A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master (1988) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
275 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The best slasher sequel since the original film in A Nightmare on Elm Street film franchise!
ivo-cobra828 March 2016
A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master (1988) It is one of my personal favorite horror movies with the original A Nightmare on Elm Street film, it is solid, decent, excellent horror slasher sequel in A Nightmare on Elm Street series franchise. I love this movie to death and my favorite heroine is Alice Johnson. This flick is Better than part 2,5,6 and the horrible awful remake that I hate to death!

We have a new heroine named Alice, which is awesome. Lisa Wilcox is a bad ass in this flick, wondering what happened to that actress. Lisa Wilcox did an excellent job as shy heroine Alice. Tuesday Knight blow my heart away she was the heart and the soul of this movie. She wrote performed the theme song Nightmare for this film. This film is actually my Renny Harlin's favorite movie alongside Cliffhanger, Die Hard 2 and Deep Blue Sea. Renny Harlin did a great job with direction and visuals of the film, I think it's actually some of the best directing work he did, and Lisa Wilcox's character Alice is probably to Freddy what Tommy Jarvis is to Jason, an enemy that he will always fight but he will always lose. This film has a lot of good soundtracks that I love. It has an excellent cast that I love. Wes Craven's a Nightmare on Elm Street will be my number 1 while this one will be my number 5.

Plot: Freddy Krueger returns once again to terrorize the dreams of the remaining Dream Warriors, as well as those of a young woman who may know the way to defeat him for good.

Before I start what I like about this movie, I love Wes Craven's original film A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) which is my favorite best horror slasher film. My third favorite film of the series is Wes Craven's last movie New Nightmare (1994) which is my third favorite film in A Nightmare on Elm Street film franchise and I think is the third best film.

Things I Love in this movie: I like the music scores by John Easdale and Craig Safan, they are a lot of music tracks that are put in the film from the 80's. I love Tuesday Knight's song Nightmare she played it during opening credits. I love Tuesday Knight and Lisa Wilcox's acting performance both of the leads did an outstanding job as acting her characters. Lisa Wilcox was a bad ass in this film, her character as Alice Johnson was well written, she was decent and the only heroine that she never died in the film series. Tuesday Knight as Kristen Parker was decent and she was awesome, she was better than Patricia Arquette I love movies from the 80's action and horror films that I love, so this is pretty solid good movie, far way better than 5 and remake which I think they are the worst one I have ever saw. I like that this movie is fantasy and it has a good kills and Freddy is trying still to be scary.

Kristen Parker (Tuesday Knight) was actually a Dream Warrior she had a power to call her friends in her dreams, Alice Johnson (Lisa Wilcox) was a Dream Master and she gave her power to Freddy, of course Kristen was the last Elms Street child, but Freddy need it new ones to get the souls from the children to become more powerful than ever. I like the boiler room scene Kristen eventually finds herself in Freddy's boiler room. It is explained that Kristen is the last child from Elm Street, and Freddy needs her help to get more children. I like that is that explanation. I like the last fight between Alice and Freddy, Alice change her self in to an bad ass heroine she fight's Freddy defeats him with a mirror of his own image and she releases all souls of the children that Freddy took them away. I love that Alice saves Dan Jordan (Danny Hassle) from death. Brooke Theiss as Debbie Stevens was beautiful, gorgeous and hot I love her in this film.

Roland Kincaid (Ken Sagoes) and Joey Peterson (Rodney Eastman) both returned from previous installment The Dreams Warriors and they were both killed off in the beginning of the film which is stupid. I really don't like this, the characters who survived in previous installment been killed off. It feel's to me like Nancy's effort keeping them save was for nothing. That's the only problem I have with this film.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master is a 1988 American slasher horror film and the fourth film in the Nightmare on Elm Street series. The film was directed by Renny Harlin, stars Robert Englund, Lisa Wilcox and Danny Hassle.

Overral: I enjoy this film every time I see it and I have fun with it, goes very fast around it is fast paced and entertaining. 10/10 Bad Ass Seal Of Approval
90 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Freddy''s Funniest Film
ccthemovieman-115 April 2006
This doesn't have the well-known cast of the previous Nightmare 3 movie but the special effects are still good.....each very different and some of them very funny. They make this perhaps the most entertaining entry in the series.

Memorable scenes include a junkyard, a water bed, a classroom, faces in a pizza, a girl bench pressing and faces coming out of Freddy's flesh. The storyline, however, features its usual dumb and ridiculous theology and has its usual share of unlikable obnoxious teens. Their parents weren't pictured as any better, perhaps worse.

In fact, the kids and parents are so bad you wind up rooting for Freddy to do them in. Perhaps that's the idea!
49 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This was the first Freddy I saw when I was a kid and will always be my favorite
vwjettaluv3221 April 2007
Its funny how I stumbled on to the Nightmare on Elm Street Serises. I was about 8 or 9 at the time. My father and I had a great relationship. He would take me to a movie every week. I was the envy of all the other kids because he didn't care if a movie was rated R or what.

So here I am looking to go to our Friday movie and my dad is looking in the paper asking me what I want to see. He asked me if I was ready for my first scary movie. I jumped for joy when he asked me that. At that time I hadn't really seen a true scary movie yet. Just the ones that where on during Halloween.

So off we went me and my dad. I remember how nervous I was because I didn't know what to expect. Here I am 9 years old in the movie line with all these teenagers grabbing there girlfriend waste and making scary faces trying to scare them. I just grabbed my fathers hand very tight and made my way in.

Wow! My first scary movie I thought to myself well here it goes. I remember asking my dad if Freddy was real about 10 times during the movie. I laughed, I cried, I screamed, I was in love with horror.

I Was Freddys number 1 fan after this movie. I bought all the older movies. I really liked number 1 and thought number 2 was really weird back then.

Anyways I love this movie for all the right reasons. There is a lot of gore. A lot of cheesy acting and just plain fun. I am not going to give anything away just go wacth it for yourself. You will love it.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The plot was like a cheesy TV series
Smells_Like_Cheese11 November 2003
A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master, the fourth installment in the Nightmare on Elm Street series. I was lucky enough to get the boxed DVD set of Nightmare on Elm Street series and I just finished all the sequels and while the fourth isn't a bad sequel or continuation of the story, it was pretty silly. It was cool to continue on with the dream warriors who were clever enough to defeat Freddy in the third Nightmare on Elm Street. But Freddy's back and he is more ticked off than ever and you know that's not good. But while the story was a good idea, the way it was executed, I wasn't really that into it, just the acting I think is what killed it for me. The way the movie was made was what made it feel like it was more of a cheesy TV show like on the Sci-fi Channel than an actual movie.

We start off where the third installment of the Nightmare on Elm Street series left off, the kids from the hospital are now grown up and are all on their own. But they are quickly killed off by Freddy hoping to get Kirsten back to help them, but they are too late. But when Kirsten finds a girl, Alice, she finds out that Alice has the same powers as she does. She has the ability to pull other people into her dreams and of course Alice is scared to find out how to use her powers, but she may just have to use them since Freddy is now after her and other kids too.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master was a good enough sequel, but it just could have been better. I liked it, but so far it's not my top favorite sequel. Again, we've got some very cool deaths, don't think I could choose one, I think the water bed one was very cool. But once again, I don't wanna spoil it. Of course if you wanna see the Nightmare on Elm Street sequels, this is recommended, but as a horror movie on it's own, it's OK.

6/10
51 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well it ain't Dr. Seuss
mattressman_pdl10 December 2007
Renny Harlin (Die Hard 2) directs Dream Master, the fourth entry in the franchise about a maniacal dreamstalker named Freddy Kruger. The entry is extremely passable and enjoyable.

The survivors of Dream Warriors are still haunted by memories of Freddy Kruger. But Freddy isn't quite dead as he picks up his glove and takes up where he left off...with vengeance. The only flaw in his plan: a shy outcast named Alice who harbors powers that will enable her to do battle with Kruger as she assumes qualities of past Freddy victims.

Although some of the more interesting characters are sacrificed first, the Nightmare franchise proves to be deeper and more original than any other slasher series around. Some inventive deaths and imagery on display as Robert Englund devours the scenery as Freddy.
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Gone down in my opinion
Stevieboy6665 August 2018
Freddy is resurrected from the dead when a dog takes a pee on the ground in the scarp yard in which he was buried! That kind of sets the tone for the fourth instalment. When this first came out on VHS I was blown away by the special effects & it quickly became my second favourite in the franchise, after the first film. This was mainly due to the special effects (impressive at the time) and gimmicky way in which people die. However, 30 years on and in my opinion the film has lost some of that initial positivity, I know think that part 3 is a far better movie. There were splashes of humour in part 3 but it still managed to also be a dark, scary horror film. But in Dream Warriors Freddy is now more of a comic, spouting corny one-liners, which is something that I personally wasn't so fond of. The special effects are the real star here. It's still a fun movie to watch but I think it was the point where the series started to go down hill. Linnea Quigley has a nice little topless part as one of the souls coming out of Freddy's body, worthy of a freeze-frame!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Deserves more than an average of 4,8/10
juliensd26 April 2004
This is the first elm street film I saw and it fascinated me back then. Of course I was only 10 at that time but it still is great. The flick is not scary like the original, but is more grotesque. Robert Englund is excellent as Freddy Krueger because he enjoys playing that character. You always sense Krueger presence with his twisted nightmares. Dark humor is my taste and I always laugh when he pops his quotes: "You shouldnt have buried me; I'm not dead!" "Now how's that for a wet dream?" "Welcome to Wonderland, Alice!" There are a few things that blows; Patricia Arquette should have been recast as Kirsten Parker and the resurrection is a bit lame but then the S/F effects rocks, the director likes action scenes and the music is well above average for a 1998 film.

Definetly recommended
31 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Freddy goes POP!!!
Dellamorte_Dellamore0718 March 2008
Warning: Spoilers
A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: Dream Master Director: Renny Harlin (The Long Kiss Goodnight)

***out of****

Review

Freddy is at the top of his game. After the immensely popular "Dream Warriors", Freddy had reached his peak of pop culture. This movie brashly illustrates the pop culture, with Freddy being less scary, and more of an icon. I admit once again of seeing all the horror franchises at a (very) young age and I don't think I was alone as by this point in the franchise as there was a wave of Freddy toys, sheets, lunch boxes, posters, etc. Basically the statistics were rolled in, and marketing knew its age group. So yes, before I start this review, I'll say that Freddy isn't scary, the movie doesn't even try to scare you, but alas, it wants to entertain, and boy does it ever.

The movie continues on from 3, with the survivors trying to get on with their lives (Kristen, Joe, Kincaid) and the beginning has Kristen (now played by the less competent Tuesday Knight) having the dream at the Elm street house (which is EVEN more pimping then 3). She gets frightened and pulls the other two in, but they get angry and don't believe her (after everything they went through together you'd think they wouldn't give it a second thought, but never mind). We then go into the now familiar territory of the introduction of our new batch of teens since the Elm street children are near extinct. Alice is the only one we should really invest in since she eventually is going to take the lead as Freddie's new opponent. Anyways, Freddy indeed does resurrect (in one kick ass surreal "regeneration" scene which is started by flaming dog urine!?!) and continues to dispatch our reaming survivors. The mythology for this sequel indeed makes sense and tries to expand off 3. It seems if Freddy kills all the final Elm street children he will forever be trapped in the dream world with no more victims so he now must find someone he can use to bring new victims, and he finds that in the very shy and insecure Alice, who inherits Kristen's gift (after her grisly "furnace" death). One thing Freddy didn't count on is that every time he kills someone, she inherits their special power, and gets stronger and stronger, but when Freddy kills a very close family member, Alice must use everything she's got in a final kick ass showdown.

Although many people feel this movie is a cheat and that the series should have ended after 3, I beg to differ and felt that the closure for 3 was to poorly done, making the ending very underwhelming, I WANTED MORE! So the sequel is a somewhat decent companion piece to 3. Bringing back the warriors was genius, and I enjoyed the continuity. Sure, I can make a stink about them getting killed, but personally since I cared so much about them from 3, their deaths upped the stakes for me. Also the new characters, although noting that layered, the actors portraying them were competent and very likable none the less, like three, I cared about the kids. Also Lisa Wilcox is a revelation, making the most interesting Elm Street character ever. I was rooting for her all the way.

Another pro for this sequel is Renny Harlin in the directing seat. Not only did he create the most visually appealing sequel of the entire series, he made the movie and extremely effortless watch as well. This movie ahs flaws, but boring us is not one of the them. It's so fast paced, you feel like you need to stop for a breath of air. The camera is very fluid and I loved the style. The colors are also very vibrant, lot's of green and red lighting. Thank you Mr. Harlin, you certainly can punch a wallop with your scenes.

As with 3, there is so much scenes that stand out in my mind with picture clarity, the Junkyard scene, the watered scene, the beach scene, the classroom scene, the elevator scene, the movie theater, Freddy eating the Pizza, Alice and Dan spinning through the tunnel, Roach motel scene, Freddy's death, all classic scenes and after watching them you can see why the movie made the most money in the entire series (ex Freddy Vs Jason).

Some flaws I have with the movie are 1) Although the deaths had good SFX, the gore and mean streak so prominent in previous sequels was seriously lacking, Should have made Freddy mean like 3 did, 2) the movie's narrative gets a little shaky in places, making some dream sequences not following up with logic, comes off as a tad distracting, and 3) the movie does get a little heavy handed making some scenes very cheesy (you'll probably groan) like Alice gearing up to go into hand and hand combat. To much man, I ended up laughing at it.

Overall though, this is the last decent hurrah for Freddy. The movie sells his soul but at least it's still quite fun watching it go down, swinging. It only gets lesser and lesser after this one, and Robert Englund has even admitted he felt strongly about this movie ending the series, as Freddy's death certainly makes sense and is a fitting touch. What a kick ass scene too. This is where Elm street ends for me, even though I still watch 5, I consider this to be Freddy's final "adventure".

Of course, commercialism and the mighty buck thought otherwise, but you can still consider this the final Freddy, and should wisely do so.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Freddy's a terrible stand-up comedian, but he sure knows how to kill a bug
happyendingrocks3 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
A funny thing happened to Freddy Krueger somewhere between the cross-cultural push for A Nightmare On Elm Street 3: The Dream Warriors and this fourth chapter: Our latex-faced pun factory somehow became a Pop culture icon. Posters, dolls, and even squirt guns hit store shelves, and the Elm Street franchise became more about marketing blitz than horror. Scary scenes gave way to scary amounts of merchandising money, and a character who once lurked in the shadows of our subconscious nightmares was soon just as at home as a blurry bit of pixelation on your NES console.

Though memory is a bit fuzzy as to which Freddy products came out before, during, and after A Nightmare On Elm Street 4, the film was regardless the first in the series produced under the umbrella of Freddy as a viable mainstream property (looking back, it's actually quite amazing there was never an Elm Street Saturday morning cartoon). With more money in the production budget, and a clearer sense of who the core demographic for Freddy's nocturnal mayhem was, The Dream Master looks immediately different than any entry in the series up to that point. This film is Freddy as tailored for the MTV generation (there is even a commercial for the channel in the film... which repeats twice, no less). Somehow, the idea of a maniacal night-stalker being given a high-gloss makeover simply doesn't sound frightening, which would lead many to anticipate this film to be a new low in the already fading franchise.

Shockingly, when you remove any expectations of watching a horror movie from this experience, Elm Street 4 actually ends up being one of the best outings in the series, loaded with enough unique ideas to fill several films, and enough special effects to fill a hundred.

Tellingly, the opening credits list more FX personnel than actors, as the real star of this show is the visual effects. Our young cast embodies characters who are so one-dimensional that we only learn enough about them to set up their eventual demise (Rick does kung-fu and is killed in a dream dojo, Debbie hates cockroaches and meets her fate in the bizarro "Roach Motel" sequence, etc.).

So, we've clearly shifted gears from a horror franchise to a series of fantasy-based films. But once you adjust to this change, it's hard not to be impressed by how fantastic the fantasy elements are. Freddy's blades are all but retired here, replaced by a new ability to insert our characters into a funhouse designed especially for their singular traits. But the film-makers weave such a rich and clever tapestry of dreamland dementia, it's nearly impossible not to get sucked into it with our doomed teens.

The film, admittedly, also has weaknesses galore. Our previous heroine Kristen returns, but instead of the strong and multi-layered character essayed by Patricia Arquette in Dream Warriors, we get a neurotic and generally annoying turn by reliever Tuesday Knight. The MTV elements come to the forefront thanks to a loaded soundtrack (admission: I paid 39 dollars for a CD copy of it on eBay) that combines the awesome with the awful, so the film has aged poorly because of its dated tunes. (It's also worth noting that the producers were far too literal in their song selection: The film opens with a song with the chorus refrain "running from this nightmare" and closes with a number that repeats the mantra "don't be afraid of your dreams"). More disturbingly, Freddy's tendencies toward lame humor, only hinted at in previous outings, now dominate his character, and the cackling antagonist is unable to be on screen for 10 seconds without delivering a groaning zinger.

But, dude, those effects! The smörgåsbord on display here runs like a textbook, and almost no area of special effects is left undiscovered by the film's end. The film-makers also enlisted several different teams to produce all of these wonders, so each nightmare sequence has a unique stamp that fits with the individualized nature of each death.

Problematic? Yes. But this entry is far better in terms of simple entertainment than most give it credit for. Taken on its own, it holds up remarkably well, even if as part of a franchise that once generated genuine scares, it doesn't quite live up to expectations.

We're removed from the media blitz now (at least until the "re-imagining" of the original Elm Street comes out), so it's a good time to take another look at an outing that sets a high bar for imagination and ingenuity that would never be matched again in a Nightmare film. Give it one more shot.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Freddy Krueger Is Back
claudio_carvalho30 March 2009
Kristen Parker (Tuesday Knight), Roland Kincaid (Ken Sagoes) and Joey Crusel (Rodney Eastman) are having normal lives and studying in Springwood, Ohio, after defeating the evil Freddy Krueger (Robert Englund). Kristen is very close to her boyfriend Rick Johnson (Andras Jones) and his sister Alice (Lisa Wilcox) is her best friend. Kristen has a premonition with Freddy Krueger, who has resurrected and is chasing the trio of survivors of the Elm Street. When Freddy kills the three survivors, Kristen transfers her ability to draw other people to her dreams to Alice, and Freddy uses the power of the teenager to gather the souls of her school friends.

"A Nightmare on Elm Street art 4: The Dream Master" is a weak sequel to the classic "A Nightmare on Elm Street". Patricia Arquette, who performed Kristen Parker in the previous "A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors", was pregnant and not able to film this sequel. The actress and musician Tuesday Knight that replaced Patricia Arquette recorded the song "Nightmare" used during the film's opening credits. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "A Hora do Pesadelo 4 – O Mestre dos Sonhos" ("The Hour of the Nightmare 4 – The Master of the Dreams")
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They resurrected Freddy Krueger back to life to fight against the dream master my second favorite "Elm Street" movie
NightmareOnElmStreetFan1 February 2019
I love this movie to death it is my second favorite "Elm Street" movie it is one of my personal favorite horror slaher film. The story is about Kristen, Joey and Kincaid return to the film from the previous film A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, expect Kristen is now played by Tuesday Knight instead Patricia Arquette. I heard the reason why Patricia Arquette wasn't in this film, was because she was pregnant at the time.

So the three soul survivors return to the film and they are no longer in asylum and they are living normal lives and they are attending high school. Kristen still feels that Freddy is still alive. Joey and Kincaid tell her, no he is not but Kincaid has this dream Freddy is resurrected. Dog pie fire on Freddy's grave and opens the grave and he is resurrected by that. Freddy kills Kristen, Joey and Kincaid. Once Kristen is dead Kristen gives her powers to this girl Alice (Lisa Wilcox). Alice has the power where she can call people by name or bring people in to her dream. Because Freddy killed the last Elm Street children which is Kristen, Joey and Kincaid. He can't kill anybody else, now that he is invading Alice dreams, he's trying to get her call people by name trying to bring her more victims and she doesn't do intentionally. She brings some of her friends in her dreams and he kills them. Every time he kills one of her friends she posses something that they have their ability's. He kills her brother and her brother was a martial artist. She posses that power her special skill and all the special skill they have, she makes her stronger, so that she can defat Freddy. On the end of the film it has Alice and Freddy battling each other in the church. Alice frees all the souls and saves her boyfriend from his death.

The movie it self is entertaining, it has really good visuals it was directed really well. Freddy looks really cool in this movie. His make up looks really cool in this film. It is the best make up job in this one. 3 and 4 his make up looks really good. The special effects are really good. It doesn't look like low budget film anymore, than previous 3 films were. The dream sequences they are still good sequences. It is still scary and Freddy is still creepy. When Rick (Andras Jones) dies and Alice (Lisa Wilcox) screams there is an explosion in a class room. In the opening sequence actrress Tuesday Knight as Kristen Parker dreams that Freddy is back and it is still creepy dream sequence I love it!

I love this film to death I love Lisa Wilcox as Alice Johnson she was good horror heroine and the sole survivor she was never killed off even in the sequel I like that. I like the action sequences in the movie, the battle in the church between Alice and Freddy I love that end the finale. Renny Harlin did a good job directing the film. My favorite Renny Harlin is Cliffhanger withy Sylvester Stallone. He directed Die Hard 2, Deep Blue Sea, Long Kiss Goodnight and Mindhunters. Those movies I like a lot.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master (1988) is a decent sequel it is my second favorite "Elm Street" movie with the original slasher gory film A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) I love it. The movie has a cool soundtracks: Don't Be Afraid Of Your Dreams by Go west I love that song I have it in my ring cell it is my favorite soundtrack. Anything, Anything by Dramarama, Back To The Wall by Divinyls, Are You Ready For Freddy? The Fat Boys and Robert Englund and of course Nightmare by Tuesday Knight the best song ever.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The King of Comedy
bh_tafe34 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This was the first Nightmare on Elm Street I actually saw. I was 9 years old, Collingwood had just own their first premiership in 32 years. It was giddy times for a young man. And I saw this and was hooked straight away on the Freddy Krueger character.

I thought I must have got something wrong with my understanding of who Freddy Krueger was. He was not scary as I thought he would be, he was funny. He was hip. Freddy Krueger, in the late 80s early 90s was cutting edge.

I had no idea at the time that Part IV was the first film in the Elm Street series to take that slant on the Freddy character. Krueger had gone from being a fear inspiring creature of evil to a pop icon with this one movie.

And really why wouldn't he mellow out? He'd killed off that police chief, his wife and his daughter, who'd caused the trouble in the first place, he'd killed the final three dream warriors and had his own TV show. It doesn't get any better than that. He'd even got a new weird nick name "The bastard son of a hundred maniacs." This was awesome stuff.

Looking back now, the film has a lot of holes in it. The script was being written as the film was made, the ending made little sense. THe poem the entire conclusion was based around was hokey nonsense and the death scene, while brilliantly produced and filmed, was a real let down. All she needed to do the whole movie was stand Freddy in front of a mirror? But who cares? This is fun. Tne story here is that the three surviving characters from Dream Warriors; Kristen, Roland and Joey are in school and leading happy lives, until Freddy comes from the dead again. Now Kristen's best friend Alice (played well by Lisa Wilcox) is a dream master, she can control her dreams and inherits Kristen's gift of drawing others into her dream as Kristen is killed.

But this unwittingly makes Alice a very good source of fresh victims for Freddy and she draws her friends into her dreams for Freddy to kill. As they die, she inherits their various personality traits and skills and eventually goes into dreamland for a final confrontation.

This is a fun, well produced movie with an average script, decent acting and quality special effects.

There is nudity, but no sex I can remember. Nice movie, worth a look today. Lots of fun and plenty of silliness.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
After Part 3, this is a let-down.
G.Spider14 June 1999
Warning: Spoilers
It's a pity that Wes Craven's initial idea for another sequel to his film, involving time travel in dreams, wasn't used. Instead of another Craven-directed masterpiece like Part 1 and Part 3 we get this gaudy pantomime instead. The makers of NOES 4 admitted that they designed and filmed all the special-effects sequences and then found some excuse to cement them together. It shows. Freddy is resurrected, though quite how is never explained. Wasn't it fire that killed him, not brought him back to life? Anyhow, he begins another killing spree. There are some interesting ideas - a narcissist being turned into a cockroach, an asthmatic having the air sucked out of her, but the whole thing lacks the tension and nightmarish qualities of the previous film. Early scenes involving the survivors from Part 3 hold promise, but when Freddy appears he's no more than a wise-cracking buffoon, and the ninja-style violence is pointless and unnecessary. The climax, if you can call it that, involves Freddy dying as a result of being shown his reflection. As there's no build-up to it at all it just stands out as an obvious excuse for another special-effects set-piece.

Overall, this film might provide entertainment, but it's just disappointing, badly-acted dross, the sort of thing you watch if you've nothing better to do.
23 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
NOES 4 commentary on the person who found it a bad movie.
jessysiemons21 July 2005
I just think that this part of the NOES series, is just one of the best ever made. I mean , if he stayed only on Elmstreet for the 6 movies, it would get boring. I am just happy that his territory got bigger. And about the resurrection, so what? Haven't you seen the beginning of the movie? Kristen dreamed a lot of that house. And that's why Freddy got resurrected because Kristen BELIEVED that he wasn't dead. It gave him power. NOES 4 is a great movie, the special effects are fantastic and the storyline is OK. It's a classic of the horror movies! I hope that they will make more sequels. I mean , " A Nightmare on Elmstreet " was the beginning of a new epoch for the horror movies. So next time when you give comment on a movie, see it with your full eyes and a lot of attention before you make a comment.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
One of the best - highly imaginative!
gridoon18 November 1999
"Nightmare on Elm Street 4" is one of the best entries in the series. Okay, the first is considered a classic, maybe because it had a feeling of poetic surrealism that is indeed lost here. But, come on, it is the FOURTH Freddy film, did you REALLY expect it to be scary? Freddy delivers indeed too many puns, however some of them actually hit the mark. After all, the quality of a slasher film doesn't depend exclusively on how "serious" and "vicious" the killer is - he was more serious in "Part 2", which was an embarrassment, he was less serious in "Part 3", which was an imaginative, entertaining film. As for "Part 4", it has way-above-average acting, a polished look (just compare it to some early "Friday The 13th" cheapies) and some gruesome, stunning visual effects. Above all, the movie exploits more possibilities about the links between reality and dreams than the "classic" original did. It is worth seeing.
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You shouldn't have buried me, I'm not dead
moviewizguy4 January 2010
Dream demon Freddy Krueger is resurrected from his apparent demise, and rapidly tracks down and kills the remainder of the Elm Street kids. However, Kristen (who can draw others into her dreams) wills her special ability to her friend Alice. Alice soon realizes that Freddy is taking advantage of that unknown power to pull a new group of children into his foul domain.

Apart from WES CRAVEN'S NEW NIGHTMARE (ANOES 7), I believe ANOES 4 is the most superior sequel in the entire franchise and I say this with zeal. Why is that? I can't help but say this film is the most imaginative, clever, and ingenious in the franchise. After all, this is the film that made the most money in the box office, but I'm not saying money equals how good a film is.

The first 20 minutes of this film is quite frustrating to me. I will not spoil it, but it does an ALIEN 3 on you. As the film continued, I stopped getting angry and went along with it. To my surprise, it started to get good. Really good. I believe this sequel focuses the most on characters. It's an ensemble film where the group of teenagers mattered rather than seeing how they will die. I was rather touched in some parts of it because I was not in for some personal scenes dealing with characters and dialogue rather than a dream killer slashing up kids in creative ways.

Even though the franchise is at its fourth film, it's the most creative. There are some really ingenious death scenes here, and one of it is the best in the franchise, in my opinion. You can also tell the budget is bigger because there are more visual effects and more elaborate nightmare sequences. Lisa Wilcox is a newcomer to the franchise among the cast and she does a fine job as the new heroine. Andras Jones, Danny Hassle, and Brooke Theiss are all pretty good in their role. However, Toy Newkirk has to be my favorite character in the entire franchise. She's just so lovable.

I think director Renny Harlin gets a bad rap these days, but I find his movies to be entertaining. I certainly think this film is one of Harlin's better works. ANOES 4 is great because it has the most fleshed out characters in the franchise and because everything is just so well made. If you're a fan of the franchise, this would probably be the last good sequel you'll ever see (apart from ANOES 7).
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You shouldn't have buried him. He's not dead.
thesar-212 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I make no apologies on awarding A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 5/5 stars. And I certainly don't consider it a "guilty pleasure." Let's say I grew up on this movie. It was one of my initial "Movie Event of the Year" films as I watched it 5 times in the theatre in 1988, all at the now defunct AMC Gateway. (Twice alone, twice with my sister and the final time with my father who wanted to know what "evil" I was watching so many times.) Also, since I was so young (14, and I am puzzled on how I frequently got into a rated R flick – even my sister was younger than 17) not only was this my first introduction to Freddy – I hadn't seen 1-3 yet, this movie made a huge impact on my future movie-going experiences as well as my life.

It's strange to even think about rewarding a #4 in a 1980s horror franchise more than, say 2½ stars, but I absolutely loved this movie. The soundtrack (which I had bought and have listened to hundreds of times, we'll get more on that later), the score, the comedic tones, the frights, the fights, the inventiveness and the acting. They really up'd the ante this time with an obvious budget and special effects. But more so, Freddy finally came out of the closet, so to speak.

Not only was he absolutely hilarious, we finally got to see more of him and his glove. I obviously didn't know at the time how privileged the audience was to finally see him out of the shadows and into the limelight where he (and his clever one-liners) belong. I guess some might have problem with that – they probably felt he was more "scary" hidden away. I didn't. I felt he was too strong of a character not to show.

Well, Freddy's back, but mostly because Kristen (the newly replaced Tuesday Knight, due to Arquette being pregnant, and Knight also did the wonderful opening song) couldn't leave well enough alone and kept thinking of him in her dreams. She also has a bad knack for involving others in her dreams, including #3's survivors Joey & Kincaid.

When Freddy eventually stalks them and murders them (including one of the series most memorable/creative death – "How's this for a wet dream?") the series actually keeps continuity by stating Freddy's mission was to murder all of the original "Elm Street Children" and these were the final three. Kristen does manage to transfer her power of pulling someone into the dream to another innocent she pulled into the dream, Alice (Wilcox.) Positive: this gives someone else the opportunity to defeat Freddy. Negative: most likely Freddy would've been done with his task complete.

Alice, sweet Alice, doesn't know what to think of all this, barely being informed of the back story earlier. In fact, had she been a little more prepared, she might not of inadvertently brought her friends into her own dreams for Freddy to collect souls. As Alice attempts to put the pieces together there's another side effect – just like with Kristen, she collects their powers, or personalities, habits (smoking, bad!) and strengths. Freddy's not stupid and plans to stop her before she stops him. Does he succeed? Does she happen to remember an old nursery rhyme at the most opportune time to defeat the man of their nightmares? Duh.

I loved this movie on so many levels. I have the entire movie memorized, shot-by-shot, frame-by-frame and all the dialogue in between. So much so, I have to consciously stop myself from quoting it so I can enjoy the 30th time viewing it. I loved the soundtrack, but some songs were vacant. For those, I had to search – way pre-internet – by asking around school while just humming some of the lyrics. (The ones missing went onto become some of my favorite songs: Anything, Anything by Dramarama and I Want Your Hands On Me by Sinead O'Connor. Do you know how hard life is without the internet to look things up!?!?) I always love a good female combatant, but the nerdy-girl Alice (the very BEST Nightmare heroine, sorry, Nancy fans) turned warrior wasn't just awesome, but beautiful and a great challenge for the exciting climax/showdown in the church in the closing. In addition, since I was about the same age, give or take a couple of years, of most of the teens in this movie, I can safely say: they got how teens act and what they say down to a tee, much like any of the John Hughes movies.

The death/nightmare scenes weren't just clever and topical (for the time) but they kept the story going, whether you were laughing or reminiscing in the moments. Freddy proved himself as the number one villain of all 1980s horror franchises. It's no wonder this was the top grossing of all the Nightmare films (if you don't count Freddy Vs. Jason.) I loved seeing Freddy at his best and especially his glove – many a scene they acted like his claws/knifes sprung like Wolverine's. I loved seeing him in different costumes and with as many one-liners as most comedies.

On a personal note, as a critic (in my own mind-dammit) I generally will always try to be unbiased. Such as, a movie of this stature would be 4 to 4½ stars with all the (non-personal remembrance) positives I mentioned. But, for once, I am taking this to a personal level and how much this movie meant to me. To hell with the majority of critics, the audience and my own personal impartial views – even when the movie is dear to me. I am selfishly rewarding this the highest rating due to how much it means to me.

See it anyways. It's fun horror. Something they rarely get right in today's time.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT!
iscream2228 October 2001
All of the Elm street movies have something special about them , and i believe ALL of them are above average.

This one reflects on alot of the 80's culture , its so terrific. The storyline is smooth freddy invades kids minds, this one is somewhat complex, and great dream sequences.

rated R.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Freddy's falling from grace
Superunknovvn24 September 2005
I love the "A Nightmare On Elm Street" franchise, I really do. I enjoy it for its originality and if for nothing else its typically 80's cheese factor. Still, I will never forgive the makers of sequels 2, 4, 5, 6, even 3 and 7 for taking one of the greatest horror stories ever told and turning it into something so laughable. With Part IV Freddy Krueger was more of an antihero for the MTV generation than ever before. What was then hip is now ridiculous and director Renny Harlin's endeavor to make the movie as stylish as possible certainly doesn't make this entry in the series any spookier.

The first 5 minutes of part IV alone show everything that's wrong about the movie. An awful rock song sung by Tuesday Knight (who replaces Patricia Arquette as Kristen) plays over a little girl drawing something. The camera pans away and we see it's a painting of Freddy's house on Elm Street. Kirsten approaches and asks the girl where Freddy was. The girl replies that Freddy wasn't in, then laughs hysterically and disappears. Why? No one knows. Kristen goes inside the house. Why? No idea, but the camera follows her with such an amateurish movement it's the first time this movie is unintentionally funny. Inside the house Kristen jumps because she sees a shadow of something that appears to be a claw on the wall. When she takes a closer look, though, it turns out that this was just an illusion created by a branch that looks NOTHING like the shadow. Anyway, the next thing we see is Kirsten getting blown from one room into the other. Why? Don't ask, there's no answer.

It goes on like this and you just turn off your brain, because it's obvious that this movie doesn't try for one second to make any sense. It's hard to believe that an audience ever watched this without feeling cheated. However, Freddy Krueger's fame was at its height in 1988 and nothing could stop this movie from becoming the most successful installment of the Nightmare series. Not the shallow and unbelievable characters, nor the bad acting (except for the ever so wonderful Robert Englund, that is) or the non-existent story.

The nudity, the bad one-liners and the often imaginative kills still get a chuckle out of me now and then and, as I've said, I still enjoy watching the movie every once in a while, but like most of the "Nightmare" sequels, this one is just nowhere near as good as it could and should have been.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nightmare On Elm Street Lite
mentalcritic22 September 2004
As horror film franchises moved into the late 1980s, the clamp-down that the MPAA inflicted upon Hollywood was biting hard. Films were going into theatrical release with much of the content that their budget was spent on missing. Some filmmakers defiantly thumbed their nose at the MPAA by manipulating the system, while the makers of A Nightmare On Elm Street 4 simply neutered their film in advance. Either way, once this virtually bloodless film was compared with its three predecessors, it's no wonder that fans basically ignored it.

To understand why the makers of part seven basically pretended that this and the two films after it never happened, one has to think about what a film buff wants to see when they go to see a film like this. Maybe one can tone down the sex and drugs, or make the atmosphere more pastel than dark, but once the blood or detailed kills are removed, every reason your core audience has for watching goes with them.

Adding insult to injury is a major change in the Freddy character. Parts one and two kept him in the shadows, expressing himself through an economy of words. Part three put him in front of the camera more, but kept him grotesque enough that his quips added interest. Here, it would only take a few modifications to make Freddy into something one would hold in their arm when they curl up to sleep. During half the film, I was half expecting the rest of the cast to break into song about how he's just misunderstood.

The acting quotient is severely diminished here, too. Robert Englund dutifully does his best with lousy dialogue, but even his hamming it up cannot disguise his lack of enthusiasm. As he is puking out dialogue that David Bowie would have refused during Labyrinth, one can sense he longs to go back to miniseries like V. Ken Sagoes and Rodney Eastman dutifully return from the previous episode, but given how subdued this one is by comparison, they cannot compensate for their lack of talent by overacting here. Patricia Arquette felt that pieces of junk like Time Out and Far North were more worthy of her time, and given that she's appeared in films recently, I think she's made the right choice. She is replaced here by the unfortunately named Tuesday Knight. As an actor, she makes one hell of a waitress, I'm sure.

This was Renny Harlin's first high-profile production. It pretty much set the entire tone for his career, with production after production based on a shaky premise and bad script. You know a director is cursed when Die Hard 2 is the most high-brow entry on his resumé. Honestly, has this man ever directed something that doesn't resemble an extended music video?

In all, I gave A Nightmare On Elm Street 4 a one out of ten. When you're in a conversation with anyone regarding a piece of garbage that sells out to the lowest common denominator and they try to tell you that there's nothing wrong with "appealing to a broader audience", tell them they obviously haven't seen this film.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Magnificent chapter in the franchise!!!
drahulrajjsd4 August 2017
A Magnificent brilliant chapter in the franchise with a great cast (The One And Only Freddy Krueger, Horror Legend Robert Englund, Lisa Wilcox, Tuesday Knight, Danny Hassle, Brooke Theiss, Andras Jones, Toy Newkirk, Nicholas Mele and Brooke Bundy with Ken Sagoes and Rodney Eastman reprising their roles), innovative nightmare sequences, cool fight scenes, amazing soundtrack and it's just full of fun. The epic climax between The Man Of Your Dreams, Freddy Krueger and The Dream Master, Alice is truly one of the greatest and unforgettable battles in film history!!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Tired, oh so very Tired!
mjw230514 October 2007
After huge success with the first outing, Wes Craven tried to correct the wrongs of Freddy's Revenge with A Nightmare on Elm Street 3, and he made no mistake about ensuring he killed Freddy and left him buried for good.

For some reason (Almost Certainly Money) Renny Harlin (Director) and William Kotzwinkle (Writer) decided to resurrect him again claiming 'Pure Evil Never Really Dies'

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 - The Dream Master is an unnecessary sequel that is clearly milking the success of the franchise. Kristen Parker once again takes the lead (but Miss Arquette no longer plays the character) Freddy is once again funnier than he is scary, as with all the non Wes Craven episodes, and its pretty much more of the same with less story than before, and the odd decent death scene.

5/10 Freddy is still cool, even if the movie isn't
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A film further plunging its franchise down into a neverending trench of inconsistency
StevePulaski22 October 2015
A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master is the point in the franchise where comedy began to eclipse the franchise's almost unbridled devotion to horror sensibilities. It was the film that turned Freddy Krueger into a pop culture figure, capable of regurgitating every lackluster pun imaginable like an MTV VJ rather than a horror figure you'd hate to see in your nightmares. Finally, it was the film to bear the franchise's peak budget, showing it off by including very elaborate and immaculately detailed dream sequences that toyed with the perception of reality in a manner so believable that you swore you were being haunted yourself. It's safe to say that the series most expensive installment also turned out to be its most divisive and revolutionary.

The story picks up on characters from Dream Warriors, the previous installment, such as Kristen (Tuesday Knight), Kincaid (Ken Sagoes), and Joey (Rodney Eastman), all of whom have been released from the mental hospital that confined them for the past months and back into the public school system and their normal homes. Kristen winds up reacquainting her friend Alice (Lisa Wilcox) and her boyfriend Rick (Andras Jones), and is enjoying living her normal life until she realizes that dreaming of, or even expressing paranoia over, Freddy Krueger, the burned-faced, sweater-clad killer that haunted them before, could potentially make him return. When Freddy (Robert Englund, the only constant in this series, so it seems) winds up returning to haunt the victims in his dreams, the focus lies in Alice, as she's the most ignorant of Freddy's ways.

Consistency has long been a problem with this franchise and The Dream Master shows a refusal for it to accept any kind of remote pattern. Because of the constant directorial and screen writing shakeups, and Craven's varying and largely debatable involvement with each individual film, little in the way of tonal or narrative cohesion could be retained. The overall scope and reach of the Freddy Krueger character got hazy with the second film and found itself resorting back into the laws of the first film, with no acknowledgement of the second film other than a vague, ambiguous line of dialog from A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors. The Dream Master's refusal to assert itself by accepting the emphasis on fear and vulnerability ideas from the first and third film or the metaphorical significance of the Freddy Krueger character is evident by the film's emphasis on comedy from what was previously the franchise's main source for terror.

Being that The Dream Master is the most expensive film from the Nightmare on Elm Street franchise, one can see where director Renny Harlin and his set/production designers wanted to put their emphases - the dream sequences. To the film's credit, the dream sequences are the most elaborate and well-conceived dream sequences the franchise has yet to see, even more-so believable and immersive than in Dream Warriors. Consider the scene where Kincaid is trapped in a nightmarish junkyard that molds and crafts itself at what is ostensibly the snap of Freddy's fingers, effectively trapping him in a sea of broken-down cars that is revealed to be a lot bigger in scope than we could've imagined. The scene works beautifully because it focuses on the core idea of being trapped in a dream lucid enough for you to actively move around and possess your own decision-making skills but not lucid enough where you can control the dream. The result is especially terrifying and this is one of the few dream sequences where Freddy is mostly serious.

The remainder of the dream scenes only get more decorated in appearance, and continue to live up to this first major one in size and scope. The problem is, with each sequence, Freddy gets less and less convincing. Writers Brian Helgeland (who would go on to direct Oscar-nominated screenplays for films like L.A. Confidential and Mystic River) and Scott Pierce turn Freddy into a pun/quip machine, who seems to always be in search for the next cheeky line to say rather than anything that provokes a kind of uneasiness for the audience. This desecration of a frightening character, turning him into a second rate comedian, significantly lessens his effectiveness as a character, especially when we see him command some of the most visually stunning locations he has yet to be apart of in the entire series.

Finally, though it's a relatively minor, almost moot, point, the acting here has noticeably taken a turn for the worst. The Dream Master feels like a lackluster display of amateur-hour, Second City acting, particularly from the likes of Tuesday Knight and Andras Jones, who just do an immensely poor job at being believable screen presences. While acting in horror films is traditionally never the first thing one judges on, when it's so wooden, as it is here, it can't help be a jarring feature, especially when the film itself already isn't particularly good.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 works in the way it decides to further construct and elaborate on the many worlds of which Freddy inhabits, in addition with taking on some seriously twisted and quirky scenes the franchise has never seen before. However, it does a miserable job of sticking to whatever guns the series had drawn at this point by sacrificing scares for cheap quips and capable actors for whomever could fill the part quickly and inexpensively. The result is a film that was evidently rushed on every level that wasn't visual effects or production design.

Starring: Lisa Wilcox, Robert Englund, Tuesday Knight, Andras Jones, Ken Sagoes, and Rodney Eastman. Directed by: Renny Harlin.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another pointless sequel
jlubas12 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Way to go Nightmare 4 in ruining a totally perfect ending in Nightmare 3. This film along with many others (Highlander 2, Terminator 3, and anything in the Alien franchise after Aliens) goes ahead and totally ruins everything the heroes in Nightmare 3(which I believe is the best Nightmare of 'em all) fought for. In the first 10 minutes of this horrible film the kids who survive in the previous film find themselves rubbed out by Freddy. One must ask themselves this question: why? Why is it so necessary that films today have to create pointless sequels? I feel the answer is obvious: money and no art. The previous film, Nightmare 3, was done by Wes Craven a true horror artist. This film on the other hand was done by people going for the built in audience.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointing
r_ende29 April 2006
When I saw this movie I was very disappointed. The problem of this film is that it is not stirring. There are many disgusting scenes where you think why you are watching that movie at all. SPOILER: Freddy Krüger's oddments come together again and he is "alive" again. He kills the three remaining Elm street children within the first 20 minutes of the film and Alice is responsible of their deaths because she takes them with her into her dream which is very, very strange and beyond belief. When the three are killed Freddy starts killing Alice's friends. Many scenes are disgusting and never reach the grade of the first movie. At the end Alice is in a church (why?) with Freddy and can kill him by showing him a mirror. Freddy sees his face and dies because all the children's souls which he keeps imprisoned fly away. He disappears. The first movie is much better and also the third one. Here is no real plot,some scenes seem to be far-fetched.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed