Neighbours (TV Series 1985– ) Poster

(1985– )

User Reviews

Review this title
68 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Better than Home and Away.
ratzcatcher30 November 2005
When in comes to Australian television series, Neighbours is a legend. From what began as humble beginnings way back in early 1985 this program has survived the test of time. Originally broadcast on Channel Seven the show was axed after just five months and was sold to Ten in 1986. The rest is history. This program has launched the careers of many Australians most notably, Kylie Minogue, Jason Donovan, Guy Pearce, Natalie Imbruglia, Holly Vallance and Delta Goodrem. Whilst not as popular as its hey day in the late 1980's and somewhat unrecognisable from 1985, Neighbours continues to deliver strong story lines and keeps on keeping on. Heres to another 20 years.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Australia's Global Series
rhys_oz8 October 2002
"Neighbours", contrary to many peoples' opinions, is a well acted and well crafted soap opera. It is its timeslot in the UK among children's programmes which has been a caused for some critics to label it "cheap teens soap" - but in many countries "Neighbours" earns a prime time slot. "Neighbours'" daily screening in more than 57 countries with a daily audience in excess of 120 million viewers is testament to its success. In a television world dominated by soap operas, "Neighbours" has always remained close to its original concept by soap-master Reg Watson.

"Neighbours" has produced a host of actors who have graduated from "Ramsay Street" to become world-wide celebrities, most notably Kylie Minogue (Charlene Mitchell); Jason Donovan (Scott Robinson); Guy Pearce (Mike Young); Natalie Imbruglia (Beth Brennan) and Holly Valance (Felicity Scully). Its mix of children, young adults, parents and grandparents has ensured fascination for all generations, and the show has succeeded far beyond its creator's expectations - especially in Britian where it was bought as a daytime 'filler' programme for the BBC in 1986.

"Neighbours" celebrated the filming of its landmark 4000th episode in December 2001, firmly making it Australia's longest running series, and one of the World's most popular and acclaimed television programmes. With the addition of actors such as Janet Andrewartha, Maggie Millar and Madeleine West, as well as old favourites Tom Oliver; Ian Smith, Jackie Woodburne and Alan Fletcher, this success can only continue.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Absolutely hilarious!
hazzapooter3 June 2004
Unlike many British soaps, which are all doom and gloom, Neighbors adds some much needed comedy to weekday afternoons. It is impossible for Neighbors to produce a serious event as arguments, fights, and, yes, even deaths and funerals are presented in such a way that you just have to laugh. A factor which I can conclude is largely influenced by the hilarious sound track underlying almost every event, scene opening and scene closing. It is true that much of the acting is also pretty laughable- but this is just one of the traits which makes this such a relaxed and familiar soap. Many of the story lines can, again, be pretty weak, but with so much comedy- who cares if they are a little off the wall? This is a fab soap which is highly addictive. I would, and am, seriously recommend it to absolutely anyone and everyone!
34 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
As good/bad as it ever was
tonygillan14 September 2003
People say this show is not as good as it was. They are wrong. The standard of drama has never slipped from abysmal from day one. A sort of hybrid between 'Crossroads' and 'The Beano'.

It has always entertained me. What I like about it best, is that I get home and am not provided with any challenge to my brain whatsoever. Good. Who ever got anywhere by being forced to think?

The only regression is the theme song. Bring back the cheesy pub piano and the even cheesier line 'Next door is only a footstep away'. That's poetry that is.
29 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best and worst show ever
mr_me20 April 2006
I LOVE Neighbours, it is the best form of escapism ever, with it's ridiculous story lines, laughable characters and the over the top drama. It really is the highlight of the evening after a hard days work. In the UK, other viewers come home from work to get depressed by watching Coronation Street and Eastenders, other choose to be cheered up by Neighbours.

The average character only seems to last two years, although there are still a few long term ones left. Characters are guaranteed to have either a spectacular departure, or go on a cruise/honeymoon/sci-fi convention/help out on parents farm and never come back.

Hilarious recent story lines include Susan seducing a priest, the musical, the plane crash, Harold's dead daughters double, the evil twin, anything to do with Harold and his trombone and Sindi's transformation into a mental patient.
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Entertainment
kurflunk2 July 2006
Possibly the most entertaining 20 minutes of any given day and surely the most under-rated TV programme alive today. Summery, shiny, honest 5 day a week Australian soap opera set in Ramsay Street, Erinsborough (Melbourne, allegedly) A launchpad for much talent, featuring addictive, irritatingly, lovable, joyful story lines and characters. A programme which requires minimal concentration, but has a sense of decency and humour like no other. Generally ridiculed, but secretly appreciated. Held together by the more reliable older experienced actors, but allows younger guys a chance to own their story lines and see what they can do. At times banal, but quite charming, warm and wonderful. In short - NEIGHBOURS ROCKS!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brilliant
arabesuku18 January 2005
I am a very good fan of Neighbours. I am not a soap-addict, one of those people who always have to see every soap on the television, nor one of those who does nothing but watch television. In fact, I am one of those who watches little television, and still this has been one of the only things I like to see. I watch it when I come home from school, some other friends of mine do too. This has some great story lines, some that a few of us can relate to, from worries about parenting to sexuality confusion to trying to fit in at school, etc. There are plenty of stories to keep the viewer interested. Although some seem a bit far-fetched, this show is still very good and keeps me entertained throughout each 30 minute episode. I recommend this to anyone who wants to see a good soap. Beware, you may get stuck on this one.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dippi
tannyg9 August 2018
Please, please, please do something about Dippi. Her super annoying cockiness is driving me crazy. I fast forward everything related to hef
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The greatest soap ever.
ilovecaffeine11 February 2001
Despite the many negative comments here, Neighbours is still an amazing programme. It always manages to get 10 million viewers a day so that must be saying something. Anyway, I admit that the show has depleted in quality since the arrival of the Scully family, but if you want a taste of when it was amazing, try UK Gold at either 12:30 in the afternoon or 4:30 in the early evening. The episodes showing currently are from late 1994, featuring classic characters such as Philip, Julie, Lou, Cheryl, Annalise etc. Neighbours is still an extremely enjoyable show, and although the storylines are corny and it seems there is lack of continuity, this is only because the BBC cut the programme so much. Storylines we have missed out on are excellent ones such as Lucy and Glenn's incest, Libby's rape, part of Cheryl being held hostage, Cheryl's death (we actually missed seeing her role over the car), Julie's attempt to seduce her husband Philip etc. These are all amazing storylines, but we missed out on them. So, you cannot possibly say Neighbours is bad when it hasn't been given a fair chance. If anything, it must be amazing for the BBC to cut inappropriate storylines. Think about it.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
That's when good Neighbours become c-grade television
richdvk2 September 2003
Like many I have watched Neighbours since it first started when I was a kid and although I watch it nearly every day it's sad to admit it is past it's peak. Things started going pear-shaped since around 2000 after we lost Billy, Anne, Lance, Sarah Beaumont, Amy and eventually Paul and Joel. There seemed to be a real feeling of fun and togetherness until these guys left and then it fell flat on it's arse. Then they bought in the Hancocks as a replacement. What a success that was! Thankfully they couldn't afford to stay and left but it still seems disintegrated and formulaic now with most of the cast seeming nice but characterless and all much the same. It also seems to be nearly exclusively filmed in the same places and during the day now which takes away somewhat from the atmosphere. Get some new writers please! Or at least bring out the late 90's episodes on DVD so we can reminisce of Billy & Anne's eventful camping trip, Paul and Harold's debut as the ear shattering Tuba Electrica, and games of cricket out on the street.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just terrible awful awful awful awful
irishswan-230798 February 2019
Seriously, whom ever came up with this just terrible program should be shot into the sun, its such an awful awful awful awful awful awful awful awful awful awful show and the actors are just terrible, that's the reason you very rarely see any of them in anything else, this program is for morons cause its full of them. The characters and story lines are so so so so so so so terrible, please god if ur up there please put an end to this awful show and the clowns in it especially big forehead bea, one of the worst actors and characters,if any of those actors had any decency they should go walkabout for around 50 years.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, Just TERRIBLE
NeverAgain8524 November 2009
I first started watching Neighbours when I met my girlfriend about 2 years ago because she watched it. Ever since, it has been attached to me like a parasite (along with Home and Away). First off, it has to be the most unrealistic show, along with the most annoying inlikable characters who act like complete and utter fairies, The same dialogue is portrayed in every episode. The acting is decent however, but thats not the point. The stories are like there from the another universe that would rarely come into another persons life. The character Zeke for example is the most head-wrecking person to ever exist,ever notice in every scene,all he does is complain,most lightly because he has never got laid, and he blames everyone else because of it. I don't want to express my hate, but I am, its a terrible show, just AAAAAAAAAGH!!. It makes me want to vomit over and over when people like this are licking each others a*s the whole time (Carl and Susan) One episode is enough for a lifetime, wait, no, one scene...
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If Neighbours was a food it would be a cyanide laced sewerage pie
gir-2419 July 2008
Boring one dimension characters, pathetic writing, recycled predicable story lines, I'm trying to figure out how a show this bad can stay on the air for so long, the only explanation I can come up with is UK audiences must love it, they are tad more retarded than Australian audiences so this would be a reasonable conclusion as nobody I know that I've spoken to here watches it.

People must think I'm exaggerating when I say this show is bad, I'm not, I myself didn't realise how bad it was until I was watching TV one afternoon, I didn't know what it was I was watching but I said to myself: "Man this show is even worse than Neighbours!" When the ad break finished I was somewhat bemused to find out that it actually was Neighbours, it was a repeat of an earlier episode.

Acting is terrible, but I'm not sure if it's due the actors themselves or the abysmal writing so I'm really not certain if I should feel sorry for them or be disgusted by them, though I have to say some of them look truly embarrassed to be there.

As I said the story lines are nothing but recycled predicable crap, you know the drill, boy meets girl, boy and girl flirt ad nauseam, boy kisses girl, girl fights with boy, girl breaks up with boy, rinse wash repeat, honestly the writers of this show should be blasted from a cannon into the sun… there's nothing original here.

OK so how to rate something as bad a s Neighbours, well I rated it one, only because you can't rate it any lower, I really wanted to rate it -1 for every year it's been on air, 20+ years of nothing but crap… I can't wait for this show to be axed just knowing it exists disturbs me on so many levels, I find it odd that some people say this show used to be good, it was never good!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet another show degraded by time
atomius1 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
As with many of our current 'dramas', and i admit i never watch them much, Neighbours has fallen with age into the decaying modern age, and with it, any hope of remaining a good watch. The life of the families of Ramsay Street is anything but entertaining, and as with all 'soap opera dramas' it is extremely shallow, a character may hate someone one minute and love them the next, etc. Due to this i would hardly even look at it's name on a TV guide. However, because it is Australian... Due to it being set in Australia rather than America or Britain (where incidentally for a long time it was a smashing hit, old chap) it IS more down to earth, and it is more realistic, but the margin is thinning year by year. As with all soap dramas, it's pathetic excuses of cliffhangers and good acting put to waste in unbelievably stupid scenes makes it hardly worth watching, if at all. Seriously, watch the news and do yourself a favor. That's REAL drama!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dire
gs011b252419 April 2002
I hate Neighbours, I think it's one of the worst soaps ever. It is poorly acted, with rubbish sets and blander than bland characters. It says a lot for a programme when one of the most fondly regarded characters is a dog, in this instance the lovely Bouncer. It used to be enjoyable in a trashy way, but now it is frankly dire. The problem with soaps is that there are only so many times you can run the same storylines without becoming boring, and Neighbours is a prime example. It just rehashes the same limp and improbable plots over and over. Neighbours is cheap rubbish, and needs to be put to rest. It is only memorable for introducing Australian talents who have gone on to better things.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
didn't mind it at first... now it's just crap!
skip_7644 July 2006
Firstly, I'll give an outline of the show in a few words (spoilers: maybe). A bunch of people live on fictional Ramsay street who all suffer a whole bunch of of tragedies from breakups to deaths. There... that's it.

When I first started watching it I didn't mind it at all, it wasn't to bad, then it started getting crap. How many times can you come up with the same storyline? To demonstrate... I'll just show some of the story lines that are repeated a couple of billion times a year. Consequently, this can also give a general outline of the plots for several years to come from now. If you wanted to know what happens with neighbours next year, this is it!

1.someone accidentally gets pregnant.

2.a young teenaged couple get together generally followed by a messy and horrible breakup (as an example, Goodrem/ and that black haired dude whose name I can't remember).

3.someone gets married... followed by some tragedy and/ or death.

4.or... my favorite... someone dies!

Still... occasionally there are some original story lines that pop up in the show, none of which made me continue watching. You can only do the same story so many times.

I agree with one of the reviewers when they said that the most interesting characters are the pets. I think my favorite at the moment is the scully dog (if he is still there). They are more interesting than the actors, most of which are not very good (there are a few exceptions) and make me want to laugh at the show every time I accidentally come across it.

well... just to finish off and to put it in a nutshell, the show would be more interesting if it weren't shown 364 out of 365 days of the year. (I might be over exaggerating that number, but I'm sure it comes pretty close).
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Used to be so good
sg27902 April 2007
I am so angry at the writers of neighbours. For years i have come home from school and watched this quality Australian soap. However recently it has gone down down down.

They have introduced too many new characters, filled with too many cliché stories, im not even going to waste my time explaining them. At the moment it is so boring and predictable to watch.

The original characters are slowly fading away now and it really isn't worth watching.

If you are a new neighbours watcher you will most likely watch this, if you were a loyal neighbours fan, probably haven't watched it for a while, don't bother watching it you will be deeply upset but its catastrohic downfall.(if thats spelt right)

ARGH!
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
THE soap
studioAT10 September 2010
Neighbours seems to be going through a tough time of late but I still think that it's better than many of the other soaps on TV because it maintains it's basic charm and the characters are always real and fun to spend time watching.

Everyone has a favourite moment from the series or a character that they loved and this is testament to the great writing and performers who have graced Ramsey Street over the years. From bombs to car crashes we've watched it all unfold with the same sparkle that makes Neighbours so special.

Home and Away may get all the hype by Neighbours is still the best place to be at five thirty in England.

Happy Birthday Neighbours - the best is surely still to come.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Harold Bishop...
bigrubberwilly5 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
...wasn't dead.

Yup. You read it here first.

No need to read any other reviews.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Roxy
bevbeedie21 August 2019
I have watched neighbours from day 1 Since you brought that actress in to play Roxy I can't watch it She is the most irritating person on a soap I've seen in years I turn off when she is on Please tell me she is not a regular
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How the mighty have fallen...
llewellynf19748 August 2019
I watched Neighbours religiously, everyday after coming home from school, 535 pm - 635 pm on BBC1 from 1988 - 2000. The storylines and the characters were amazing and you could relate to them.

Due to various reasons, I didn't have the time to watch TV as much and earlier this year whilst visiting my parents, I caught an episode which Mum was watching. My Good God...what a load horse crap!! Yes, the acting was wooden back when I watched it but now - it looks so fake and the actors/actresses look like they pulled out of the unemployment queue and stuck in front of the camera. As usual, like most things on TV now - the curse of Political Correctness has struck - but I'm not going to waste time on this.

The only character on this once decent show who had any talent was Bouncer, that lovely golden Labrador! As another reviewer said, it's time this show was put out to pasture and the cast either pensioned off or humanely euthanised!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Reality?
iangeofk14 April 2017
I would be sorry to see this pantomime disappear as it's pure fantasy! A high school principal and teachers who are never there, a business now run by a pregnant university student who has never been there or done any studying and a schoolgirl, the office of mayor which can be filled by anyone. But they are almost believable compared to Father Jack! The producers' ignorance about the Catholic church and priesthood is beyond amazing, it is utterly ludicrous. Jack behaves like a self employed social worker and now the Good Friday "interfaith service" is just too much.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Neighbours
WMedits15 January 2015
good show! They have good story lines and the actors are great. I don't know how they record. At least this comedy goes well beyond the bunch of creative revenge ploys that these next-door nemeses wreak on each other. Neighbors isn't straight-As, bring-down-the-house smart-funny, but it's no drop-out, sprawling, lame block party of a flick either. It's Byrne who's Rogen's partner in crime, and she's the brains behind the operation ... a refreshing change of pace in a genre that usually relegates ladies to the nag role. The good news is that with Neighbors, you get the movie you're promised, and it's funny; the better news is that Neighbors is also so much smarter than that ; its high points far outshine the low ones,
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Perfect Soap
info-549-1811757 December 2012
Neighbours is the perfect escapism from dull, stressful reality. The plots are interesting and varied, not too protracted, and the acting is of a high quality. All those who look down their noses at soaps take note, this series has been going nearly 30 years.

Paul Robinson is the perfect bad boy and delightful to watch; Chris is someone you just want to hug, you're desperate for a; Vanessa and Lucas to get together, and b; Karl and Susan to get BACK together, and you just wish somewhere like Harold's or Charlie's actually existed.

All in all, the perfect mix of humour, good meaty plots, and escapism.

Long may it reign!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Loved it at first but realised I hated it in the end
Irishchatter14 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I first started watching Neighbours when I was 12 in 2005 or 2006. It was so much better then because the actors and characters were the right ones to be on the set and everything was picture perfect! Loved the old Theme song and loved them over and over again. But then, when I was 14 in 2009, the characters were killed off the show and even the actors which made it into a mess. The neighbors crew got people that haven't a clue of acting and are staying there which they should've been gone long ago! I first started watching Neighbours when I was 12 in 2005 or 2006. It was so much better then because the actors and characters were the right ones to be on the set and everything was picture perfect! Loved the old Theme song and loved them over and over again. But then, when I was 14 in 2009, the characters were killed off the show and even the actors which made it into a mess so I stopped watching it altogether even my friend agreed about this! The neighbors crew got people that haven't a clue of acting and are staying there which they should've been gone long ago! I'm not blaming on the present actors but I'm blaming the writers for mocking this up. I know it's nice to have a change around and not get sick of the old characters but I'm not that sort of person. I would love if the writers got on their bikes and make it better again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed