The Breakfast Club (1985) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
828 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Remember yourself
hazel_inverse31 March 2003
We all remember being a teenager. A crazy, intense time when your high were higher and your lows were lower, and every experience was that much more significant.

John Hughes movie brilliantly captures that environment, that era in our lives, and all the social rifts that we all helped to create for ourselves. I have heard it said that "The Breakfast Club" is melodramatic, overacted, and simplistic. If you subscribe to that flippant perspective you might as well join Vernon in his office because you are doing the same thing that he did. Seeing the movie as you want to see it, in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions.

If you really want to understand this film, think back to your own high school days. Think about your last year there. Dig out your old diary or book of angstful poems and reaquaint yourself with who you were then, when you felt things more deeply. "The Breakfast Club" does not exist not for highschool kids, as some suggest. Why would they need it? They live there. It exists for all of us who have already been through there, who feel that they are above it now. It exists so that we can remember what it was like and better understand ourselves, and the next generation. Because you can't dismiss something you understand.
389 out of 428 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The cream of the crop in 80's fare.
RueMorgue30 May 2000
This movie is one of the best, if not THE best, 80's film there is. The fact is, every teen character in this movie can be related to someone we knew in high-school. As a child of the 80's, I can honestly say that this is a representative cross-section of every high school in North America. The geek, the jock, the outcast, the rich pretty-girl snob, and the future criminal. They all exist, to some degree or another, in the classrooms of every high school on the continent.

What makes this film rise above the rest is the character development. Every character in this film is three-dimensional. They all change, in one way or another, by the end of the film. Whether or not things remain the way they are long after this film ends is unknown, and that adds to the rama. The most important scene in this film is when the characters, as a group, all open up to one-another and describe the hell that their daily school routines are in a personal fashion. Nobody likes the role they must inevitably portray in the high-school scene, but the fact is, it is often inescapable. This film gives the viewer some insight into how the other people around them might have felt during that particular time in their lives.

Each of the main characters in this film shines, but Judd Nelson (John Bender) and Emilio Estevez (Andrew Clark) rise above the rest. Simply put, these two actors each put their heart and soul into their respective characters, and it shows.

At the end of the film, the viewer is left to make their own conclusions as to how things will carry forth. And I'm sure that most people will do that. This is one movie that left me feeling both happy and sad for each of the characters, and it isn't easy to make me care about a film in that way. Even if you aren't a fan of the 80's genre, this isn't one you would want to miss.

My Rating: 10/10
317 out of 362 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best movies ever
brs52616 May 2003
After reading some of the negative comments made about this movie, i decided to make some of my own. Yes, to younger viewers,this movie will appear to be outdated. The only thing "outdated" is the clothing styles and the music. It doesnt matter what year you went to high school or what school you even went to, there will always be a "criminal", a "jock", a "princess", a "nerd", and a "basket case". This movie is the best teenage movie, no matter when you are a teenager!
220 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Don't you forget about me
loz4cs23 October 2004
Warning: Spoilers
This film is one of the most influential films I have ever watched. It reaches out to you - and your touched by it. No matter what little sub-culture you were shifted into whilst going through the trials and tribulations of Secondary school you could relate to it.

It may have been clichéd but what film isn't, we like certain elements we can relate to otherwise what would we take from films.

Judd Nelson gives a convincing performance of 'Bender' the criminal. He managed to sway from angry to emotional - making you feel for him when he is describing what things are like at 'his house'. He seemed to have a lot of great lines including the Manilow comment! The emotion in this film is immense considering it is a teenage film - and touches on 5 lost characters who seem to be searching for some type of approval or acceptance. (Just like our-selves) Ringwald shows just how versatile she is, and very different from Pretty in Pink. I heard that Ally Sheedy originally went for Ringwalds part and they swapped?

Emilio Estevez carrys his role off very well as a Jock - it gets a little cringe worthy when hes high at the end - and rushing around like a loony. But the end with Ally Sheedy certainly makes up for it.

The ending is good, however even ten years later after I first saw this film I always wanted to know what they did the next day!

This is such a great film, I can relate to it so much! I love it is truly the best, you can watch over and over and never get tired of it.
203 out of 243 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A love letter to all high school loners
wheevandor5 July 2001
I must admit that I was a true loner in high school, and essentially I'm now at 33 I'm still a loner who has become a bit more jaded with the passage of time. With that said, John Hughes "The Breakfast Club" seems to me to be a sort of love letter to all of us who just seemed to blend into the background during our high school years. Of course like everyone I also have a favorite character in the film, and my choice is Allison who is wonderfully played by Ally Sheedy. So, my advice to all who have read this far is to try and watch this film with your emotions rather than trying to analyze the film to death.
210 out of 253 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Classic 80s for all Generations
Misspoe935 December 2004
Ah the Breakfast Club. Although I am a child of the 80's, I came along at the tail end of Generation X. The cast of The Breakfast Club were actors that I looked up to as a child, and still enjoy as an adult. I remember my own mother was a big fan of this movie, even though she was an adult with children.

Of all the "Brat Pack" movies, this remains my favorite. Even over two decades later, the movie still holds generations of people captive and sends us all into deep thoughts of our own glory days when we thought that life was BS, and that we had it tough. We were just a few years shy of seeing how tough life would be once we escape the protective circus tent known as high school.

Over and over you hear people wishing that a sequel to this film had been made. I am very glad there was not one. Surely we can't imagine this would have been a happily ever after for these characters. They came together one day, but like most high school relationships, all good things must come to an end. The closest thing to a sequel for this movie would be "St. Elmo's Fire" and again.....all good things must come to an end.

One thing that I loved most about this movie was the tell tale showing of intelligence in the least thought of places; the school janitor. The movie portrayed the janitor as being a hell of a lot smarter than the assistant principal. I have found in my life's experience this is quite believable. It's also sad. I believe that those employed by the education system could learn a very important lesson about young adults and the way their minds work. Youth knows when it's elders have forgotten how to see things. Youth knows how to use that against them. The moral is simple; stay young!
95 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my (personal) favorite comedies. John Hughes strikes again!
MovieAddict20167 January 2004
Parents have never understood the youth of the world. Elvis used to be evil. Now he's too tame for modern music enthusiasts. Just imagine how tame Eminem will seem years from now. And as a scarier thought, who (or what) could be worse than some of the singers on today's market?

John Hughes is locked in a time capsule, still bearing the mind of a teenager, and he is able to tap into these feelings of teenage angst. That is what separates "The Breakfast Club" from, say, "The New Guy," or one of those other stupid teen films of recent years.

And the jerk, played by Judd Nelson, isn't meant to be cool. He is a jerk, and if older viewers took the time to pay attention to the film, they would perhaps realize that the point of the film, from the very beginning, is to establish that this so-called jerk is only acting like one to get attention. Because he is obviously shunned at home. He's an outcast. And unlike other films that refuse to establish their characters, "The Breakfast Club" introduces him as a jerk, and proceeds to explain why he is that way. This is what makes this movie tick.

I knew a kid like Bender (Nelson) once when I was in school, and generations of kids continue to go through the exact same things. Once they reach a certain age, though, it seems as though all adults suddenly break away from the teenage emotions. John Hughes never did, I guess. (Although he certainly tapped into adult behavior with his best film, "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" [1987], a welcome introduction to Hughes' adult comedy, hinted at in "Vacation" [1981], which he wrote.)

The film opens with a quote from David Bowie that just about sums the entire film up. We are introduced to five kids spending eight hours of detention at Shermer High School in Illinois. They are: Andrew the Jock (Emilio Estevez), Brian the Nerd (Anthony Michael Hall), Bender the Criminal (Judd Nelson), Claire the Princess (Molly Ringwald), and Allison the Basketcase (Ally Sheedy). They are looked over by the school principal (Paul Gleason), who assigns them the task of writing a report on why they are here in detention and what they did to get there.

To say that the outcome is predictable is an understatement. We know who's going to get together with whom from the beginning, but getting there's all the fun. Watching the characters come to appreciate their differences and learn that they're more than just billboard examples of angry teenagers is more than half the fun.

Teenagers are not as unaware of who they are as some people always think. John Hughes knew this, and deliberately tapped into this state of mind as no other director has done before -- or since, for that matter. Sure, they've tried. (Hughes' "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" was just about the only other film that tried to show teenagers as something more than stupid hormone-crazy rambunctious adolescents, but as young adults who were trying to grow up fast -- the scene where Ferris and Sloane pretend their water is wine is good evidence of this.)

Hughes' teenage characters were not the clichés they are now when "The Breakfast Club" came out in 1985 -- this film has proved to be the steeple of teen clichés (many of them poked fun at in "Not Another Teen Movie," which features a cameo by Ringwald). Think of "2001" or "Halloween" -- the drifting spaceships and psycho killers chasing sex-hungry teenagers is now routine, but it wasn't then. The Jock, The Nerd, The Criminal, The Princess, and The Basketcase weren't clichéd back then, either -- although Hughes purposely chose these references to the characters in order to let Brian, The Nerd, say that they were more than just that in the beginning of the film when he's reading his essay in voice-over narrative.

I seriously doubt whether this film is any better than the work of Coppola, Cortiz, Kurosawa, Scorsese, Welles, et al. If I were assembling a list of "the greatest movies ever made," I'd never include this.

But sometimes the greatest films aren't just the films that are technically perfect, but those that connect to you on one level or another. I know that my all-time favorite comedy ("Planes, Trains and Automobiles") may not be considered better than something such as "Some Like it Hot," but that film doesn't affect me the same way. I either don't connect with the story, the characters, the feelings, or I just don't appreciate the film as a whole. I appreciate "The Breakfast Club" in many ways, and for that reason it will always be considered one of my favorite films. Even if it is kinda sappy.
205 out of 257 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best portrayals of adolescent life ever done
bppihl4 April 2005
John Hughes is in my opinions the "king of teens." Each of his teen films is great, from "Sixteen Candles", "Pretty in Pink" (which he co-wrote and produced), and "Ferris Bueller's Day Off." They all have funny and serious moments and are classics. By the same token, "The Breakfast Club" is no exception. However, it stands out as doing the best job of the above films at portraying 80s teen life (and perhaps even teen life today) as it really was (is). Hence the familiar plot: Five high school students from different crowds in school (a nerd, a jock, a prom queen, a delinquent, and a loner) are thrown together for a Saturday detention in their school library for various reasons. Detention is supervised by the gruff and demeaning principal Richard Vernon, believably portrayed by Paul Gleason. As the day progresses, each member tells the story of why they are in detention, and by day's end they realize they have more in common than they ever imagined.

What makes the film unique is that each character tells his or her own story with credibility and persistence. Jock Andrew Clark (Emilio Estevez) is under pressure from his father to perform up to high standards, which Mr. Clark believes will add to his (dad's) lost youth. Nerd Brian Johnson (Anthony Michael Hall) excels academically, but is failing shop class. Neither he nor his family can accept an F. Delinquent John Bender (Judd Nelson), while tough on the exterior, masks a difficult home life. Prom queen Claire(Molly Ringwald) has pressure to conform from her friends, as well as issues with her parental unit. Loner Allison (Ally Sheedy) has few if any friends, wears all black, and has similar problems at home. Can the emotional bonding they share in detention hold true beyond the library, and can stereotypes be broken?

"The Breakfast Club" presents no-doubt stereotypical characters, and every member represents countless real-life examples. But what makes it so enjoyable is that applies a variety of themes to its context: prejudice/discrimination, acceptance/tolerance, diversity, class/status differences, family matters, group dynamics, etc. It also encourages us to look at others and ourselves beyond surface-level appearances. Finally, "The Breakfast Club" has great 1980s pop culture and societal integrations, from the soundtrack with Simple Minds "Don't You (Forget about Me), to wealthy, surburban American life (haves and have nots), and superficial values of the "me" decade. It reminds us that there truly is diversity in all of us. We are different, but we are all "the same" in one way or another.
67 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quite simply one of the best teen films of the 80s
preppy-311 December 2002
Five teenagers are assigned detention on a Saturday morning and afternoon. They are a jock (Emilio Estevez), a hood (Judd Nelson), a rich girl (Molly Ringwald), a geek (Anthony Michael Hall) and a basket case (Ally Sheedy). During the course of the detention (and with a little help from marijuana) they open up and talk and begin to know each other.

A dead on target examination of teen life in 1984/85. This was a very challenging thing to do--release a film about teens just talking and relating to each other. It also was (unjustly) awarded an R rating for the frequent swearing--but that's how high schoolers talk!

I was in college when this came out, but I saw it with a friend who was still in high school. According to him the movie got everything right--the clothes, dialogue, styles and music were accurate. He said it was one of the few movies that accurately showed how he felt. I felt the same way. I think any teenager can relate to this movie. The movie is somewhat unpleasant (some of the kids really attack each other verbally) but there's plenty of comedy mixed in too.

The cast: Estevez (what ever happened to...) is just great as the jock. He gives a very believable and moving performance especially in a speech about his father. Nelson, however, is horrible as the hood. He looks the part but he's way too eloquent and his acting was pretty bad. Ringwald and Hall are perfect in their roles, but they WERE teenagers when this was filmed. Sheedy does what she can with a criminally underwritten role. John Kapelos (as a janitor) is hardly in it (I'm assuming his part was severely cut) and Paul Gleason (a good actor) is given a very 1-dimensional role--the evil adult. He does what he can with it.

The movie isn't perfect--parents are the root of all the kids problems; there are annoying lapses in logic (like how does Ringwald get to see Nelson at the end and Sheedys character wasn't assigned detention, so wouldn't Gleason know that) and there is a whole dance sequence squeezed in.

Still--a truly great teenage movie. A definite must-see. A bonus is that the movie opens with one of the best songs of the 1980s (and a big hit)--Simple Minds "Don't You Forget About Me". This is rightfully considered a classic.

"Who'd your mom marry--Mr. Rogers?" "No--Mr. Johnson"
102 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You pay after you play.
michaelRokeefe15 March 2003
One of the best if not the best brat pack flick. John Hughes writes and directs this dramatic comedy about five Chicago high school kids that are from different circles and stations in life being forced to spend a Saturday together in detention. Before the day is over this group finds out that they have more in common than they thought and even some friendships are created. The very impressive cast includes:Emilio Estevez, Ally Sheedy, Judd Nelson, Anthony Michael Hall and Molly Ringwald. Paul Gleason plays the hapless teacher trying to contain the group and then there is John Kapelos as the custodian. This is a don't miss and is fun to watch over and over again. Spit that gum out and remember to ask for a hall pass.
72 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Five teenagers are forced to stay in a room together and we learn so much about them....
cleary-joshua26 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Placing a small group of characters in a single setting for the entire running time of a movie is clever narrative technique – it forces them to talk to each other, and through this, we learn more about those people through their speech, mannerisms and interactions with each other. The concept of "The Breakfast Club" is exactly that. Five teenagers from all walks of society are forced to stay in a room together, and through this they bond and we learn so much about them. And it's also funny, nostalgic and a movie that only John Hughes could have pulled off well.

The five characters are high school stereotypes, and I think there's one of them that each of us relate to. There's the jock, the rebel, the psycho, the prom-queen and the geek, and they all think they're so different from each other. At first, they argue and fight during their detention. Eventually, though, they realise that they're not so different, and actually have a shared hatred – the authority which is keeping them in detention. We see them rebel together, get high and reveal their darkest secrets. It manages to be charming and funny while never reaching cliché. Where Hughes is a master is character development, and he shows us how the characters are bonding and developing without being too preachy.

The script and direction is very well managed, with John Hughes tapping into the teenage mentality perfectly. What's odd is how timeless the film is, with little having changed in school character-types over almost 30 years. The acting is also great, with Judd Nelson and Anthony Michael Hall giving especially strong performances. The film's focus on teenagers also gives a message about the problems of adults, and the one major adult character in the film, played by Paul Gleason, is also one of my favourites. He is written really well as the antagonistic vice- principal, and Hughes succeeds well in allowing the teens to usurp him, but not too easily.

The one main flaw that the film has is in its single setting. It works for the majority, but there are definitely times where it lags and feels trapped by the confines that it has set itself. There is not much action in some parts, and the dialogue doesn't always carry it through. That said, it's funny and enjoyable, and an important piece of film for any adolescent to see. There's something for all of us to learn in the adventures of "The Breakfast Club".
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Welcome to the writing for future teenage generations that is John Hughes!
bigjc3314 February 2012
John Hughes was truly a magnificent writer for teenagers of the 80's. Even though a lot of people hated his previous works, it doesn't matter since many people have flaws in their career once in a while. Well, this is one of John Hughes's well-written classics: The Breakfast Club. It follows a group of teenage kids who have done something to get them to have detention on Saturday!(Bummer having to stay in that school on a weekend!) Sounds pretty simple huh? Well, later on the characters get to know each other thanks to the brilliant writing from John Hughes! Judd Nelson plays Bender who in the movie is called "the Criminal" and is a straight up asshole but in a cool way. The lovely Molly Ringwald plays Claire who attempts to hide things from people kinda like bottling her emotions. Plus there are other characters I wont get into. My favorite character is obviously Bender since he throws out the jokes which makes this movie funny. Now, be warned! You may start tearing up because there are a lot of issues covered in this movie that relates to real life. The stories the characters tell are very poignant and moving and riveting. So don't be surprised if you start crying during the movie. This is a brilliant John Hughes movie that launched his career next to Sixteen Candles(which is another good Hughes film). What makes this movie so great you say? The way the characters develop is genius thanks to the magnificent directing! The jokes are CLEVER unlike so many other comedies *cough Meet the Spartans*. However, while this movie is great it does have some flaws. One is its a little too long for my taste and its tone is a little mixed up at times. Like is this supposed to be a comedy or a drama? But thats a minor thing for me since I can relate to this movie as a teenager next to Fast Times at Ridgemont High. Plus, there are so many memorable quotes in this movie! Go see John Hughes's finest written film! Sincerely Yours, The Breakfast Club
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Never judge a book by it's cover.
aleavellx1 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The main setting of "The Breakfast Club" is at Shermer High School, specifically in the library on a Saturday morning. The library is an important aspect in the setting of this movie, because it provides a parallel with the dialogue. The script of this movie is heavily laden with dialogue and the spoken story of each character, similar to the books, writing, and words that fill the library shelves. Another important aspect of the library is the quiet nature of the space, putting the focus entirely on the characters and their issues. With no other noise or distractions, the central focus of the film is clear.

An important character to consider that is often overlooked is the assistant principal, Richard Vernon. Throughout the film he is portrayed as a villain of sorts, out to get the group of students being punished that particular Saturday. Completely unable to relate to his students or any of their situations, he only sees what is on the surface. It is pointed out by the janitor later on in the plot that while Vernon assumes the students are the problem in his lack of understanding the new generation, he never bothered to look closer and realize it was he who had changed. This plays a major role in the overall theme of the movie, which is the inability to see past the surface of a problem or character and judge solely by a look.

A pivotal scene for the five students locked away in detention is the group discussion they have about why they came to Saturday detention. Although it is obvious that it is pivotal because they are opening up, but it is also pivotal in the mood of the film as well. Before this scene, many, if not all, of the interactions between the characters were cold and isolated, making the movie seem tense. As the characters begin to open up, the feel of the movie transitions to an easier, lighthearted feel that pulls the audience in to the escapades that begin to occur. Not only has it changed the relationship between the characters, but it changes the mood of the rest of the movie.

The lunches that each character eats are representative of each of their respective parents. Claire eats a fancier meal than the rest, Andy's food is loaded with carbohydrates and calories, Brian's lunch consists of a crust-less peanut butter and jelly sandwich, Allison's bologna (which she discards to replace with candy), and Bender, who has no lunch. Each meal represents the parenting style of each teenager, such as Allison's discarding of part of her sandwich signifies the way they ignore her, giving her the freedom to do whatever she wants.

The writing in this movie is realistic and plausible, seeing as it is an everyday occurrence for us to judge others solely by what is on the outside. The slow reveal of the inner struggles and personal demons of each of the characters is realistic, coming slowly and in pieces, each filled with emotion. It is obvious that many of the characters do not wish to open up, which is very typical of someone dealing with their own issues. The inserted lines of dry and sarcastic humor lighten the mood when it is necessary, just as some situations require and easily remind us that they still are, in fact, teenagers. The writing is very symbolic of the things that can happen to every day high school students, although perhaps not as extreme, it serves as a guide for those moments that we all have had some sort of experience with.

An aspect of grouping in this movie is shown by the colors of the characters. Red for Bender, blue for Andy, pink for Claire, green for Brian, and black for Allison. These colors play into the stereotypes that they are portraying, further signifying the outer appearance contradiction that the characters struggle with. A smaller grouping is the group of teenagers, and the adults. The stark contrast between the two age groups, both physically separated and emotionally, magnifies the generation gap and the lack of ability to understand one another.

The aspect of judgment plays a large role, especially in the beginning where each character has made specific judgments against their peers. Applying that to the whole, judgment becomes the main theme that motivates them as characters, as well as how easily judgments can be changed. In watching this, I see media messages that have changed over the years. The message that this film delivers is one that can be forgotten easily, but this movie is a nostalgic reminder to never judge a book by its cover.

John Hughes was the king of successful movies in the 1980's, with this movie being at the forefront of his laundry list of hit films. Seeing as how many movies were based off this movie and others like it, "The Breakfast Club" is a teen drama that has become the stereotypical teen drama. The storytelling techniques, such as the ability to show the progression of these characters in a single day, and revealing character complexity is something seen even recently, in shows like "Community."

The storytelling technique used by this movie was a unique choice, one that is not often seen. It is easy to forget that sometimes and entire story can happen in just a matter of hours in your life, not over a long span of time. This technique is adding to my ability to comprehend the realistic nature of cinematic storytelling by proving that you do not need to show weeks or month of passing time to have a story with impact.

"The Breakfast Club" uses its title to emphasize the reason why it is so important not to judge something strictly by what you see.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Weird, unexpected, depressing and romantic!
Irishchatter23 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I just can't think of the words properly to describe this movie. Firstly, they all didn't get along by saying nasty things to each other and John Bender being such a complete dope to them all especially that teacher who was supervising them. Then the five of them were getting high and dancing all over the place with 80's songs playing in the background like lunatics! Finally at the end, they get all lovey dovey with this order emo girl/jock and prep girl/bad boy. Good mix but it was very unexpected from a teenage film like this! I wouldn't call this film 'The Breakfast Club', I would call it the 'Bad Teen Club'. I'm serious, the name sounds cheesy but I suppose interesting at the same time. I did enjoy it but I felt a lot of mixed vibes while watching this movie!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Labeled: Delinquents -Actually: Students- Most Defineately: Human Beings- Undeniabley Eighties!
edwinallarren8 April 2012
The film "The Breakfast Club" reflects the recognizably flippant disposition that so many 1980's movies so vividly portrayed, however, it differentiates itself from such a post in several acutely creative aspects. Set in a Chicagoland north suburban high school, it accompanied the artistic genre that so many film companies engaged in when using Chicago as an ideal filming venue during the eighties' movie era. Unlike so many films set in Chicago, "The Breakfast Club" capriciously emanates a mandatory acrimony with every one of the main characters in this film! The one scene whereby all of the students commiserate with each other about their justified tales of woe, became a scene which evokes a bevy of utterly human responses. At that juncture in this film, these students were thoroughly aware of the fact that they could ill afford the luxury of pulling back any punches, and, it was incumbent upon them to ameliorate their socially awkward circumstances. Each one of them, the student (Anthony Michael Hall); the athlete (Emilio Estevez); the princess (Molly Ringwald); the basket case (Ally Sheedy); and finally, the criminal (Judd Nelson), became the precarious representative of the walk of life whom they represented in the high school which they were attending. The very last scene of Judd Nelson (The Criminal) was a significant trademark of the entire film's dynamic. Judd Nelson's agitation was manifested through his desultorily assembled attire. As a matter of fact, each one of the major characters in this movie were flawlessly executed to exact the proclivities of a handful of teen-age cultural stereotypes. Any director and/or writer will tell you that articulating a perfect 10 character development with every one of the main characters in any given film, becomes an insurmountable task which is neon impossible to successfully accomplish! The movie, " The Breakfast Club", managed to depict every one of their main characters with an uncanny cogency that puts this film in an auspicious category all by itself! "The Breakfast Club" was made in 1985, and, it was partially responsible for laying out the existing paradigm for movies, as well as high school students' attitudes in general, for the decade of the 1980's. In 1985, "Out of Africa" won the academy award for best picture. "Out of Africa" is, of course, a fabulous film, however, "The Breakfast Club" is far more adept at sparking naturally human interaction into the scope of cinematic entertainment. A film like " The Breakfast Club" accommodates the purpose of movie going, which is, often times, to re-emphasize the significance of delving into the tumultuous intricacies of faulted human nature. A grass roots recognition of our egregious inadequacies as individuals, is an indelibly crucial component to stellar movie making. At such a level, the film; "The Breakfast Club", is virtually second to none in procuring such a coveted feat. Director, John Hughes, deserves one accolade after the next for his efforts in the wonderful production of this film. The acting was phenomenal! Subsequent to the making of the film "The Breakfast Club", all of these actors and actresses have gone on to be eighties icons, as well as perennial top billing entertainers. It has always been a yearly ritual with me to see this film on the Saturday before Easter. Last night, I watched "The Breakfast Club" once again, and, I thought it was better than I ever previously remember it to be from times before! It is an absolute must to see this 1980's marvel; "The Breakfast Club" - Eighties Classic! An Ultimate Movie Treasure Extraordinaire! Five Stars!
28 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The movie that made detention and high school a little cooler
Smells_Like_Cheese16 June 2005
I really did enjoy "The Breakfast Club", and I can truly agree with people that this is a classic. There is a main reason why I liked this movie and it's not because of the acting or the way it was made.

I'm a high school graduate(Class of 2003), and after high school you really take a look at what your years were like. Were you a jock, cheerleader, nerd, weirdo, junkie, party girl/boy, pretty, ugly, skinny, fat...? It goes on and on. Either one of these roles we were in high school and we did get harassed at least once by someone and all you could think was "Why me?". This movie helps point out what the problems were, everyone has their own problems and pressures and take it out on other people. While the kid who pulled a knife on you might go home and have his father beat him almost to death. The nerd you knocked the books out of their hands, might go home to parents who are pressuring them to get the best grades they can and put their social life behind. It continues and high school is always going to be like that, sorry to those who are still in school.

"What will happen?" "You mean on Monday?" They whole time during that monologue between the kids at the end, I kept on thinking, and they'll go back to their regular lives afterwards.

I will always recommend "The Breakfast Club", because you will have a true taste of what high school is like.

9/10
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Probably the greatest Teen film ever!
jiggles-3274012 December 2018
This is a movie that everyone can relate to. No matter what group you were in, while in High school. John Hughes was definitely the best when it came to telling a story. Whether it's your first time watching it, or your 50th.... it's timeless.

All the " Brat Pack " movies are beyond incredible. But, this one in particular, truly looks deep into the truth about Every personality.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Enforced socialization
bkoganbing17 September 2013
The 80s was the decade of the Brat Pack and the decade of John Hughes who did films that spoke to teens and 20 somethings of the era. His enduring classic was The Breakfast Club a character study of a cross section of teen America of the Reagan years.

In my childhood and adolescent years the culture had a great divide on what made the young tick. The model were shows like Leave It To Beaver and The Donna Reed Show. All the kids were wholesome and clean cut. The polar opposite was found on the big screen in Rebel Without A Cause and dozens of pale imitations of hot rodding kids. And the girls for the most part were just orbiting satellites around the males.

That's the most radical thing about The Breakfast Club I Found. The teen princess Molly Ringwald and the weird girl Ally Sheedy are most definitely not satellites around the males. Although Ringwald could have shown up on The Donna Reed Show she like the others is a complex character with her own issues regarding school and life. Sheedy was something unique, an oddball who not only doesn't fit in but regards that as a virtue. Not that people weren't like her in real life, but just not shown on the big screen or small.

The 'good' kids are jock Emilio Estevez and overachiever scholar Anthony Michael Hall. Superficially both of those could be Donna Reed or Brady Bunch characters. What's revealed is both are just trying to fit into their assigned niches in life and both question why is there so much pressure to succeed. One has suicidal intentions because of it.

Judd Nelson is your James Dean character, good but truly the least original of all the charter members of The Breakfast Club. He could truly have been part of the motorcycle clique that Dean belonged to in Rebel Without A Cause. Dean himself bared his soul, Nelson took a bit longer to do it on the screen. For him and Sheedy detention is just part of the day. The other three are new to it and in the normal course of school day they would not be caught dead associating with these two or in fact each other. They all have their cliques except Sheedy who is a total loner. In the end they find they have a lot of the same issues and anxieties. Detention enforced socialization on them.

Paul Gleason plays the school principal and in his career he took out a patent on these authority figures who are so alien to the kids. He did the part of the principal in so many films and TV shows his appearance almost became expected like Margaret Dumont in a Marx Brothers comedy. The Breakfast Club became his signature part.

The Breakfast Club is a true classic, long and deep on character almost like a Eugene O'Neil play.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A group of miscellaneous high school kids are forced to do detention on Saturday
david-sarkies28 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is one of those movies that I see as the for-runner to movies like Empire Records and Pump Up the Volume. Here we have a group of teenagers getting together and trying to understand the nature of the lives and the world that they have entered. What we have here are the teenagers of the 80's, a time that had much more promise than the 90's, but we are here standing on the edge of the bleakness that comes out later. What we see here is that there is still a chance for friendship, but I guess the important quote comes from the lips of Brian Johnson: will we still be friends on Monday.

The Breakfast Club is about five students, all different, who are put onto Saturday detention for certain wrongs that they have done. They are not supposed to talk, but rather write an essay describing who they are. The problem here is that we are dealing with teenagers who really don't know who they are, and this comes out through the lips of John Bender, the school criminal, but essentially far more insightful than the others. They do finally find out who they are, but they do this by talking to each other and coming to understand why they do what they do, and finish off by writing a short piece telling the vice principle that he really has no idea anyway.

This movie is about identity and trying to create ones own identity. The one major thing we see here is that the students are trying to break out of the moulds that their parent's have put them in. The jock Andrew Clark is no different to the nerd Brian Johnson. The reason is that both of their parents put lots of pressure on them to succeed, but only in different ways. Clark must not only be successful at sport, but also must muck around like his Dad, but the first time he does it, he feels a huge amount of guilt for the pain of his victim. Though it was fun, he cannot help thinking about the guy who suffered.

What this movie does is that it makes us think what the point really is. Is it really worth suiciding simply because you get an F in shop, and is shop really all that stupid when somebody else sees it as his favourite subject. What we see is that five different people are coming together and learning about each other. They are being brought into different worlds, and being forced to accept those who are different. In the end they sort of all become friends, though in some cases, such as Brian, they really aren't willing to break through their prejudices.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An uplifting cult classic
joe_19941 October 2011
The story of five teenagers in detention on a Saturday morning, all with different stereotypical personalities. It tells the tale of their lives and how by the end of the film they all come together to make an uplifting conclusion.

The one thing that makes The Breakfast Club so unique is how John Hughes uniquely captured the teenage language and the problems students go through at high school. When the film came out the honestly of the film was praised as it tells all the truths throughout the film. As the film is played various themes are outlined. One of the main themes throughout the film is stereotyping. In the film Stereotyping plays a main part, portraying different styles of life and how people deal and live with them. There is a huge contrast between every character as each one is unique and lives a different lifestyle. By dealing with this main theme of stereotyping Hughes had made a film that had become a cult classic.

Another key theme outlined by the film is the maturing or coming of age. At the start of the film all the relationships between the characters are very difficult. As the film gradually goes on the relationships build up and they become friends. At the start of the film the characters are very antagonistic. Another theme outlined by the film is the sympathy towards the characters. Characters start to open up as the film moves along and as some stories of their life spills out.

The hero of the film has to be the bender played by Judd Nelson the criminal of the film. Judd Nelson gives a convincing performance of 'Bender' the criminal. He managed to sway from angry to emotional - making you feel for him when he is describing what things are like in his life. The princess in the film is Claire Standish played by Molly Ringwald. In the film she is somewhat reserved and tries her hardest not to reveal too much information about herself. She seems to be insecure during the course of the film until the end, by finally getting together with bender (Judd Nelson). Throughout the film she doesn't like the way her life is and seems to not be able to love herself. Andrew Clark (Emilio Estevez) is your typical athlete on the wrestling team. He seems to be happy in his life apart from another of the key themes in the film which is parental pressure. The parental pressure for him mainly coming from his dad. He makes Andrew seem unloved and unwanted in his life and wanting him to do one thing only, wrestle, making his life a misery. A day in detention in the breakfast club helps him to solve this problem over confrontation. Allison Reynolds (Ally Sheedy) is the final member of The Breakfast Club to be introduced to us. She is certainly the most strangest of all the characters and is quite a content, quite character to start off with. Whenever spoken, it is at her defence of any comment made by the other characters. She suffers from boredom and loneliness, and on top of this is reserved. Brian Johnson (Anthony Michael Hall) is the geek of the group. He is also pressured by parents to do well in life, but in his case to achieve the highest possible grades in his education. Brian is constantly pressured by his parents to do well in school, and this backfires upon receiving a bad grade. The Breakfast Club showed Brian that others have it much worse than him, which built up his confidence.

The other two character that star in the movie and are the janitor and the principal. The janitor Carl is played by John Kapelos. He plays the "eyes and ear of this institution". The last character in the movie is the head teacher Richard Vernon played by Paul Gleason. He always wants to be the one in power and this is shown where he is squared up against bender making out he wanted to fight. He is also known for his vainness ways and how much that he loves himself.

My own personal review on The Breakfast club would be that it is a good eighties flick with many morals and images created by the film. It is famous for its theme coming of age and life captured at a teenagers point of view and still to this day is well known and rated highly. Hughes has created a masterpiece of work. The breakfast club is to this day regarded as one of the best films to be made in the eighties.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
John Hughes Brilliance
sarcasm_is_me12 September 2006
this is quite simply my favorite movie of all time made more credible by the fact that it took Hughes just two days to finish the script, the acting is believable, it is nice to see Molly Ringwald playing a character other then the "loseR" or "reject" despite wanted the role of the "basketcase" originally, she is perfect as the "princess", judd nelson is perfect casting as the "criminal" as are the rest of castings in the movie. The story is a good use of stereotypwes to show the idiosynchrisies of hih school and in particular the harsh reality of pressure on teenagers and the complications they face in everyday life. the scenes are realistic and it is worthwhile and entertaining way to spend a couple of hours. whether you want to laugh, cry or dance. the breakfast club is a great showing from start to finish. 100000000000000000000000000000 kudos!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Unrealistic
CareALotsClouds28 March 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Im not going to go into a summary because you already know what its about. Lets get right to it. It was just plain unrealistic, all of the characters were. The actors were over melodramatic and all they did was blame the parents. I didn't care for any of the characters and it had one of the weakest endings I have ever seen. The princess and the rebel just... got together at the end for no reason at all, they actually hated each other but the next minute they were together. Worse than that, the jock and the weirdo hadnt said two words to each other yet they got together, just because she got a make over. There is no cleverness here, since each character has no development, but are just stereotyped. Yes the criminal is mean, yes the jock is cocky, yes the princess is stuck up, yes the nerd is nerdy and yes the weirdo is weird. And that people are your characters, and thats as far as it goes. There was a subplot between the Teacher and the care taker, but it was left unfinished!! A very bad film. Don't waste your time. I gave it 4 out of 10 to be fair... for the few weak laughs that it brings.
45 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Breakfast club is a movie from the 1980's about the complicated relationships between teenagers of different social groups.
haisle0123 June 2011
I noticed the teenagers had quite a bit in common once they had started to interact during their detention, although they hadn't realized it yet. Once they started sharing the all of their pasts and their pain you feel a sense of sadness and sympathy.

If I had to compare "The Breakfast Club" to another movie I'd compare it to "Never Been Kissed" and "10 Things I Hate About You." Both of these are great movies as well as "The Breakfast Club," and all these movies are based on the same themes. There all movies on teen relationships, fitting in, social identities, and getting made fun of because you're not "cool" enough. These are all awesome movies that I would highly recommend watching and taking something from them.

I think the message people should take from this movie is that everyone has a different social identity, none of them being right or wrong, and maybe students should start being more accepting of others. There are always reasons for why people are the way they are, and maybe if we gave different people a chance we could be more understanding.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not nearly as good as I remember (and AWFUL for girls)
chersull_9912 March 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I rented this movie to watch with my 15 year old. I was a college freshman the year it was released and I haven't seen it since. I remember it making some big powerful statement. Well, I ended up feeling pretty embarrassed watching this with my kid. All it really did this time around was make it clear how far we've come with representing youth cinematically since people like Cameron Crowe have come on the scene.

The Breakfast Club now seems amateurish, laughably overacted and over-scored (Judd Nelson's speech about this family beating on him) and just well, again, pretty embarrassing.

Additionally, it offered a pretty sh**ty message for young women. Molly Ringwald ends up sucking face with a guy who verbally abuses her all day...and Ally Sheedy ends up with a guy who would have been embarrassed to be seen with her until Molly Ringwald made her into a mini-me. Geez, makes you realize how an entire generation of supposedly liberated women ended up marrying guys who treat them like garbage, and are now addicted to plastic surgery.

I think the only thing the Breakfast Club is good for anymore is to look back upon, roll our eyes a bit and be proud of how far we've come!
56 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mix Fixations With Detention And You Get Candor!!!
dataconflossmoor30 May 2007
The cast in this movie is sensational!! It stars: Anthony Michael Hall, Ally Sheedy, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Judd Nelson!! The nefarious escapades which took place at this typical north suburban high school in the Chicago area, garnered a fascination with the movie viewer in 1985!! What this movie accomplishes, is the homogenization of teenage attitudes and trepidations which formidably afflict all of these barely post pubic adolescents, at a firmly entrenched, grass roots level!! The plot focuses on a detention on a Saturday morning that all of these kids have to serve..The cross section of "delinquents" so to speak, include: The student, the athlete, the princess, the basket case, and the criminal!! The student, Anthony Michael Hall, is besieged with lofty assumptions concerning his predetermined success.. Why is this so bothersome? There is nothing above the grade A! The athlete, Emilio Estevez, (Just being related to a Sheen, makes him talented) is hounded by the quest for stellar accomplishments merely because he is suppose to be the "ultimate man"! The princess, Molly Ringwald, (As synonymous with the 80's as Duran Duran and deficit spending) was the spoiled rich girl, her hang ups with being enormously popular, brought on a myriad of potentially fatal insecurities!! The basket case, Ally Sheedy, will do anything for attention, eventually, being sort of "creepy" has to lose the mystique that might be associated with it! Finally, the criminal, Judd Nelson, ("Suddenly Susan") who had the largest role of any actor or actress in this movie, his character was one depicting a malcontent who was disgruntled with a capital D!!! The precarious camaraderie which all of them seem to share is the burden of identity displacement The question all of them are pondering is: How did everyone get to be like everybody else? Watch the movie, and you will know what I am talking about! I found this movie to have an appropriately intense dialog!! The concise delivery on many of the crucial points that this film purported were totally convincing!! The poignant portrayal of the supercilious social perspectives, which pertained to these five teenagers, for this movie, were astutely formatted with an acrimoniously succinct realism! Also, the only aspects that delved into the obtuse with "The Breakfast Club" were deliberate!!! The movie depicted an extremity of candid feelings that evoked a bevy of demonstrative inhibitions by all of the characters in this film! Their fervor was effective, not to mention, absolutely phenomenal in terms of their feasibility!! "The Breakfast Club" is considered to be a 1980's classic! This film signified a radical shift in material priorities from the Woodstock era! High School kids were different, however, they were no less complex! One of the biggest problems which these high school kids are faced with is that they have to listen to each other, because, by and large, nobody in the outside world, really listens to them!! Unrealistic expectations were the culprit to emotional dissatisfaction with all five teenagers' societal plight!! "Breakfast Club" was a proverbial instance of whereby a dash of powerful and esoteric philosophies about adolescent attitudes did, indeed, go a long way. The positive identification with the 1980's is ubiquitous in this film. Every decade has a unique cultural mindset, "Breakfast Club" contributed to the trademark of 80's idealism. It is always enlightening when the comprehension of another individual is impetuous, as well as successfully humanistic while evaluating someone's tertiary responses. When these five teenagers served a detention on a Saturday morning, they wound up becoming the recipients of an auspicious life lesson! I would have to say that I like "Breakfast Club" better every time I see it! Amongst all of the other attributes it possesses, "The Breakfast Club" is extraordinarily funny! Best line in the movie: Judd Nelson says to Molly Ringwald "You won't let a guy stick his tongue down your throat, but you can eat sushi!" Remarkable movie!! PLEASE SEE THIS FILM!!
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed