The Corpse Grinders (1971) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Not for everyone, but if you're on this page then you're not everyone.
petervasile903 February 2012
If you love low-budget movies from the '60s and '70s, especially ones with bizarre story-lines and characters, then The Corpse Grinders is a must-see. The concept of the movie is much cooler than the actual movie itself, but that's what makes it fun.

Cats begin attacking their owners, and a doctor and his nurse girlfriend (who both look and act like they are straight out of a vintage porno) suspect the Lotus Cat Food Company for being responsible for the grisly accounts. Meanwhile, the owners of the Company are making numerous trips to the cemetery to spice up their ingredients, and their income.

Not much suspense going on--but bad acting, almost-nude girls, and cool Halloween-ish graveyard mist keep you watching, even if you are getting anxious to get up and actually put your mind to doing something useful.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
For Gods' sake, don't watch it with your cat!
Hey_Sweden24 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Arch Hall Sr. & Joseph Cranston wrote this ultra schlocky cheese fest, brought to life by B cinema specialist Ted V. Mikels ("The Doll Squad", "The Astro-Zombies"). It stars Sean Kenney ('Star Trek', "Terminal Island") and Monika Kelly as Howard Glass and Angie Robinson, a doctor & nurse / boyfriend & girlfriend who investigate the case of pet cats attacking their owners. It turns out that the cats all had something in common: they were eating food made by a company named Lotus that regularly grinds human beings into meat for the cat food.

Mikels gamely attempts to play in the same kind of sandbox popularized by his fellow schlock auteur Herschell Gordon Lewis. Alas, "The Corpse Grinders" does have a solidly amusing premise but it never reaches the heights of idiocy and lunacy that one usually finds in an HGL feature. In fact, some people might even consider it dull.

Not that it doesn't have its moments, or tries to make things interesting with a few colorful characters. There's a one legged mute frizzy haired factory employee named Tessie (Drucilla Hoy) and a stringbean, mop haired janitor named Willie (Charles Fox). The cat attacks are unconvincing enough to be reasonably funny, but the movie really could have used more gore.

Kenney is a passable hero, and Kelly is supremely sexy as his leading lady. Sanford Mitchell is an entertaining villain, and J. Byron Foster is amusing as his milquetoast associate. Warren Ball and Ann Noble are a hoot as grave robber Caleb and his nutty gal pal Cleo (who prepares a bowl of soup for her doll). People may recognize character actor Vincent Barbi, whose other credits include "The Blob" '58 and "Black Belt Jones", as a thug.

Mikels was also the producer, film editor, sound editor, and music editor.

Six out of 10.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stop press! Mikels makes half decent movie shock!
Infofreak5 July 2002
I was almost going to totally write off Ted V. Mikels as one of the most talentless and boring directors of all time after watching his tedious turkeys 'Blood Orgy Of The She Devils' and 'The Doll Squad'. But after watching 'The Corpse Grinders' I'm now not so sure. This is arguably his best known movie, and the thing is it's actually quite good! Not "great" or "hilarious fun" mind you, but "quite good", and for him, that's high praise indeed. It's cheap, tacky and amateurishly acted, but strangely entertaining just the same. A doctor and his nurse girlfriend (Sean Kenney and Monika Kelly) investigate a spate of cat attacks (!) which they suspect has something to do with gourmet cat food. And it does, but in not exactly the most obvious way. This is a very stupid movie but surprisingly enjoyable, especially when you see that it was co-written by Arch Hall Jr, of 'Eegah' infamy! The best parts for me are the cat attacks, which have to be seen to be believed, and the oddball bodysnatchers played by Warren Ball (Caleb) and Ann Noble (Cleo), who are both wacky and creepy. I can't hardly believe I'm typing this, but I actually LIKED 'The Corpse Grinders', and I recommend it to trash lovers, especially fans of (early) Roger Corman and Herschell Gordon Lewis.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Let's Start a Pet Food Racket...that's Where the Big Bucks Is.
james_cocos-snowboots12 August 2007
"She loved that old tomcat.Yes she did." Too bad Annie's old tomcat was fed Lotus cat food. Made from the ground flesh of corpses, Lotus cat food is the product of a greedy plot to make easy money from cat owners looking to feed their cats. But, the trouble (according to the doctor's encyclopedia entry about flesh-eating cats)is that the cats fed the Lotus cat food become accustomed to the taste of ground human flesh, and quit hunting the flesh of faster animals. Makes sense to me. Cats begin attacking humans in the town, leaping into the neck, and shredding the flesh. Oddly, the cats refrain from actually eating the humans,or even making much of a mess of the corpses by, say, drinking the blood or something, contrary to the explanation given by the encyclopedia article.

Corpse Grinders is a good film. Any movie with the following elements can't be too bad: every character lacks peripheral vision (such a common affliction among characters in B films); the batty wife of one of the racketeers tenderly cares for a pint sized baby doll while complaining of bodies piling up in the living room; the pointless inclusion of a mute chick with a crutch and the miraculous ability to communicate using pidgin sign language; and the music from Blood Feast playing during a rather Blood Feast-like killing scene. However, the film is kind of lacking imagination. Despite the couple of odd characters, it's pretty straight forward camp. Still, I'd rather watch this than countless other films. Also, if you're watching the DVD version, make sure to sit through the (brief) credits in order to see the awesome trailer, which I would give 10/10, if I could rate it alone.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
tacky cheap fun
thomandybish4 May 2001
THE CORPSE GRINDERS is a film that wallows in its own cheesyness, and that's meant as a compliment! On a bigger budget it would have been just another lackluster horror flick, but with its meager budget the premise works. Seems a maker of pricey gourmet cat food needs a cheap ingredient source and turns to buying corpses from a corrupt gravedigger. The cats who eat the food turn psycho and attack their human masters and eat their flesh. A doctor and his blonde nurse play detectives and try to find out why the cats are attacking. The acting is pretty lame coming from some of the actors(the guy playing Landau, the head procurer of corpses for the cat food people, seems to think menace can be conveyed by whispering in a flat monotone), and the corpse grinding machine looks like it was constructed by 8th graders, but the real joy of this film is Ann Noble, writer and star of the film SINS OF RACHEL, as the gravedigger's wigged-out(and bewigged)wife. Noble wanders in and out of the movie, toting a grimy, naked doll that she talks to and feeds soup, and ultimately meets an untimely end at the hands of Landau and his crony. An odd character in a film otherwise populated by standard types.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Attack of the Man-Eating Pussies
BaronBl00d3 January 2002
What happens when dead corpses are ground into meat and added to grain for a canned cat food factory is the heart of what The Corpse Grinders is all about. It turns out that this canned cat food has an effect on the cats, having given them the taste of eating man, now instinctually placing within them the desire to eat more human flesh....dead or alive. Pussy cats all over Southern California begin their preying on human owners due to their newly initiated killer man-eating instinct(Hey, I didn't make this up...it's the explanation used in the film!). Ted V. Mikels is responsible for this low-budget film geared at repulsing the audience rather than scaring it. Mikels tries to pull off a Herschell Gordon Lewis shocker here, and is, well, fairly successful. Yep, there is real bad acting. None of the actors looks sincere, but there are a couple of real hot babes. One is the much talked about secretary that disrobes to panties and bra and watches TV with a can of beer prior to being attacked. Monika Kelly plays the inebriated doctor's very busty blonde nurse who seemingly needs to change every time she goes out. Ok, I can live with it if I must. The rest of the "cast" is a who's who's of amateurish performers. Caleb and his dotty English-accented wife are truly some of the most ridiculous characters to be seen in any film. He goes around barking orders like someone totally unrehearsed in the art of stagecraft while she clutches a baby doll and screams being chased in one scene, stopping long enough for her attacker to hear her and then begins to scream again. Sanford Mitchell as the lead, the head of the factory, is just awful. These performances are not real boring though. They are so bad that they are very amusing to watch and that really sums up this film in a nutshell. It is very, very, very bad and yet a real hoot to sit through. I thought I was in for another snooze-fest like Astro-Zombies before sitting down to The Corpse Grinders, but I was pleasantly surprised. This film is nothing like that film other than it is equally very cheaply and ineptly made, but it has far more interesting scenes and is what is known as a "so bad it is good" film.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cheesy!!
haildevilman15 June 2006
Cheap effects and bad acting ruin what could have been a drive-in classic.

Warren Ball's over the top performance was amusing though. And did anyone notice Sanford Mitchell's constantly changing accent? I couldn't tell if he was supposed to be British or Brooklyn.

The machine itself was probably a trash picked fridge box.

Getting nearly all of the young actresses to do typical cheesecake poses kept this film from getting boring, but it didn't really help much.

The leads were OK. Only OK.

But this was a good idea that just was in the wrong hands. I wonder what a Romero or a Fulci could have done with this.

Worth one (and only one) look.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
All About The Pussies
ksn-3464814 January 2018
Watched this film last night (and also noticed that it has sequels) and it is as cheesy as everyone says. The whole thing is low-budget and poorly filmed. A cat food company drives its pussy and tom cat customers to bite the hand that feeds them (could be a McDonalds allegory!). Left to investigate are a lone doctor and nurse who care beyond the requirements of their job. The nurse herself is a customer of the Lotus company.

That the film is cheap and the sets and characters, as they are, are severely underdeveloped is not a question. With that said, the premise is fun, how they got the cats to 'attack' is cool and certainly I enjoyed the woman. First of all a thin nurse with big tits who is so kind and proper that she changes all the time (no more lazy nurses walking home in work uniform!). That is a babe right there and what beautiful assets. Then there is the agency secretary who is just plain hot. She has the body of a supermodel and for extra points enters her own apartment through the balcony!!! I imagined that it is my place and she doesn't have my keys (yet!). Only one of the two survives the film.

You will watch and laugh and wonder and be grossed out, but what got me the most is that the poor pussies and toms are being fed food mixed with fabric mixed in. They grind the raw material with underwear on. Why oh why??
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun, weird, cheesy drive-in exploitation
squeezebox28 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I wouldn't go so far as to say THE CORPSE GRINDERS is a good movie, but it's fun, fast-paced and certainly bizarre enough to hold the attention of any fan of B-movies.

A sudden epidemic of house cats attacking their owners leads a doctor and nurse (who are also a couple) to suspect that the culprit is an ingredient in a popular cat food. This ingredient turns out to be dead human bodies that are dug up by a creepy guy and his demented wife. They, in turn, sell their quarry to the sleazy owners of the cat food factory, who then pulverize them in their "corpse grinding machine" to create their hot-selling product.

It's a seedy, gritty, offbeat little horror flick, with amusingly earnest performances and some amateurish (though strangely atmospheric) lighting, photography and set design.

Highly recommended for low budget horror movie enthusiasts. It will also make those who grew up in the 70s and 80s nostalgic for those days when movies like this played at midnight shows at the local theater and received full coverage in Fangoria. So break out your MARK OF THE DEVIL barf bag and your GRUESOME TWOSOME "certificate of assurance" and get ready for an evening of weirdness, bare boobs and plenty of corpse grinding!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not as bad as you might think.
OrangieTooDope27 May 2017
If you're going to watch movies like this, you have to expect a certain amount of stupidity. You can't question why a surgeon and his nurse/lover spend all their time acting like forensic scientists and cops. You can't question why a cat food factory would leave it's door unlocked all night or why it would have purple and green lights inside.You just have to roll with it. A cat food company that puts humans in its product is a decent idea. The story can get a bit slow at times and maybe you can easily predict what's going to happen but for a fifty year old low budget horror flick, it's not really that bad. I loved that they had a one legged, deaf mute ginger working there. That's was awesome. Not to mention the poster in the owners office that says "Cat Food For Cats Who Like People". That made me chuckle every time I saw it. If you like horror movies, you have to give this a chance.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hooked from the start
jfgibson7315 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Here is a movie that had me hooked from the very first scene. I wasn't really expecting much, as a lot of low budget movies take their time to get going. However, from the moment the of the very first cat attack, I wanted to know how this movie would turn out.

The story is that cats are attacking their owners after eating a new brand of gourmet cat food. A scientific couple investigate and find out that the owners are grinding up people for the food. The way I remember it, the grinding machine looked like a cardboard box.

It's silly and trashy, but I thought it was fun most of the way through. Of course, the heroes had to play it straight, making them the least interesting characters in the story, but this isn't really a character-driven piece. Nor is it big on dialog. But it was one of the more memorable and entertaining low budget drive in trash movies I've found. I'll give it a 5 for being better than expected.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Better Than "Astro-Zombies," Though That Ain't Saying Much
ferbs5416 November 2007
It's been nothing but trouble lately, for the two managers of the Lotus Cat Food Co. The gravedigger who's been supplying them with their food's main ingredient--freshly disinterred human cadavers--has been pestering them for monies due, and a suspicious doctor and his hotty blond nurse have taken to snooping around the premises, after the cats that consume their product have begun to turn into maniacal killers. Anyway, that's the setup for Ted V. Mikels' 1972 shlock classick "The Corpse Grinders," a distinct improvement on his previous horror film, 1967's "The Astro-Zombies" (one of filmdom's all-time worst) but not by much. That previous film had boasted a nearly incomprehensible plot and was truly a mess; "The Corpse Grinders" at least has a story that hangs together, outlandish as it may be, although the acting, scripting, editing and camera-work are all fairly inept. By any objective standard that one might wish to use, this film is hopeless garbage, but STILL, somehow, it manages to entertain, what with its one-of-a-kind plot, a few scantily clad women, some grotesque characters (a one-legged mute secretary in a fright wig; the gravedigger's wife who talks incessantly to her doll) and some mild gross-out scenes (a cat dissection; bloodied-up cat attack victims; the freshly ground "meat"--in actuality, probably hamburger meat or Play-Doh--being pushed out of the grinder) that should gross out only the most squeamish. And, at only 71 minutes in length, the film grinds by fairly quickly. Thank goodness!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"One Doesn't Own a Cat, It Owns You!"...
azathothpwiggins23 July 2019
In Director, Ted V. Mikels' (THE ASTRO-ZOMBIES, BLOOD ORGY OF THE SHE DEVILS) drive-in opus, THE CORPSE GRINDERS, pet cats run amok, killing their human friends! This is due to money troubles at the Lotus cat food company. Owners Landau and Maltby (Sanford Mitchell and J. Byron Foster) add a new, secret ingredient to their product. An ingredient -from the local cemetery- that gives kitties a hankering for human flesh! A doctor and nurse (Sean Kenney and Monika Kelly) investigate. While this might sound intriguing, the result is actually quite dull. Expansive exposition between the oddball characters deadens the whole project, making it a real chore to watch. Mikels' flat, static style doesn't help one bit, giving every scene a cut off, tunnel vision effect. The macabre machine of the title is basically a big, wooden box w/ "cadavers" going in one end, and reddish, brownish glop coming out of the other. The cat attacks are not at all convincing, w/ victims holding felines against themselves while said cats squirm and try to get away. The "open cat surgery" is a particularly glaring lowlight. The "actors" couldn't have been paid much, if anything for their "talents". Some appear to have been recruited right off the street! FUN FACTS FROM THIS FILM: #1- Sign language is easy, just move your hands around randomly. #2- Working in a graveyard is easy too, just live in your filthy bathrobe and pajamas! #3- Cat food canneries look just like someone's basement! #4- Women live for the opportunity to drink beer and watch their "stories" in their underwear! My friends, if dismal films are your forte, look no further!...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A lot better than I expected
richardskranium4 January 2019
I did not expect much from this film but I tried to keep an open mind.. Well for once it paid off, in a good way! This movie is honestly not that bad. I promise that you have seen much,much worse. If you get a chance to watch it, and want some good laughs,check it out !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Great title. Lousy movie.
a_chinn5 March 2018
Producer/director Ted V. Mikels always had a knack for exploitation film titles that grab your attention (i.e. "The Black Klansman," "Children Shouldn't Play with Dead Things" or "Blood Orgy of the She-Devils"), but his films rarely delivered what the posters or titles promised. "The Corpse Grinders" is no exception. The story here involves struggling cat food company that finds itself in financial trouble, so where do the factory owners turn for a cheap source of meat? The local graveyard, of course! However, the local kitties start to develop a taste for human flesh, which leads to a number of feline-on-human attacks, featuring plenty of scratching, biting, and screaming. This plot would have worked if it was more tongue-in-cheek (I can easily have seen Paul Bartel taking making this story into a witty black comedy), but in the lesser hands of Mikels, this film comes off as just cheap and poorly made. FUN FACT! Ted V. Mikels is still making films today, with "The Corpse Grinders 3" having just come out a few years ago and a reboot by Mikels is currently in the works.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
one of a kind
winner5518 January 2011
The best review here so far has been Timothy Farrell's from 2007, that remarked this film as the best-paced and most consistent from director Mikels. But most of the comments, both favorable and unfavorable, have been largely on the money - which in itself tells us we have a rather strange critter here. I.e., how can we say of a film that it is a camp classic in one comment, and that it is not a camp classic in another comment, and yet both comments be right? How can we mock such a film for its cheesiness and then admit that it wallows in that cheesiness, as if cheesiness were among its redeeming values? The answer of course is that Mikels made this film with tongue firmly in cheek. It is simply a mistake to take this film seriously - Mikels is rushing this product through to the drive-in circuit targeting a teen-age audience (hence the lack of nudity or really gory effects), giving them moments allowing them to exclaim "oh, gross!" or "wow, that's weird" while they take a breather from necking in the back-seat. Any attempt at quality or substance would be pointless. So instead, Mikels treats his low-life characters like refugees from a '30s comedy short who drank their brains out and ended up in a Skid Row production of a '40s gangster film as it might have been directed in the '50s by Ed Wood trying to make a '60s kids' film - huh? All right, another way to say this is that Mikels is basically saying, "ok, we have no budget, only two more days to shoot the thing, and our audience won't be paying attention anyway - so let's have fun!" Of course, then, the only issue is, what would Mikels mean by having fun here? But the answer to that is obvious, too. Most exploitation-horror films of the time (especially those coming out of Europe) took themselves way too serious. Even looking back to Ed Wood, one reason that "Plan 9" is so amusing is because Wood clearly thinks he is saying something important with it, even if he's not sure what.

There were important exceptions, of course - Corman's "Little Shop" is overt comedy, and "The Undertaker and his Pals," while providing the necessary gore and 'suspense' also throws in large dabs of comic bits and dialog. But "Corpse Grinders" avoids the obvious - there is no overt buffoonery, no sight gags or puns here. Instead Mikels simply pushes a ridiculous plot device - cats eating human meat go crazy, because desperate racketeers can't afford the butcher's bill - as far as it can go, and allows the characters involved to be their low-life selves. Thus we end up with a weird slice of trailer-trash Americana. And that is what produces the humor of the film - small-business economics gone bad, pseudo-science for low-information viewers, and pseudo-religious overtones to provide the hint of some 'moral insight' to the whole affair (made explicit in the trailer for the film, with its blather about "the sacred dead") - which of course isn't really there.

Mikels rarely took his exploitation seriously; but in other films of his (esp. "Astro-Zombies") I get the sense he is laughing at his audience, which is unpleasant. That's evident to some extent here as well, but in this case there seems to be a secondary audience targeted - those capable of getting in on the joke. That makes sense in a film made at the end of the '60s camp fad; by the time Mikels made this film, the notion that cat-food could make monsters of little kitties could be recognized by many of the more 'hip' at the drive-in as a humorous excuse, after a few puffs on a doobie, to go back to necking in the back-seat.

Ten stars for this bad movie because it is truly one of a kind.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I want people mix...
lovecraft23121 May 2009
Oh no, the Lotus Cat Food company is having some financial troubles! Well don't panic, they have a solution-human corpses. Soon, business picks up, but there is a catch-cats are violently turning on their owners.

Directed by Z-Grade "auteur" Ted ("Astro Zombies, the MST3K favorite "Girl with the Golden Boots" and "Blood Orgy of the She Devils") V. Mikels, "The Corpse Grinders" is a so bad it's good classic that mixes 40's and 50's low budget horror with no budget Grindhouse fair. It's also his best movie-though that's not much to brag about.

The whole thing almost plays like a low grade 50's movie director trying to do an exploitation flick: the weird characters (the ugly as sin white trash couple-the husband is involved in the whole scheme), sporadic and unconvincing gore, local commercial/public access levels of acting, cheap cardboard sets, a monotone score that mixes old school exploitation score music with almost monogram like music, a ludicrous plot that could have come from a 50's B-Movie-the list goes on. However, it's the no budget atmosphere and audaciousness-not to mention weirdness-of the whole thing that make it watchable. Plus, the fact that it won't waste anybodies time-the whole affair is only 72 minutes-doesn't hurt.

Nobody is going to confuse "The Corpse Grinders" with notable genre classics, and that's just fine. It's a quick, trashy, cheap and hilariously bad affair that will sit well with fans of no budget schlock.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
exploitation "claasic" is also trash
dbborroughs17 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
The original exploitation classic-though far from enjoyable on almost any level concerning some guys who turn cats into human flesh eating monsters because the cat food they make is made with people. The cats can't get enough and when the flesh tainted food runs out the cats turn on their owners. Poorly put together on almost every level this is an example of the absolute bottom of the barrel material that used to actually play movie theaters in the early 1970's. Director Ted Mikel is a hack, but is so lovable a person (I generally like the guy thanks to his smile inducing interviews and commentary tracks) that you can pretty much excuse the garbage he mostly turned out. Mikels wanted to make films and he didn't care how they turned out so long as he was producing something. More power to him, but I wish he wouldn't subject us to the ones that are little more than his home movies
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
not the BEST film ever, but...
thymiane25 December 2001
Nothing I could ever say will change your mind about how you feel about watching a movie about dead bodies being made into cat food, so do what you have to do, but I myself was a little disappointed. The Corpse Grinder itself, as a piece of machinery, is great, and it's not every day that I hate every character as fervently as I hate this bunch (factory staff excluded), and some of the corpses look pretty good, but it never quite reaches Failed Vision status, for all that. I feel like there was a pretty decent idea in there in the beginning, where the world was more normal and the human corpse cat food more shocking, but somewhere during filming, the movie degenerated into one about a completely dreary and bleak and awful world, with the added bonus that everyone's cats go feral after eating human corpses. I have to admit though, it's a pretty godawful side these folks all live on.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
aiight
miked456 June 2001
the best part of this movie is the deaf nurse. the actress obviously doesn't know sign language, so her solution is to act out random hand movements that sort of look like sign language. i find that hilarious.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Real bottom of the barrel stuff, absolutely awful in every respect.
poolandrews6 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Lately cats have been attacking people for no apparent reason. These cats and their owners can't get enough of 'Lotos cat food' that has minced human flesh as it's special secret ingredient. Factory owners Landau (Sanford Mitchell) & Maltby (J. Byron Foster) pay a fat guy called Caleb (Warren Ball) and his wacko wife Cleo (Ann Noble) who feeds and sings to a plastic doll as if it were a baby, to dig up bodies from the local graveyard that they put through a large mincing machine to provide the necessary ingredients. Their work force that consists of a mute one legged woman who has a bad hair day everyday called Tessie (Drucilla Hoy) & an old geezer named Willie (Charles Fox as Charles "Foxy" Fox) can't keep up with demand. Dr. Howard Glass (Sean Kenny) and his girlfriend and fellow medical professional Nurse Angie Robinson (Monika Kelly) are having a bit of a chat when after giving her cat some Lotos cat food it attacks Angie. Soon after, somewhere else in town a woman named Annie (Mary Ellen Burke) is also attacked by her cat which bites her throat out. The body ends up on Dr. Glass's table and both he and Angie decide to investigate after Dr. Glass discovers that a cat was responsible for severing Annie's jugular. After performing an autopsy on Annie's cat he comes to the startling conclusion that the cat must have eaten some human flesh for it to have attacked it's owner. Dr. Glass finds traces of what might be human flesh in the cats intestines but the sample is too small to be sure. While searching Annie's apartment Dr. Glass and Angie find a can of Lotos cat food and become suspicious. They talk to the local food standards inspector, Mr. Desisto (Earl Burnam) who says there is nothing he can do at the moment but gives them the address of the factory which makes the stuff. Dr. Glass and Angie head over to the factory and confront Landau and Maltby. They all become suspicious of each other. Angie is convinced that something is happening at the factory and won't let it go. Will she be able to stop Landau and Maltby's gruesome scheme?

Edited, co-written, produced and directed by Ted V. Mikels, who also has a music/sound editor credit, on an estimated budget of $47,000 according to the IMDb, I have to ask myself why so much?! Where exactly did the money go? At least we know where to lay most of the blame. There is not one single good aspect to the Corpse Grinders as a film. The script by Arch Hall and Joseph Cranston has a reasonably fun central premise and in better hands the thin material could have been turned into a half decent exploitation film, but as it is the entire film sucks, big time. There is a funny sequence, and at the same time totally idiotic, when Caleb pulls a gun on Landau and forces him to pay him money that he owe's, after Landau has given Caleb the money Caleb hands Landau the gun! What!? It doesn't take a genius to realise that Landau may not be too happy at being held at gunpoint and threatened especially since this guy has no worries about mincing dead bodies up as cat food which Caleb knows about! Looking at this film I felt a good 75% of the extremely short 70 odd minute running time was padding. There are endless boring shots of people walking, driving, opening doors and other such pointless shots with which to eat up the time without having to spend any money. Forget about any blood or gore as there isn't any, just a barrel of human body parts at the end of which nothing is recognisable except a very rubbery arm & a short cat autopsy. The acting is horrendously bad, real rock bottom stuff. The production values are some of the worst I've ever seen, the Hospital is nothing more than a white room with a medical cabinet in one corner. The mincing machine is nothing more than a large box with a few dials & buttons on it and an opening for the body (still wearing underwear) to go into. The photography by Bill Anneman is terrible and the film was probably shot on 16mm so the entire thing looks grainy and either too dark during the night scenes or too light during the day. The music is awful, bland and doesn't really fit the film that well. It came as no surprise to see a credit at the end of the film that said 'music supplied by' so from that I assume that the music wasn't composed for the Corpse Grinders. The average daytime soap opera has better sets, props, photography and acting. Avoid at all costs, this is the film equivalent of Monday morning, boring, dull, a real chore to get through, really depressing and totally soul destroying!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Watch if you want to go to sleep
Tikkin15 March 2006
This film is so boring that you will probably want to turn it off half way through, should you be so unfortunate to watch it. Think I'm exaggerating? I wanted to turn it off, but sadly I'm one of those who has to finish a film once I've started watching. The idea behind it actually sounds quite cool - cat food being made out of human bodies, which gives the cats a taste for human flesh. Sadly they didn't do the idea justice and the film turned out to be a bore-fest. There is very little gore, and when the corpses are ground up all we see is them being put into a machine, and a pink pulp coming out of a nozzle. They re-used this scene several times throughout the film to save on budget. Avoid this if you're looking for an entertaining film because you won't find it here. It's not even entertaining enough to pass the time, not even "so bad it's good".
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Amusing and surprisingly well-paced, but still pretty bad
tomgillespie200222 March 2012
The Lotus Cat Food company are facing financial ruin, until they discover that by incorporating human flesh into their product, cats go wild and sales go up. But soon, cats go a bit too wild and start murdering and drinking the blood of their owners. When Dr. Howard Glass (Sean Kenney) is attacked, and performs an autopsy on another victim, he starts an investigation into the strange goings-on. Landau (Sanford Mitchell), the big boss at the company, seems to start enjoying the butchery, and employs various heavies to do the dirty deeds. But he finds himself at odds with his co-workers, who disapprove of the murders, and local gravedigger Caleb (Warren Ball), who has yet to be paid for his exploits.

One can only go into a film called The Corpse Grinders with a certain level of expectation, that being extremely low. Yet although the film is almost profoundly terrible, it's really not as bad as I expected. Helmed by exploitation hack Ted V. Mikels (director of the also wonderfully titled and fellow Grindhouse Project members Blood Orgy of the She- Devils (1972) and The Doll Squad (1973)), he at least attempts to put some directorial skill into the film, leaving out usual Grindhouse traits such as long, static, and uneventful shots, and scenes of women dancing to repetitive music. The film is pretty well paced, shifting from Glass' investigations to Landau's increasingly murderous schemes to keep things moderately interesting.

However, I'm saying this is half-decent for a Grindhouse film. As an actual film, it is admittedly bad. The few scenes depicting the cat attacks are laughable (I mean, how can a cat overpower a human being? Just throw the f****r against a wall!), and the gore predictably ropey. The actual 'corpse grinder' machine looks made of cardboard, and poses so many questions about functionality that I'm not going to get into it. I did laugh out loud at the ridiculous made-up sign language that Landau uses (he just seems to shake his hand a lot), so at least there's some fun to be had. As hard as it is to say it, I'm actually looking forward to seeing more of Mikels' films, as he seems to be in the vein of one of the my guilty pleasures Herschell Gordon Lewis.

www.the-wrath-of-blog.blogspot.com
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Human meat used in cat food causes pets cats to attack their owners!
lavinia2172 January 2006
I give this movie a 4 for its sheer awfulness. I must preface my "review" by way of noting that I have only seen this movie once (at about age 8, with my parents, at the drive-in). For this memory alone I give the movie an extra point or two. I remember the plot and I remember the secretary mentioned in the previous commentary. I also remember, even as a young child, thinking the plot was really stupid. By no means would anyone consider this a really good movie but it is a really fun movie -- even if it wasn't intended to be funny. No spoilers here as one may consider the whole movie already spoiled. I believe this was on triple bill where diner customers were fed humans as specials of the day based upon the victim's last name (a woman named "Poultry" served up as breast of chicken). Does anyone remember the name of this winner?
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed