A Year in the Life (TV Series 1987–1988) Poster

(1987–1988)

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Some Cable Network, Grab this Series!
joesorce28 September 2003
Although it may now be a bit dated, in fact two of the stars of the show (Kiley and Oliver) have passed away, this show would definitely be a hit on Lifetime or A&E. Trouble is, they don't want a series that only has 25 or so episodes to air. The ratings for this show were actually pretty good, in fact its 20-shares would be considered phenomenal in today's ratings game. But it aired at a time when cable was just emerging, network TV ratings were askew and indecipherable, and NBC just plain gave up on it. I can still remember Richard Kiley accepting his Emmy award that year, scolding "the network myopia that killed a fine show". A YEAR IN THE LIFE is still the best television series that I have ever enjoyed.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This show never received the attention it deserved
gdettman3 June 2002
This was a mini-series that became a television show. It was a great series that I felt was not given a fair shake by the network. I loved watching it, but the time slot changed about three times during a six-month period which made it difficult for even faithful watchers to keep up with.

It was a warm, well-written dramatic series that also had it's funny moments. It was about a family and their daily lives. I am a big fan of the series "Family" and felt that same sort of warmth toward this show. It was so well done and it seemed criminal that it really wasn't given a chance to gain a following.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I Knew It....
frank5618 June 2002
The subject matter, acting and directing of this series were, in its time, on the level of cable television -- and I knew upon viewing it that it would never last. I've got every episode, including the miniseries on videocasette, but they are now very hard to watch (on the edge of extinction), but I still have a "Year in the Life" marathon about once a year when I feel like visiting this most interesting Seattle family. My favorite scene, and the crowning glory of this series was when Anne explains to Sunny that she was not responsible for a friend's suicide.....just excellent. I don't know if this will ever be run again, perhaps on cable...but someone send a shoutout because I will resubscribe to cable just to tape fresh copies of every episode....network television is rarely this excellent.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best TV Show That Never Was
clockwatcher30 August 2002
This show was an instant hit with me when it first aired. It had a quality that is rarely seen on network TV anymore. Even though the show was in the upper echelon of quality, I knew it wasn't gonna last. It was too different, too smart for the general population. It was kind of like 30-something which appeared a year or two later in that it made you feel and think more than maybe the average American suburbanite wants to when they plop themselves down on their living room couch.

The show will probably never be aired again since it only lasted 1 year--unfortunately the title foreshadowed it's own life span. What may be even sadder is that it could've been the start of a nice acting career for Amanda Peterson who had just done "Can't Buy Me Love" a short time earlier. Once the show cancelled, her career went on a tailspin she never recovered from.

I managed to only tape 1/2 of an episode so if someone has the season on tape, please get in contact with me so we can do business.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Loved this show!
flippy-46 September 2003
I was so sad when it was canceled. I remember there was a campaign in Seattle to keep it going. I would love to see the mini-series again. It was very realistic without being depressing. Sarah Jessica Parker was wonderful as Kay. David Oliver was adorable and I loved Amanda Peterson as Sunny.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best series!!
sodagirlsmom29 January 2006
A Year in the Life was, in my opinion, a good solid representation of the values and tribulations of the American family. I was very upset when it was discontinued. I loved watching the family play football in their yard and I loved Richard Kiley as the Dad. He was such a strong character. I also loved the way he would "talk" to his dog. I have always wondered,in all the articles I've read on Sarah J. Parker, why I have never seen a mention of her acting in this show. I thought she was beautiful and I would think it would be a credit to her list of accomplishments. It was sad to see it canceled. Is there a way it could ever be brought back as a mini-series? I think the folks in TV land would love it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I've just watched the entire series ....
santa-rita15 August 2006
I was fortunate to have gotten the entire series & just watched it from beginning to end. (It was hard not to!) I had forgotten how good this series was. I found myself laughing and crying - all within the same episode. The chemistry between all of the characters was magical. Was it the writers? the actors? the director? .... all of the above? I particularly enjoyed the relationship between Joe (Richard Kiley) and his grandson David.

When this series first came out, I appreciated that it was one of the only thing on TV worth watching. When it was abruptly canceled, there was no explanation to be found anywhere - though I recalled Richard Kiley remarking that it was "political". Perhaps this was the reason why it was never shown as a rerun nor likely to be aired again? In any event, I have the complete series ... and it's definitely a keeper!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good show but no second season
bcolquho30 June 2004
Why? It's ratings were good but NBC couldn't find a place for it on its fall lineup so it was cancelled. I don't know why. It could have been made a midseason replacement for a show that didn't make it. Please, Paramount, or whatever studio that produced it, bring it

out on DVD. Sarah Jessica Parker's second series was better

than her first but it suffered the same fate. Too bad she had to wait eleven years for her first hit series.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Underrated, special show
smoothsoul22 June 2003
It's hard for me to remember this show - I only saw that one season the one time, some sixteen years ago - and I can't be sure it's as good as I think it was. But with Brand and Falsey at the helm I have to assume my memory serves me. This was one of the better shows of its era - fine writing, storylines and terrific acting. It was small scale, nothing briliant, but just good quality. It was also occasionally very funny (I remember the mother getting aversion therapy to quit smoking). I guess it's lying in a vault somewhere and is never repeated (certainly not where I am in New Zealand). But if you ever get the chance to see the show, do watch it, it was nice.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Blame the '88 Winter Olympics
cvnn222 December 2007
I too thought the series was well done and I believe it was gathering steam until the Sarajevo Winter Olympics started on ABC. It lost viewership to the Games for those couple weeks causing NBC to move it a less desirable time slot further causing a slide. It's a shame but all the major networks make the same business decision - appealing to the masses to sell more soap instead of finding and keeping niche audiences with quality programming (such as Byrds of Paradise (ABC) and Now and Again (CBS)). However, with the advent of niche cable channels (Lifetime, Oxygen, BET, etc...), more diverse programming can be aired. That trend could be accelerated if the FCC will allow us to choose only those cable channels we wish to subscribe. Then the market could work and quality programming may get a chance. Until then, the lowest common denominator will win out (Fox's recipe for success).
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wish I could see this again...
drew04130 August 2006
It's so wild to see how many comments there are on this show after it's sad demise years ago now. I was SOOOO disappointed when it was cancelled. Somehow I had the feeling that it was just to good to stay on the air, as generally happens pretty regularly in television, no doubt.

I faintly remember exact story lines and characters, but I do remember it as being one of the best shows I've ever seen and it has stuck with me.

If anyone reads this, and know's how to get copies of the one and only season, I would be forever indebted...god I'd love to see this again! The 80's were a really good time for me, and it would just be a real gift to see one of my favorite shows from the era again..

I can be reached at jsbx5@yahoo.com..

Hope to hear from someone out there!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My Introduction to Wendy Phillips
gturgeon16 August 2006
This was an absolutely amazing television program from the very first episode. The moment I was enthralled by the fact of its originality, I knew it was not destined for a long run. Shame. Had people tuned in for the initial episode, I'm confident they would have been hooked.

But this review is about the actress, Wendy Phillips. I can still recall her character coming through the front door and having her face full of expression by a tragedy, and wordlessly comforting siblings. I knew then that she was destined to be one of my favorite actresses. I have just recently viewed the pilot of Studio 60 on NBC and have joyfully discovered her as a co-star. Tune in, folks, and witness for yourself how gifted this woman is and may she develop her character to more screen time. I can only hope.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorites of all time
kc_richards5 August 2019
I think about this show often and wish so much I could watch it again!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A little seen Gem that was always memorable to me.
crafty-7470528 May 2018
Expertly acted, interesting characters and story line. I thought it was a hip and cool show. I remember thinking Trey Ames would be the next River Phoenix.(River Phoenix was the coolest young actor at the time with performances that were nuanced and mature belying his young age) I have always wondered what would have happened had it been more seen. It had everything going for it. If you haven't seen this show, see it. I was a kid when I watched it and it made it lasting impresssion and is in my top ten of all time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A bit predictable but good
preppy-39 March 2011
Short-lived series (one season) about a family headed by Richard Kiley. I won't deny that the series was predictable but it was well-made with a great cast and good writing. All the acting was good especially by Kiley who won an Emmy for this. When he got the Emmy he openly berated NBC for canceling this so quickly. Also I was very attracted to drop dead handsome David Oliver (who sadly died of AIDS in 1992). This series had decent ratings and a good time slot but NBC mysteriously just pulled the plug on it. Another example of a great show that, if the network had kept it on, could have become a big hit. This will probably never be rerun on TV but, if you get a chance, see it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed