is funny and Chan does hold his own and get to show how fast he is. His fight scenes don't feel as inventive as in other films but he has a good chemistry with Tucker. The bad guys are quite characterless but it doesn't really matter as the lead duo manage to carry the film.

Overall a good buddy cop movie that is a good vehicle for both Chan and Tucker and plays on both their strengths to good effect. However as with RH2 most of the funniest moments come in the closing outtakes, which can't be a good thing.
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
These two have the best chemistry of two people on film in a long time!!
Adriane30 June 1999
Wonderful film! Lots of laughs and action. These two have the best chemistry I have seen in a long time. Chris Tucker is hilarious, and Jackie Chan always entertains. This film delivers in every way!! Rent today...
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A funny cop buddy film, with a good chemistry between Chan and Tucker
MovieAddict20162 August 2001
I recently saw this movie, and I was surprised at how good it was despite some of the *obnoxious* loudmouth phrases by Chris Tucker. I think he got a little too mouthy at some scenes. But other than that the movie is pretty good.

The plot is after consul Han Solon's daughter is kidnapped, a close friend of Han's, Detective Inspector Lee(Jackie Chan) is sent in to help because Han does not fully rely on the work of the FBI alone. So an LAPD officer James Carter(Chris Tucker) is sent in to help keep Lee out of trouble. It had some very good lines passed between the actors, and you could tell they were having a fun time together acting. Some of the martial arts/karate that Chan does in the film is impressive, just like in all his films, and Tucker does a good job playing the loud mouth(even if he did get out of hand sometimes). I'm going to definately see the sequel, Rush Hour 2. I would give this film 3/5 stars. It's a good movie to just rent out, or watch on tv some night.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good buddy movie
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews25 October 2003
Even though this movie might be a bit conventional, it's thoroughly entertaining, with nice action scenes, cool martial arts fighting & a good sense of humor. I didn't find any of it boring. It's a good concept, to combine the humor of Chris Tucker with the martial arts of Jackie Chan. This movie is for anyone who's into action, martial arts & humor. 7/10
26 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Rush, don't walk to these fantastic Hour(s)
thesar-217 March 2010
After being disappointed (originally) with Chris Tucker in The Fifth Element, as I was with that entire movie, I didn't want to see Rush Hour thinking it would be mainly a Chris Tucker vehicle, even though I was/am a huge Jackie Chan fan.

Well, I rewatched The Fifth Element and actually liked it a whole lot more and was willing to give the 1998 opposite buddy cop movie a shot. With just the first viewing (of future many) I wasn't let down. For a single minute.

I sincerely love this movie, and ranks as my second favorite buddy/cop movie behind Lethal Weapon 2. Only some slight flaws cause it to lose a full 5/5 stars, but then rarely is a movie perfect.

Super Cop Lee (Chan) in Hong Kong is summoned to the USA after Consul Han's (Ma) daughter is kidnapped. Since the F.B.I. doesn't wish to use outsider Lee's help, they team him with "I don't want a partner" LAPD cop Carter (Tucker,) not that anyone would have such a loose cannon.

Yes, I realize this is predictable and as unoriginal as it comes, however, if not for the fantastic quick wit of Tucker and the fantastic quick punch & creativity of Chan, none of this would work.

At any rate, they team, Lee fights and Carter uses every available to investigate the daughter's disappearance while uncovering a conspiracy. All to an exciting finale using both Chan and Tucker's charm and talents.

I'm not doing this movie much justice, but suffice to say, each and every time I've seen this, I have been rolling with laughter and excited with all of Chan's enormously original fight/flight sequences. This is a must-see for fans of comedy, heart, action, adventure and, of course, buddy/cop films. I could watch this movie a hundred times and still get the same effect. I probably have already.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Whoever 'thought' team-up these two... brilliant
buzznzipp199528 July 2006
Hey and why not. A curious Chinese inspector, who is placed on a 'case' that the other law enforcement, across the water, doesn't want him near. Yes James carter or when it comes down to, too much heat, 'Jimmy Carter the chicken-hearted' is just out of the Chief's office after being in 'trouble' yet again. You just know it has happened before, with him. After Explaining to his Chief, his 'cock & bull' story about a bust gone-aye-rye, destroying property, putting lives at stake, he is wondrously given, instead of suspension, a brand new assignment. Papa's got a brand new nag! He is sent to what he thinks is a major case, with the F.B.I. Instead of course, he has been set-up to 'babysit' this kindly little inspector, Lee. Well that doesn't set right with the self-proclaimed hero, James carter, no way! He wants to take the 'lead' on the big-case. A hostage situation. Well after meeting his contact 'Lee' at the airport and trying to figure out how to tell him what to do, after picking him up on the tarmac. These guys run back and forth on the trail of the dangerous with little more than a prayer, a fast handed martial arts master and a high and verbally profuse brand new partner. They stumble and bumble through the first part of this adventure and become positively lethal together. As they stand on 'Sunset Blvd' and Lee teaches Carter the 'dismount and disassemble' method, they have truly reached the 'connection' point with their partner founded friendship.

The communication and then 'miscommunication' are driving the laughs all the way!

These two did a fantastic job of making a 'mess' into a romping good show! I think this is a super idea, who's time has come and what perfect timing it was. Here's to many more great adventures in naive investigative work! This was a top comedy for me. Recommended Highly! (****)
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Foreign
tedg31 March 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers herein.

I'm a Jackie Chan fan. I really enjoy how he has expanded the film vocabulary with choreographed fight humor. But all his best work seems to have been done before he tried Hollywood. This is first try at working out a formula. It squarely confronts the culture clash thing by introducing the international symbol of super-America, the flippant Blank.

But it has almost nothing of what he's good at, save a short bit with a steering wheel. All of the various devices are trotted out on schedule: the little girl, the British aristocrat behind the cruel mercenary, the jive singing...

About the only tolerable thing here is a pretty strong showing by Elizabeth Pena. The sequel was better, but I'd recommend looking at projects older than this.

Ted's evaluation: 2 of 3 -- has some interesting elements
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun buddy cop team-up
cardsrock14 July 2019
Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan are a great comedic duo in this exciting buddy cop adventure. Jackie Chan, in particular, has fantastic comedic timing and is a true treasure. The plot is pretty straightforward, but it's more so about the chemistry between Tucker and Chan, which definitely delivers. Rush Hour is a classic entry in the buddy cop genre.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rush Hour (1998): The Fastest Hands in the East Meets the Biggest Mouth in the West
davidtkd-2524910 January 2018
Rush Hour is a 1998 American buddy cop action comedy film starring Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker as two cops that have nothing in common working together to rescue the daughter of a Chinese diplomat who has been captured while also arresting a crime lord.

Directed by Brett Ratner, the film features a ton of action and drama. Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker's humor is phenomenal. This is a film you will surely remember.

Rush Hour was made on a budget of $33,000,000. Rush Hour grossed $244,400,000, making it a huge success. Because of the success of Rush Hour, it was followed by two sequels, Rush Hour 2 (2001), and Rush Hour 3 (2007).

Rush Hour's film score was conducted and composed by living-legend - Lalo Schifrin ("Bullitt", "Enter The Dragon"). The music is absolutely amazing and is one of the best if not the best thing about the movie. I could listen to this music forever and I wouldn't get bored of it.

A perfect action comedy film. This film is a buddy cop masterpiece and one of my favorite films ever. 10/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A fun cop caper with Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker
Tweekums21 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
When the daughter of the Chinese consul in Los Angeles is kidnapped he wants his old friend Detective Inspector Lee, of the Hong Kong Police, to be part of the investigation. The FBI don't want him anywhere near their investigation so palm him off to the LAPD which in turn partners him with Detective James Carter, who has no current partner because he annoys everybody else in the department. Carter is initially pleased with the assignment but soon learns that he is just expected to babysit Lee and keep him away from the case; Lee is equally unimpressed and is determined that he must help find his friends daughter. Inevitably it isn't that long before the pair are investigating the case and the FBI are thinking they are getting in the way.

This film's story is decent enough even if the big reveal about who is ultimately behind the kidnapping is rather spoilt for anybody who reads who is starring in the film at the start… anybody appearing third is surely not only going to have one brief scene in the opening minutes! That isn't much of a problem though; this is all about the laughs not the depth of the mystery. Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker are a lot of fun in the lead roles; they provide lots of laughs and develop a good chemistry as the film progresses. The action is well choreographed, as one would expect from anything featuring Jackie Chan; it might not be as intense as that in his Hong Kong films but that is partly to give room to the fast talking Chris Tucker to provide more verbal laughs. Overall I found this to be a fun mix of action and comedy which manages to avoid the sort of offensive material that might put off many viewers.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Tucker wins over Chan in action thriller! Yeowwch!
emm6 February 1999
Jackie Chan may still prove himself as the action-packed stuntman, but this time, things have reversed. RUSH HOUR is a reasonable combination of a suspense thriller with touches of hip comedy. Plus, it teams up both Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker, the two whose attitudes are by no means the same. It looks like I'll have to give credit to Tucker, whose smart-ass superior personality is the reason to enjoy this. The movie wouldn't have been so much fun without him, as his comedic charms lighten up the action-style mood we're witnessing. As for Chan, well, don't expect a whole lot of his potential this time. It isn't that he still performs a few killer stunts, but there is relatively little that was done. You've seen Chan in kung-fu brawls before, so nothing is very special or different. Speaking of action, RUSH HOUR suffers from little of it anyway. Nothing is absolutely ground-breaking even with a couple of big explosions and gunfights. Tucker's blabbermouthing takes a huge chunk out of over one hour until the climax opens with Chan's daughter strapped with a bomb. The conclusion is stylishly amusing, though, and once again the outtakes are an added bonus for extra fun. Chan fans may be disappointed by the scarcity of his signature action routines, but the humorous magic remains. RUSH HOUR is an entertaining combo of all sorts, but don't take this one too seriously if you're into heavy high-impact action thrills. You may enjoy Tucker a lot more than anything else in the world.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
good
omarzroud-180197 December 2018
It's good watching chris tucker and jackie chan working together they made for us a good movie i loved the comedy and the action and i advice you to watch it
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good for those of you who like two of a kind
Spike-Washington18 April 2018
I'd watched a little of this back in the late 1990s and wanted to watch more. Its plot was decent and it wasn't meant to be taken seriously, but if you wanted to see Jackie Chan team up with an American police detective, this is your movie. Lots of funny moments and lots of action. It went on to have two sequels and while I'd only seen the second Rush Hour, I hadn't watched the third. But stick with this one and you'll have fun.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
my notes
sstrunks-0524525 June 2019
A classic. funny and entertaining with good and creative fighting (about 7 viewings)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hell of fun
sarwanm7 June 2019
Hell of fun' jackie is always funny. Always good all parts
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A nice comedy movie to be watch witty some suspense and action.Awesome acting.
DG_Boy29 July 2017
The movie is very awesome comedy.The direction by bredd ratner is good.The screenplay is good.The editing was OK.The acting was awesome from Jackie Chan and cris Tucker.The story is good.The story is about a honest hong kong police inspector teams up with a reckless and loudmouthed LAPD dectective to rescue The Chinese counsels kidnapped daughter wioe trying to arrest the dangerous crime lord along the way.The comedy was awesome.Both the 3 parts were good.Overall a must watch comedy movie and a must watch for Jackie chan fans.Now I am finally waiting for rush hour 4 which is announced and going to be released.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I love movies
duykhanhpham17 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is amazing. I love it. I love watching Jackie Chan's movies. He is the best actor in the world. He good at martial arts and very funny. He always act in dangerous situations. I can take the eyes of the screen. It is so incredible. I want to see him in other movies. So that I can see with my friends. Rush Hour is fast, funny and Fantastic. It is 2 hours of non stop entertainment. I have seen the sequel, No where near the Classic. Jackie Chan is amazing as the martial arts expert cop from Hong Kong. Chris Tucker is Hilarious as the fast talking cop from America. What happens when two people like this meet, Excitement and entertainment. This is Jackie's Best Hollywood Movie. I have seen a few Chris Tucker movie, this is his Best performance. I hope the third in the series will entertain as the First. If you have not seen this movie, then i recommend this movie. A great action comedy movie for all type of audience to enjoy. One of the best cop buddy movies since Lethal Weapon.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Miss something
zhyarTheChosen19 October 2019
This movie was so good but I hate its quality I wish they make a remake
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed