Bigfoot (1970) Poster

(1970)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Bikers and babes and...er...Bigfoot
rosscinema7 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This ultra cheap flick is hard to resist since it obviously doesn't take itself seriously so why hate it because it's low budget? Bored? Well, okay you probably have me there but lovers of bad films will undoubtedly find a place in their collection for this silly effort. Story takes place somewhere in the forest where we see a biker gang head through a small town before embarking on a hiking trip but Rick (Christopher Mitchum) and his girl Chris (Judy Jordan) venture off by themselves for some necking. They come across a burial ground and find a hairy creature buried in one of the plots and then suddenly are attacked themselves where Rick is knocked unconscious and Chris is carried off.

*****SPOILER ALERT***** Rick wakes up and heads to the nearest town to try and find help but the local police don't believe him and it takes two traveling salesmen who say they are interested in lending a hand. Jasper B. Hawks (John Carradine) and Elmer Briggs (John Mitchum) believe his story and think that if they can capture one of the sasquatch's then they will be rich. The creatures have Chris tied to a stake along with another pretty woman named Joi Landis (Joi Lansing) and they figure out that Bigfoot wants to mount them and get them pregnant because a smaller and more human looking creature (Jerry Maren) keeps sniffing about. Joi is taken up the hill as a prize for the biggest Bigfoot (James Stellar) so that he can mount her but Chris, Jasper, Elmer, and the biker gang will soon be there to help.

This film is written and directed by Robert Slatzer who had directed a couple of biker flicks before but the budget for this film is so small that he couldn't even get any cool looking motorcycles. It's easy to pick out the silliness here and I'll start with Carradine's character who recites famous lines from other films like "Go away kid, you bother me", "It was beauty did him in" and ultimately "Beauty and the Beast" as he looks up and down at the beautiful Lansing. I also couldn't help but notice that Bigfoot knows how to tie knots! Who else tied the women up to those stakes? Lansing is a pilot but after parachuting out she takes her suit off and is wearing almost nothing and Jordan who is in the forest (nowhere near any beach) is supposed to be on a hiking trip but is wearing a bikini. How convenient for viewers! Chris Mitchum gets into a fistfight with one of the creatures and it turns out that the sasquatch can fight better than most heavyweight contenders. The local police are totally inept and when the sheriff learns that a girl has disappeared he spouts "Go on home and go to bed" while his deputy in the background is polishing the barrel of a gun like it's a gay phallic symbol. The biker gang in this film has to be the dullest bunch of wimps I have ever seen as they wear nice looking and ironed clothes. Their hair is neatly trimmed and when Mitchum is about to head into the woods with sexy Jordan he's warned to play nice! This gang is so timid and boring that a bunch of insurance salesmen at a convention would be more wild than these boy scouts. The motorcycles they ride are nothing more than medium sized Yamaha's whom I think helped sponsor this film in some way. The highlight of the film aside from gawking at Jordan in her bikini is watching the beautiful and busty barefoot Lansing who when not tied to a stake is either in the clutches of Bigfoot or running around the woods trying to escape. She appears to always be on the verge of falling out of her skimpy outfit but alas, it never happens although there are several eye popping shots of her considerable cleavage. Lansing was a popular "B" movie starlet who unfortunately would die of cancer less than two years later before this film was ever released and she was stunning to look at. Both John and Christopher Mitchum are related not only to each other but to the great Robert Mitchum and along with them a few other familiar faces pop up like cowboy star Ken Maynard who has a poster of one of his old films behind him in the store. Besides Carradine the cast has Jerry Maren (Cousin Itt), Haji (Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!), and character actor Doodles Weaver as the forest ranger. I've always found low budget efforts like this fascinating to view and along with the bad furry suits and horrible sound stage forest settings it's still a film that knows what it is and clearly doesn't take itself seriously.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"The Greatest Monster Since KING KONG"
saraphin13 October 1998
Well, that was the quote on my video box by someone from THE POST. So, judging by that rather anonymous endorsement, I knew I was in for a real treat. Not to mention the box artwork, which features a large, vaguely ape-like creature tossing a motorcycle (yay! a hybrid biker/monster flick!) Toss in John Carradine, and the blurb "America's abominable snowman... breeds with anything!", and you've got yourself an epoch du frommage. The uncomfortably long (and silent) travelling scenes, the paper mache sets, the unbelievably bad bigfoot makeup(or shall I say BigFEET?), the dinner-theatre-style acting, wonderfully inane script - all a testiment to the ultra-low budget that this "classic" drive-in flick flaunts in spades. Demands repeated viewings.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hilariously awful
zetes10 October 2010
If you list John Carradine's films in order of IMDb rating, Bigfoot ranks second to last. This is a guy who starred in films titled Hillbillys in a Haunted House, Billy the Kid vs. Dracula, Vampire Hookers, Satan's Cheerleaders and Sex Kittens Go to College, among many, many others. A gaggle of sasquatches are out looking for women to mate with in this extremely low budget flick that looks like it was filmed on spare sets from Hee Haw. John Carradine is the biggest star, but you also have big breasted Joi Lansing and two kids of famous Hollywood actors, Chris Mitchum and Lindsay Crosby. Robert Mitchum's brother, John, is also in it. Oh, and Jerry Marren, aka the green-shirted Munchkin from the Lollipop Guild (as well as, I believe, the only Munchkin who survives to this day) dons the costume of the child bigfoot. Anyway, a biker chick and a downed female pilot get captured by bigfeet, and Carradine and his bud John Mitchum join the gang, hoping to make money by capturing a live bigfoot. This is really cruddy, and pretty boring. It's rated at a dismal 1.4 on IMDb. I laughed at it enough, and it's short enough, where I'll rate it a tad higher. After all, the awesome poster of this film has decorated my wall for a few years ago (with the tagline "breeds with anything..."). This was the first time I ever watched an entire film on Youtube. That's certainly not preferable (a drive-in would be ideal), but it was the only way to see it.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hillbillies, bikers, and crap! Oh my!
jaywolfenstien18 June 2007
There's a vastly superior movie out there called The Ninth Configuration, written and directed by William Peter Blatty. In that movie about an insane asylum dwells a character named Frankie Reno who feels compelled to do an all dog production of Shakespeare. Now, should Frankie ever film the fruits of his labor, I'm convinced it would yield a better movie than Bigfoot.

We're talking about a film whose production appears to consists of "whatever can fit in the back of a pickup truck" filmed at what I'm assuming was a breakneck pace to get a product in the can and distributed to America's drive-in theaters (maybe 'drive-thru' is a more appropriate term.) What I'm trying to say is, I hope minimal time and resources were dedicated to this movie because the technical merits are so abysmal that the clearly deteriorating print from which the incorrectly framed DVD was made may actually be an improvement to the original projection over 30 years ago. I wish I were exaggerating.

Seriously, it defeats the purpose of a serious critical analysis (want proof, check out the cheesy DVD cover art). Instead, dear reader, I present the "fun" aspect of Bigfoot.

I enjoyed how Joi Lansing piloted a plane that, not surprisingly, crashes … but not before a leisurely conversation with air traffic control while grips stand outside the obviously grounded plane and shake it back and forth to simulate mid-air turbulence. I giggled with condescending glee seeing this pilot parachute out, descend, and then cut to her on the ground wrapping up her chute (my guess is the budget couldn't afford the ladder to simulate a landing.)

Let's not forget the masterful camera-work of the motorcycle gang riding through the woods – shots designed to instill an uneasy, slightly nauseating sensation, by vigorously shaking the frame as if … as if … the cameraman was sitting in the bed of a truck that had no shocks! And there's a brilliant moment in the "party" montage where it looked like someone dropped the camera.

What brilliant economical editing too! Why show the plane taking off? Crashing? Or Joi landing? And the quick cuts showing the editorial equivalent of nothing to show the plane going down (I guess).

Oh, and when Bigfoot's henchmen (littlefoots?) kidnap the pilot and the bikini-clad girl (what's her name?) – these two women are tied to barely visible saplings, so their surprisingly calm conversation comes across as two high-school broads hanging around the cafeteria gossiping. "So, which of the furry guys who kidnapped us do you think is the cutest?" Wait, it gets better, the bikini clad-babe (maybe it was the pilot in her … whatever the hell that outfit's supposed to be) gives us a quasi-scientific run down of what these creatures are.

A little bit later, glorified monkeys checkmate the rescue party in a battle of wits, the rescue party is tied to saplings next to the girls where they all uncannily resemble disgruntled company lay-offs waiting in line at a soup kitchen.

How 'bout John Carradine's car which the hare could outrun even if the tortoise gave him cement shoes and broke his legs. What am I saying? The tortoise could take an ice-pick to the hare, push the corpse down a hill and the dead body could outrun that car (not to mention require less maintenance to keep running.) Speaking of John Carradine, I hope you like ham and cheese with your turkey.

And I learned a very valuable lesson from Bigfoot: contrary to popular myth, dynamite does not actually require a fuse. It only requires a moron to throw it and boom!

I have a theory that films like Bigfoot are made as a self-help tool to make suicidal filmmakers feel better about their work. Even the most talentless hacks can watch it with the comfort of knowing, "well, I can do better than that. Maybe life is worth living."
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bigfoot(1970): This was punishment
quickdog28 August 2002
My dad had a pair of Cinemacanica 35mm projectors and he bought this film. If he paid more than a nickel for it he was over charged. Then again, this movie was so bad that he decreed that if my brothers or myself acted out of line, then the perpetrator would be sentenced to watch this film.

Needless to say I watched this film many times and my father wore out the print. Maybe he did get his money's worth out of it. Heck! I bet my dad would gladly have paid a thousand dollars for this as much as he made me watch it.

By the way, this movie caused terrible trauma for me. I've never been able to watch another movie with Christopher Mitchum. He has to be the worst actor of all time.
21 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Carradine and the Ape
Michael_Elliott8 March 2008
Bigfoot (1970)

** 1/2 (out of 4)

Various women are being kidnapped and it turns out Bigfoot and his clan are behind it. Apparently their race is dying off so they're needing women to have more creatures with. Jasper B. Hawks (John Carradine) gets the idea of capturing one for the money while a biker gang goes after the creature to get their women back.

Bigfoot was always my favorite mythical monster when I was a kid and I was always disappointed because there really aren't too many good movies about him. I continue to watch movies on Bigfoot yet they continue to get worse and worse. This film doesn't have the greatest reputation around but it's certainly a real hoot and a rather fun film as long as you don't take it too serious.

I mean, just take a look at the sequence where the three hot ladies are tied up talking about why they have been captured. This here alone shows that the film wasn't supposed to be taken serious and then you throw in a biker gang and you've got pure drive-in madness. There are some really nutty scenes throughout this movie but the greatest thing about it is the fact that they don't keep the monsters off screen. Nope, the monsters are constantly on the screen and there are multiple ones as well as children!

The cast is also a lot of fun as we get Joi Lansing as one of the victims, Chris and John Mitchum and even Ken Maynard has a small role. Then there's Carradine who eats up the picture just like it was a big bowl of spaghetti. He's really a lot of fun here as he adds in the camp as this redneck looking to make a quick buck. His final line delivery, ripping off the KING KONG ending, is pure joy.

As I said, BIGFOOT isn't a masterpiece and it's not even a really good movie but if you enjoy these low-budget monster movies then there's plenty here to enjoy.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Big bore is more like it
Woodyanders28 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This so-dumb-it's-numbing Sasquatch cinema stinker holds the dubious honor of being possibly the first-ever American movie made about the legendary Bigfoot. Alas, it's also one of the worst-ever movies ever made about Bigfoot.

A small tribe of Sasquatchs -- one giant bad male, three babbling females, and a homely, noisy "whattheheckisit?"-type hybrid baby critter -- abduct luscious young human babes for unsavory procreative purposes. Everybody involved with this putrid turkey comes out stinking worse than filthy old socks. Bouncy, buxom blonde bombshell Joi Lansing, clad only in a skimpy pink nightie, runs shrieking through the woods with a grunting, lecherous Bigfoot in hot pursuit. Robert Mitchum's no-talent son Chris, trying to look tough with his scruffy beard and bandanna, makes for a pitifully unconvincing biker hero. John Carradine, sporting a hideously overdone Southern drawl and a juicy hamminess that could be made into a dozen cans of Spam, gives an unbearably unrestrained performance as traveling salesman Jasper B. Hawke, who wants to nab himself a Bigfoot so he can make a bundle exploiting the beast to the ninth degree. Robert Mitchum's no-talent brother John grates on the nerves with his insufferably whiny turn as Carradine's sniveling partner. Former cowboy movie star Ken Maynard came out of retirement to do a useless bit as an elderly shopkeeper. Comic actor Doodles Weaver briefly appears as a forest ranger. Such familiar B-picture faces as William Bonner, Jennifer Bishop and Russ Meyer starlet Haji (the latter having a very bad overbleached bouffant 'do day) pop up as members of a sickeningly wimpy chopper gang.

The Bigfoot creatures are stupendously sorry-looking: With their tatty, you-can-see-the-seams brown gorilla costumes, buggy eyes and rubbery, puffed-out monkey faces, they resemble rejects from a fifth-rate carnival freakshow. There's little action, nudity, violence or excitement to speak of (at one point Bigfoot wrestles a portly, out-of-it bear, but even this scene is so maladroitly staged that it fails to alleviate the incessant tedium). But there's plenty of dreadful dialogue ("As a former student of archeology I recognize these markings as having a peculiar significance"). Among the other malevolent cinematic blunders to be found within this beyond bad Bigfoot bogusity are stubbornly stationary cinematography, a hopelessly dated "groovy" semi-psychedelic rock score, a draggy pace, a meandering narrative and, last and definitely least, Robert F. Slatzer's horribly ham-fisted so-called "direction." The absolute pits.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
memories
bob-mccord21 November 2007
I saw this movie when I was 6 and I've searched a long time for it I an what people would call a connoisseur of cheesy flicks and as a kid i enjoyed it and probably will again I spend a lot of time searching for these types of movies because I think because it drove my mom crazy. I look for the worst films I can find because they are so campy.Thats the fun of movies I find that the campier the better because they take my mind of things that bother me and relieve things on me even if its just for a short time but I loved the movie Bigfoot what I can remember about it and have recently found it on disc and ordered it as to have more fun watching it and having my memories of that age relived and hoping to find more of them like that to add to my collection
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Amazingly bad
Wuchakk11 August 2013
Released in 1970, "Bigfoot" was one of the first quasi-horror films devoted to the legendary beast-man, if not THE first. It relays the story of a couple of girls kidnapped by some bigfoot creatures and the mixed posse of country police & bikers who seek to find them.

Unfortunately, this is Grade C filmmaking all the way. For instance, the opening credits don't appear until almost the 10-minute mark. Most the scenes leading up to this are overlong time-wasters, like Joi Lansing walking up to her small plane and entering. Totally pointless! I guess they had to pad this turkey somehow, which is only 83 minutes long as it is. Also, most of the "acting" is laughable, and I mean that literally.

For me, the film's worthwhile for three reasons only: (1.) The gorgeous Judy Jordan in a bikini, mostly tied up to a tree (also check her out in 1973's underrated Western "The Gatling Gun"); (2.) the cool hippie-era score; and (3.) the nostalgic badness of it all, which is sort of entertaining.

The movie was shot at Big Bear Lake and San Bernardino National Forest.

GRADE: D
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Thank God for Carradine
IMOvies25 September 2003
BIGFOOT (1970) * (D: Robert F. Slatzer) Thank God for John Carradine, as he at least provides laughs as a southern hunter... but the rest of the movie is without value other than what he does/says next. Long, dead scenes pad out the 80+ minute running time.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
bloody awful
ThoseLittleRabbits14 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was just plain awful. I've seen worse acting but this was just bad. But the acting wasn't really the problem. The problem was this movie was boring. Nothing even really happens. It felt like I was watching a 3 hour movie, but that's probably because I kept stopping it. I had to because it was so awful I couldn't take it all in one sitting. Only scary part that made me jump was when the girl in the green underwear and her boyfriend bump into one of the ape creatures. That was the only good part. Everything else just sucked. I was praying that the ape looking creatures would kill off or at least torture the blonde woman. Her constant screaming made my ears bleed. Even when I turned the volume down her screams (and I'm not kidding), got more piercing! Over and over again she kept screaming whenever she spotted the damn apes. It was unbelievable how this bimbo wasted time screaming at the top of her lungs instead of trying to find a way to get the hell out of there! She was the most annoying character and it sucks that she didn't even die....just to shut her up.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Big Foot, Little Foot. They're both in mouth.
mark.waltz13 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A silly screenplay makes this drive-in style Z grade science fiction/horror movie quite a treat for those who like bad cinema. The moment that I saw that John Carradine was in it, I knew it would be a delightfully bad campfest. I'm sure there were people back in the 1960's and 70's who said, "Guess what. I saw a horror movie last night, and John Carradine was NOT in it!" Carradine is joined by blonde bombshell Joi Lansing (in her last film) as the screaming sexpot desired by a Yeti, seemingly to help raise his offspring (one of whom is "The Wizard of Oz's" Jerry Maren in a Yeti suit, screeching like Donald Duck),John Mitchum and nephew Christopher Mitchum, and veteran B leading actor James Craig. This is overloaded with ridiculously silly dialog, laughable situations and a cheap looking production that must have seemed blurry and fogged up on a big drive-in screen. Between the Yeti squeaks, Joi's screams and Carradine's non-stop preaching, this film is often headache inducing, but there are often laughs at the movie's attempts to be serious. The bluegrass background music and presence of Doodles Weaver makes this seem like something that should have been buried in the corn field on "Hee Haw".
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
B-Movie Bingo FTW!
wyngibbs10 November 2019
Joi Lansing parachutes into her final role screaming and bikinied. Not one, but two Mitchums and big John Carradine burbling words through a moustache and wrinkles. With that much talent cramming the screen, who has room for a plot? You can barely fit in the half-man, half-ladies man 'BIGFOOT' that just wants to demonstrate why he's the "8th Wonder of the World". Nope, no time. Have to pad the whole second act with motorcyclists whipping around in a forest, because we gotta have some character willing to shove sticks of dynamite down their pants? Anyway. 60's chicks tied to trees. Thumbs up. Doodles Weaver just gets a crap cameo. Boo!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bigfoot Is Worth A Watch If Just Barely.
mikecanmaybee23 May 2019
Very cheesy drive in fun with John Carradine (Jasper) and John Mitchum (Elmer) hamming it up just a little too much. Ol' Jasper and Elmer had to fill in the blanks with Chris Mitchum (Rick) having never seemed to have woken up for what could have been a fun role.Sorry to say he was terrible.

Joi Lansing (Joi) did all she could and carried much of the story line. She was quite wholesomely sexy and beautiful in her role. All in all, not to bad for a "B" movie with poor Lindsay Crosby (Wheels) trying to act like a leader of a dirt bike gang. Tennis anyone.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There is no excuse for a movie this bad. Absolutely no excuse.
TheUnknown837-111 December 2010
There is no excuse for a movie this bad. Absolutely no excuse whatsoever. Not merely the fact that it has some good quality cast names in it (John Carradine, John Mitchum) but because it is completely treacherous not only to the industry and the art form, but to the filmmakers themselves. Making a movie like "Bigfoot" is like constructing the Empire State Building out of cardboard and expecting people to work in it every day without ever hearing a shred of complaint. It would also be astonishing that anybody even let you get that far. It's astonishing here, too.

We all know the cult legend of the Americas' simian wonder. Well, as this movie would like us to believe, there is not just one Sasquatch, but dozens of them. And even though they are described (in the film) as being nine feet tall, in reality they're just stubby, man-sized fuzzballs who carry around clubs and sticks and tie people to trees with...I'm not sure what that was or how they got it. And I don't want to waste my precious brain cells pondering over it.

Anyway, whatever. You've got a fashion model (played by real life fashion model Joi Lansing) who crashes her plane in the wilderness and is kidnapped by some lecherous Sasquatches. Then you have some rowdy bikers. One of their girls, while wandering about the woods in nothing but her bra and panties, is kidnapped by another. Her boyfriend sees the big ape and recruits a pair of goofball con men and they all embark on a mission to rescue their girls from the men in ape suits.

The con men are played by John Carradine and John Mitchum, of all people. These two marvelous talents who were so wonderful in so many movies are the only ones involved in this treacherous production who act like professionals. Though they could have easily just hammed their way through (and nobdoy would have blamed them) they stick through to the end, even though they can't come within a lightyear of saving the movie.

"Bigfoot" looks and sounds as if it were made by a group of bottom feeders who had never seen a movie before in their lives. The photography is grainy and amateur and the audio on the soundtrack is so poorly assembled and recorded that you find yourself constantly adjusting the volume on your TV set. The screenplay is just the same set of words and phrases being repeated over and over again and the editing is absolutely horrendous. There is a horrible shot where Joi Lansing is on the run from a Sasquatch. She runs past us in the foreground and keeps on running until she's against the horizon. Then the Sasquatch appears to follow her. Between that point and the first one, we never cut away or adjust camera speed. Add to the fact that Joi Lansing was apparently trying to imitate Fay Wray in her screams and coming across as irksome. And the scene where she crashes her plane is missing not one, but several key shots so that we don't even get the whole picture of what has happened.

I don't think I even need to touch on the special effects.

This is one of the worst, most unremittingly agonizing and horrible movies ever made. As a person who has been and worked on a movie set and knows the pain and pressures that go into making a film, I find it absolutely appalling that anybody would even proceed and suffer their way through the production of something like this. The business isn't even that much of a money-maker for the cast and crew. It's the executives who really get the dough. So why bother unless you're at least going to put up an effort? There are other jobs out there. Other careers.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete garbage
bensonmum224 January 2018
My short and sweet plot summary: A young man named Rick (Christopher Mitchum) goes in search of his girlfriend who has been abducted by the worst looking Bigfoot ever put on film. The local sheriff won't help, so Rick turns to a traveling huckster named Jasper B Hawks (John Carradine) for assistance.

What a complete load of garbage! Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, about Bigfoot is wretched. The movie doesn't scrape the bottom of the barrel - it turns the barrel upside down to get at the poo stuck to the underside. Dull, boring, horribly acted, with some of the absolute worst special effects anyone has ever seen - that' what you'll find in Bigfoot. Carradine may have been a decent actor at one time, but by 1970, he was appearing in just about anything offered. As much as I enjoyed some other films with Christopher Mitchum (Ricco and Summertime Killer to name just two), he proves here how bad an actor he could be without a solid script. It's all so awful it's really not worth saying much more.

After watching this movie, I think I need to revisit some of the other films I've rated 1/10. I think I've done some of those movie a disservice. On IMDb, of the 2,932 films I've rated, 63 received a 1/10. Some of these movies (Dead Men Walk, Sinbad of the Seven Seas, Night of the Sharks, Diamond Connection, Barbarian Queen II, ROTOR, The Adventures of Hercules, or The Swarm for example) have to better, or at least more enjoyable, than Bigfoot.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good Movie
abigailjeffries21 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
A very enjoyable film for me, as I love Bigfoot B-movies.

John Carradine is a great actor and the Bigfoot creatures look more human-like than animal like. The music is also great, especially during the credits in the beginning of the film.The style really fits in well with the other Bigfoot horror movies from the 70's like "The Legend Of Boggy Creek". Another thing I enjoyed about this movie is that the filmmakers actually shot some of the scenes in isolated California mountains were real sightings take place. Unlike more of the 70's Bigfoot movies this one was more of a fantasy or fiction than a docudrama like "Sasquatch: The Legend Of Bigfoot", considering that a group of Bigfoot capture men and women and tie them to trees. If you like Bigfoot movies, this is a must-see!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wow.
BandSAboutMovies21 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Jasper B. Hawks (John Carradine!) and Elmer Briggs (John Mitchum, brother of Robert and the writer of the John Wayne voiced "America, Why I Love Her" that TV stations used to sign off when TV stations still existed and actually signed off) are driving around the forest. And Joi Landis (Joi Lansing, a former MGM contract girl who shows up in the long tracking shot that begins Touch of Evil, in her final role) is a pilot whose plane breaks down. She parachutes into the woods and encounters Bigfoot.

Then there's Rick (Chris Mitchum, son of Robert and also an actor in films like Jodorowsky's Tusk and Faceless) and his girlfriend Chris who find a Bigfoot cemetery and get attacked, too.

Of course, the authorities are of no help. Only Jasper will help Rick and that's because he wants a Bigfoot for his freak show.

Peggy gets kidnapped by Bigfoot and we discover that Joi has been taken, too. Upon reaching the lair of the Bigfoots (Bigfeet?), we discover that the creatures we've seen are his wives and the real creature is 200 feet tall. Yes. You just read that right. And he's about to fight a bear that's just as huge.

A gang of bikers gas Bigfoot but he escapes the freakshow, goes nuts in town and then gets blown up by bikers. John Carradine quotes from King Kong (he does throughout the film) and the movie ends.

Along the way, we find Doodles Weaver, whose scene in the completely bonkers The Zodiac Killer may be the most ridiculous scene in what is quite honestly one of the strangest films I've ever seen.

And hey, is that Bing Crosby's son Lindsey? Yes, it is! And the first singing cowboy, Ken Maynard! This movie is packed with actors who have much more interesting stories than the film they're stuck in.

But you know what is interesting? The strange doom funk that plays every time the bikers show up. And keep your eyes open for a quick appearance by Haji, who famously appeared in Russ Meyer's Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!

Director Robert F. Slatzer only did two other movies, but one of them was The Hellcats, where Russ Hagen battles a female gang. Leather on the outside...all woman on the inside!

But hey - Bigfoot. Come for the bikers. Stay for the bigfoots. Enjoy the bikinis. But dig this crazy sound, man!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Only For Carradine, Only For The Camp
Rainey-Dawn19 January 2017
Only John Carradine can get me to like this film just a tiny bit. His presence gives me the only reason to watch the movie and even then it's pretty bad. His performance is quite a funny one here.

The film is severely campy and that helps to create some of the pleasure out of viewing it. We have a man running around in an ape suit, a throwback to the 30s and 40s eras of the apes in films craze in a way.

The further along this film goes, the better it gets. It is in no way a good film, but it's stupidly campy enough to get a few giggle out of it. I find it one of those films you watch in the afternoon or to fall asleep by. Nothing special.

4/10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dull and trashy, in equal measure
Leofwine_draca8 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
BIGFOOT is a trashy Z-flick that manages to cash in on or rip off all kinds of popular trends from the period. The main thrust of the story, about a family of Bigfoot creatures living out in the forests who kidnap young women for procreation, has obviously been inspired by the supposedly genuine Roger Patterson Bigfoot footage that was shot in 1967 and released to much notoriety. This film even stages a homage in which one of the Bigfoot creatures strolls across open woodland just like in the movie. This flick becomes even more intriguing when watching, as it transpires that the director was responsible for a couple of shoddy biker flicks before he made this and, sure enough, a 'biker gang' are soon involved in the proceedings, although it has to be said that these bikers look more like university students!

The idea of bikers vs. Bigfoot is a good one but this film ruins it through shocking execution. The biggest problem is that the scant running time is padded out with endless upon endless scenes of bikers riding through the woods, cars driving through the woods, sometimes just landscape shots of the woods itself. There's about one few second scene of Bigfoot 'action' and the rest of the running time is made up of talking, which is boring. The characters are paper-thin and the actors are all poor, despite the presence of a few notables including John Carradine, hamming it up in a monster flick as only he knew how; brothers Christopher and John Mitchum, both sons of Robert with none of his ability; Joi Lansing, a cheesecake starlet who strips down to a flimsy dress early on and stays that way throughout; Bing Crosby's son Lindsay, who makes no impression whatsoever; even an ex-western star, Ken Maynard, severely down on his luck.

The cast alone and cheese factor saved this from the list of 'very worst films' I've amassed, but there isn't much to get excited about here. I thought things might pick up with the introduction of dynamite and a one-armed Bigfoot hunter, but I was wrong. The creatures – for there are a whole host of them running about in the murk – look like a cross between 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY's apes and those cavemen brothers from the cartoon series WACKY RACES. Needless to say that the costumes are tatty beyond belief and the multiple references to KING KONG only serve as a reminder of what trash this is. BIGFOOT crashes and burns from the very beginning and is a total waste of time.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Start Of A Cheesy Genre
thestarkfist20 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Don't let all the naysayers sway you. This is a little gem of a bad movie. By the best guess of many this is probably the very first flick to deal with the notion that the American wilderness was home to a large, unknown primate species. Back in the primitive '70's the legend was just starting to get noticed and there was not a lot of information around concerning the supposed nature and habits of the creature. This left writer-director Robert Slatzer plenty of room to let his imagination run wild, and run wild it did. In his vision, Sasquatch is not merely a wild animal afoot in the pacific Northwest, it is a full blown cave man! According to him they have a language, make stone tools, know how to tie knots and bury their dead. Naturally they are also completely beguiled by sexy white women in the best King Kong tradition, which leads them to kidnap several young ladies, one from the ranks of a biker gang. This sets the plot into motion as a group of unlikely allies sets out to locate the ladies and rescue them from the lecherous monsters.

That preceding description might have you thinking that it might not be a half bad flick. Don't get carried away. Slatzer may have a wild imagination but he's also completely clueless on how to tell a story cinematically. Suspense, pacing, believable dialogue, etc. are all well beyond his feeble abilities. There is a hilarious scene where the two beauties are bound to poles and at the mercy of the bigfeet. you might imagine that the ladies would be scared out of their wits at this point, but no. Slatzer has them calmly discuss the morphology of their captors. One girl even surmises that the child- like creature in the group is a Sasquatch-human hybrid! Ridiculous!

John Carradine and John Mitchum are completely wasted in their roles as the avaricious traveling salesmen who hope to capture one of the critters and make a fortune. Location footage is mixed with cheesy sets that are easily distinguished from the real thing. No doubt Slatzer hoped nobody would be able to tell the difference. I had hoped that the climax of the film was going to be an unintentionally hilarious rumble between the bikers and the Bigfeet, but no such luck. That would have probably taken days to film and Slatzer couldn't afford to rent the camera that long. Instead one of the creatures flees into a cave and a biker tosses in a bundle of dynamite. There is a lame excuse for an explosion and we are assured that we have just seen the end of the naughty Bigfoot, but then a cryptic message appears on the screen: "Or Is It??" As it turns out, yes it is. If Slatzer was planning a sequel it does not seem to have materialized and the world was able to get on with the understandable task of ignoring this guy's movies.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed