Fools' Parade (1971) Poster

(1971)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A gripping entertainment…
Nazi_Fighter_David10 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Though not technically a Western, the picture, with an early-Thirties West Virginia setting, had all of a Western's action and plot situations… Once more, Andrew V. McLaglen directed Stewart in an ambivalent, morally reprehensible characterization…

In an uneasy blend of melodramatic themes, Stewart is a convict who squirrels away $25,000… A murderer, he has done all the hard prison jobs and has been a model prisoner… He gets out of prison with bankrobber Strother Martin and rapist Kurt Russell, and having paid their collective debt to society, they set out to make their fortune as civilians once more… But corrupt prison officer George Kennedy and banker David Huddleston are out to relieve Stewart of his nest egg…

Baxter, whose houseboat is doing part-time bordello duty, wants Stewart's money too…

The film remains a curious admixture of comedy, adventure and violence from James Agee, author of "The Night of the Hunter."
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's a Film That Needs to be Seen
sasquatch2714 November 2006
If you've found your way to these comments then know that you've found in me a true fan of this film. I got here in an attempt to find a source for buying this film. Alas, it was not to be! The 1971 movie features great dramatic performances by James Stewart, Strother Martin, George Kennedy and Kurt Russell. It's a pretty fair example of a road movie that features, I believe, West Virginia as a backdrop in the mid 1930's. It's great entertainment, fun, exciting and suspenseful, too.

Hopefully it will be available someday. I believe it could be productively marketed as a rather important DVD release considering the cast and over all quality of the movie.

So it's now 13 months after I've originally posted and the question is, When is this movie going to be released on video/DVD?
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Timeless example of public corruption, moral hypocrisy and the victims it creates.
richlisagood19 September 2006
I was 10 years old when Fools Parade was filmed in my hometown of Moundsville, West Virginia, and I remember vividly all of the excitement we felt as we observed the actors at work in various locations. Kurt Russell couldn't go anywhere without a crowd of adoring young females screaming for his attention. I made it to the front of the crowd just once as he was ushered into a limo that would drive him to the days shoot. As I stood on the other side of the car window, my 10 year old face twisted with the emotional devastation of just missing the chance to touch him, he looked directly at me and flashed a brilliant, "I'm sorry" smile that made my day! Jimmy Stewart was very friendly and often took time to converse with the locals. My mother remembers a having conversation with him in which he demonstrated his use of the glass eye. To answer an earlier question - I believe the glass eye was called, "Tye".

Fools Parade was the second Davis Grubb novel to be filmed in Moundsville (Davis Grubb's hometown), the first being, Night of the Hunter. Both novels (and movies) explore the hypocritical, mindless nature of the "herd mentality" that can be so easily manipulated by rotten leaders & officials - especially through the use of religion and labeling. Those who see through it end up being society's outcasts, while those who follow it (in mindless hopes of acceptance and salvation) foolishly cut off their own noses to spite their faces. It's a scenario that plays out again and again in human history and is especially relevant today. A thoughtful viewer will easily see how these themes of labeling, discrimination, and fear of rejection have played out in forming the personal values of each character and boxing them into specific life circumstances - from the pathetically self-serving, desperately patriotic Cleo, to the train attendant with the tormented conscience who must choose between doing the right thing or keeping his job (and being able to feed his family during the depression).

I don't know why this movie is not easily accessible, but I have heard that it has something to do with legalities involving the Ann Baxter estate. It has, however, played on late night TV occasionally and I have a low quality video recording from quite a few years ago.. I hope it will eventually come out on DVD.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable film about three unfortunate ex-cons plenty of drama , thrills and stunning performances
ma-cortes7 March 2012
Interesting story set in Great Depression with tension , intrigue , some violence but also amusement and too many moments to be taken seriously . Glory, W.Va., 1935. It wasn't exactly a parade . It wasn't a time for celebration. It was a time to run for your life. When a trio ( Stewart ,Strother Martin , Kurt Russell ) of ex-inmates led by Mattie Appleyard (James Stewart) is released from jail , they hope to open a general store . Homer Grindstaff ( David Huddleston) is a big named banker in Glory and Doc Council (George Kennedy) is a prison guard and they team up to scheme to kill Appleyard and his ex-convict friends who were trying to open up a general store in Stone Coal, West Virginia and then to take the money . After the three ex-cons boarded a passenger train( the locomotive used in this movie is none other than Southern Railway 4501 ) headed for Stone Coal , Council join forces with an assortment of bad guys , Steve Mystic (Mike Kellin) and Junior Kilfong (Morgan Paull) to stop the train before it reaches its destination and kill all three convicts . After an unsuccessful attempt, Junior Kilfong fires one shot from his double barrelled shotgun into Roy K. Sizemore (William Windom) knocking him to the ground. Later on , the trio escapes and goes to a brothel-ship where they find a Madam ( Anne Baxter) and a young girl (Katherine Cannon) .

This entertaining film about three ex-cons stalked by their former warden contains action , melodramatic events , thrills , some violence but also humor , though clichés run through-out . Comic relief for amusing moments developed among main characters and especially on the relationship between James Stewart and Strother Martin . Another great James Stewart acting as a good ex-convict who puts explosives on his body , hence the alternative name of the film "Dynamite Man from Glory Jail" . Very good support cast with special mention to George Kennedy as an extremely villain and Anne Baxter as an old prostitute . Colorful cinematography by Harry Stradling Jr , Victor MacLagen's usual , and was filmed in Moundsville, West Virginia, which was the hometown of Davis Grubbs, author of the novel titled "Fools' Parade" .

The motion picture sometimes receives an excessive melodramatic treatment and being well realized by Andrew V McLagen, son of great actor Victor McLagen . He's a a known Ford's disciple . Andrew holds the distinction of directing the most episodes of "Gunsmoke" . Furthermore , he holds the honor of filmmaking the most episodes of ¨Have gun , Will travel" (1957). And is one of the few directors to have directed both Clint Eastwood and John Wayne . He's a Western expert (McLintock, Shenandoah, Bandolero, Chisum, Cahill, Way west) and warlike specialist , such as proved in several films ( Return to Kwai, Wild Geese , Dirtdozen: the next mission, Sea wolves, Breakthrough ) . Rating : Nice 6,5 . The picture will appeal to James Stewart fans , an old master in the art of conjuring sympathy out of nothing . Worthwhile watching .
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
James Stewart in one of his best!
XweAponX1 April 2008
This film: Starts off, Typical STEWART- The very beginning of this film is almost Hitchcock-ian.

Stewart is a released convict who has saved $25,000 over the 40 years of his imprisonment. A "Murderer," he is accompanied by a "Bank Robber" Strother Martin and "Rapist" - A teenage Kurt Russel.

The year is 1935 and on release from work prison in "Glory," a fictional town in Virginia: they are "accompanied" (By Double Barreled Shotgun) to the train leaving town by bible-spouting (And slime encrusted) George Kennedy (With Really Nasty Ugly Shark-like Teeth).

As they board the train, Kennedy spouts threatening innuendo- And as the train begins to roll, we know that the train is not going to the intended rendezvous, and the suspense embedded in the film during this point, before we know exactly what is going to happen is very Hitchcock-ified. And this is where I stop lest there be spoilers.

Directed and Produced by Victor McLaglen's son Andrew: And so the homage to Hitchcock may or may not be intended as James Stewart had starred in no less than 4 Hitchcock films and was one of Hitch's best leading men.

The screen is graced also by an Anne Baxter under caked on makeup, which is rather great... She almost-reprises her role as Eve (All About Eve) in her greed... Which is not apparent at first, but once she finds out that there is a large sum of money floating about... The greed of the Baxter character is poetically dealt with in a most humorous fashion, and is a refreshing comical "Handle" for the viewer in the middle of this film.

Even through there are spots where the pace of the film seems to lag, this did not harm my interest in seeing what was going to happen at the end.

Production wise, it is obvious that this is an early 70's almost TV-like movie: The only thing that gives away the fact that this was a theatrical release was the Wide Screen Aspect Ratio.

This is well worth seeing, especially if you watch Vertigo first. Wonderful Film.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Biggest Fan
richnkerry21 July 2005
It has been since the early 70's and as a young teenager since I have seen this movie, but will always remember it and be in my heart also. You see I was born in W. Virgina at the location this movie was filmed (at least parts of it). Without taking from a great movie and great stars in it (Jimmy can do no wrong),I enjoyed seeing the different and familiar locations and knowledge of what they were then and to what they are presently, you would be surprised. The prison during the filming was in full use then, but now it is closed with tours in it. The railroad station is there still but with houses and trailers around it and a huge bridge crossing the Ohio river almost over top of it now A very good movie, funny and great acting, this movie is on my mind very often and wish I someday can get a copy of this, it would be in my top 5 for sure
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stewart's Thrilling Sleeper (But A Must See!)
trnscndr4 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It was Stewart's most compelling role when I saw it as an 11 year old boy. The idea that an old released convict explosives expert could have a glass eye and $25000 that George Kennedy (Doc Council) wanted to steal from him was a simple setup but really caught my attention.

Stewart was the kind of old man any young kid would want to hang out with, and I identified with Kurt Russell, his young sidekick who had served in prison with Stewart. Russell was a naive devotee of Stewart and he aspired to join Stewart in an honest, simple career, opening an general store.

George Kennedy and his evil gang was the only thing standing in the way of Stewart going straight, and we see Kennedy in his best villain role as an unshaven, foul, redneck who wore a dirty white suit and hat and canvas Keds. God, I hated him good in this film and will never forget it.

Spoiler- The biggest thrill of the film was when Stewart quotes from the Bible that God would "pluck out the eye" of a man who offended him, in order to freak out a guy who was brandishing a gun on Stewart. As Stewart finishes the quote, he plucks out his eye and holds it out in the face of the enemy, who then becomes vulnerable to be disarmed.

It is a shame this film is impossible to see nowadays, not yet on DVD.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I loved it!
heather-arlen6 June 2004
I haven't seen this movie for at least fifteen years, but have never forgotten it...if it were released on video I'd probably buy several copies for friends, because it is such a good story to start with, and so well-done as a movie. James Stewart, George Kennedy, and Kurt Russell give memorable performances, and there is never that sense that you sometimes get with movies that it doesn't matter whether you watch it or not, you know how it will turn out...not with this one! George Kennedy is excellent as the villain, and the whole reversal of roles (the ex-con as the good guy, and the Sunday School teacher/prison official as the bad guy) make the movie one to remember. I highly recommend it!
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I saw this great movie as a kid, but never after that...
walk_the_walk4 March 2006
My Dad grew up in WV and took my brother and I to see this movie at the theater when it came out in 1971. It was a great film! I have waited for 35 years to see it again, with no luck.

The beginning of the movie was set and filmed in Moundsville, WV in the early 30s. Jimmy Stewart played a character with a glass eye, who had served some 30 or 40 years in prison and was headed to the WV capitol to cash his check for funds owed to him for his prison labors. The conflict in the movie is the evil warden type, played by George Kennedy, who is out to kill Stewart and his two buddies, one of which is played by Strother Martin. The Strother Martin character wants to open up his own grocery store with the help of the Jimmy Stewart character.

This is a wonderful film, somewhat similar in style to The Film Flam Man, and of the same vintage. I would love to get a copy of it, or see it again on TCM or another channel.

Could anyone guess why this movie has never been made available since its original release? I would sure like to know...
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sadly not on vhs/dvd in US!James Stewart/Kurt Russell Rules!!
willsauer-15 September 2002
In this superb but little known 1971 film starring Jimmy Stewart,Kurt Russell playing ex-convicts trying to cash a check in a corrupt town that won't let them.Based on the book "Fools Parade" by Davis Grubb whose other book"Night of the Hunter" was also made into a movie 1955-starring Robert Mitchum,Shelley Winters and both movies filmed in West Virginia.Unfortunately like so many other great movies"Fools Parade"has never been released on vhs/dvd in the US which hopefully will change someday.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why has this movie been so forgotten?
larryhughes141320 June 2006
I too have been waiting for my chance to see this little gem again. I took a date to see this movie in the theater in 1971. I was in high school at the time and happy to be going on a date. Half way through the movie, just as I got the nerve to put my arm around my date and get comfortable, a severe storm rolled through the area, knocking out power to the theater and surrounding area. We hung around for a while until it was determined that the power wasn't coming back on any time soon. The theater operator gave everyone a "rain check". We went back the next night to finish the movie, so I got two dates out of one movie, a guys dream! I loved the movie with its humor, great story line, and great actors looking like they were having fun. It's a mystery to me as to why it is so hard to find this movie anywhere. I looked it up in Leonard Maltin's book and he calls it a "bomb". I haven't liked him since.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid performances by James Stewart and George Kennedy
mlsaare21 December 2006
The plot is simple: 3 convicts have done their time and are being released from prison. Mattie Appleyard (James Stewart) has saved a large sum of money while behind bars and plans to open a small store with his two compatriots. However, we know from the very first scene that prison authority 'Doc' Council (George Kennedy) is not a friend of inmates nor those who have paid their debt to society, and this is where the story begins. Both Stewart and Kennedy give very solid performances, and as to why this movie is not widely recognised for being one of the best in either actors' careers is very much beyond me. No, it doesn't have space aliens blowing up New York, or laser beams shooting out of mutants' eyes, or even alleged terrorists fighting each other with bio-chemical weapons in some far flung country. However, what it does have are actors practicing their individual crafts as best as they know how to and providing the viewing audience with an extremely good product. This is what is called entertainment.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
God uses the good ones. The bad ones use God.
Spikeopath6 November 2010
Fools' Parade (also known as Dynamite Man from Glory Jail) is directed by Andrew McLaglen and stars James Stewart, George Kennedy, Kurt Russell, and Strother Martin. It's based on the novel of the same name by Davis Grubb with a screenplay by James Lee Barrett. Harry Stradling Jr. photographs on location in Marshall County, West Virginia and Henry Vars scores the music.

Three men released from prison, one with a cheque for $25,452.32 in his pocket. One crooked bank manager and one vindictive prison captain, both men determined not to let the prisoners cash in that cheque.

Something of an under seen picture due to no home format release as yet, Fools' Parade is a well acted story set around the depression era. It's got a mixture of violence, comedy, adventure and whimsy, while its themes of corruption, new beginnings and moral quandaries are neatly put together as a melodramatic whole. The characterisations are most interesting, not least the three criminals, who having served time for some terrible crimes, are actually the most stand up guys in a town that's full of desperation; where the residents are teetering on the brink of badness.

The cast speaks for itself as regards quality, and they deliver on the promise of their names. While an unrecognisable Anne Baxter also enters the fray late on with a heartfelt and dramatic performance. Special mention for Stradling's photography, which captures the hazy atmosphere of the troubled 30s especially well. A more than involving film that prospective new viewers should try and catch if they get the chance. 7/10
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fascinating movie withheld from the public
movietode17 February 2010
I've seen some references state that Anne Baxter didn't like her own performance and had the ability to block distribution. Her vanity pretty much assured that the city of Moundsville would lose a rare lifeline to drag itself out of poverty oblivion. It must have been a terrible let-down at the time because you can bet that the townsfolk were tickled pink.

I do not think it is possible to come up with a better version in a remake, but perhaps someone should try that out. I see no chatter to indicate that the distribution will ever be approved.

A new version with current actors might attract a following and create the stimulus to release the original. Want to make a movie? You can rent this town for cheap - it's not changed a lot since the movie except for Walmart and other eyesores on the highway.

I consider this a must-see movie and if you look hard enough around the Internet, you will find copies.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"God Uses The Good Ones And The Bad Ones Use God"
bkoganbing4 February 2008
After doing about four or five straight westerns, James Stewart obviously wanted a change of pace, so he starred in this Depression era film about a man just released from prison and ready to cash a check for $25,000.00. This is the equivalent of 40 years of working in the prison mines as convict labor and apparently never buying anything in the prison commissary. Which is the part I find hard to believe.

Now possibly had this story been set in 1925 in the boom times of the Roaring Twenties, Stewart might have had different ambitions. But he and friends Strother Martin and Kurt Russell just want to open up a general store in some small town and live quietly.

But this is the Thirties a decade of hard times and bank failures. Local banker David Huddleston can't afford to cash Stewart's check or the bank in which he's been dipping in the till will go belly up with his name on the failure. So he goes to whom he usually goes to bail him out of these situations; prison guard George Kennedy and henchmen Mike Kellin and Morgan Paull.

The story is far fetched but Andrew McLaglen put together a really good cast and the film definitely had some colorful characters. Anne Baxter plays the painted prostitute of the river who has a boat for assignations and a young girl played by Katherine Cannon for those who don't like the older model. Her life's ambition is to get into the Daughters of the American Revolution because as she puts she and her family have been serving our country by servicing our soldier's needs since 1776.

George Kennedy's part is also a gem. He's a Sunday school teacher as well as a prison guard and contract killer for hire. We haven't seen a religious hypocrite like him since Robert Mitchum as Reverend Harry Powell in Night of the Hunter. Then again that's no accident since Davis Grubb wrote the novels on which both films are based.

Robert Donner has a key role in the film as the train conductor with a conscience. I can't say more, but the man's conscience is what brings about a righting of all wrongs.

Best scene in the film is James Stewart getting the drop on Morgan Paull during the first confrontation. Paull is a would be country singer who does a little killing on the side, but only if they're atheists. And of course it's Kennedy and Kellin who point out the atheists to do in.

Kennedy is also carrying around one ton of homosexual repression. Note that in his scenes with Paull and with Kurt Russell as he declaims loud and long about how he doesn't like boys. He likes them too well when his religion tells him that's a big no-no.

I remember back in my working days at NYS Crime Victims Board I did a claim for a homicide victim who was a 67 year old letter carrier for U.S. Post Office. He was a man described by the police as someone who just worked all his adult life for the Post Office, never married and raised a family, never took a vacation, just worked and saved. He managed to accumulate over $350,000.00 in his life and the estate was going to go to our claimant who was his 88 year old mother. Sad when you think of it, but letter carriers are a bit better paid than convict labor even granting the differing values of the dollar in those eras. It's why I can't grasp how Stewart saved all that money.

Despite my inability to suspend disbelief Fools' Parade is a colorful film with some fine acting in it and a must for fans of James Stewart like myself.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An interesting character that isn't really there
JamesHitchcock30 May 2014
In one of my earlier reviews I stated that although James Stewart may occasionally have played morally ambiguous, conflicted characters, especially in the Westerns he made with Anthony Mann in the fifties, I could not recall him ever playing an outright villain. At first sight it seems that this film is going to be an exception, as we learn early on that his character, Mattie Appleyard, is a murderer. It soon becomes clear, however, that this is going to be one of those films where the criminals are the good guys and those supposedly charged with enforcing the law the bad guys.

The story takes place in 1935 in West Virginia. The elderly Appleyard is one of three prisoners released from jail on the same day; the others are middle-aged bank robber Lee Cottrill and the young Johnny Jesus. (We never learn exactly what Johnny's alleged crime was, although he continues to protest his innocence). The three are put on a train out of town, but soon realise that they are in danger from an unexpected source. A prison official, Captain "Doc" Council, and two accomplices are trying to track them down and kill them. The reason is that Council, who is in league with a corrupt local banker, wants to embezzle the large sum of money, in excess of $25,000, which Appleyard has received for all his work during his 40 years in prison.

During the earlier part of his career, Stewart was as accomplished a comic actor as he was a serious one, appearing in classic comedies as good as "Mr Smith Goes to Washington", "Destry Rides Again", "The Philadelphia Story" and "Harvey". After about 1950, however, his gift for picking the right film seemed to desert him when it came to comedy. He continued to appear in some excellent serious movies, principally Westerns, but few of his comedies from this period are of the same standard, and "Fools' Parade" is an example of what I mean. He has one splendid bravura passage where, in the throes of a supposed religious conversion, he plucks out one of his eyes in order to frighten off one of Council's sidekicks who has come to shoot him. (What the said sidekick doesn't realise is that this is in fact a glass eye). For most of the time, however, Stewart is simply trying to invest Appleyard with a greater depth and significance than he really merits; as one critic said "Time and again he gives you the impression of an interesting character that really isn't there in the role."

This was really Stewart's last starring role. After the film came out in 1971, he was absent from the screen for five years, and in his later films, starting with "The Shootist", he confined himself to supporting roles and cameos.

In his autobiography Charlton Heston recounts a conversation he had with his co-star Maximilian Schell during the making of "Counterpoint", in which Heston played an orchestral conductor captured by the Nazis during the war and Schell played the German officer holding him. Wouldn't it be fun, they agreed, if a second version of the film could be shot, this time with the music-loving Schell playing the musician and Heston (who rarely got the chance to play a villain) as the Nazi? Someone seems to have had a similar idea with "Fools' Parade" because it stars both George Kennedy and Strother Martin, both of whom had several years earlier appeared in another prison drama, "Cool Hand Luke". Only here their roles are reversed. Kennedy, who had played a prisoner in the earlier film, here plays Council, whereas Martin, a brutal prison warder in "Cool Hand Luke" ("What we have here is failure to communicate"), here plays the prisoner Cottrill.

Martin does not have the same impact here as he did in the earlier film, but Kennedy is one of the better things about "Fools' Parade". His Doc Council, complete with pebble glasses, bad teeth, an ill-fitting suit and a curious stooping gait, is a splendidly leering pantomime villain who combines his villainy with religious fanaticism. (In his spare time he is a Sunday-school teacher).

I earlier described the film as a comedy, although I note that some reviewers on this board have insisted on taking it seriously, possibly because the film-makers and cast seem to have been unsure what sort of film they were actually making. As I said, Stewart was trying to invest his character with a certain seriousness, but others, especially Kennedy's Doc and Anne Baxter's Cleo, a raddled old whore with an obsessive grievance against the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, who refuse to have her as a member, seem to be played firmly tongue-in-cheek. The result is a rather uncertain black comedy which occasionally tries to cross the border into seriousness but never gets very far.

A frequent complaint by my fellow reviewers is that "Fools' Parade" has not been released on DVD. Well, keep asking, lads, but personally I feel that there is more chance of Cleo being accepted by the DAR. 5/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good Ole Fashioned No Chick Flick
MikeOne49620 July 2006
Splendid film! :) I've been looking for it off & on for more than 30 years. Seems to be unavailable in VHS or DVD :(! In Feb 1973, I was a projectionist in Texas & showed it to troops while on maneuvers at Fort Hood. I can remember specifically because of an ice storm & my wife's birthday! The anguish of seeing the corruption involved with the prison warden & the way he, the towns people, & the railroad interacted to thwart the well-planned efforts of the convicts to 'go straight', was extremely powerful & tragic. The explosions of the dynamite were minuscule compared to the highly charged emotional scars developed by the story. I'll always regard it as one of the best Jimmy Stewart movies. Such a shame it's not readily available.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
fools parade (1971)
judycvt25 September 2006
I grew up in Moundsville W.Va. where the movie was filmed and got to watch many of the areas they filmed, i was able to get several signatures from the actors, Jimmy Stewart, Struther Martin and George Kennedy. I never got to meet Kurt Russell. It was a really good movie, not Oscar material, but very enjoyable. The last comment about why the movie never made it to copy, is because (this is what I've heard) Anne Bancroft did not like her portrayal and would never authorized a release in copy. She is now deceased, so i can only hope this will allow copies to be made and distributed. I for one would be the first in line to get it!.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring out Fool's Parade on DVD
dawn-powell10 November 2008
This great movie was made in my home town. During the late 1970s I was a newspaper reporter at The Moundsville Daily Echo. Everyone was still talking about that big event. That is my only claim to fame. The entire town of Moundsville was used as extras; some paid, but most unpaid. The filming of the movie was the biggest thing to come to the sleepy little riverfront burg since the Mound Builders build the 50' conical mound, the namesake of the town. Schools dismissed for weeks and local power plant and chemical plant workers took blue-flu days. I highly recommend that you please publish this old movie on DVD and sell it on Amazon. At least 50% of the population of West Virginia will buy it. (500,000 people). Thanks
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Anne Baxter steals the show
vironpride27 February 2007
As others who have reviewed "Fool's Parade," I am deeply regretful that it has never made it to VC or DVD, because it is a total gem! It was last run on television more years ago than I can remember, but it must have been before the VCR came along or I should have taped it in a minute. As a West Virginian myself, I recognize the local color, unique names, and general ambiance of this film. The whole cast is excellent, but some stand out. I have a friend who says she absolutely hates George Kennedy because of the slimy character he portrays (Dallas Council). Morgan Paull plays religious half-wit Junior Kilfong, who kills atheists when Dallas points them out to him, and marvelous Anne Baxter, with her painted-on black eyebrows, just steals the whole movie as Cleo, a patriotic madam fallen on hard times. Her lifelong heartbreak is that she is not allowed into the "DARs," even though her great-great-great-great or however many grandmother served the Colonial Army and died in the doing ("As surely as if she'd died in battle!") *Sob* I remember when "Fool's Parade" was shown on television, and the reason that Cleo's grandmother died was censored. However, the censoring made it sound worse than it really was! How I wish I could see this jewel again! Don't miss it if you get the chance!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is a GREAT MOVIE
hipocket200121 July 2002
I just cant belive that i found this site for this movie i have talked about this movie and i cant belive that i found it here!! This movie is a down right favorit movie of mine it is funny and just lets your mind wonder in this movie
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Late Great
lindahoggart2 May 2006
hooray!!!!at last I have the name of the film that I have been searching for for years this being Fools Parade I was starting to think i had imagined it as no-one knew of the film with the late great Jimmy Stewart and his glass eye.Question though can anyone tell me PLEASE what the eye was called?? I know that it had a name but can not remember it or if any one can give me any advice as to where I might find this out.Of all the films made by Jimmy Stewart this is one that in my opinion does not get enough air time here in U.K.we see all of his westerns and the occasional showing of Harvey or Wonderful life but not this one many thanks
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
where is the DVD?
dshafer2283 June 2008
I to wish this movie was available on DVD or VHS.....can't even get it from video stores etc. There is however another excellent movie from this author available, "Night of the Hunter" excellent also. I also lived in Moundsville when they were filming this move (lets not talk about how My BFF and I tried to sneak on set to see Kurt Russell) but I would have loved it at any rate. Excellent story to begin with. The entire cast is in top form. Shooting it in WV was a brilliant move with all of the natural scenery, railroads and old buildings makes the film that much more enjoyable and realistic for this period piece. If you wish to read some of this authors books, they are available online (used) Although, Amazon now has a hard back reprint of this title, for those who wish to read it. Davis Grubb in my opinion was the William Faulkner of West Virginia and I'm so glad that I have dragged those books every time I moved, as now I can share them with the other readers in the house.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Chase drama
zepp-623 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Probably the most memorable roles for Jimmy Stewart and George Kennedy respectively. Set in northern Kentucky in the depths of the Great Depression, it is the story of three parolees who are planning to start a new life, and the efforts of town and prison officials to stop them.

Contains some of the funniest scenes in motion picture lore, including Stewart using his glass eye to intimidate a god-struck hired killer, and Anne Baxter as a hyper-patriotic riverboat whore who is embittered by the refusal of the DAR to let her join. George Kennedy is implacable and sinister as Stewart's antagonist.

The humor doesn't hide the desperation and despair of the times, or the life-and-death struggle the three parolees face as they attempt to start a new life.

Does not appear to be in publication at this time. Hopefully Criterion or somebody will re-release this gem.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed