Dead Presidents (1995) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
84 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Great Movie
gator11109 May 2004
This was a great movie, and I think it was overlooked. It is one my favorites due to the unique storytelling and action. This movie is way better than 90% of the crap that comes out today. The acting is also superb, and I think it Chris Tucker's greatest performance. Even though the story has a lot of action, it's very believable, which is hard to do in Hollywood. For those who haven't seen this movie I suggest you go and rent it now, it's a modern day classic. Sit back and be prepared to watch a great moment in filmaking. It's definitely underrated. I think if it was promoted better it might have done better, especially since most war movies do well.
30 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An abridged, urbanized version of "The Deer Hunter"
isitwewin526 January 2003
The Hughes Brothers tried to play up the same angle with "Dead Presidents" as Micheal Cimino and Louis Garfinkle did with "The Deer Hunter" by portraying the social effects that the Vietnam war had on its young veterans. And for a while, it seemed as though they were quite successful. But in the end, it became apparent why "The Dead Presidents" fell short of the Academy recognition that "The Deer Hunter" won.

Set in the late 60s and early 70s, the plotline of "Dead Presidents" follows a promising and popular inner-city high school graduate, Anthony Curtis (Larenz Tate), who decides to forego college and enter the Vietnam War as a member of the Marine Corps. Anthony survives a graphic and arduous three-plus-year stint in the jungle, but upon his homecoming, he realizes that the "real world" can be just as trying as war. His low-paying job provides little support for his new family and he becomes desperate to make ends meet. He enlists the help of some old friends and plans a daring armored car heist which, if successful, could serve to amend his past and brighten his future...

The first seventy-five minutes of this movie were really well done. Character traits and relationships were well-established and the mood was properly set as suspense built for the anticipated war scenes--a perfect "epic-caliber" introduction.

But instead of continuing with a detailed flow, the directing crew tried to cram about ninety minutes worth of material into the final forty-five minutes, and consequently did not leave themselves enough time to totally develop any strong climactic progression or aptly characterize any of the cast members into their sudden postwar "criminal complex." Thus, the "heist scene," which based on advertising was probably supposed to be one of the more memorable and authoritative parts of the film, seemed to be almost too "spur-of-the-moment" and lacked motivation and definition.

All in all, the film's running time, which was approximately 119 minutes, was simply far too short for the storyline. The postwar segment of the film (the last forty-five minutes) was indeed key in separating a decent movie like "Dead Presidents" from a epic masterpiece like "The Deer Hunter."

Besides the first seventy-five minutes, a couple of notably good performances given by Chris Tucker as Skip (Anthony's best friend) and Rose Jackson as Juanita (Anthony's girlfriend) do make "Dead Presidents" a movie worth seeing at least once. That said, I would warn not to create a preconception based on the title, tagline or any publicity images that you might have seen, because they apply only to a small portion of the action.
46 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
delivers big for the right fans
Special-K8814 September 2002
Gripping, poignant story about a young black man growing up in the 1960s Bronx whose parents groom him to follow in the footsteps of his college grad older brother. He has his own plans however, and enlists in the Marine Corps where he survives four years of brutal warfare in Vietnam. He returns home to try and make a new life for himself, but a struggling economy and lack of formal education gradually draw him into a life of crime. An effective portrayal of black involvement in Vietnam, with good performances, powerful scenes, and shockingly graphic violence. Tate is commanding in the lead, and Tucker a real surprise as his drug-addicted pal. Not for all tastes, but well-crafted and well-made. ***
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Tries to do too much
wahoodoss-15 July 2004
Dead Presidents is an okay movie. Not bad, not great. Okay. I give it a B-.

I give Dead Presidents high marks for casting and acting. Larenz Tate, Chris Tucker, and the rest did a fabulous job. I also like the war scenes--very gripping, very scary.

The problem that I have with the movie is that it spans too many genres and as a result, just seems to drag on and on. The tag line would make you believe that this is a cops and robbers film centered around a major heist. But that is terribly misleading. The heist doesn't happen and isn't even an issue until late in the film. Up to that point you could consider this a life in the ghetto movie, trying to escape the ghetto movie, a Viet Nam war movie, a what life was like for blacks in the late 60's early 70's movie, a what the Viet Nam war did to those who survived it movie, so on and so on. By the time it came around for the big robbery, I was wondering when this movie would end. This problem of too grand a scope keeps the movie from getting an A.
24 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie
Johnny05818 March 2005
I really enjoyed this movie. Everyone in it did an excellent job and it was very gripping. It keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. Larenz Tate, in his best role ever, plays Anthony Curtis, a young black man from late 1960's The Bronx, who is just a regular guy who hangs out with his friends played by Chris Tucker also in his best role ever as Skip, and Freddy Rodriguez as Jose. Shortly after graduation from high school, Anthony decides he doesn't want to follow his big brother's path of going to college but instead, joining the Marine Corps and fight for his country. Shortly thereafter, we are taken to Vietnam with the boys and we meet some other interesting characters, one of them a psychotic preacher, Cleon, played by Bokeem Woodbine,and the Vietnam sequences are executed very realistically and are very bloody. After a while, we are taken back to the boogie down Bronx, where Anthony upon returning to the old neighborhood after four years,realizes that things are even worse than before, and everyone, including his pre-Vietnam girlfriend, Juanita, all have taken their lives in a different direction. Anthony is now a father, and cannot find a job anywhere and realizes that his own country has turned his back on him and many young black veterans from 'Nam, including his old boys Skip and Jose. We also meet Kirby, played by Keith David, a once cold and ruthless hustler, who has now left the life because the corruption of the city has forced him to quit his old habits, and Juanita's sister Delilah, played by N'Bushe Wright, who is an activist with the Black Panthers. Pretty soon all of these characters, save Juanita, fed up with their lives and their situation, get together to plan a stickup on an armored truck that is making a pickup of old dollar bills and is taking them to a location in Washington to burn them. The stickup sequence is very well made, but of course, bloody. This movie is filled with great performances, the best coming from Larenz Tate, Bokeem Woodbine and Keith David, heart-pounding action and good dialogue. A Hughes Brothers' classic. 9.5 out of 10.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Brothers In Arms.
Spikeopath30 May 2015
Albert and Allen Hughes direct, produce and co-write (with Michael Henry Brown) this tale about Anthony Curtis (Larenz Tate), a South Bronx boy who goes off to fight in Vietnam, to then return after his tours of duty to find things just aren't the same anymore. The follow up to their incendiary debut, Menace II Society, the Hughes brothers deliver another in your face picture that is quite frankly on a perpetual downer. This is no bad thing, though, as long as you are not looking to be cheered up.

That's Uncle Sam for you! Mean Green.

The pic very much harks back to the glory days of film noir in the 40s and 50s, where some talented film makers began to tell stories of returning war veterans finding what they left behind is now alien to them - with some characters, as is the case here - deeply scarred by their experiences. Add in some gangster elements and the coup de grâce that is the scintillating heist, and clearly the brothers have seen many an old classic film. That the narrative is tried and tested stops the piece hitting greater heights, this in spite of some super acting (especially Tate and the always value for money Keith David) and the hard hitting violence that pierces the senses. Predictable yet potent, and certainly memorable, it's well worth a look for the tough of mind and the classic era film of heart. 7/10
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
great (esp.Tucker)
d3ei20 February 2002
Chris Tucker is hilarious in this movie, he has great on screen charisma, and he speaks his lines very fluidly, as if he was improvising. Larenz Tate is great as well, being able to pull off the young version of his character, since he has a boyish face. And Bokeem Woodbine reminds me of Samuel L. Jackson in this movie. The cinematography is also great and so is the acting overall. Like everyone says, its not so much as a heist movie, but a reflection on the hardships of the black individual, such as finding work and drug abuse; after fighting a war that wasnt really meant for them or their country.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A strong movie about life for a black man after the Vietnam war
martymaster19 June 2001
For all those who liked the movie "Menace 2 Society",you are going to love this one. This movie features the star from Menace to Society "Larenz Tate" and the well known "Chris Tucker". This is a very violent movie and have a few very gory scenes of the Vietnam war,but that is okay because this movie really shows how difficult it must have been for a black man growing up in the Bronx in the 60's.And it shows how life is for him and his friends after coming home from the Vietnam war. The language in this movie is of course very tough and rough and I could actually count the f-word 247 times in this movie and that speaks for it's self.

This is an extremely well made movie that really shows the reality of how hard the world can be for some people.

I advice everybody to go out and pick up this movie, because it is a story that you got to hear.
28 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
pretentious and dead serious
fred-8314 May 2000
Warning: Spoilers
This movie starts out pretty ok, but unfortunately descends into predictable, pretentious and dead serious melodrama after the Vietnam sequences. The best parts are the bloodletting parts and a nightmare sequence. SPOILER! In the end it falls apart completely, the believability being thrown out the window. Seems to me that the preacher-character had a pretty good life, so what was his motivation for joining the heist? And subtle the dialogue is not. One can appreciate the message though, but it could have been handled less obviously and with more finesse.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Dead" "Presidents"
dee.reid11 February 2005
"Dead Presidents," the Hughes Brothers' ambitious 1995 follow-up to their equally ambitious debut, the gritty and ultraviolent 1993 drama "Menace II Society," is about as ambitious as most films can get, and in some ways it's better than their previous film, and in some ways it's not.

Many have taken note of co-directing team Allen and Albert Hughes' referencing to their cinema heroes like Martin Scorsese and the bloody gangster classic "Scarface." Indeed, observant viewers will note the explicit bloodshed that's prevalent in "Dead Presidents" as being homage to the graphic gangster pictures of yesteryear, and that doesn't make it bad.

"Presidents" takes a look at the role that the color green played in the lives young black men before and after Vietnam. In fact, on the killing fields of good old 'Nam, mankind is seen at its absolute lowest, where soldiers on both sides of the conflict commit horrific atrocities, including a scene where a black soldier decapitates a (dead) Viet Cong and keeps the head for good luck, or when an American soldier is gutted and castrated.

Obviously, the Hughes Brothers have some real big qualms about black mens' involvement in that conflict, and the film's central character, Anthony Curtis (Larenz Tate), finds little prospects awaiting him in the Bronx after doing two tours in Vietnam.

Before he left, however, he'd impregnated his girlfriend Juanita (Rose Jackson) and while in country, he doesn't permit himself to think of what he's left behind in America. So when Anthony's forced to leave his low-paying job as a meat cutter, it's not a surprise that he's already begun plans to knock off an armored truck to get some "dead presidents," which is street slang for dollar bills.

So, together with his two involuntarily enlisted Vietnam buddies Skip (Chris Tucker) and Jose (Freddy Rodriguez), Anthony's Uncle Kirby (Keith David), Juanita's radicalized sister Delilah (N'Bushe Wright) and Cleon (Bokeem Woodbine), they proceed to knock over the truck and make way with its valuable assets.

The film is most definitely a gritty look at the "black experience" during the Civil Rights era and the Hughes Brothers certainly pay a lot more attention to the details of the picture. It's not better than "Menace," but is certainly better-made, now that they have been given a more reasonable budget.

10/10
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lethargic
FunnyMann19 November 2001
Warning: Spoilers
*****WARNING: POSSIBLE SPOILER*****

Sifting through the comments for "Dead Presidents," I was starting to think I saw a different movie than everyone else until I found one other person who thought it was slow and directionless. Thank God for that guy.

The Hughes brothers had a great concept in depicting Vietnam and life afterwards from a black soldier's perspective. A much needed perspective, since countless movies have showed things from the white POV. Problem is, the Hughes brothers took this concept and sucked the life out of it with sloooow pacing and an unfocused script.

I'll say this: The directors have a knack for framing interesting shots, and when they do make a point, it resonates. It's just that their points would have been so much sharper if they didn't take forever getting to them. We've all listened to someone tell a story that should be interesting but isn't because they kill it with a sleepy pace, boring sidenotes and irrelevant details. That's what happens here.

A movie is kind of like a bank robbery. It might sound like a great idea, but if you botch the execution, it all goes to hell. Sadly, in "Dead Presidents," art imitates itself.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Déja-Vu Festival
nihao4 March 2006
This movie jumps from one movie-cliché to another. Even a half-hearted movie buff can't avoid wincing at the amount of 'déja-vu' moments the Hughes Bros. chuck at you... There's Scorsese 'moments' galore (even DeNiro film-debut re-makes), and ideas from Lynch's "Wild at Heart" are randomly (and stupidly) used here and there. Oliver Stone is ransacked in the Vietnam sequences, as is Coppola (in sloppy "Apocalypse Now" re-creations). In fact all is told in such a heavy-handed,un-intelligent way, that the viewer is 'turned off' pretty quickly. No one likes to be treated like a moron, least of all a movie-buff... So who was this movie made for? Audiences who have never seen the seminal movies of the last 25 years? Oh! It was a surprise to see the excellent Martin Sheen in the un-billed role of a heartless war-vet judge. At least he managed to avoid being hit by a flying chair. I sat through this and wished I had avoided this graceless BOMB!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good movie, but has flaws
joshy_s24 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I love the ghetto/gangster genre, always have. I've been looking forward to watching Dead Presidents for quite some time and I wasn't disappointed. The movie documents the life of Anthony through growing up in the hood, to joining the marines in Vietnam and finally the heist. I think the Vietnam element is a fairly unique take on the genre, but there are some parts that left me like eh? Such as the soldier who was found in the jungle with his penis cut off and shoved in his mouth. Now, while this leads to him having to take his friends life and we're supposed to see how this effect him, it's pretty ridiculous that he doesn't bleed to death or seem to be in much agony. I know they say you go numb after being shot etc but seriously the guy would be screaming, and not only that his tackle was sitting on the floor, would've been better if they'd just had to kill him there and then. Apart from that I enjoyed it. I expected the robbery aspect to be a bigger theme and not just the story ending, but nevertheless it was enjoyable and I'd definitely watch it again.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Underrated Powerful Movie
Li_8512 June 2006
I did not expect much from Dead Presidents when i saw it on my video shop. The cover doesn't look great and i haven't heard of this film. I enjoyed Menace to society, Boyz N the hood and juice. But After these releases there hasn't been any great Black (Hood) Crime movies. There have been so many disgraceful movies that star some rapper used to promote the movies. I gave Dead Presidents a chance, and I'm glad i did. This was a Masterpiece, directed by Hughes Brothers after Hit movie Menace 2 Society. The Hughes Brothers impress once again. Starring highly underrated actor Larenz tate in a powerful, Superb performance. Alongside Chris Tucker in a supporting role. This is a Great Action movie, with some serious situations.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Harrowing follow-up from the Hughes Brothers
JawsOfJosh4 November 2000
I thought I had seen one of the most intense horror films ever when I saw the Hughes Brothers' debut "Menace II Society" (yes, I do mean 'horror' in the figurative sense). Then I saw "Dead Presidents," and I saw they took it up a notch. This film is set in Harlem in the mid 60's, a young man named Anthony Curtis, who's unsure of what to do with this life after high school and is not really interested in the usual route of college. He decides to enlist in the Marine Corps and no doubt ends up in Vietnam, in a special armed forces unit. Although he makes it out alive unscratched after four years of service, he returns home to find himself, his Marine buddies and their families - including his own new growing family - ravaged physically, emotionally, psychologically and economically by the war. When things seem to really go bleak, Anthony and his friends decide to rob an armored bank truck to get themselves back on track.

"Dead Presidents" confirms the suspicions that were aroused by "Menace" that the Hughes Brothers are without question going to become master filmmakers. There is an obvious graduation in their skills here, look at the brilliant way they segue into Vietnam by showing Anthony hop over backyard fences with dogs barking in the background that suddenly fade into shotgun blasts and officer commands, then with one pass over another fence Anthony is suddenly is Vietnam blasting his shotgun. Be warned, the Vietnam sequence in the film contains the most grotesque war scenes ever filmed (much more brief in length than "Saving Private Ryan" but just as intense).

Larenz Tate gives a strong performance as a man with a do-good heart but a warped mind that's been tarnished by war. Keith David is also skilled as Kirby, the neighborhood elder who serves as Anthony's mentor. N'Bushe Wright is miscast as a Black militant activist who entices Anthony towards the heist, she's a really bad actress and the Hughes Brothers were smart for cutting her screen time. "Dead Presidents" speaks volume about Black Americans' involvement in Vietnam and the consequences they suffered for doing so. Not a happy film, but an honest and skillful one.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty good show but i didn't like the ending
Hang_All_Drunkdrivers2 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Larenz Tate does a great job in this movie about young blacks in the 60s and 70s. He spends a few years in Vietnam and then comes home to a dead-end life and takes part in an armed robbery that sends him to prison at the end. That's the part i didn't like. In the courtroom he goes berzerk when the judge gives him 15 to life but hell - several people were killed in the robbery including a cop! I thought he'd be executed and was surprised at the light sentence and dumbfounded when his character objected to the severity.

Tate does a great job in the lead role. First time i saw this guy and i'm surprised he never became a bigger star. Very likable screen persona. David Keith is sensational as Kirby, the one-legged and tough as nails goodguy/badguy. Chris Tucker plays his usual character of a loud mouth who thinks he knows everything and is fine too.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
An Unlikable Film
Theo Robertson20 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
A young black man Anthony Curtis is about to graduate from college in 1969 and volunteers from the United States Marine Corps . Coming home after a tour in the early 1970s . Needing a focus in life Anthony finds himself being drawn in to a life of crime

DEAD PRESIDENTS was released in 1995 with a fair amount of hype . Directed by the Hughes brothers it was marketed as a film that marketed the black experience of coming home after Vietnam . One can understand why the film was marketed this way since the Hughes did make the critically acclaimed MENACE II SOCIETY , part of a short lived but acclaimed " Ghetto subgenre " in the early 1990s . DEAD PRESIDENTS might try to fit in to this type of genre but what ever type of movie it's trying to be it fails because there's an obvious flaw - there's not one single likable character in the movie

If the Hughes brothers had been white I'm sure they'd have been accused of playing up to ethnic stereotypes or at the very least making a blacksplotation movie twenty years too late . The film starts with some foul mouthed characters lamenting the lack of sex in their lives and goes downhill from there . The film then cuts to Vietnam and if Anthnoy ( And the audience ) thought the ghetto was bad then Vietnam is a lot worse . The war scenes are genuinely disturbing and violent but again this seems very old hat when we'd already had a glut of anti-war films featuring the 'Nam ten years earlier and most of them making an anti-war point much better too . When Anthony returns to America he gets involved in a robbery that makes the Vietnam war look like an episode of TELETUBBIES

This is a muddled , unfocused violent film that becomes more and more depressing as it goes along . If the Hughes are making a comment that returning soldiers from conflicts regardless of their colour are callously ignored by the country they fought to defend then they have failed . There's little incitement for the characters to become the violent ruthless criminals they are . Just because an educated college boy fought in a war zone it never seems a convincing character motivation to become a criminal , and the robbery itself on an armoured car is done so graphically and violently is enough to evaporate any potential sympathy one might have had at Anthony's plight

Despite being a competently made film , the editing is very good for example , DEAD PRESIDENTS is a classic example of a film having to elicit empathy from the audience and if it fails to do this then the entire film fails
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gritty drama from the Hughes Bros.
RudyA23 August 1998
A well thought out movie featuring some of the most thrilling violent scenes and intense language. The Criterion Laserdisc commentaries reveals some more interesting background to the production of this movie. Recommended for Hughes Bros. fans out there.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Period Film . . .
tagheuerblog10 August 2006
This is more than just a great genre flick, but a film that captures the essence, for lack of a better term, of living and growing up in Bronx during 60's and the buildup to the Vietnam war. All of the actors played their parts very well and found Chris Tucker's character a morbid yet apt comic relief to a very serious topic, which in turn was captured in Bokeem Woodbine's part and who played "Cleon" - The look on the faces of those in the unit when they were trying to get him to get rid of the head of the dead enemy soldier was uncompromisingly gripping.

Another great performance was had by Keith David, of Platoon fame who played the worldly and elder part to-a-T. And not to mention Larenz Tate, whose boyishly-looking features cleanly established the groundwork in the development of the story. And although a lot of profanity was employed in this movie, it does capture the gravity of what the story hoped to convey.

The movie is so vivid and compelling, I believe that this account was based on reality, than that of imagination or fiction. Kudos to the Hughes bros. who've once again given us yet another thought provoking glimpse of life from another perspective.

Wishful thinking: Beginning with the lives of the principal actors when they first met as children.

Memorable movie quote: "Fuck you, man. It stinks like a sack full of assholes!"
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dead Presidents? Where???
stamper30 April 2001
I really do not know what to make of this movie. I do not even understand it's title (maybe it is because I'm European). Anyway this is not a bad movie. It is about a black man and how his life is affected by the time he lives in and the choices he made. It's about a man who could have gone to college but goes to fight in the Vietnam War (a white man's war) and his experiences in that war and after that war. Somehow this does not sound bad right? But it is not good my friends. I really could not get into the story and the characters (maybe that's my fault) But one thing I really missed here was suspense, well worked out characters and stuff. All this film had was a lot of blood. Not recommended if you want to see a good film about war. I was a bit entertained though by lots of blood and some gory stuff I've never seen before.

6.5 out of 10
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nothing but a Black Panther propaganda film
blaisetelfer8 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Please spare me this cliché: the tragedies of a shell-shocked veteran who comes back to his inner city neighborhood and has trouble finding work, his disillusion with the American dream, and how joining the military was the worst decision he ever made. That I could handle, (because I've seen it a million times), but all that nonsense at the end about "how dare you lock me up, after all I did for this country", spoken by a cop-killer? The Black Panthers are portrayed as strong and justified, when really they were a bunch of jabbering radicals who couldn't grow out of their teenage rebellion. The main character was not screwed by "the man" or "the system", he was just psychotic. A lot of men came back from Vietnam and many were troubled, but most did not hit their wives or robbed armored cars.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slow and directionless. SPOILER INCLUDED
magellan3333 May 2001
Warning: Spoilers
I did not like this movie at all. I seem to be the only person posting on the IMDB that doesn't. I did not feel the least bit sorry for any of the characters. Did the Marine Corps not instill in these boys any kind of work ethic? They only way they thought they could make it in the world was to to hold up an armored truck. Why didn't they opt for the G.I. Bill, or military education assistance. **SPOILER** They chose not to work for a living and steal from and kill those who do. I love the ending where the cops kill a few of them and the others go to prison.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't expect much
hannah-britten31 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I think my disappointment for this film is based partially on the hype of a well known UK film journalist who talked of this as a 'must see movie.' So expectations were high but when the credits rolled on at the end I wondered what on earth was so special about the film.

The plot was predictable and with so many short scenes there was little time for atmosphere which left the funk and soul heavy sound track to work overtime. I would align this film with Forest Gump in its attempts to show a young man growing up. Weaving adolescence, romance, violence and adventure into the story. This is the most slight reference since the two films qualities are markedly different.

Not a single character in Dead Presidents incites any reaction from the audience. The scripts plausibility is questionable in many places, chasms of time are treated as though they have been emotionally filled in. Characters act out their two dimensional emotions towards these situations to move seamlessly onwards.

If you feel sympathy for the lead character to begin with once it is revealed he comes from a loving supportive family this is quashed. I don't think you can identify with a character who throws away so much due to arrogance and selfish pride. So if this is the case what where the directors trying to say about this mans life? Nothing in the film allowed us to be enlightened.

I wouldn't recommend this film but then I like films which have a depth and are written in a more considered way.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ambitious look at the `black experience' but ultimately flawed
bob the moo29 July 2002
Anthony Curtis is a young black man in America. Unlike his brother he doesn't go to college but instead joins the Marine Corp to fight in Vietnam. He returns having served his country to find that America has no thanks for the many black soldiers who fought on their behalf.

The Hughes brothers should be applauded for managing to steer themselves successfully away from ghetto movies (look what happened to John Singleton). This was a small step away (although From Hell was a big leap) and it tries to deal with the black experience around Vietnam. A worthy cause but a flawed one none the less. The plot really just wants to get to the last half hour which is the robbery that is displayed on the posters etc. However before that it makes a lot of good points. The problem is that, because it's dealing with an experience the storyline doesn't always seem strong. This means it is a bit episodic.

However these episodes still manage to be pretty good and the Hughes brothers are very good film-makers who can put stuff together well. The robbery is tense and some of the other scenes are very involving. However it still feels like the plot is too loose.

The cast helps greatly – and a very famous cast (or at least familiar faces). Larenz Tate is OK but is probably more suited to his more recent romantic leads. Chris Tucker manages not to be totally irritating for once and N'Bushe Wright and Jackson are very good female roles. The cast has a few famous cameos (Washington and Sheen) but also has a host of recognisable faces including Rodriguez, Woodbine, Imperioli (in a small – or is that big! - role) – many are famous black support actors.

Overall it doesn't quite hang together as the plot is less a story than a view of the black experience around Vietnam and one of the sense of abandonment that they feel. However the film throws up plenty of good bits despite failing to come together as one piece of work.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Brilliant vision, but...
Ed Bone30 April 1999
I know, I know. How does a movie with an average 6.4 vote get a 1? Well, let me explain. Maybe I missed the point. But I watched the whole movie, and as far as I could tell, there wasn't one. The idea and vision behind this are brilliant. I even liked the tagline. But somehow it just didn't come together on the screen (which you'll understand if you've seen any Master P movie).
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed