The Naked Gun 2½: The Smell of Fear (1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
97 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear: 8/10
movieguy102111 October 2003
Jim Abrahams and David and Jerry Zucker learned something from 1982. Their sequel to Airplane!, their smash hit, was named Airplane 2: The Sequel, but to their sequel to The Naked Gun was something that would be copied forever: Naked Gun 2 ½: The Smell of Fear. From now on, sequels never were just had `2' after it, it's always `2 ½' or `2.33'. And, thankfully, the title's shorter.

Leslie Nielsen's hilarious character of Frank Drebin is back for more adventures. He and his girlfriend Jane (Priscilla Presley) have broken up; he hasn't gotten over it, while she's going out with Quentin Hapsburg (Robert Goulet). What she doesn't know is that Hapsburg is in a conspiracy to avoid solar energy by doing a whole kidnapping scheme. It's up to Drebin, Nordberg (O.J. Simpson), and Ed Hocken (George Kennedy) to save the day!

Amazingly enough, many of the jokes from the first one (which I admit I don't remember much about) weren't repeated in this sequel. It would be hard to repeat much of those jokes, which would be impossible to change in any ways. Therefore, most of the jokes were fresh and hilarious. It did take a little while to get started, though, for there was about a fifteen minute stretch where there were no laughs, it was just for exposition, which I guess was OK, but I wanted more humor to start off with.

Nielsen was perfect for the part. I'm glad that he hasn't `sold out' like other comedians and gone on to dramatic roles. He delivers his lines almost like he didn't know he was in a comedy, which is always funnier than any other types. Many times, he misunderstands what is said, and other times he says something that you wouldn't expect him to say in 100 years. One of the funniest sequences in the film is a parody of Bond-ish films, when Drebin and someone else are fighting in a bathroom, and seem to be having trouble fighting when a towel is thrown on their heads, etc.

For once, a film has a formidable sequel. Amazingly enough, it's a film that's just as funny as the first.

My rating: 8/10

Rated PG-13 for sexual humor.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining sequel with some big laughs.
hu67522 January 2009
Lieutenant Frank Drebin (Leslie Nielsen) is now working in Washington D.C. with his two partners (Oscar-Winner:George Kennedy and O.J. Simpson). Their job is see if everything goes smooth for Dr. Albert Meinheimer (Richard Griffiths) speech for the President of the United States (John Roarke). His speech could be highly controversial for the whole world, since it involves the country's energy program. Quentin Haspburg (Robert Goulet) kidnaps Dr. Albert Meinheimer before the speech by using a look-like, which he doesn't want the world industry of fossil and nuclear fuels instead of the environmental ones. But Frank is still heartbroken after he left his girlfriend Jane (Priscilla Presley), who's now working for Dr. Meinherimer.

Directed by David Zucker (Airplane!, BASEketball, Ruthless People) made an enjoyable sequel to the original. The cast seems to be having an great time and there's some original new gags as well. This sequel was just as big at the box office like the original did. Although the film critics had mixed opinions with this one.

DVD has an sharp anamorphic Widescreen (1.78:1) transfer and an good digitally remastered Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD includes the teaser trailer, original theatrical trailer and an humorous commentary track by the director, producer:Robert K. Weiss and Host:Peter Tilder. "The Naked Gun 2 1/2:The Smell of Fear" perphas lacks some of the great gags of the original. But if you enjoy spoof comedies, don't miss this one. TV Version adds some additional footage. Written by the director and Pat Proft (Bachelor Party, Hot Shots!, Police Academy). (****/*****).
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The mariachis
jotix10016 February 2006
David Zucker, the director of this spoof, shows he can give the viewer a fun time because the way he gave the right touch to this funny movie. "The Naked Gun 2-1/2" is a film which makes fun of other movies about an inept police detective who does everything wrong, but in doing so, he gives us an occasion for laughter that in most of the situations work.

Of course, one wouldn't imagine anyone playing this Lt. Frank Drebin, but Leslie Nielsen. This actor with the rubber face, is a natural for this type of comedy. The opening sequence with the White House dinner with the older Bushies is a hoot. Poor Barbara Bush is the butt of all the visual jokes as she is seated next to Drebin. But the best moment in the film is the rendition of "Besame Mucho" by Mr. Nielsen and George Kennedy dressed in mariachi costumes. It is a riot!

The leading lady, Priscilla Presley, seems to be the perfect match for Mr. Nielsen. They play well together. The others in the film, George Kennedy, Robert Goulet, Richard Griffiths, and the rest, do an excellent job in their clowning around to produce the laughter and good time we experience.

This is a film to recommend to anyone suffering depression.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great "Gun"s!
Mister-64 May 2002
Leave it to the ZAZ boys (Zucker, Abrahams, Zucker) to bring back the stupidity, insanity and downright madness of Leslie Nielsen and company while also deflating cop films, government conspiracies the movie "Ghost" and the grace of ballroom dancing.

In "The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear", Det. Frank Drebin (Nielsen) and his fellow cop cronies (Kennedy, Simpson) discover the lovely Jane (Presley) while protecting energy expert Professor Mainheimer (Griffiths) from evil guy Quentin Hapsburg (Goulet!) and his nefarious plans....

But you don't care about the plot, do you? No, and well you shouldn't; the gags are the thing in these films and they not only come fast and furious but wild and wooly, down and dirty and good and dumb.

Just the way I like them.

You'll lose count of the sight gags, double over at the double-entendres and guffaw at the puns and wonder, thought it all, why it is that all sequels can't be as good as this. Especially sequels that contain Barabara Bush abuse.

Another good case, Drebin!

Ten stars and a gold copy of "Unchained Melody" for "The Naked Gun 2 1/2", where "Fear" never "Smell"ed so funny.
34 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I loved this one...I really did!!!!
rogelioduron21 May 2004
I just saw this film with a couple of friends and some beers and man we laughed so damn hard at it..It had some gags i didn't even remembered, The one that got us crying in laughter is at the very ending when a bunch of people are asleep and one of them is all arched in a weird way sleeping in a table..you gotta see it to get it...How ridiculous and funny it was!!!!! Leslie Nielson is a great guy I'm so sorry about his performance in Scarymovie 3 and those movies that squashed the good and funny memories movies like these gave us fans. Priscila Presley is Gorgeous...she looks fine...but this movie dates back to 1992..so i guess now a days she must look very old..I guess. Anyhow the film was great and i remember good as yesterday the time this film came out, it came out a week before The Terminator 2 and Leslie Nielsen used to do this television spots saying: Hasta la vista..baby...they were so damn funny..I hope someone remembers them...Or someone gets them for a DVD. its a definite 10 out of 10 on Comedy.
28 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How do they come up with these things?!
lee_eisenberg11 March 2006
This one has Lt. Frank Drebin (Leslie Nielsen) trying to stop villain Quentin Hapsburg (Robert Goulet) from kidnapping a solar power advocate. That's the plot, but the movie is of course an excuse for a series of gags, many of which just pop out from the sides. And of course there's Frank's relationship with seductive Jane Spencer (Priscilla Presley). One of their scenes might make you recall a certain scene from "Ghost", and then what follows...well, all that I can say is: HOW DO THEY COME UP WITH THESE THINGS?!!!!!!!!!!!!! I guess that the movie's only weird aspect is seeing O.J. Simpson as Nordberg. But if we can ignore that, the rest is a hoot, especially the opening sequence, the outlines of people's bodies, and the zoo scene. Just great.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Consistently amusing with a hatful of belly laughs – fans of the genre and the series will love it
bob the moo23 August 2004
When a bomb goes off in the offices of a research body looking an alternative energy sources, Lieutenant Frank Drebin is put on the case. Things are made harder when he finds that his ex-girlfriend (Jane) is one of the staff there. As unlikely as it seems, Drebin uncovers a sinister plot involving the heavy fuel lobby to kidnap the President's adviser and replace him with a look-alike that will say what they want. However, with nobody believing him, Frank is forced to take action to expose the leader of the plot – Jane's new lover, Quentin Hapsburg.

Following on from the success of the first film, Frank Drebin is given a second outing and, as before, the humour is silly but comes in heavy doses, creating a pretty consistent tone to the film. The plot is, of course, nonsense and all you really need to know is that, as before, Drebin uncovers a plot that nobody believes while at the same time having love life problems – but surely nobody will be watching this for the plot (and don't call me Shirley). Instead you will come to this for the steady delivery of absurdly silly jokes, all delivered with straight faces from all the cast. It is rather hit and miss but mostly the jokes are amusing even if there aren't as many laugh out loud moments as I would have liked. The addition of a lot of crude material didn't help and I felt it sucked a bit of the sense of fun out of the film.

That is not to say that I didn't laugh out loud (I did) but most of the time I was just chuckling – which is good enough for my money. A big reason the film is funny is the cast. As always, Nielsen is brilliant at this sort of thing when he is given the material. Here he is not as good as his best stuff (due to the material) but he is still the core of this film and is consistently good. Presley has less to do but is good at the straight-faced stuff. OJ and Kennedy have small roles but they are funny with what they have. Goulet is not as good as Montalban from the first film but he has some nice moments.

Overall this is very funny if you are in the mood and, even if you're not, there is still much to enjoy here and it is consistently pretty funny with a real hatful of belly laughs. Not the most high brow of entertainment then but, if you're a fan of the genre then you should love this.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious sequel to 'The Naked Gun: From The Files of Police Squad' **** out of *****
Welshfilmfan19 January 2009
The Naked Gun: From the files of Police Squad was a huge hit back in 1988, so three years later, everyone returns for this funny sequel.

LT. Frank Drebin is back (The legend that is Leslie Nielsen) he's now split from Girlfriend Jane (Pricilla Presley) whose now involved romantically with shady Businessman Quentin Hapsburg (Robert Goulet). Drebin and his cop buddies, Capt Ed Hocken (George Kennedy) & Det. Norberg (O.J.Simpson) investigate when a Scientist Dr Meinheimer (Richard Griffiths) who advocates Solar Energy ahead of Oil,Coal & Nuclear prepares to publish his report to the President, Is suddenly kidnapped and a doppelganger (Griffiths Again) is put in his place. So LT Drebin once again hilariously saves the day.

The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear, while does have a quick cash-in feel, is actually a really good sequel which is almost as good as the original, With funny Gags throughout, The Zucker Brothers and Pat Proft are on top form again.

**** out of *****

Follwed by The Naked Gun 33 1/3 : The Final Insult, while still good and a masterpiece compared to Diasater Movie (2008) or Epic Movie (2007) is slightly inferior to it's predecessors
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Still crackin'
MovieAddict20167 September 2005
The first "Naked Gun" movie is one of the best spoofs of all time. I'm not a huge fan of the genre but even I think it's incredibly, side-splittingly outrageous - this last time I saw it I laughed so hard I cried.

The sequels of course were intended to cash in on the surprise success of the original (which was based on the ZAZ trio's failed TV show, "Police Squad," hence the subtitle on the film). For the most part, both sequels were entertaining and funny. Although it's nowhere near as good as the original, "Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear" is a worthy continuation of the epic saga (just kidding about the epic bit) - all in all it's just good fun.

Leslie Nielsen returns as Lt. Frank Drebin, this time out to foil the plans of a mad industrialist (Robert Goulet). It seems a respected doctor has found a new method of preserving earth's natural resources and foregoing oils, gasoline, and other elements. Fearing financial bankruptcy, the companies kidnap the doctor and replace him with an identical "clone" of sorts, so the truth cannot come out.

However, the doctor's assistant is Frank's old flame (played by Priscilla Presley). Frank looks into the case while rekindling a relationship with the woman of his dreams.

David Zucker returned to direct this film with the help of brother Jerry and pal Jim Abrahams. If I recall correctly, the third film was not made by them, so it's interesting to see them tackling a sequel to a film of theirs - something they don't usually do (they also passed on "Airplane 2").

For the most part this film is quite funny and has some really good gags, but it's also littered with some mediocre ones, as many spoofs of these sorts are.

Nielsen is still hilarious as Drebin and all around him act simply to accommodate his talents. George Kennedy and O.J. Simpson also return to their roles.

If you enjoyed the first film, chances are you'll also enjoy this. Basically it's in the same vein of the first film and delivers a good range of slapstick gags, some of which will have you in a fit. But you won't be gasping for breath like you did when you saw the first "Naked Gun" movie.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Return Agent Frank Debrin with several laughs and similar elements to predecessor film
ma-cortes5 January 2006
Frank Debrin (Leslie Nielsen) again in this second part , this time a politician (Richard Griffiths) is abducted and the lieutenant must resolve the conflict when there takes place a scheme carried out by different power centers trying to take rules for adoption a new policy . Meanwhile , he goes on enamored his anterior girlfriend (Pricilla Priestley) who keeps away herself from him . The film has been planned by ZAZ : Jim Abrahams , Jerry Zucker and David Zucker (besides , as screenwriter Pat Proft) , they are American satirists with successful works and longtime collaborators and made their own comedy troupe ,the ¨Kentucky Fried Theather¨. As ¨Airplane¨ along with ¨Naked gun¨ series remain as their most commercial works with the exception of Jerry Zucker's ¨Ghost¨ . In fact , The love scene between Leslie Nielsen and Priscilla Presley involving a pottery wheel is a send-up of a similar, more romantic scene in Ghost (1990) starring Patrick Swayze and Demi Moore .

Nielsen makes another genre spoof with great loads of gags , slapdash and slapstick . He is the dumber police officer from Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau . The parody is continuous , hilarious , surrealist , absurd and being sometimes gross-out , but some moments here and there it is also bold and intelligent . As always , there are the habitual cinematic references , being an amusement to find them out ; thus , a homage by director David Zucker to his brother Jerry with smile to roar and images of getting up a pyramid in ¨Ten commandments¨ simulating sexual style . Plus , there are incorrect politically sketches as the jokes at a paralytic and to Barbara Bush . Usuals cameos and invited actors are reduced ; thus , is only appeared Zsa Zsa Gabor. The motion picture will appeal to Leslie Nielsen fans and lunatic humor lovers . Rating : Average but entertaining and amusing .
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Could anyone else make ineptitude so funny?
IridescentTranquility9 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
It's a bit difficult to review a Naked Gun film objectively, without getting side-tracked into talking about all the little things that I find funny about this film. It is said that a comedy is the hardest type of script to write, so I take my hat off to the writers of Naked Gun 2 1/2. I don't know how they have the creative power to generate so much visual humour.

Naked Gun 2 1/2 - as with all the Naked Gun films - is as much about the spoken lines as it is the visual comedy, which is particularly thick on the ground. Catastrophe and disaster follow Frank Drebin like a shadow - especially in the opening sequence when he slams a door in the face of Mrs. Bush twice, before causing her to hit her head on the table as he holds a chair out at a dinner party. There is a lot worth looking out for in this film that is imaginative particularly because it is incidental - the contorted chalk outlines on the floor of a crime scene, Jane wringing her handkerchief out into a practically full bucket, the background as Frank drives through "Little Italy", the discussion about boxing and the woman taking a shower behind his office door are all priceless.

The reason why I think Leslie Nielsen pulls off the character of Frank Drebin so fantastically well is his incredible facial expressions - they truly make his character. His incompetence is breathtaking and yet also breathtakingly funny - when he's in a group of three people wearing hard hats, his is the only one that manages to fall off and become mangled in machinery. He can't even manage to get the trouser section of a wetsuit on without difficulty. He has a fight with an intruder that involves a hairdryer and an electric toothbrush.

I also love the number of spoofs you can find in this film - the ship Hapsburg Valdez, Dr. Meinheimer's ET moment as he is catapulted through the sky, the parody of the famous scene from Ghost - and the losers' bar sequence with the incredibly depressing cabaret singer is just inspired. It takes a lot of talent to write comedy and parody, and Naked Gun is proof that when it's well done, it can be fantastic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just as much fun as the first Naked Gun!
Smells_Like_Cheese24 April 2006
I recently just saw Scary Movie 4, I judged Zucker pretty harshly on that because he just recycled his humor. While The Naked Gun 2 has the same humor, it was very original for it's time and is very on the floor hilarious. I always preferred the slap stick humor compared to today's potty humor. The Naked Gun series is perfect for those who feel the same.

Naked Gun 2 parodies classic film noir movies and a very memorable and great scene from Ghost. If you enjoy the Three Stooges, Airplane, or the first Naked Gun, I would highly recommend the second Naked Gun, it's so funny.

8/10
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not As Good As The First,But Still A Lot Of Fun And Laughs,
lesleyharris3020 March 2013
The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell Of Fear is a great movie with a hilarious story line,a good cast (except for Leslie Nielsen,who is brilliant!) and brilliant characters,Frank Drebin being one of my favourite movie characters of all time.The movie certainly isn't as good as the first Naked Gun,but its still a lot of fun,and the first is hard to compete with,its comedy gold.It still manages to be a good fresh sequel,with lots of laughs from start to finish.

Frank Drebin (Leslie Nielsen) is back and must save a kidnapped scientist who has been taken by his ex-girlfriends new love interest,who Frank still has feelings for.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very enjoyable sequel to a classic
TheLittleSongbird12 June 2011
When it comes to comedy, the original Naked Gun is a classic. This sequel may not quite be up to par, it is too short for my tastes and one or two of the gags come so fast you are in danger of missing them, such as the items on the hostess's tray,in the blues' cafe but it is very funny and enjoyable.

The production values are crisp as usual, with good photography and editing and striking location work. The dialogue is dumb, but in a good way, this is not the dumb humour where it is so stupid you forget to laugh, this is the dumb humour that is silly but still makes you smile and laugh.

The story is quickly paced and never fails to interest me, while the gags on the whole are superbly timed and there are lots of them. My personal favourites are the wonderful send-up of the pottery scene from Ghost and the headline proclaiming that Elvis is alive and well, also the beginning sets the tone of the film very well. With most of the original cast returning and some new faces along the way, the cast are a delight, and the characters are fun. Leslie Nielson once again gives an inspired performance, and Priscilla Presley and George Kennedy give nice support. Also strong are Robert Goulet(as the villain) and Lloyd Bochner, and seeing Richard Griffiths was fun too.

All in all, very enjoyable. 8/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A hilarious sequel to a hilarious original...how did they manage that?
timcarter15218 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Another day, another review for IMDb. For my 12th, I'll review this film maturely like the responsible person I am. Isn't that right, Mr... Poopy Pants!

The Positives: -There are only two things about a spoof that I can review it on: the actors' ability to sell the film's jokes and parodies, and (more importantly) how much the film makes you laugh. Well, this is one sequel that, like the original, made me laugh a lot, no matter how dumb the joke was. And of course for that to work, the actors would have to be able to convincingly sell the jokes. And with the possible exception of O.J., every actor succeeds admirably. Leslie Nielsen has truly created a classic comedy character in the form of Lt. Frank Drebin. -This sequel (very fortunately) resists the temptation to reuse jokes from the previous film, and gives us something fresh to laugh hysterically at. I wouldn't count the opening sequence against it because it's a staple of the series. Plus, it's still a riot.

The Negatives: -I noted in my review of the first film in the series that there were a few jokes that were so juvenile and dumb that you felt guilty for laughing so hard at them. well, that's present in the sequel as well, though more so. But this shouldn't be a very big problem for you if you just throw any cares about it off a blimp over the orange bowl on New Years Eve (wait, that joke's from the first film!). -O.J. Simpson doesn't provide quite as many laughs as I'd like, and most of the time he really isn't given too much to do. Maybe that's a good thing, though, especially considering that he won a Razzie for his performance in the third film (I haven't seen it yet, but expect a review to come... eventually...).

My 3 choice words: Hilarious, Silly, Nieliffic
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This movie seems to say, "Hey! Look at this!"
jazzfreak12713 July 2006
There's no doubt about it; this movie definitely lives up to it's predecessor. They're back, and ready for more stupidity! Its silly nature make this movie a must see.

I found that I took a particular liking to the movie's literal jokes. Leslie Nielson, as in any other Abrahams, Zucker & Zucker movie I've seen him in, brings his perfect straight face while delivering probably some of the stupidest things I've ever heard!

The scene with Priscilla Presley and Leslie Nielson that spoofed Jerry Zucker's movie Ghost, has got to be the best scene in the entire movie. It's hilarious use of metaphors describes the moment well and is pure genius.

Seeing Richard Griffiths in this movie actually came to a surprise to me. Since I've seen the Harry Potter movies before I saw this one, I was astonished to see Uncle Vernon in a wheelchair. But his role in this movie just made me love it even more.

If you love satire, then you'll want...no wait...NEED to see this roll-around-on-the-floor-laughing-your-arm-off spoof!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
it still funny.
Mmyers200328 October 2002
This film was very hilarious and remained to be well written and acted. If you've liked these naked gun films you should try to watch the show. Its just as funny as the films. Leslie Nielsen does a good job in this sequel. Overall I'd give it 8 out of 10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
When bumblers make good
drumz5 February 2002
Warning: Spoilers
My one complaint with NG 2 1/2 is that a number of jokes that could have gone someplace even funnier seem to have gotten "dumbed down" somewhere along the line.

(WARNING: exceedingly minor spoilers concerning individual gags follow over the next two paragraphs.)

For instance, there's a scene in which Drebin shows up at Jane's apartment with what starts off as the world's largest bouquet of flowers. Unfortunately, his clumsiness on the way up causes him to slam the bouquet into one door after another -- so that by the time he gets to her door, he's left with a tiny handful of pitiful, mangled stalks. He notices this at the last moment and tosses the bouquet aside into the hallway. Kinda funny...but wouldn't it have been funnier to have him wind up with a bouquet that, precisely because of his absurd over exuberance earlier on, was both still beautiful and now exactly the right size?

It's the kind of thing that I'm willing to bet the ZAZ team thought of, but dispensed with because they thought it would be too subtle. There are several such moments to be found here.

On the other hand, plenty of truly inspired sequences make it through. For example, there's a scene in which a bad guy miraculously survives a fall caused by the bumbling of the Police Squad team, only to be mauled to death by a lion. It could just have been the kind of random gag that the ZAZ team has employed successfully a hundred times, with intentionally no attempt made to explain what a lion is doing wandering the streets of Washington. Yet it's even funnier once we remember those zoo animals which were released by Drebin's escapades with a tank -- almost an hour earlier in the movie.

Ultimately, it'll always be easy for viewers to have fun with a character like Frank Drebin, who paradoxically succeeds precisely because of his near-total oblivious incompetence (except perhaps at delivering some of the more memorable put-downs on the planet). The Naked Gun movies are at their best when they're remembering this and providing Drebin with perfect occasions to play the brilliant fool, whether or not he ever recognizes the real reason for his success. They suffer only when they cheapen themselves by making the easier "ha ha, look at this idiot" jokes at his expense.

As an aside, NG 2 1/2 actually made me think a bit more carefully about the conspiracy against renewable energy, in which politicians and fossil-fuel magnates play a ludicrously expensive game of mutual back-scratching. Not bad for a series that never exactly claimed to have anything important to say, especially since ZAZ found a way to pull it off without ever seeming heavy-handed. I'll give it a B+.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sequel as worthy of its equal: side-splitting silliness!
george.schmidt11 April 2003
THE NAKED GUN 2 1/2: THE SMELL OF FEAR (1991) ***1/2 Leslie Nielsen, Priscilla Presley, George Kennedy, OJ Simpson, Robert Goulet, Richard Griffiths. Uproarious sequel to the first "Naked Gun" with daft Frank Drebin out to stop an evil environmental terrorist with some hysterical results. Watch those credits!!!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent sequel, can never deny it
mrmoviefreak261-128 November 2008
People say most sequels to hit comedies do bad, and ruin the amazing feeling of a good funny movie. In my opinion, Naked Gun 2 1/2 doesn't fall into that category. Leslie Nielson is back, as detective Frank Drebin, with Elvis's wife. I laughed nearly as hard as I did for the first one, because it's genius. It's not stupid, pointless or disappointing. I don't see how anyone can't laugh and be satisfied with this film. I watched this one exactly as I did with the first one. With pizza and Coke, I laughed and spat out because I couldn't help it. My friend actually told me to pause the movie so he can laugh everything out. Watch this film, you won't be disappointed with this amazing and funny sequel. Many laughs you won't forget.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
David Zucker, solo film maker.
Captain_Couth7 August 2005
The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear (1991) was a decent sequel to the laugh out loud The Naked Gun. Lt. Frank Drebin returns as he relocates to Washington D.C. Whilst investigating a routine murder case, he meets his ex-girlfriend (Priscella Pressley). He still has a crush on her and wants to re-kindle their old romance. But this time she's seeing a new man (whom she also works with) Quentin Hapsburg (Robert Goulet). The two men have an instant dislike for each other. Can Lt. Frank Drebin once again save the day? You'll have to find out when you watch THE NAKED GUN 2 1/2: THE SMELL OF FEAR!! Also returning are George Kennedy and O.J. Simpson.

Not a laugh out loud classic like the first film. But it's a funny movie none the less. This was the first project that Z.A.Z. has contributed in the past but with only one person at the helm. The screenplay was co-written with Pat Proft instead of his usual collaborates. I have to slightly recommend this movie. Not as great as the first film but it's way better than the useless sequel that was soon to follow.

Recommended.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A sequel that delivers!
guyfromjerzee5 August 2004
In my opinion, this movie's almost as funny as the first "Naked Gun." It also contains a good deal of belly laughs. My favorite gag is the one in which Leslie Nielsen tries to climb over the roof with a grappling hook and accidentally catches onto the collar of a Doberman. Everything that made the first movie work made this one work as well. I have no complaints. Even Robert Goulet delivers a good performance as the villain. I'm always suspicious of musicians, since most of them do turn out to be horrendous actors, but not in this case. If you enjoyed the original, you'll enjoy the sequel! Unfortunately, it's hard to find comedies this funny nowadays.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The gang is all here and so are the laughs
duce12221 July 2003
The Naked Gun 2½: The Smell of Fear (1991) D: David Zucker. Leslie Nielsen, Priscilla Presley, George Kennedy, OJ Simpson, Robert Goulet, Richard Griffiths, Jacqueline Brookes, Lloyd Bochner, Tim O'Connor. Silly sequel has Lt. Frank Drebin returning, this time to save the environment from the energy businesses. The gang is all here and so are the laughs, although not nearly as funny as its predecessor. RATING: 6 out of 10. Rated PG-13 for sexual innuendoes, slapstick violence, and profanity.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
nearly as funny as the first!
jaws!4 April 1999
the naked gun 2 1/2 is very funny, very close to being as funny as the first one. there are some unbelievable jokes in this movie. if you liked the first one then you'll have to like this one.i give it *** out of ****
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
the funniest
mattkratz21 December 2000
I rank this as the funniest of the Naked Gun trilogy. By the end of the first scene, my cheeks were sore from laughter. The movie features non-stop laughter throughout, terrific sight gags, and a great cast. Stay through for the ending credits, though!

*** out of ****
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed