Batman (TV Series 1966–1968) Poster

(1966–1968)

User Reviews

Review this title
88 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Holy Bat ratings! We're in IMDB!
TroyAir9 August 1999
I watched this tv show as a child, and every Halloween from the age of 5 to 8, I wanted to dress in a costume just like Batman's. Of course, my parents didn't have the resources to hire an entire corps of costumers and props masters, so I had to make do with a jumpsuit from Sears that had the Batman symbol printed on it. Such is Life. Still, I always thought Batman was the best of the legion of super-heroes to come around (except for perhaps Spiderman, whom I discovered later on).

Watching the tv show now as an adult, I realize just how campy and ridiculous it was, but where as a child I interpreted the action sequences as dynamic and exciting, now I see these same scenes as well-staged comedy, which is how the original producers intended it to be seen. Who can forget the big cartoon graphics such as "BAM!" and "POW!" and "Crrr-Rash!" which flashed up just before Batman slugged a villain or knocked over a prop? I beat up the sofa cushions with just as much enthusiasm. And don't even get me started on the car (Batmobile), the boat (Batboat), and helicopter (Batcopter) which I absolutely had to have in Corgi miniatures (still have mine in a box in the garage, along with James Bond's Aston Martin and the Monkeemobile). And all the kids knew the Batman song. NaNa NaNa NaNa NaNa Batman!

Looking back at it now, I see that even though Adam West and Burt Ward, two relative unknowns at the time, never really recovered from being typecast, just about all of the supporting actors were accomplished in either films, tv, or the stage, such as Cesar Romero and Victor Buono (check him out in "What Ever Happened To Baby Jane"), and they managed to continue their careers. A few, such as Eartha Kitt, used the "Batman" series as a springboard to other things (I saw Kitt's performance as the Wicked Witch in "Wizard of Oz" on stage and she was fantastic). But whatever their future careers became, they turned in quality performances on the show.

I always had a thing for both Cat Woman (all 3 of them) and Batgirl. The costume designers really knew how to show off a woman's curves in those tight-fitting catsuits with big metallic utility belts and high-heeled shoes, but I suppose that was the fashion back in the late-60's. They probably fit right in with the mini-dresses and go-go boots the other girls were wearing.

Your kids will love the show and will watch it again and again. You'll enjoy it the first two times you see it, but then it'll get stale and boring. But just remember, no matter how grim things get when the Riddler and Joker have Batman and the Boy Wonder hanging over a vat of acid or encased in a gas chamber, the Dynamic Duo always manage to pull out a can of Bat Rope Dissolver or Bat Gas Begone and show up to defeat the villains each week at the same Bat-time, same Bat-channel.

To the Batcave!
53 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
RIDICULOUS BUT ENJOYABLE
Big Movie Fan6 March 2002
What can I say about this series? It was crazy and ridiculous but it was all good fun.

If anybody's seen my review of the 1966 Batman movie then you'll pretty much know what my view is on this show. It was ridiculous but in a good way.

For starters, Robin couldn't possibly hope to fool anyone with that disguise? How about I put on a mask and go and visit my parents? Would a mask like Robin's fool anyone?

The thing I loved about this series was the cliffhanger episodes. Batman and Robin would be put in a seemingly inescapable trap and then in the next episode Batman would manage to reach into his utility belt and pull out a convenient device. In one episode Batman was about to be dropped in acid when he suddenly remembered that Alfred the Butler had acid proofed his costume. How funny is that?

The crazy thing was how Batman and Robin always had the right equipment. They had things such as Anti-Penguin Gas Pills and other crazy devices. I honestly wouldn't have thought there would be enough room in their belts for half their equipment.

The best thing about this show was the fights at the end. The bumbling villains would outnumber Batman and Robin who would then bash them into next week just before the police arrived.

This was a good show for it's first couple of seasons. The beautiful Yvonne Craig joined the third season as Batgirl and she was good. However the cliffhanger episodes were gradually phased out and each half hour episode had a beginning, middle and end.

This isn't the type of show to take seriously. It's great fun and anybody who watches it will laugh their socks off at times. If it shows up on your local TV channel then watch it!
43 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Holy Guadalajara, Batman! It's still a hoot after all these years!
lee_eisenberg2 August 2005
From the moment that you hear "Na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na Batman!", you always know that you're in for something good. This "Batman" was in a way more interesting than the later movies, mainly because of the graphics that appear whenever someone gets hit. Of course, the premise needs no explanation, but Batman (Adam West) and Robin (Burt Ward) are truly a cross between old-style superheroes and the 1960s. Like many other '60s TV shows (think "Bewitched", "Gilligan's Island" and "I Dream of Jeannie"), "Batman" was as zany as possible and a laugh riot every step of the way. And the villains? The perfidious Penguin (Burgess Meredith), conniving Catwoman (Julie Newmar, later Eartha Kitt), the jackknife Joker (Cesar Romero) and the ruckus-causing Riddler (Frank Gorshin) are exactly what anyone could ask for. And Vincent Price had a great line that one time when he appeared.

So, I will pose this final question: Can this really be happening? Is "Batman" still a great show? Will the villains continue to engage in their evil, egregious and extraneous acts? Will the Dynamic Duo clobber, confound and confuse the villains? Find out next week, same Bat time, same Bat channel!
46 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great TV show, but a travesty of the comics
davidrulesyou29 April 2009
Although I'm more into serious Batman, this TV show has a strange appeal for me. Maybe it's because I'm a Batman fan and love entertainment. I thought Adam West was good at portraying Batman (although I still think Michael Keaton is the best Batman). Burt Ward I thought was a good Robin, and he and Batman were a great team in that show together, the way they were fighting the bad guys, the way they were getting awards, etc. Every episode seems so fun. I also like the theme song for this TV show. It's so memorable, you'll remember it for years to come.

For serious Batman fans however, this TV show is nothing but a dumb-down mockery of the comics (mostly for what I said: entertainment). Even though it does seem like the comic is coming to life, it tones down the violence so that it would suitable for children to watch as well as adults and make it be laughed at. Also, it lacks any darkness Batman would usually associate with. If you want to watch serious Batman (which I prefer more), I recommended you stay away from this and watch either the two movies directed by Tim Burton or the latest two movies by Christopher Nolan. You'll just be offended with this.

Despite this, this is still a great TV show with memorable scenes and a phenomenon in popular culture. Because of what I said: I rate this TV show 7/10. I wonder how Bob Kane would have felt with this TV show, although he did one time say that Adam West was a buddy of his.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Where Adam West Was the Glue, Criminals often the Stars
DKosty1236 September 2006
Adam West not only was Batman, in this series he was straight man. His straight face was always what held thing together. No matter how outlandish Robin or a super criminal was, West would always appear to take things in stride & have a straight face when he would pull something out of his utility belt to handle the problem. Burt Ward's Robin was often reactive with many Holy Blanks!! & while he was mostly a sidekick for Batman, sometimes when the Caped Crusdaer was tied up, he & the faithful Alfred would manage things. To me the criminals were most often the stars of this. Burgess Meredith made a great Penguin - especially when he runs for mayor of Gotham City against Batman and proclaims "I should have gotten into politics sooner because in campaigns, all my dirty bird tricks are legal now!" Imagine that, & this is before Nixon got caught.

Frank Gorshin's Riddler has never been equaled. Ceasar Romero's Joker was so good that Jack Nicholson had to take the character in new directions in the film to avoid direct comparison. The amazing thing about this series was the amount of great actors & actresses they got to play the criminals. It is a who's who of character actors from that era. Alan Ladd, Vincent Price, Otto Preminger, Art Carney, Roddy Mcdowell to name a few villains.

This was an ABC series which would have lasted longer, but CBS had such a power house line-up, this was lucky to make it 3 seasons. At least they were 3 great seasons & all in color. The cliff hangers & fights from these are now classic, & some of the plots were pretty corny, while others showed imagination. Overall, just think of Robin saying "Support your police!" & Batman responding "Well said, Robin." and you get an idea that while the series was corny, it at least had a moral compass always. Holy establishment, Batman!
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pure escapism and great memories
BruceCorneil24 August 2003
Who could ever forget those immortal words such as "Pow" and "Wham" flashing up on the TV screen as Batman and Robin landed into evil wrong-doers with clenched fists flying. Those long black evening gloves of the Caped Crusaders could really pack a punch!

All of us who were hard core "Batniks" had boxes full of the mandatory merchandising goodies. There was the die-cast Batmobile and Bat Boat, the costume complete with 'útility belt' and I seem to recall a board game buzzing around at some point. No doubt, there was also a View-Master reel and probably a flicker ring as well. Ah, those were the days. If only we'd kept all of that stuff, be worth THOUSANDS on ebay!

It's a shame that kids haven't got anything like the old Batman nowadays. It was colorful, fun and highly imaginative.

Pure escapism and great memories.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Crazy, but I still like it
meloda28 July 2002
This show is completely nuts! It is SO goofy, and I can realize that now that I'm older. I watched this from when I was 7-12, and always loved it. I still like to watch it whenever they air the re-runs, but now laugh AT it, not WITH it! I've heard of crime fighting, but this is ridiculous! STILL, I like to watch it because I'm a fan of Adam West and Burt "HOLY" Ward! I'd recommend it to all kids who like super-heros, but any body else had better prepare themselves for the "cheesiest" ride of their lives! "HOLY TELEVISION! IT'S ON EVERY DAY NOW!" So folks, tune in tomorrow (and every day): same bat time, same bat channel!
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Holy Hell Batman we'll live on forever!
uds324 May 2002
Troy Whigham's first up review here really nails it! I'll just add a few of my own observations.

Part of the show's brilliance was its (arguably intentional) ability to appeal to young and old. Plenty of action for the ankle-biters and black black humor for the thinking adult. So corny, it was brilliant and from a nostalgic viewpoint now, not so far behind Maxwell Smart. No one has delivered such throw-away deadpan lines as Adam West who turned "Batman" into an srt-form by the second series. Credit too must also go to Burt Ward whose acting career never recovered from his oneness with the Boy Wonder!

Outstanding supporting criminal nemesis' provided by the likes of Cesar Romero, Eartha Kitt, Victor Buono and of course Burgess Meredith as The Penguin and Frank Gorshin as Riddler!

Never to be seen again!
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Absurd Persons, Plural
DeanNYC24 August 2006
Looking back at this program from its completion through all of the episodes, it's easy to characterize it as being a campy version of Bob Kane's Dark Knight legend. But I'm not at all certain that it had to be...

In fact, in looking at the first two episodes, which featured Frank Gorshin as the first "Special Guest Villain," The Riddler, the program was quite hard-nosed, pretty straight and sinister (considering the costuming of the lead players), and actually somewhat poignant with the performance of Jill St. John. I would compare these first two episodes with any adventure series and say that they hold their own.

Of course, what happened was that with the wild Rogue's Gallery of villains, the over-the-top costuming, the dutch angle camera setups, with the straight-laced line reads of the two heroes, and the bugle like narration of "Desmond Doomsday" (the alias for Producer William Dozier) Batman was destined to be seen as nothing but pure camp. Not that that's bad, unless you feel this tarnished the legend of The Caped Crusader.

Meanwhile, the show became the hottest thing happening, nearly overnight. All sorts of acting greats wanted their chance to challenge the Dynamic Duo, and unlikely villains played by Liberace, Van Johnson, Art Carney and Zsa Zsa Gabor all appeared, in addition to the semi-regular performers, Caesar Romero, Burgess Meredith, Julie Newmar and the aforementioned Gorshin. Those that couldn't be villains turned up in cameos, from Dick Clark to Sammy Davis Jr. to Santa Claus (as portrayed by old time actor Andy Divine) all had a moment of Batman and Robin's time. Though perhaps the most puzzling cameo was when Colonel Klink of "Hogan's Heroes" turned up at a Gotham City window. Not only was he from presumably 23 years in the past, he would have been a Nazi in an American city AND he was from a program on another network! If you know of an explanation for this, please pass it along.

The elements that made the show work were the Batmobile, a beautiful and evocative vehicle that transported the heroes from their secret location the 14 miles to Gotham City before the opening credits for that episode were finished. It's still one of the most instantly recognized automobiles, based on the 1955 Lincoln Futura and restyled by George Barris. Add in the gadgetry, Batman's utility belt, the bust of Shakespeare that held the switch that opened the bookcase... "To the batpoles!" and of course, the talents of the stars, Adam West, Burt Ward, Alan Napier, who was nothing short of brilliant as Alfred, Neil Hamilton and Stafford Repp as the commissioner and chief of police and later the charm of Yvonne Craig as the addition to create "The Terrific Trio."

But even as the formula was working, it was wearing out its welcome as it went, and by the time the show started their third season, the ratings were clearly slipping possibly due to the tone change making the episodes sillier rather than more adventuresome. Despite the addition of Batgirl, and a change in the format so that each episode was self contained, rather than having a two part cliffhanger, the magical run ended and ABC canceled it.

There was a rumor that NBC was interested in giving the program a fourth season, however 20th Century Fox, the production company for the series had already demolished the centerpiece of the program, the batcave set, and NBC was unwilling to spend the time and money to rebuild it.

Probably just as well, as Batman has since been through numerous incarnations to get back to the standard that Bob Kane originally had for him.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the biggest TV phenomenon of the mid-1960's....Batman
rcj536527 March 2012
Premiering on ABC-TV on January 12,1966,the television series BATMAN took America audiences and television by storm. While the show stayed true to the origins of Bob Kane's classic comic strip and went up the alley with all the non-stop thrills,high action and adventure it can muster and so much more. For the three seasons and a half that it was on the air,the show premiered in mid-season for the 1965-1966 season,producing 120 episodes,all in color under executive producer William Dozier(who also served as the narrator) under his production company Greenway Productions and Twentieth Century-Fox Television for ABC. From it's premiere episode,the series took America by storm and by the end of 1966 BATMANIA was everywhere from merchandising to rare appearances and even ending up during the halftime show of the First Super Bowl! BATMAN was so successful on television,producer William Dozier brought the Dynamic Duo to a bigger audience in a full length theatrical feature film based on Bob Kane's comic strip and the television series of the same title that roared into cinemas in August of 1966 released by Greenway Productions and Twentieth Century-Fox.

What made BATMAN so successful during it's first two seasons was the general structure of the series stayed true to Bob Kane's original comics. Millionaire Bruce Wayne/Batman(Adam West),and his young ward Dick Grayson/Robin(Burt Ward)were individually as the Caped Crusader and the Boy Wonder as they waged an endless battle against the villains who plagued Gotham City. The only person who knew there true identity was Alfred Pennyworrth(Alan Napier). In addition to the underground Bat Cave,where every device was carefully labeled with it's function along with the fabulous Bat Lab,they used a marvelously equipped car,the Bat Mobile to chase and apprehend criminals. Whenever there services were needed,Police Commissioner Gordon(Neil Hamilton),along with Chief O'Hara(Stafford Repp) could summon them with the searchlight-like Bat Signal or call them on the special Bat Phone. There were other devices that Batman and Robin used to defeat criminals such as the Bat Shield just to name a few. There was also the Bat Boat and the Bat Copter as well. BATMAN became an overnight sensation when it premiered on January 12,1966 with the first episode "Hi Diddle Riddle"(with special guest villain Frank Gorshin) and the conclusion "Smack In The Middle"(airing January 13,1966),aired in two-part stories that ran on Wednesday and Thursday nights for all of Season 1 and most of Season 2. The climax of the first part left the pair being captured by that week's diabolical villain or villainess where they are left in a dire predicament or cliffhanger from which they would managed to extricate themselves from on the following night. From there,it became a monster hit. For it's first season,it was one of the top ten highest rated shows on television (It was in the top five of the Nielsens during its first 2 seasons),making huge stars of both Adam West and Burt Ward during it's era.

Appearing as a guest villain or villainess on the show became something of a status symbol. Out of the 30 or so villains that were guest stars on the show,only three were with it from the beginning to the end. Stars like Burgess Meredith(Penguin),Cesar Romero(Joker),Frank Gorshin(Riddler,and later on was played by John Astin). Other villains were Julie Newmar(Catwoman,and later on was played by Eartha Kitt),and Vincent Price(Egghead),and even the diabolical King Tut(Victor Buono). By the start of the third season,the ratings were slipping and the novelty was about to fade where the format was cut to a once a week format. A new superhero,Batgirl(Yvonne Craig) who regularly team with Batman and Robin to fight the villains and not to mention facing the villains wrath,didn't help in the ratings. By March 14,1968,the biggest television phenomenon of the mid-1960's was gone. NBC was set to pick up BATMAN in the fall of 1968 after ABC canceled it. NBC was ready to put the show back to a twice a week format for it's 1968-1969 season. The second format that NBC had for BATMAN was expanding the show to a full hour and having Adam West and Burt Ward in and Yvonne Craig out. There were other plans for turning this campy superhero show into a serious crime drama,which basically fell through by the executives at NBC. However,that plan also failed,and NBC rejected the idea of picking up the series from ABC. For the 1968-1969 season, ABC didn't waste any time finding a replacement for the now canceled BATMAN. The show that replaced it? The Ugliest Girl In Town.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Silly of course, but a TV classic nonetheless
TheLittleSongbird4 March 2011
I love anything to do with Batman, and I just love this series. It is not the best of anything to do with Batman I've seen, and any fans of the comics will perhaps be disappointed, but Batman(1966) is still a great show. Is it silly? Yes it is, and somewhat camp too, with some of the lines and the delivery of them. But that worked in the show's favour, the campiness actually added to the quality of the show for me, and a vast majority of it was witty and fresh.

So why isn't this show a 10 in my book? For me, the show took a spiral downwards during Season 3, it wasn't unwatchable or anything, there were some high points such as Joan Collins' Siren and King Tut who was surprisingly consistent, but there were some weak episodes, the humour wasn't as sharp, witty or satirical and the change of pace(no more cliffhangers) kind of hurt it as well. The episode with Dr.Cassandra epitomised this in my opinion, I wasn't so taken with Sandman, Minerva or Puzzler either and mostly because the story lines weren't as good or the villains themselves were on the dull side, and while Eartha Kitt was a good Catwoman, Julie Newmar was sexier and handled the comedy better. Also Julie had the better-written story lines and dialogue. Lee Merriweather was great too in the movie, which compliments the series very well, but some of the first episodes I saw of this show were those with Julie in. As for Yvonne Craig's Batgirl, the performance was okay but I got the sense that in relation to some of the stories Batgirl felt shoe horned in.

Season 3 aside, Seasons 1 and 2 have some classics. Season 1 is the best, I loved the sharp and witty humour and it maintained its endearing campy freshness that made the show so appealing to me. Season 2 wasn't as good, with a couple of not-so-good episodes, but I liked how much broader the satire got in this season. What was my favourite episode? Many to choose from, but the one where Penguin stands for Mayor is classic.

The production values are pretty good. I liked the photography and the costumes, while the batmobile is wonderful to watch and Gotham City is well-realised without having the spectacle of the Burton and Nolan movies for instance, not a bad thing by the way. The theme song also gives the show its energy, to me the theme song is one of those things that gives the show its status, very driven with a fun, catchy melody it is just irresistible. And I liked the neat little cartoon sequence that went with it.

The story lines are fun and fresh, the idea of the two parters to create something contrasting and different worked wonders, while the writing does a really good job of cheering me up after a long day and the fight sequences are fun and decently choreographed. The performances are good too. Adam West is a fun Batman, and deserves credit for making the campiest of lines sound credible by his deadpan delivery. Burt Ward is good as Robin, his "Holy..." catchphrases may grate depending on who you are, but he contrasts well with West's Batman. Alfred is charmingly played by Alan Napier, Neil Hamilton is a hoot and the narration is deliciously sardonic. But the villains made the show for me, while I was interested in Vincent Price, George Sanders and David Wayne as Egghead, Mr Freeze and Mad Hatter, and Frank Gorshin nailed Riddler(John Astin not so much), my favourites were Penguin and Joker, wonderfully played by Burgess Meredith and Cesar Romero.

Overall, a fun show and great to watch after a hard day. 9/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Holy Moly, Batman...
max-crack16 November 2007
Currently showing here in the UK on late-night BBC4 (the BBC's cable arts channel), 40+ years on from its' original scheduling, this classic 1960s show is looking mighty fine. When I used to tune in to Batman, at 5.15 on weekday afternoons, back in the early '70s, I was intrigued by its' loopiness, and I've been enjoying the reruns now I'm a forty-something. It actually works much better for me this time around because now I get the in-jokes. And believe me there are gags and nods to cinema influences a-plenty. Campy to the hilt, OTT, ridiculous, just plain silly ... of course it is, it's all of those things and more! You get to wondering how much was played for laughs. Quite a lot, I reckon. But just enough to make it work. Great fun. Recommended.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Dark Knight? Who's he?
ShadeGrenade29 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Created by Bob Kane, 'Batman' is, along with 'Superman', one of the world's most instantly recognisable superheroes. He was at his most popular in the mid-to-late '60's, thanks to a three-season television series that conquered the world. It came out of that same wonderful, mad era of U.S. television as 'Star Trek', 'Get Smart', 'The Monkees' and 'The Man From U.N.C.L.E.' Fox had sat on the rights for a while before producer William Dozier hit on the inspired idea of 'camping' the character. 'Batman' quickly became America's coolest show. It worked on two levels; kids lapped up the adventure while adults found it hilarious. It was the 'Police Squad!' of its day.

Each episode opened with a daring, imaginative crime, such as the theft of a priceless painting from the Gotham City Art Gallery. A clue would alert Commissioner Gordon ( Neil Hamilton ) and Chief O'Hara ( Stafford Repp ) as to the identity of the culprit. Gordon would then pick up the Bat Phone. At stately Wayne Manor, millionaire Bruce Wayne ( Adam West ) and his youthful ward Dick Grayson ( Burt Ward ) would be summoned away from Aunt Harriet's ( Madge Blake ) side by their faithful butler Alfred ( Alan Napier ). A hidden door in the Manor's library concealed the Bat Poles. Bruce and Dick slid down these, emerging fully attired as 'Batman' and 'Robin' in the Batcave, an amazing hideout packed with sophisticated equipment for crime fighting. Our heroes jumped into the Batmobile, and roared off towards Gotham City to meet with Gordon and O'Hara. Everything about the genre was ridiculed mercilessly, even the cliffhanger endings. Over the fights the words 'Zap!' 'Pow!' and 'Blamm!' were superimposed.

The array of villains Batman faced on a weekly basis would have put the wind up even James Bond - the Joker, the Penguin, the Riddler, the Catwoman, Mr.Freeze, The Mad Hatter, plus a few created specially for the series such as 'Clock King', 'The Bookworm', 'King Tut' and 'Louie The Lilac'. 'Batman' became the 'in' show to appear on; stars such as Cesar Romero, Burgess Meredith, Frank Gorshin, George Sanders, Victor Buono, Roddy McDowall, Anne Baxter, Cliff Robertson, Ida Lupino, Liberace, Tallulah Bankhead, Eli Wallach, Rudy Vallee, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Milton Berle, Joan Collins all put on outrageous costumes and accents to menace our heroes. The one who had the greatest impact on me personally though was the awesome Julie Newmar as 'Catwoman'. She set the screen alight with her suggestive dialogue and feline body language. Other celebrities were happy simply to lean out of a window whenever the Dynamic Duo went into one of their famous wall-climbing routines, including Jerry Lewis, Edward G.Robertson and Sammy Davis Jr.

One of my favourite scenes had Batman talking to Commissioner Gordon by phone from the Batcave and pretending to be both himself and Bruce Wayne. Though Batman doesn't change his voice Gordon is convinced he's talking to two different people. Another was the scene where Gordon rings Batman for help, only to learn that the Caped Crusader is unavailable. "The day I've dreaded has finally arrived, O'Hara! We'll have to solve this case ourselves!".

Until 'Star Wars' opened a decade later, it is fair to say 'Batman' enjoyed the most merchandising of any film/television concept ( I was given a Dinky Toy 'Batmobile' for my 5th birthday in 1968 ). There was even a film version in 1966, pitting our heroes against Joker, Penguin, Catwoman ( played by Lee Meriwether ) and Riddler.

Like all fads though, 'Batman' did not last. The third season introduced 'Batgirl' ( Yvonne Craig ) as a regular, and the show reduced from two episodes a week to just one, but ratings did not improve.

It would be twenty years before 'Batman' was resurrected for a new generation firstly by Tim Burton and then Joel Schumacher. More recently, Christopher Nolan's 'Batman Begins' and 'The Dark Knight' brought a more sober approach to the superhero. Fans of the comic book applauded - I was not among them. The gritty, realistic tone of the newer Batmans is alien to me - like putting 'Austin Powers' in a Daniel Craig-type Bond film. The show's popularity has endured fortunately, with reruns always lurking somewhere on the airwaves. It gives a man a good feeling to know The Dynamic Duo are out there still, doing their job!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
WANTED: VIDEO OF BATMAN SERIES
johnnymacfox19 February 2003
It comes on everyday at 4 AM on TV Land. But they cut out too much footage just to make time for commercials. It isn't as fun watching it with parts cut out as it would be to watch Batman in it's full entirety. So I ask all my fellow Bat-Fans, why don't we make a unanimous quest for all 120 episodes of Batman to be released on video?!!!
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Tune In Tomorrow - Same Bat-Time! Same Bat-Channel!
strong-122-47888511 September 2015
You know what? If I didn't know better, I'd honestly swear that this decidedly over-the-top, 1960s, live-action, superhero spoof had been directed by the likes of schlock film-maker, Ed Wood.

What I mean by that is (put plain & simple) TV's "Batman" was so bad that (Surprise! Surprise!) it was actually pretty-damn good!

Clearly aimed at a very adolescent viewing audience - I'm glad to say that this did not, in any way, destroy Batman's overall appeal and charm to a critical adult viewer, like myself.

One of this vintage TV show's greatest assets was that it actually dared to poke plenty of goofy, off-the-wall fun at all the annoying dead-seriousness that surrounds the likes of comic book superheroes. And if you ask me - It was certainly about time that someone finally got around to throwing a pie in the face of Batman. (I just wish this would happen more often)

Starring Adam West and Burt Ward as the fearless dynamic duo, Batman & Robin - Believe me, this TV series was a real hoot. Watching these 2 caped crusaders bravely protect Gotham City from such diabolical super-villains as Penguin, Riddler and Joker was truly priceless crime-fighting fun.

"POW!"... "BAM!"... "ZONK!"
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful
along_came_bialy21 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
As a child I adored the 1960s version of Batman. The Batmobile used at this time was definitely the best. There is a tendency to over complicate all of Batman's gadgets these days. However, in the '60s it was unspoiled by computer graphics and special effects. I loved it when the words "Biff" and "Bam" etc came up on the screen during fights. The fights were like American wrestling, you knew they were planned but it was still entertaining. The 1966 film was brilliant as it brought together all the best aspects of the T.V series. The Joker, Catwoman, The Penguin and The Riddler were by far the best Villains. They were perfect together in the feature length version. The film also contained the greatest fight scene ever, The one on the Submarine. The storyline of the film was wonderfully bizarre, those characters being turned into sand and then "rehydrated", I also loved the fact that it didn't take itself seriously. The Tim Burton versions in 1989 and 1992 were good, but I'll always love the '60s take on Batman. Adam West and Burt Ward were wonderful as Batman and Robin, they gelled together. It's a shame their careers petered out, they could have been a long running double act.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
13 Things I Learned from Batman
mickx-0608126 December 2018
1. All fights will be face punches and off-balance kicks 2. Eniac computers in the Batcave will also work in the Jupiter 2 ship 3. All villain lairs have tilted floors - so the scenes will be askew. 4. The Atomic Pile radiation will not harm anyone in the Batcave. 5. Clowns can keep their mustaches. 6. Every drive in and out of the Batcave will look exactly the same. 7. No one can recognize Batmans voice out of costume. 8. No criminal will ever pull off his cowl. 9. Villains will do a crime as soon as they are out of jail. 10. Batmobile dash labels change every week. 11. Gotham jails release super villains every season. 12. Gotham City aerial scenes look like New York City with only 1959 cars driving around. But much darker and grainier than the rest of the show. 13. You can climb the side of a building with rope the thickness of licorice.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not as great for long-term viewing, but hilarious at first
Talia_the_StoryMaker5 September 2015
If you've never seen this show before, if you've grown up in the era of the "serious" Batman, this show is an absolute must-see. I remember watching the movie counterpart to this show for the first time and finding it absolutely hilarious. It has to be seen to be believed. The first time you see it, it will knock your socks off with its brilliant, over-the-top, absolutely ridiculous, kitschy hilarity. No one should go their whole life without watching one episode. It's a true legend.

That being said, after watching a few episodes, I've found my desire to keep watching more continuously fade. That's because in a sense, it's all more of the same thing. Every single episode is just pure goofiness and camp. At first you may get amused by seeing just how "low" they can go, but after a while, you realize they just don't have any limits and it doesn't "shock" you anymore. Because it's so completely swallowed up in comedic campiness and doesn't even try to be "good", it doesn't really have anything else to offer other than that one thing, nor is there a sense of anticipation at what might happen in episodes I haven't seen before.

Overall, it's very good at being what it is, but it's not the kind of show that leaves me interested in seeing more, at least not anymore. It's just pure parody by a guy who, from what I've heard, doesn't even like comics. So aside from the comedic value, which becomes very repetitive, it doesn't have a whole lot to offer. That said, it's truly hilarious at first, and so good at being that one particular thing that it is, that I definitely recommend watching it at least a little bit if you haven't yet. It's sort of magical, honestly.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bat-tastic
Lejink23 May 2009
Born in the 60's, the TV of my infant and pre-teen years is very dear to me and naturally shrouded with sentimentality and nostalgia, which has the power to almost completely negate any latter-day criticism when viewed today as I approach my fifties.

There are so many programmes from the late 60's and early 70's which have that effect on me but the benefit of being British-born was that we tended to get the best of the US shows like "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.", "Mission Impossible, "The Wild Wild West" and "Batman" of course, together with the best of the very productive UK studios, especially the landmark fantasy shows from the ITC chain "The Avengers", "The Champions", "Department S", and "Randall & Hopkirk Deceased".

For me, it's always so great to see any of them again, either on TV re-runs or on DVD box-sets - "Batman" is currently showing in the UK from start to finish on BBC4 (of all things, the Beeb's cultural channel) in the early morning hours and I for one am very grateful for it. I will say that I'm a big fan of the original Batman comics, at least up until the late 70's and so whilst appreciating greatly the serious Tim Burton and now Christopher Nolan makeovers, one can't forget this campy alter-ego which still had enough resonance to influence and eventually skewer the first 80's revival with its "Batman & Robin" nadir.

Here though the campness is fresh, innocent and above all hilarious. Everyone on the right side of the law plays their part in deadly earnest, whilst the (usually big-name) villains get to go right over the top so that somewhere in the middle is this strange cartoony non-cartoon world where punches land miles from their intended target to superimposed pop-art exclamations like "Thunnkk!" and "Kapow!", every super-villain has a pretty moll alongside their dumb henchmen and every episode ends with a cliff-hanger of a situation for our heroes to miraculously escape from.

It's amazing to see big-name Hollywood stars of yesteryear playing the Rogues Gallery of villains - recent episodes I've seen include George Sanders and Anne Baxter for example. Also laud-worthy are the production values. The show is shot in glorious day-glo colour in great studio locations, so much so that the occasionally creaky props seem to be almost deliberately inserted for comic effect. I also much prefer this Batmobile to the later cars in today's movies.

Kids today possibly won't get it and yes Michael Keaton and Christian Bale's portrayals are true to the dark source of Bob Kane's original creation. But it was the 60's, anything went and this light-hearted family fun still entertains today.

Bat's all folks...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not binge worthy
OrangieTooDope6 September 2018
I just watched the first 30 episodes and I'm not sure I can ever watch any more. I enjoyed it but it's just the same stuff over and over. I noticed some weird stuff too. When they pull up in front of the police station it's always the same exact clip. The bat signal was only used twice and there were at least 5 times they said the Joker would be in the next episode and he wasn't. This show can be fun in small doses, just don't over do it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One Of The All-Time Great Entertaining TV Shows.
Hotwok201314 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If you read the reviews here on on the IMDb for Batman you will get a huge number of, apparently, critical words used to describe it. Daft, silly, absurd, idiotic, ridiculous & camp etc. All are true but that didn't stop just about everybody loving the show. ME TOO!. I loved it as a 15 year old boy when it first aired back in 1966 & I still love it today 50 years on. Adam West & Burt Ward who played Batman & Robin respectively always kept straight faces no matter how ridiculous the situations they were in, (& some of them were totally mad), but somehow or other it all just worked. Great too were Alan Napier playing the dynamic duo's butler Alfred, Stafford Repp playing Irish police chief O'Hara & Neil Hamilton as Commissioner Gordon. What really made the show, however, were the villains & villainesses some of whom were an absolute hoot!. Frank Gorshin's Riddler, Burgess Meredith's Penguin, Vincent Price's Egghead, Cesar Romero's Joker, Victor Buono's King Tut (playing the ancient Egyptian Pharoah Tutenkhamun), Julie Newmar's Catwoman & Zsa Zsa Gabor's Minerva (who just played herself really, dahlink) were amongst the most memorable although I could go on, & on & ON. In fact practically everyone who had any kind of name in Hollywood at the time made at least one appearance on the show. As the show progressed into its third season the villainous characters just got more & more nuttier. One of my favourites was Barbara Rush playing Nora Clavicle who was flanked either side by two statuesque beauties Evalina & Angelina played by June Wilkinson & Inga Nielsen respectively. Another really dopey character was created for Liberace named Chandell. He was a kind of musical villain & was surrounded by a trio of gorgeous ladies who played the bag-pipes called Doe, Rae & Mimi. (See, I told you how nutty the show became!). Our bag-piping ladies were played by Marilyn Hanold, Edy Williams & Sivi Aberg respectively. Given the fact that Liberace was well-known as a raving homosexual as well as being a brilliant pianist I am sure there was some kind of in-joke going on by the shows producers who surrounded him with hot babes!. As I say the show was very often an utterly hilarious blast!. ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best shows of all time!
perkinsj-251218 June 2016
At this point in the 60's, batman was still a more underground character (mostly popular with comic book readers). But when this show came along it changed everything! It brought batman and all of his villains/sidekicks into the mainstream. And with it being on television, it got more attention then if it was a film, since at the time television was taking over film. Also, batman was in COLOR!! Which was a very big deal and probably got a lot of people to buy color televisions. Now I have to talk about the show. The show itself is very colorful, and to me that's great! I love how it looks like a comic book literally came on to the small screen. There was always cliff hangers at the end of episodes which made you want to come back next time. Now...lets get it out of the way. The camp factor. Yes, the show is a bit campy, but I think that's the appeal of it. It can resonate with both children and adults alike! I love films like the dark knight and batman 1989, but watching the 66 show is a completely different experience. A fun, colorful, enjoyable experience. Without this show we without a doubt wouldn't have any batman movies now....or, maybe we wouldn't even have any superhero movies.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Campy Fun
RogerEbertJr30 July 2005
I don't think a lot of people know that this is perhaps one of the most faithful adaptations of Batman. Back in the '50s and '60s the Batman comics used to be just like this show. It was the result of the government cracking down on the industry. It happens to every art form and entertainment medium.

The television series was very campy, but at the same time it felt as if the producers were doing a spoof. I know Batman was campy during those days, but don't you think the bat dance and villains like King Tut were a little too silly?

Adam West played Batman and the supporting cast was very good. It featured Burt Ward, Ceasar Romero, and Julie Newmar to name a few.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
No Wonder It Has A Cult Following
Desertman8429 July 2019
"Batman" is the original series of the comic superhero that was shown on television. It stars Adam West as Bruce Wayne and Batman together with Burt Ward as Dick Grayson and Batman's crime duo Robin. It tells the adventures of the dynamic duo against a series of villains that are committing crimes in Gotham City. The recurring villains are starred by well-known thespians such as Cesar Romero(Joker),Burgess Meredith(Penguin),Frank Gorshin(Riddler),Julie Newmar(Catwoman) and Lee Meriwether (Catwoman).Included in the cast are Alan Napier(Alfred),Neil Hamilton (Commissioner Gordon),Stafford Repp(Chief O'Hara),and Yvonne Craig (Barbara Gordon and Batgirl).

The series was obviously comedic as the episodes are fun and entertaining.We also get to see Batman's sincerity in capturing the villains and in maintaining peace in Gotham City.The action scenes particularly the fight scenes are delightful as we get to see different remarks such as "POW" and "SOCK".It is worthy to mention that the batlight was also a fun visual background.Added to that,we also get to hear a jazzy intro tune.A lot of interesting elements indeed particularly being campy.No wonder it had a cult following until now in re-runs despite the fact it is no longer on air for more than 50 years.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oh My God I am crying, my favorite show forever
guillevica29 March 2019
This show was my childhood, so diferent, so unique, so amazing, i really enjoyed every single episode, To be honest nowadays all this brains are gone nothing like all time, the best days
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed