Blazing Saddles (1974) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
404 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Trailblazing "Saddles"
slokes14 December 2003
A few years ago, Broadway producers decided to adapt a Mel Brooks comedy and made a bundle. Could it happen again with 'Blazing Saddles?' The movie already has four great songs; a half-dozen more of similar caliber would make for a strong score. 'Blazing Saddles' has a ready-made cast of over-the-top characters, strong audience identification, and some minor problems for a theatrical production (like blowing up the phony Rock Ridge) which are easily overcome.

But 'The Producers' was a cult film that never made it to Main Street and needed the second act of a Broadway musical to give it a place in popular culture. 'Blazing Saddles' could never open again as big as it did in 1974. In the summer of Watergate and Patty Hearst, here was one bit of madness people could enjoy. And it wasn't just random kookiness, but a film that broke barriers and courted controversy like no other major-release film of its time. No other movie had characters that were basically likable if stupid throwing around the 'N' word before. In fact, it hasn't happened since (and I doubt it would on Broadway today.) The whole notion of white people and black people living together was not new, but the approach of 'Blazing Saddles' was certainly new. In order to live together, we have to laugh together first. The only way this film was not a trailblazer was in that it blazed trails untaken by any film that came after.

Was Cleavon Little then a civil rights pioneer for the 1970s, in a way Martin Luther King and Malcolm X were the decade before? He's very good, bringing a lightness to the role that's equal parts Shaft and Bugs Bunny. Richard Pryor was one of the film's writers and Brooks' first choice for Sheriff Bart, but Pryor wouldn't have played the role in the same smooth way. Little is an amiable actor, one step ahead but never cocky about it. He makes for a sympathetic center, and he is flash in those corduroy threads.

Little didn't work much after 'Blazing Saddles,' which makes no sense. It was only the highest-grossing Western of all time, and Little was the lead actor in it. Maybe institutional racism wasn't the sole cause. After all, he had a distractingly rock-solid cast around him, particularly Harvey Korman as Attorney General Hedley Lamarr. Growing up in the '70s, it was a shock the first time I saw the unedited 'Blazing Saddles' with all the casual vulgarity spewing from the mouth of Tim Conway's slapstick buddy on the ultra G-rated 'Carol Burnett Show.' 'You will be only risking your lives, whilst I will be risking an almost-certain Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor,' he tells his gang before they ride off to pillage Rock Ridge. If only the Academy didn't penalize comedies so, that might have been true.

Madeline Kahn did get nominated for Lili Von Shtupp, and deserved her Laurel and Hardy handshake for sure. Her Baba Wawa meets Marlene Dietrich performance is a comic masterpiece, and it takes guts to wear that dead-weed lingerie in which she performs 'I'm So Tired.' Slim Pickens (Taggart), Burton Gilliam (Lyle), Dom DeLuise (Buddy), and Brooks himself as 'the Gov' all shine, and the level of comic acting remains high all the way to the smallest roles, like the guy playing Hitler ('They lose me right after the bunker scene') and the cowboy who chews gum in line ('I didn't know there was gonna be so many people!')

Gene Wilder is a little young and ironic for the bitter ex-gunslinger known as the Waco Kid, but he grows into the role well enough. Certainly he was in tune with what Brooks was doing more than Gig Young or Dan Dailey would have been (Brooks' earlier choices for the part, with Young making it all the way to the first day's shooting before it was discovered he wasn't just acting the part of a hopeless drunk.)

'Blazing Saddles' doesn't make the IMDb top 250, but it's still one of the most significant video titles because it rewards repeat viewings so well. The wholeness of the film's comic spectacle is too dense to be absorbed in one viewing, especially when you are laughing too hard. It's a cultural landmark, yes, but it's even funnier now than it was 30 years ago, one of the funniest comedies that exist today. Making it into a musical now would almost be demeaning, but I suspect it will happen anyway.
118 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hey! The sheriff is a ni... BONG!!!!
TOMASBBloodhound16 March 2005
Remember the days when humanity could laugh at itself? Blazing Saddles is a film that takes us all back to a more innocent era. An era where PC was just a couple of letters stuck together. I'll get this out of the way first: To all of you pc commies out there... the racism in this film is there to MAKE THE WHITE PEOPLE THE BUTT OF THE JOKES!!!! There is not a single person of color in this film who plays a negative character. The rednecks are what this film is really making fun of. I think most people realize this (hence the 7.7), but there are still a few who don't.

This is such a funny film. From the opening scene along the railroad tracks to the shot of Gene Wilder and Cleavon Little riding off into the sunset in a limo, the film provides an endless stream of laughs. Every time a person views this film, they can notice something truly hilarious that they may have missed the last time. Mel Brooks doesn't always hit the mark with his comedy, but this film was by far his best effort.

Cleavon Little and Harvey Korman give the best performances in my opinion. I think Cleavon Little stole every scene in every film I saw him in. He died way too young, and I wish he could have acted in more films. Korman's Hedley Lamar character is a real hoot. By the end of my most stressful days at work, I often find myself talking to everyone in his voice. So evil, and so calculating! He and Slim Pickens played off each other flawlessly.

Good luck catching an un-edited version of this classic anywhere but on the DVD. Forget about any kind of an effective remake, either. Not in this day and age.

Don't miss this film! 10 of 10 stars.

So sayeth the Hound.
195 out of 232 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Excuse me while I whip this out." Dead-pan funny
Quinoa198416 June 2000
Blazing Saddles is one of the funniest movies to not only to come from Mel Brooks, but from cinema itself. Film stars Cleavon Little as a regular black laborer, but then a villain (Heldey Lamarr is perfectly played by Harvey Korman) wants to move a community out of the town Rockridge. So, he brings Cleavon in to make the people leave (the people in town are racist including the line: "The sherrif is a nig! "What'd he say?" "He said the sherrif's a near). Funny story, funny jokes (the farting sequence is ahead of it's time for 1974) and 2 breakthroughs- Madedline Kahn in a Oscar nominated performance as Von Shtupp and shines through. The other is Richard Pryor, who co-writes the script with Brooks and Andrew Bergman. Hilarious, forever. A+
120 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"That's Hedly, not Hedy..."
ryan_kuhn13 February 2005
Mel Brooks found a way in 1974 to direct two of the greatest comedies of all time. And in that one year, he found a way to cram as many movie parodies, and not have any overlap, as any director can in Young Frankenstein and Blazing Saddles. What Young Frankenstein was to the 1930s horror movies Blazing Saddles was to the Westerns of the 1960s. And add in there the oppression of blacks during the same time, and you have a biting satire on the role of blacks in society, if not in 1974, at least the way it was in 1874. Cleavon Little (by the way, he's black) plays Bart, a slave laborer for Hedley Lamarr's (Harvey Korman in a GREAT performance as a scheming government employee) railroad who needs to cut through the town of Rock Ridge for completion. The townspeople won't sell their land, so Lamarr has the sheriff killed and replaced with Bart. He's not really welcomed into the town, but with help from Jim, the Waco Kid (Gene Wilder) he is able to earn's the town's trust. Standard plot, and a plot that does not really matter. The humor is so scatological, from so many periods of time, that we know it's a movie, and the characters in the movie know they are in a movie. Take Slim Pickens when he cries out "What in the wide world of sports is going on here?" And the final 10 minutes of the movie is just odd in any other movie, but somehow works in Blazing Saddles. So much humor is cut out of the TV versions, so don't waste your time with it. It has to be seen with the language and "sexually suggestive" scenes to be fully appreciated.
65 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An All-Time Classic
Sargebri29 March 2003
Whenever I look at this film I laugh so hard that somtimes tears come to my eyes. Brooks manages to do with this film what Young Frankenstien did to classic horror films. The thing that really works is all the in jokes laced throughout the film. This shows that the cast and crew were really having fun in writing and producing this film. But the main credit should go to the late Cleavon Little. He was perfect as Bart. He took the role when many thought it should have gone to Richard Pryor (who was a co-writer on the film). However, I think Pryor might have been a little too over the top for the role. Little played it more low key and not as militant as Pryor might have.

Also, this film was rated R when it was first released back in 1974. Today it probably would get either a P.G. or, at most, a P.G.-13 rating.
84 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Where the white women at?"
the-jerk6 August 2005
1974 was a very good year for the team of Mel Brooks and Gene Wilder; their "Young Frankenstein" (which came out in 1974) is one of the funniest movies ever made, and "Blazing Saddles" (same year) is almost just behind it. It's a bit overrated (but just a bit); I know a lot of people look on this as the funniest movie of all time, but I can't go THAT far. But it is ONE of the funniest movies of all time, and for two such movies by the same director, with the same star, to come out the same year, to be on that list is quite an achievement.

The residents of Rock Ridge (all named Johnson) need a new sheriff. They get one... Bart, played by Cleavon Little, who happens to be black. It's all planned out by Hedley Lamarr (don't call him Heddy!), an employee of the governor (Mel Brooks), in a plot to run the residents out of town so he can have a railroad run through it. At first, the townsfolk aren't happy about this development, but when Bart endeavors to save them from the evil Lamarr, who's played to slimy perfection by Harvey Korman, they warm up to him. Also thrown into the mix is Wilder as "The Waco Kid", a gunslinger who's lost his knack for shooting, Alex Karras as a huge idiot named Mongo , and Madeline Khan as Lily von Schtupp, a parody of Marlene Dietrich, complete with ridiculous German accent. She stands out heads and shoulders above everybody else in this movie, I think, and her song "I'm Tired" ("I'm not a wabbit! I need some west!") is possibly the funniest song ever to appear in a film. This is no doubt the funniest part Madeline Khan has ever had (and she ALSO appeared in "Young Frankenstein"!). It's also a kick to see a pre-"Magnum PI" John Hillerman as Howard Johnson, with an ice cream shop with a sign that screams "1 Flavor"; and Slim Pickens (Taggart, another bad guy) is always a hoot.

The plot is just an excuse to make fun of westerns, racism, and movie-making in general, as demonstrated in the extremely wacky, fourth-wall breaking finale (Watch for Dom DeLuise in these scenes). None of this is really supposed to make sense or be realistic, it's just supposed to be funny, and for the most part it is. It's one of the crassest and crudest mainstream movies in history, and that's it's strength; it often plays just like a Mad movie parody. One example of this that really sticks out is the famous farting scene, which somehow manages to be one of the funniest scenes in the movie, and probably the funniest fart scene ever. But the focus is on the way blacks were treated in the post-Civil War old west, and the movie is merciless in the way it has its ignorant white characters treat the black characters, throwing the n-word around without abandon and giving them the dirty work (at one point, a character says "We can't afford to lose any horses! Send a couple of n****rs!"). The movie finds its heart in the way the initially racist townspeople of Rock Ridge become fond of their black sheriff.

Its spirit, however, is in the hilarious and crude jokes that are thrown all through. This is one funny movie, and with Mel Brooks, that's what's really important.
58 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Blazing Saddles
Coxer9912 May 1999
Howling comedy from Mel Brooks about the Old West with a script that keeps you laughing all the way through and a cast of characters right up there with the Marx Brothers. Kahn is especially tempting as a Marlene Dietrich-like performer, while director Brooks has a fine little cameo as a befuddled and distracted governor. The skits and sight gags are constant. One of the funniest films ever made!
54 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Film That Made Brooks A Star
ccthemovieman-13 April 2006
Mel Brooks made several very popular and memorable films in the '70s but I doubt any was more popular than this one. Made just several years after the morals' code had been lifted in Hollywood, it was able to provide humor in a new and shocking way. People could fart, swear, have old ladies use the n- word, men could punch horses in the face, make fun of any religion, creed, race or whatever was there to make fun of ...in other words, no holds barred when it came to trying to get a laugh. Nothing was sacred at this time in Hollywood history and few capitalized on this as well as Brooks, especially with this film.

The film doesn't have much shock value anymore but it's still fun to watch and probably always will be, thanks to the outrageous characterizations in here.

On the negative side, especially if don't know Brooks does whatever he can to get a laugh and isn't all that political, this film might be too politically-correct with its reverse racism, bias against religion and overly crude situations.

But - a big but - there are so many funny lines in here, so many funny scenes you never forget and never fail to laugh no matter how many times you see it (the campfire scene alone has made men cry in laughter for 30 years) that you can overlook about anything in here.

In summary, a true "classic" guaranteed to entertain for many more years to come.
63 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
shame on AMC
bill-68810 December 2009
I keep hoping that one of these times, AMC will show an un-edited version of this film. It is really disturbing and disheartening that the PC crowd is able to get this once superb movie channel to censor the films it runs. If I were Mel Brooks I'd be more than a little upset over this wanton editing of an otherwise classic movie. If AMC does this to Blazing Saddles, how many other films are facing the censor's knife or edit button so that AMC can safely assure itself that, by bowing to the beast of political correctness it isn't offending anyone. It makes one wonder how the decision to edit this film was made; was it just some folks sitting around and decided, "hey, we can't show this stuff?"
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perhaps the best western of the 20th Century!
ravsten4289 August 2011
Blazing Saddles is a comedy, within a comedy, within a comedy.

An all star cast of Slim Pickens, Cleavon Little, Gene Wilder and of course funny man Mel Brooks.

Blazing Saddles an uproarious film about a railroad worker who becomes the sheriff of Rock Ridge as a joke by Hedley Lamar. Black Bart they call him. He is not welcomed at first because of his race but the arrival of bully Mongo whom Black Bart arrests, puts the citizens of Rock Ridge at ease and they start to respect Black Bart.

Mel Brooks is a genius. I have also seen his Star Wars spoof Spaceballs. He makes no apologies in keeping all the racist jokes in the film only cutting out a small line in the middle of the film.

I am sure there are people out there who don't care for this film. Whoever they are I am sure that they are missing a funny bone because Blazing Saddles is one of the funniest movies I have seen in my life. There is no way you could make this kind of movie today and get away with it because too many people out there don't have a sense of humor about racism even when it comes to a movie that is poking fun at it.

On a side note I am a tad disappointed that Richard Pryor wasn't able to play Black Bart but he was still able to write some jokes in and work on the movie.

A wonderful western classic. Blazing Saddles never gets old.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
sheriff murdered! People stampeded and cattle raped.
cosmorados18 July 2007
Quality. many people who love this film may feel that the negative comments from others are inoffensive as this is such a funny film, I will say this. They are entitled to their opinions ...even if they are wrong. This is one of the best comedies ever made.

Firstly it's not just Mel Brooks as scriptwriter which seems to make a big difference to the quality of the film he produces (Yung Frankestein is co-written by Gene Wilder) but then you have a cast in fine form, especially Harvey Corman as the fantastic Hedley Lamarr (Not Hedy, It's Hedley!) add to that a fantastic series of sight gags and word play, with a good dose of racism ridicule thrown in for good measure (...and they is so DUMB!)and it all makes for a brilliant mix of inspired film-making.

There are numerous scenes of note, but the scene of the townsfolk looking at their work and Bart chasing after the bad guy still makes my skin cold as they are genuinely moving moments.

best visual gag though has got to be the Wako Kid versus the goons at the railroad top drawer Much Love Mike
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest movies of all time. Corny by today's standards but icon shattering in it's day. A stroke of two geniuses, Brooks and Pryor.
mwright-137 June 2005
I can only imagine the laughter in the room when Brooks and Pryor combined their heads to create this one. A Jew making fun of Jews, a Black making fun of Blacks, two Western Americans making fun of the West, movie makers making fun of the movies. The childish fart-level humor and utter cornball gags keep you rolling of the floor unable to breathe. This movie doesn't pretend to be anything more than cornball humor, but it's the all-time best at that. Let's not pretend to be intelligent adults, let's just watch this gem and laugh our heads off like the kids we are inside. Downsides are the overuse of swear words, which were funny in the early 70's because of their shock value during those censored times, but today are just annoying and unnecessary. Another annoying scene is the sexual perversion when Hedley makes love to the statue, though it's funny that the creep gets horny over the thought of money, it creeps me out. But the strength of the movie is its originality for its day, long before the Zuckors. The jokes come so fast and so unexpectedly that you can watch this movie many times before you catch them all.
55 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Withstands the tests of time.
Elswet31 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
I recently purchased Blazing Saddles on DVD, to replace my well used and abused VHS copy. I was amazed at how funny this movie still IS.

Although I've never found humor in flatulence, that scene is a classic; the bad guys all sitting around the campfire, eating beans and ripping loud ones while Taggart (Slim Pickens) attempts to contrive a new scheme for ridding them of the new Sheriff of Rock Ridge. "Well, what about Mongo?" I always felt uncomfortable with the use of racial slurs, and this movie made me uncomfortable in that way, but it was Mel Brooks's intent to make us uncomfortable with racism. You can't correct a problem until you drag it out and lay it on the table, which is precisely what he did. He left no stone unturned, and even took a few pot shots at himself in the process.

This movie should have won about a hundred awards for its edge, wit, boldness, and the wonderful performances brought to the mix by these veteran actors. While Madeline Kahn did win a nomination for her portrayal as Lily von Shtupp, she should have won..and won..and won.

That is my favorite scene in the entire movie.

Gene Wilder is brilliant as the "Deputy Spade." While he was a bit young to be cast as a washed-up gunslinger, he molds himself into the role very quickly and lends a strong endearing presence to his character. Endearing is a good word. It fits Clevon Little's character, as well. He was honorable, clever, and completely smooth as the Sheriff of Rock Ridge. I highly admired his performance, and still do.

The dark humor in this movie is astounding. Brooks leaves no ethnic group unscathed by his cutting wit. There is no wonder this is the top grossing western attempt to be put on film. In the 1970's, when this was first released, America needed this form of release. There were serious racial tensions throughout the country, Watergate was still ringing in our ears, and the drama that was Patty Hurst's life for a time was still very much front page news. We, as a nation, needed a diversion which was not afraid of controversy and harsh reviews. The box office gross demonstrated just how much we DID need this movie, at the time it came out.

For that; being there for us when we needed it most, many thousands, if not millions, are loyal to Brooks and his productions, regardless of the subject matter. The laughter and lightheartedness he gave to us lives on. I was so pleased to see this movie redistributed on DVD.

Now, another generation can see and enjoy it as much as we did. Though they may not understand how we could laugh at a bunch of idiotic rednecks singing slave songs, using the "N" word every other line, and comparing anyone with any level of culture to "a bunch of Kansas City fagots," hopefully, the humor will not be lost to the misunderstanding that these slurs were meant to be taken seriously. The intent was to LAUGH AT those ignorant rednecks for BEING ignorant rednecks.

Long live Mel Brooks, the Crowned Prince of Parody!!

It rates a 9.5/10 from...

the Fiend :.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
one of the best comedies of all time
rdukeesq28 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
So what movie has a black pot smoking sheriff in the old west, klansman with robes that say "have a nice day", bikers on horseback, a guy named mongo, count bassie in the middle of the dessert, uses the "n" word repeatedly without sounding racist, cattle walking through everything including waiting in line to see a movie, and ends somehow at manns Chinese theater after the cast has left the movie and broken loose onto Hollywood, why Blazing saddles of course. This comedy classic was made in 1974 and was directed by the once great Mel Brooks. I say once because he really went into decline after spaceballs (which was just o.k). This movie was written by Andrew Bergman who also wrote one of my other favorite comedies "The Freshman". This is another one of those movies I hope they never remake, it just works so why mess with things that work and yes work so well. Unless you hate comedy I dare you not to love this classic. if you like concise reviews of interesting films please read my other reviews at http://raouldukeatthemovies.blogspot.com/
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not exactly subtle, but a great film regardless
TheLittleSongbird13 September 2010
While I slightly prefer The Producers and Young Frankenstein this is still a jewel in the crown when it comes to comedy. It is silly and it is not subtle at all, there are those who will flinch at some of the language used. But it is very funny, and works really well as a spoof. The story is a lot of fun, and there are enough slapstick and jokes to amuse as well as a wonderful script. The production values are very good too, while the acting is spot on. Cleavon Little and Gene Wilder are both great as the smart-as-a-whip railway worker appointed first black sheriff and the drunken gunman who helps him out, while Madeline Kahn(in a Marlene Dietrich send-up), Alex Karras and Harvey Korman are even better. Overall, not subtle but still great. 9/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Definitive Western Comedy
FightingWesterner6 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Despite being almost swallowed up by the tons of bad-taste comedies that came in it's wake, this is still a lot of fun with tons of great gags, including many that would never be seen in today's politically correct Cineplex.

No matter how much I try, I cannot figure out why Blazing Saddles didn't make a big star out of Cleavon Little. His and Gene Wilder's winning performances and easy going camaraderie are an absolute joy to watch.

My favorite parts are Sheriff Bart's welcome party, his introduction to The Waco Kid, and of course the rowdy climax where the final battle spills out of the set and turns int a full-scale riot on the Warner Brothers' lot.

My least favorite part is Madeline Kahn's endlessly tedious Marlene Dietrich parody. Sorry everyone, I just can't figure out why so many people think it's brilliant.

One thing that most people don't catch is the reference to old-time western actor Richard Dix. How obscure is that?!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Have to love Mel Brooks movies to like this one
chuck-881 January 1999
I first saw Blazing Saddles with my mom when it was first released. I would have been 15 at the time. Some scenes were a little embarrassing sitting next to my mom. We now talk about that experience from time to time. Over the years it has become my all time favorite movie. Some people would find the humor 'off color', but I just look at it as just plain fun. Don't take things too seriously. Mel Brooks is one of my favorite directors/producers. The end of Blazing Saddles always makes me cry (when they're riding off and them get in to the limo). I have never been involved with the movies, but this scene makes me want to do so.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mel Brooks' Uneven Masterpiece
BoomerDT8 June 2015
With PC running amok I doubt if you could get this movie made in this day and age. BS satirizes virtually everything…racism, cowboys & rednecks, blacks, Indians, Germans, Jews, Chinese, Mexicans, Arabs, homosexuals, politicians, sex, musicals, the film industry and most of all, what was, 40 years ago still films most endearing and prolific film genre, the Western. Just caught it again last night on cable channel for at least the 20th time and still laughed myself silly. The only word of caution I would throw out if you've never seen it and stumble across it…if it is an edited version, don't bother. Come to think of it, goes for virtually any movie.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Political Correctness Is A Terrible Thing
Theo Robertson17 August 2003
No doubt pseudo-intellectuals ( Ie People who only think they`re clever ) will claim that BLAZING SADDLES deconstructs the traditional western by pointing out how fundamentally racist the genre is . I`ve no idea how much truth there is in that because I was too busy laughing at what was happening on screen . Yeah the N word figures a lot but let`s not forget one of the screenwriters is a famous black stand up comedian and that everyone be they black , white or Jewish are targets for the outrageous events in this movie so I fail to see what`s racist about it . It is of course politically incorrect but hands up anyone who`s seen a politically correct comedy that made them laugh ?

I won`t bother to go into any detail as to how funny BLAZING SADDLES is except to say I remember seeing it years ago and watched it again at the weekend . Unlike a great number of movies I have fond memories of this is one film that didn`t disappoint me after a long absence
83 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A blazing comedy.
patriciogl101 October 2018
I'm surprised at how many liberties Mel Brooks and Richard Pryor took when they wrote the screenplay; because in 2018 you wouldn't expect a comedy from the 70s to be so daring and courageous, not to mention hilarious! A questionable politician (Harvey Korman) wants to get his hands on the land of a quiet Western town, because such town is in the way of a railroad being constructed. The town is left without a sheriff, so they demand that the Governor sends a new sheriff to guard the town. This crooked politician, Hedley Lamarr manages to convince the Governor (Mel Brooks) to send a black man for the job, a man who was just about to be executed for hitting a white man with a shovel. This newly appointed sheriff, Bart (Cleavon Little) gets a cold welcome from the town folks for obvious reasons but he manages to find a friend in local drunk, and former notorious gunman Jim AKA "the Waco Kid" (played by the amazing Gene Wilder). Their chemistry is untouchable and undeniable. Black leading man, and side kick white man, if done right, it's a marvellous recipe for comedy. And Mel Brooks did more than well, he gave us an unforgettable classic, full of great scenes, cool lines and funny jokes.

The farting scene, never done before; the whole sequence of Lili von Shtupp and Bart; when Bart arrives in town and exits the scene by holding a gun to his own head taking himself as "hostage"; the Waco Kid shooting all the guns of Lamarr's henchmen; and one of my favorite scenes of the film: when the huge battle takes place and everybody ends up crashing into a Hollywood musical set. And there's even more quality scenes to be named, that's how you know a comedy is great!

One of the things that fascinates me the most about Blazing Saddles is its self-awareness. Everyone is aware that this is a spoof, but still manage to make it believable at some points, and even the exaggerated bits can't help but to make one laugh, mainly because they are well done. And if you are watching it for the first time some things may caught you off guard and still leave you laughing. Another thing that I absolutely LOVED about this movie is when the fourth wall is decidedly torn apart, ripped to pieces; when Hedley Lamarr goes to the cinema to watch the very same movie he is in, I just lost it! Comedic genius! Hedley Lamarr is one of my favorite characters from the movie, and Harvey Korman gave an exceptionally funny performance still lingering to this day, which is a testament of how amazing this film really is.

I would also like to point out Cleavon Little's performance, he never over did it, he played his character in such a cool fashion, he had great funny lines, and he proved to be a great casting choice. I read somewhere that Richard Pryor was set to play Bart, but who knows, he probably would have been a little bit over the top in my opinion.

So basically, if you want laughs, this is your movie!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not racist
stevearon28 May 2016
I was mentioning this movie a while back to a co-worker, and she said, "Oh, that movie is terrible, it's so racist..." She didn't get it. There is a lot of politically incorrect language, a lot of use of the "N" word. But you have to pay attention to the context. All the racial slurs are done in such a way that the object of ridicule is the racist whites, not African Americans. In that sense, it's just brilliant. In one scene, when the black sheriff greets an old white woman on the street, she responds with "Outta my way, n****r! Later, after he has proved his worthiness as sheriff, she brings him a pie she baked for him as a token of appreciation "for saving our town from that horrible "Mongo..." Then, before departing, she says, "Oh, and, sorry about the "outta my way n****er..." Some 40+ years later, whenever I hear that line, I find myself rolling on the floor laughing... Pure genius!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Incredibly funny
grantss12 November 2015
Incredibly funny.

A Mel Brooks comedy set in the Wild West. A corrupt politician wants to drive out the inhabitants of a town so that he can buy it up, as a railroad is about to go through it. One of the plans he devises to drive them out involves appointing a black sheriff...

Mel Brooks at his comedic, satirical, subversive and irreverent best. Has so many quotable lines and classic scenes.

Great work by Cleavon Little in the lead role. Good support from Gene Wilder, Harvey Korman, Brooks himself, Madeline Kahn, Slim Pickens and a host of others.

Bound to offend the dial-an-offense crowd (who are usually offended on behalf of a group they don't belong to, and who probably don't take offense themselves). That just makes it so much better...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
you will want to watch over and over
hazysistersunshine3315 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Mel Brooks has directed some of the greatest comedies ever made and this is the best of the best. It's most definitely one of my favorite comedies. I think it's on the AFI list of greatest comedies of all time too and for a reason. I have to admit the comedy may rub people the wrong way. A lot of it seems and is a little off color and even sometime downright racist, but I don't think it's gratuitous. It's also so darn witty, it's easy to look past the racist under and over-tones. It's kind of a spoof on old 50's and 60's western movies. Harvey Korman is a corrupt politician who wants to build a railroad, using slave labor through a little town of Rockbridge leaving the residents homeless. They obviously resist this, so Korman sends Cleavon Little to the town to replace their sheriff who had been killed by Korman's cronies. Cleavon Little, being black does not go over so well at first, but after a while everyone comes together to defeat Korman and the idiot Mayer played by Mel Brooks. The jokes are some of the funniest I've ever heard and there are so many quotable lines in the movies. It's one you will want to watch over and over unless you are offend by the humor. I hope not though. Times have kind of changed and the humor isn't accepted anymore, but I just take it for what it is.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Saddle up for laughs
Samiam35 August 2009
I was way under aged when I saw Blazzing Saddles for the first time. I was nine maybe ten, And I can very distinctly remember being sick that day. My dad mentioned the healing power of laughter, and he put this on the box. I was too ill too scream will laughter, but ironically I chuckled so hard that I almost got a hernia. Physically I felt a little better when the movie was over, but it left a much bigger impression on me. i learned just how absurd comedy can be.

Blazzing Saddles is regarded as the most satirically racist pictures. Set in the VERY wild west, a crooked politician has a plan to snatch an expensive piece of land from the town of Rockridge, where the railroad is about to enter. after the sheriff dies, He thinks he can drive all the townsfolk away, by advising the governor to appoint a black sheriff, which he does. the plan backfires, and the new sheriff ends up becomes a hero, when he leads the town in attempts to save the town from destruction.

I don't think I need to give an introduction to director Mel Brooks, everyone knows who he is. For Blazzing Saddles he throws out some of the wackiest ideas I have ever seen in Comedy. A medieval hangman, a Yiddish speaking Sioux tribe, and a bar fight in a movie studio, are just a few of them.

As offencive as it may be, Blazzing Saddles will always be one of the great American Comedies.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the funniest and most important films of all time
brentsoffcenter13 April 2008
In the category of satire, no other film has been as aggressive or socially important as this one has been. Rated as one of the 10 funniest movies ever made, the screenplay and plot take every opportunity to make fun of the ignorance, past and present, of white racism in its most ridiculous context. But in addition to covering the issue of racism, the movie also brings to satirical accountability other sensitive social issues that were not only present in 1974, but that were present way in the past and far into the present. At some point in the movie, all of the sensitive hush hush social issues were somewhat abused.

The targets of a scathing satirical call to rational accountability by Mel Brooks include a little of everything. "Dock that chink a days pay for napping on the job"; "Can't you see that this man is a ni... !"; "Bah-dgesss! We don't need no stinkin' bahd-gesss!"; "Ready faggots! 1 and 2 and...." and "look girls, they've hit Bunny!", etc. Many more social nuclear warheads were detonated in the many different scenes in this ground breaking landmark film. All of the characterizations were memorable by all of the main characters. But among them, Madeline Kahn must be mentioned as perhaps the funniest, with her quasi Marlena Deitrich and saloon stage presence rendition of "I'm Tired". But, as mentioned before, the main brunt of the satire was the ridiculously stupid white cowboy racial mentality, and the closed mindedness in which he lived in small town western American in the late 1800's. "Howard Johnson is Right!".

In being taken aback and totally absorbed by the satirical tonality of this monumentally innovative story, we tend to overlook the plot and scenario where the actual premise of the movie is based. From the very beginning, we western fans knew that this was all about the western genre itself, in all of its glory, and the pride of them all, High Noon, from 1954. Even Frankie Laine in the opening musical introduction made the movie hilarious. He sang "Blazing Saddles" with the same gusto that he did when he sang High Noon 20 years before. Right from the very beginning, and all the way through to the end, the western genre fanatics were laughing and rolling their eyes with glee. The icon of the American Western, with all of its merciless clichés, brought to its knees in 93 minutes.

This film deserves only the highest praise on many accounts. Most notably, the courage with which it portrays the social absurdities of today, then and now. In 1974, it was outrageous; and today, it's still a classic. "You'd do it for Randolph Scott!".
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed