Teen Wolf (1985) Poster

(1985)

User Reviews

Review this title
134 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Corny 80's gold
chvylvr8028 January 2004
There are a lot of people who are going on about how much Teen Wolf sucks. I disagree because Teen Wolf has a special kind of suck going for it. Not so bad it's good but corny as hell and better for it. I've been watching this movie since it came out and I love it. How can you not love Teen Wolf? Michael J. Fox turns into a werewolf and becomes a popular star of his high school basketball team. There is even a dance at his prom that is wolf related. The whole school turns wolf crazy but Fox learns the right lesson in the end. How can you not love this corny crap. I'll be the first to admit that this isn't a good movie and is incredibly stupid, but honest to goodness crapfests don't have Stiles or a breakdancing wolf. Take that American Werewolf in London. Recently Teen Wolf has been blessed with DVD release along with it's sequel, Teen Wolf Too, on one disc. 80's fans rejoice!

Bottom Line: It isn't worthy of even trying to call itself good, but it's a classic, doesn't take itself seriously, and occupies a honored place on my shelf.
54 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I love this movie
RNMorton18 April 2003
I appreciate certain actors differently as time goes by. For me Michael J Fox has been on the upswing while others, like Steve Martin, are headed in the other direction. There's nothing particularly unique about any of the elements of this movie except maybe the combination of all of them. Fox finds he can transform into a werewolf with superhuman powers - his "problem" makes him the most popular guy in high school and creates a winning basketball team. Forget that the wolf playing Fox on the court must be twice his size and four times the athlete, this movie is just a lot of fun to watch, helped considerably by Hampton as the understanding dad and Ursitti as the under-appreciated girl friend. Very rewatchable.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This movie is awesome!!
markrbryant12 January 2001
How anyone could not like this film is beyond me! It has everything from really hot babes ,great comedy, a wicked and inspiring ending and ofcourse Michael J. Fox.

This movie also has a brilliant soundtrack including Mark Safan's "Win in the End". The cost of the rental is worth it for this song alone.

This movie is a must see for teens and adults alike. Anyone who likes seeing the good guys triumph and has a soft spot for regular joes getting the girl and achieving greatness will appreciate this.

You'll laugh, You'll cheer, You'll Howl!!!!!
36 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
80's teen fun, and Levine
videorama-759-85939119 October 2017
Light hearted wolf fare this is, for the whole family too, back in '85, when Fox, such an overrated actor, was making a name for himself. Unpopular Fox, yeah Mr Average, is beginning to notice changes, and it's genetics. He's sprouting wolf hair, his eyes lighting up, faint emerald, and he's starting to howl. All these features make him, king of Popularity overnight, where being a wolf has it's advantages, especially in needs to your wants, like very unattainable hottie, Pamela, who's stud boyfriend, who's starring daggers, isn't happy to say the least. Plusses in this, are of course, Levine, as Fox's best mate, who brings a lot of color and vivacity to this feel good movie, it's throbbing music score, unnervingly fitting to Fox's music, where in it's starting, playing over the opening credits, for a more intense, higher classification wolf pic, but like I said, this is a great and perfect pic for everyone, minus kiddies I guess. This is great camp 80's, and the film offers some really funny moments, one killer line, concerning father and son, Fox on the stairwell, in a two way conversation, and a surprise revelation. It has again, "the girl who's best for you, is right beside you, and you didn't notice" scenario, so you obviously know how the finale ensues. Also we have a bit bad history, and a personal grudge, where a few revengeful moments, go greatly appreciated. Fun entertainment, and Stiles (Levine) who has god much more screen presence, acting wise too, than Fox. He's the life of the party in this one, and I myself, are truly grateful.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fox makes this movie
markymark7025 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I first saw Teen Wolf when it came out in 1985 / 86 and thoroughly enjoyed it. If I can remember correctly it flowed on from the phenomenal success of Back to the Future and Fox's star was shining bright at that time. Nonetheless - for a cheap, budget flick of questionable storyline - this film actually comes across well.

I recently bought the DVD (with Teen Wolf Too on it also) to see if my rose coloured memories stood the test of time. They did. The first hour of Teen Wolf (if you ignore some basic editing mistakes and clumsy cutting) is superb. The story deteriorates a tad from the school dance to it's inevitable ending - but it is still good enough for its time.

Fox is brilliant in this - funny, natural and a star in the making. The beach boys music is good too. And my boyhood crush on Boof hasn't abated one little bit through the years.

My two sons picked up the DVD about a week ago and loved it just as much as I did (even though they are only half the age of when I saw it - kids are just more advanced these days). They already know scenes off by heart.

Nice, feel-good film - 7/10.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
One of the best of the teen comedies
Agent107 May 2002
Michael J. Fox represents the tragedy that has befallen all youth in high school: the lack of acceptance. While this looks like a comedy about someone's personal difference, its more of a telling commentary on high school and how cruel it can be. One is only accepted through athletic achievement or by who they are. Fox's character only becomes more popular because he can dunk and take over a game. Of course, the team eventually wins in the end, but only after digging deep inside. But all of the dark critiquing aside, this film is quite good because of the unusual twist on an old story. Funny and outlandish, this film has more staying power than the typical teen movie from the 1980s.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cheesiness at it's finest
UniqueParticle25 June 2019
Scott Howard (Micheal J. Fox) and Stiles Stilinski (Jerry Levine) were so good with so much energy! I absolutely love the soundtrack for this movie! One of the many great 80's films I can't believe I didn't see it till now. The only problems with it I have is it's never explained how Scott became a Wolf and it doesn't seem many were scared/surprised by his presence, otherwise I love it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
80s cult classic
joebrennan-550279 August 2017
This movie is a underrated 80s comedy which doesn't get much credit but it should cause of Michael j fox as a wolf and I also think that the soundtrack is fantastic along with the other teen 80s soundtrack breakfast club,Ferris BUELLER'S day off etc I also think that this movie should be up there with the other great 80s movies and a status of cult classic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A timeless classic teen movie...
paul_haakonsen31 December 2015
I have always enjoyed "Teen Wolf" since the first time I saw it as a child at about 10 or 11 years old. And even today I still think this is a good movie. It is just one of those types of movies that never becomes outdated.

"Teen Wolf" along with "Back to the Future" were the movies that made me become a fan of Michael J. Fox, another thing that still holds true today.

The story in "Teen Wolf" is about Scott (played by Michael J. Fox) who is a very average teenager in high school who wishes to be outstanding and special. And when he finds odd changes to his body and he turns into a werewolf he surely does become unique and special.

This is a fun and enjoyable teenage romantic comedy that is suitable for the whole family. And it is a fine movie in Michael J. Fox's career.

If you are not already familiar with "Teen Wolf" then I can more than warmly recommend that you sit down and watch it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fantastic.
afonsobritofalves10 November 2018
I do not understand how it can be so poorly classified, this movie is one of the best classics of the 80s, with a great story, beautiful soundtrack, good morals, great actors and every time you see this movie, it still looks better. Fantastic, I highly recommend it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not great but has a certain charm thanks mainly to a solid script and typical charm from Fox
bob the moo23 November 2003
Scott Howard is on a basketball team of no-hopers (himself included), is outside of the "cool pack" at highschool and can't seem to even get close to the girls he is interested in. He also is going through some "changes" in his life – with his body doing odd things. The nature of these become clear to him when he transforms into a werewolf. Horrified to find that this runs in his family, Scott tries to control it but when he loses his temper in a basketball game he changes – to the stunned silence of the crowd and players. When he then wins the game he wins everyone over (well, most of them) and finds that the attention, acceptance and coolness that he craved are now his to have. However can he have this without it going to his head or becoming a novelty more than a person?

My girlfriend insisted that we watch Teen Wolf Too recently because neither of us had seen it. Having suffered through that I then rewatched the original film as it had been about twenty years since I last saw it. This should be kept in mind because, my enjoyment of the first film was unquestionably influenced by how poor the sequel was – indeed I need to keep this in mind while writing because I should not be praising Teen Wolf simply for not being as bad as the film that followed it. So, Teen Wolf is not a great film. It is a basic story that mixes teen coming-of-age films with the sports cliché and throws in the werewolf legend to make it a bit different. It does what you expect it to, ending with the moral lesson and sporting climax that you know is coming from about 10 minutes into it. Unlike the sequel though the film does have scenes that link the various stages of the film, so it feels like a story rather than squares on a board game where you are either in one or the other, never between. This gives it a better flow and makes it feel like we have something to go along with rather than making jumps.

The film is never really hilarious but it does have a certain charm to it that makes it quite fun to watch. It badly needs laughs but the set-pieces and the moments of plot do help keep it engaging. A big part of this is Fox himself – he is a personable actor and he brings that easy charm to this film. He works well and is well supported by the cute Ursitti, while Levine's Styles works a bit better than his counterpart in the sequel – ie he is less annoying even if he is not really funnier. Holton is just a comedy fat guy with no comedy to deliver while Hampton is just solid as the father. Nobody si brilliant but they are OK, with Fox leading the way well.

Not a great film by any means, Teen Wolf does have a certain charm to it. It needs more laughs to it but there is fun to be had and the plot at least flows rather than stutters and, in Fox and Ursitti, the cast make it a bit more engaging than the material should be.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie, the ending is classic
bigdbc9 May 2002
Anyone else ever get emotional at the end of this movie? It may seem overly sensitive to get choked up about an ending like that but that is why Michael J. Fox is great. No other actor could have pulled off that ending in a movie like this. Everything about the ending is perfect. There is no doubt that the ending was the typical happy ending to fun and goofy 80's movie but I always thought the ending of the movie had a little extra special feeling to it. From the moment that the second foul shot goes in and Amy Holland's Shooting for the Moon begins until the screen goes from freeze frame w/ MJF being held in his dad's arms while he kisses the head of Boof to black as the credits roll is a stretch of great emotion for the viewer in my opinion. The Amy Holland song is excellent and I have it on MP3 and burned the song to my best movie soundtracks mix. The whole ending to that movie always is great no matter how many times you've seen it. There are so many awesome things about that ending but I'll spare everyone my babbling about all of the great things that transpire at the end of this movie. Criticize its so called "cheesiness," as some people eluded to in other comments, all you like but each person who is critical of and concentrated on that aspect is just being sheltered about the child that is inside of everyone. Come on people just let loose and enjoy a true feel good movie with the classic storybook ending that all humans want to see. Why does everything always have to be realistic?! This movie is an enduring classic film from the 80's and deserves more credit that it has received over the years.

"When your shooting for the moon and finally make it. I guess a lucky star is shining on you. The candle on the cake is yours so take it, make another wish it's sure to come true. Isn't that the way you do it? Maybe I could do it to..."-Amy Holland, Shooting For The Moon, Teen Wolf main theme song, 1985.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
GRRRRRREEEEEAAAATTTT Movie
wyattdonnelly11 March 2001
I Wyatt Donnelly Consider myself as being one of the biggest Teenwolf fans in the world and if you have not seen it then shame on you it has a great cast and Michael J Fox is much better here than he is in Back to the future and Hollywood High it also contains the best soundtrack in the world with songs like win in the end and silhouette. The burman studios have done a great job making Michael look just like a teenwolf and also his dad Herald Howard if Teenwolf has taught me anything it is to respect everyone and now i am a better person i will leave with a suitable quote from the movie "It didn't miss me dad it landed right on my face" Wyatt Donnelly
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Teen Wolf
phubbs1 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
In the same year that Fox became a superstar going back to the future he also had this little werewolf gem creep out. The title says its all really in its brilliant cheesy way, a typical 80's film title. Young teen Fox slowly discovers that he is in fact a werewolf and its been in the family for generations.

In all honesty this is your very standard cheeky 80's high school romp which was the staple diet of many classic comedians throughout the 70's and 80's. The twist in this of course is the supernatural element which is simply a play on the effects of puberty, swapping spots for claws. Its all here as you would expect, the sexy blonde everybody lusts after, the plain brunette our hero never notices, the party obsessed crazy ass best friend, the quiet sensible best friend, the bully, the fat kid, the token black guy (lemonade...awesome character name) and various amusing stereotypical teachers. The best easily being the carefree gum chewing basketball coach.

So if you put the predictable teen antics to one side what are the wolf antics like? Well its pretty darn sweet as a matter of fact, and what's more amazing is the makeup effects on show are really quite good. The little sequence of Fox turning into the wolf has clearly been influenced by 'An American Werewolf in London' and its a really well done moment. Its not scary or gruesome in any of course but it still does look quite realistic utilising simple effects and quick editing. His father in wolf mode doesn't look quite as good admittedly, more like a greying woodland animal with puffed up hair.

There isn't all that much wolf action so to speak, its mostly more silly high school antics but in wolf mode. Wolf mode gives our hero greater strength, better vision, brains etc...the guy becomes a super werewolf and aces everything in school whilst becoming a ladykiller (not literately). The main events of the film are based around the high school basketball games in which Fox's character usually sucks but naturally as a werewolf he's turned the game on its head. This film actually got me into basketball for a time, it introduced me to the game, because of this I bought NBA Jam hehe.

The game segments are really good fun and as the film climaxes it does get a little emotional I can't deny. The game montage accompanied by Mark Safan's 'Win in the End' is glorious mainly down to that corking track. Funny how the underneath of Fox's arms didn't have any werewolf hair applied, always obvious when he raises his arms.

I think people can relate to this film in many ways, certain characters despite them being cliché, the problems of popularity, loneliness, bullying, sexuality etc...usual teen stuff. In all fairness this film doesn't really differ much from the vast array of fast food American high school flicks out there, the werewolf angle is only a different representation of teen angst. It shouldn't really be a good film but somehow it is, what you see isn't original and there aren't any dazzling special effects, its more a character/school based fantasy which is simply a good fun little ride. Attractive performances all round especially from Levine as Stiles and a wicked soundtrack make this a solid cult gem.

8.5/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
One of those fun movies from the mid-eighties
david-sarkies4 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This was one of those movies that I remember watching a few times back when I was a kid and back when Michael J Fox was still acting and I must say it is one of those eighties movies that I still have a fondness for, even though now I would probably not watch it again because despite all of the fondness that I have for the film, there is nothing really all that much about it that makes it stand out all that much. It's not as if it is The Terminator with a classic Arnold Schwartzenegger one liner, or any number of other classic eighties movies that I remember with fondness because, well, there isn't all that much about it that would make it a classic.

Basically it is about a boy in highschool who suddenly discovers that he is a werewolf, and that it is something that runs in the family. After the initial shock, he suddenly becomes really popular, and is able to take on an opposing basketball team all by himself. In fact at the beginning of the film it is very clear that the schools basketball team basically blows, and it is not until one game when he finds himself at the bottom of a stacks on that he becomes the wolf, and then goes on to win the game – single handedly.

Some have suggested that this is a subtle exploration of the nature of High School in your average American town (or suburb, or what not – it is not really made all that clear, but you could suggest that this could occur in any high school in any part of America – except for the fact that werewolves are creatures of myths and legend). Some have also suggested that it is about how, unless we are sporting heroes, or there is something important about us, that we are damned to spend our lives in obscurity. Yeah, I can see that in this film, and I can also see it as some form of subtle criticism of the American way of life (not that there is much that you can criticise), and that one is defined based not only upon how many people know who you are, but also how many people like and look up to you.

It could also be considered some form of morality tale, in that we don't need magical powers to be able to win, all we need to do is to work as a team and believe in ourselves. Well, that is all well and good, but it suggests that by doing that then we can go from being a basketball team that blows to a basketball team that can win a championship – the problem is that it never actually works out that way. Still, this is a Hollywood movie, and in the end, the hero gets the girl – the right girl, not the snivelling bitch that leads you on because you are a famous person, and she can only define herself based upon what that famous person thinks of her, and that they win the basketball game, and the evil vice-principle (it is always the vice-principle that is evil, isn't it) is put into his place, and then the movie ends. I guess that suggests that everything is sorted and everybody lives happily ever after – until the make a sequel, that is.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable, Albeit Cheesy Flick
rneil9526 February 2011
Despite a thick layer of cheese poured over the entire film, "Teen Wolf" is a campy, classic comedy of the 80's. Michael J. Fox stars as Scott Howard, a high school student who's going through changes, one of which being that he happens to be a werewolf. He eventually is able to turn the situation positive when he uses his werewolf persona to become the star of the basketball team and the new cool guy on campus. This movie is incredibly entertaining despite being cheap-looking and cheesy at times. The story is clichéd by today's standards, and it feels slightly dated, but for me that just increases the likability of it. The jokes hit fast and funny, and there's numerous memorable scenes and it ends up leaving you desiring more, and that's always a good sign when you don't want the movie to be over. Even though we never got a good follow-up to Teen Wolf, the original is still a classic film that was a huge part of my childhood and to this day remains to be a really fun movie despite some plot holes and cheesy dialogue and whatnot. I highly recommend it
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Poor Kid. He had to turn into a werewolf to raise his self-esteem.
vertigo_1420 April 2004
Teen Wolf is really one of the cheesiest horror comedies of it's day, and sometimes, that cheesiness factor depreciates the enjoyability factor. I think it's winds up being a love it or hate it movie. I'm still mixed about it, loving some of the characters (smart ass styles), a few of the sequences (werewolf transformation at unexpected moments), and a bit of the music. But Michael J. Fox turns his character, Scott Howard, into the epitome of hopeless nerd (though not looking like one), even though he's more of just a quiet kid who's not popular or anything like that, and that, for me, makes the movie often difficult to appreciate, despite the little goodies scattered throughout.

Scott Howard has an identity crisis. Uh...he's a werewolf. Howl at the moon, scratch behind his ears. The whole bit, thanks to werewolves being a long part of his family lineage. For a kid like Scott Howard, high schooler who's a fairly poor basketball player and super shy around the girls, this is bad news. His self-esteem is shot altoghether, especially when his inner wolf makes an appearance in a big way...during a game on the basketball court.

But, maybe being a teen wolf isn't so bad afterall because with the fur and fangs, Scott has also developed something of an alter ego, allowing him to do things he couldn't as just plain Scott Howard. Now, he's an individual. And with that, he's popular, he can play basketball, he can breakdance, he gets good grades, and he can even surf on top of a moving vehicle without falling off. Scott Howard seems to have it all.

But Boof (Susan Ursitti), Scott's closest friend and the girl who really likes Scott (more than his superficial infatuation with the popular girl Pamela Wells (Lori Griffin), encourages Scott to get rid of the wolf image. It was fun for a while, but what she admired was the real Scott. This being in part a romantic comedy, Scott will soon realize that Booth is really the girl for him, and being the wolf is turning him into something he's not, or at least not something he's proven that he could do on his own. As many of these films always teach the viewers, Scott's got to learn to gain some self-confidence in himself is he's ever going to expect to do things the teen wolf Scott can do (only without being a wolf). In other words, he'd probably be able to do just what teen wolf could do, if he could only muster up the guts to try hard enough. And Boof is just the proper guidance he needs to realize that.

Teen Wolf...too bad it was so damned sentimental. If Scott wasn't so horribly nerdy and uptight, then the characters could've had a little fun with the story, maybe even using some stupid humor. Heck, for a theme repeated so many times, you've got to be creative. One of the few treats in the movie, however, is Jerry Livine as Scott's friend Stiles who finds Scott's wolf dilemma to be an excellent money making opportunity. Stiles is always a guy who's looking for a good time, anyways. And hell, this is also one of Matt Adler's earliest appearances as Louis, Scott's timid friend. The music is kind of good too, for 80s dance and rock.

Unfortunately, they even made a sequel to this dumb movie.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A Fairly Typical 80's Teen Movie That Loses Some Appeal As You Get Older
sddavis632 April 2010
I certainly have good memories of this movie. I watched it when it first came out and quite enjoyed it as I remember. Of course, I was much younger at the time. Looking at it now reminds me that I'm getting old, I guess. This is a teen comedy - directed at teens, starring teens (or at least actors playing characters who are teens) and dealing with the normal teen issues such as acceptance and friendships and romance and the changes that accompany those years. Scott, played by Michael J. Fox, has a big change happening. He's suddenly discovered that he can change into a werewolf - a surprisingly friendly one for the most part, but still a werewolf. The change makes him a superstar basketball player who now leads his team to victory after victory and it makes him really popular - especially with the hottest girl in school. Scott was a bit of a strange character to me, though. The movie is supposed to be about the unpopular kid becoming accepted, but having to become something other than who he was to do it, but I didn't get the impression that he was particularly unpopular. He seemed to have lots of friends, he got invited to all the parties (more and bigger ones than I ever got invited to in high school!) - lots of kids have a lot more problems than Scott. The only issue he had was that as Scott he had the hots for the hottie but he couldn't get her to talk to him. I don't think I ever got the hottest girl in high school to pay much attention to me either. So, Scott didn't strike me as having that many challenges or problems to be honest.

In the end, I suppose the message is still worthwhile. He learns that he can't use the wolf to buy friendships, and he convinces the basketball team (who eventually take a dislike to him because as the wolf he dominates every play of every game and the others hardly ever get to touch the ball) that they have to play as a team (without him being the wolf) if they really want to be successful. So, the lesson is - don't put on masks. Be yourself. Point taken. Fox was pretty decent here, and I liked Susan Ursitti as his friend "Boof" - who has the hots for him, but who he doesn't notice because of his fixation with the hottie. (Frankly, thinking back to my high school years - from which I wasn't far removed when this came out - I'd have gone for Boof! She was cute!)
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is a terrible but likeable flick
sloth476 February 2001
Let's see what we have here--A terrible idea for a movie but yet I continue to watch it. I watched it twice in 9 hours last weekend on TBS or TNT or something. The all time best part is when Scott Howard's dad says, "unless that was another werewolf doing a handstand on Stiles' Wolfmobile!" I personally didn't know that living organisms play better basketball as canines than as human beings. This movie can teach you a thing or two about life. I also didn't know that the hottest chicks at school were interested in wolf love. Now I know why "doggystyle" is so popular! This is a great flick to watch solely to make fun of. If you bring up a good Teenwolf conversation and someone knows what you're talking about, you might want to take heed though, it really isn't too cool. What kind of writer would ever even attempt such a joke of a movie. I give it 10 stars because I think it is funny and entertaining, although it is terrible
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The missing link to my childhood
darkneox11927 September 2000
Teen Wolf is the greatest comedy that came out of the 80's that delt with a teenager fitting in. Michael J Fox plays Scott Hamilton, friend of Styles and Lewis. Why the actor who played Styles never went on to fame and an academy award is beyond me. Styles was awesome, he was half clown, half fruitcake and party animal, a true ladies man. The dark haired girl, Boof was hot in her day as was the blonde. Michael J's complexity begins with him being on the losing basketball team and himself feeling strange and uncomfortable with who he is as a person. After a cool party, Scott goes home and turns into a werewolf. He has to keep this as a secret because how would people treat him if they knew he was a freak? As it turns out, Scott turns into the wolf on the basketball court and can show mad gaming skills and to his and the viewers surprise, everybody digs the wolf. What is Scott? Seems people liek the wolf more than him. Check this movie out. **** out of ****
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fox makes this movie
markymarky11 August 2005
I first saw Teen Wolf when it came out in 1985 / 86 and thoroughly enjoyed it. If I can remember correctly it flowed on from the phenomenal success of Back to the Future and Fox's star was shining bright at that time. Nonetheless - for a cheap, budget flick of questionable storyline - this film actually comes across well.

I recently bought the DVD (with Teen Wolf Too on it also) to see if my rose coloured memories stood the test of time. They did. The first hour of Teen Wolf (if you ignore some basic editing mistakes and clumsy cutting) is superb. The story deteriorates a tad from the school dance to it's inevitable ending - but it is still good enough for its time.

Fox is brilliant in this - funny, natural and a star in the making. The beach boys music is good too. And my boyhood crush on Boof hasn't abated one little bit through the years.

My two sons picked up the DVD about a week ago and loved it just as much as I did (even though they are only half the age of when I saw it - kids are just more advanced these days). They already know scenes off by heart.

Nice, feel-good film - 7/10.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I liked it
TheLittleSongbird21 June 2011
Teen Wolf is not a perfect film by all means, some of the editing could have flowed better, the story while having some great nice and starting off with very few problems is basic and meanders a bit towards the end and the film could have been longer(just). That said, the film apart from some lacking editing looks good, with nice scenery and lighting, while the soundtrack is superb. There may be the odd cheesy line, but overall the script is solid, and while somewhat predictable the ending is nice. The characters have a certain charm about them, and while the actors are not award-worthy perhaps they all do very likable jobs especially Michael J.Fox. All in all, not a masterpiece, but I liked it. 7/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Classic from the mid 80's
namashi_123 September 2009
Rob Daniel made entertaining, memorable cinema in 'Teen Wolf', which I refer as A 1985 Classic!

I loved the film, just imagine... today after watching high-packed,much more advanced stuff, yet I enjoyed the film. 'Teen Wolf' works and works big, and that's because it's got it's heart at the right place.

Right from the very first scene to it's last scene I was gripped into it. No wonder, this film was a success back then and has remained a talk among hardcore film buffs like me.

Acting-wise: Michael J. Fox has always been one of my favorite actors. He's fantastic in here. 80's was easily this film Legend's heyday. It's sad we don't get to such a fantastic performer much. Susan Ursitti as Boof is wonderful. Others do well in their parts.

On the whole 'Teen Wolf' is a must watch. Thumbs Up!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I got one thing to say: ******WOLF HOWL!!!!!***********
GOWBTW20 July 2007
The 80's was the year of heartthrobs. Michael J. Fox, was the king of them. On TV he was Alex P. Keaton on "Family Ties", the same year he was Marty McFly in "Back to the Future". Now he's Scott Howard in this movie, "Teen Wolf". Howard is an average teen in high school with a little secret, he's an lycanthrope(Werewolf). Like most werewolves, it's genetics, unlike most lycanthropes, he doesn't need a full moon to get him worked up. Living in denial doesn't do it. His father lets him know about it. However, he finds it to be a plus. Being a werewolf does have it's advantages. It made him very popular. The basketball team adored him when he got them to finals, he got the popular girl Pam(Lorie Griffin). During a play, he was in wolf mode. So when he reverted and went into the dressing room where Pam was there, she shamelessly dropped the towel and her bra, to me that will get anyone Wolfy! **WOLF HOWL!** The bowling scene, the party scene, the beer scene, the only scene I liked was the air guitar scene on the van. ROCK ON! A very fun movie, and a real howler as well. **WOLF HOWL!** 2.5 OUT OF 5 STARS!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Come on, give it a chance!!!
starcollector7310 October 2003
Well, im not going to claim that Teen Wolf is one of the greatest movies ever made or that it was robbed sometime ago back on oscar night but the truth is its nowhere near as bad as some people would have you believe. In fact the truth is...its really rather good. O.k, I can honestly say hand on heart i love Teen wolf, see theres no shame in it! Its pure cheesy hokum but its done it such a warm, lighthearted and typically corny 1980's sort of a way i can excuse it. For me Teen Wolf is less about a boy in a wolf costume and much more about fitting in, growing up and being true to yourself. The story revolves around everyday teen Scott Howard who finds out he's a werewolf (as you do!) and discovers that this gives him the gift of instant celebrity. He is no longer just one of the crowd but the star basketball player and all round school hotshot, however everything comes at a price and Scott has to learn a few valuable lessons about love, popularity, responsibilities and friendship along the way. Michael J Fox uses his likeable charm to create a cute and sympathetic character and its a great credit to him that you actually care about Scott and his problems no matter how strange they may seem. Scott's best friend Stile's provides plenty of funny moments and the 80's pop soundtrack compliments the film perfectly. All in all its a fun little movie and it probably has alot more heart and class than most of the 'teen' movies being made nowadays. Teen Wolf Too however is 100% pure evil and should probably be avoided at all costs...grrrrr.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed