You'll Find Out (1940) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
52 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Bela, Boris, Mr. Lorre & ISH KABIBBLE
Robbo6221 July 2000
This movie is genuinely routine as those WWII comedies featuring popular band leaders & their comedic and/or horror foes.. But this one stands above most of the others in it's genre, mainly due to Horror Legends Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, Peter Lorre...and Comedy relief from the one & only Ish Kabibble, Kay Kyser's one true maniac...(Check out Ish's haircut, seems like he influenced Jerry Lewis' Nutty Professor hairdo & Jim Carrey's Dumb & Dumber.) The plot is irritating at times, although the safest thing to do is to forget about the plot & enjoy these legends of horror change licks with Ish, Kay & the rest of the house full of guests. I recommend this movie to anyone not wanting to get lost in a story line from hell but to just sit back, with the family and enjoy a moment in time that only our parents or grandparents could remember, I truly enjoyed the innocence of a time lost watching this Comedy/Horror diamond in the rough. Ish Kabibble to all and to all an Ish Kabibble.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Old Dark House film disguised as a musical
wrbtu12 May 2003
Despite the emphasis on music, via Kay Kyser & the College of Knowledge, this is a true Old Dark House film. There's a very large, spooky old mansion, a thunderstorm, secret passageways, comedy, mystery, attempts at murder, a butler (who, oddly enough, is never a suspect), creepy characters, etc. In the "creepy characters" category, they don't get any creepier than Boris, Bela, & Peter (in his first film in the horror genre). Boris plays, well, Boris, & he doesn't have quite enough to do here. But his presence alone adds weight to the film. Bela is quite creepy as a "Prince" who conducts seances. Peter (who looks very spooky here & is even thinner than in earlier movies) is very good as always; just watching him roll those big round eyes is worth the price of admission. For my taste, there's too much emphasis on Kay Kyser (who is the "star" of this film), who's good but becomes distracting after a while. Kyser fans will enjoy his role, as he gets to display all of his many talents here. Ginny Simms (a vocalist in the Kyser band) is lovely in a supporting role. This film is a real treat to Boris, Bela & Peter fans. I didn't know of its existence until very recently, & I was quite pleased to see these guys at this stage in their careers in a movie I had never seen before. I rate it 7/10.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
All-Around Great Entertainment!
conqueror106621 February 2004
I've loved this movie since childhood! Even if you're not sure who the heck this "Kay Kayser" is, you will love the performances of Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi, and Peter Lorre (who steals every scene he's in). The musical numbers are catchy enough to insinuate themselves into your head when you least expect it, and the one-liners come fast and thick. Ish Kabbible just slays me every time I watch it; he does great deadpan with those Eddie Cantor eyes.... And the dog Prince provides yet more comedic antics!

All in all, this is a great movie that the whole family can enjoy. From quick repartee to visual slapstick, it delivers from beginning to end. A refreshing break from the heavy-handed comedy too often found today.

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Yeah, it's dumb
hmpulham21 June 2003
Yeah, it's pretty corny and most people won't like it -- but it's my kind of film! OK! Kay Kyser and his band invited to perform in a spooky old mansion may not be a show stopper; but throw in Bela Logosi, Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre -- play it for laughs, and you've got a surprisingly good film. Karloff, and especially Lorre, are a maniacal hoot! Had they been more screen time this would be a super Halloween film must. I'll give it a *7 1/2*. If others don't like it, well to bad! :)
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
That's right, I was wrong!
Anne_Sharp23 October 2001
In a previous post I expressed my opinion (heavily influenced by the Maltin guide) that this movie sucked. Subsequent viewings have radically changed my mind. This is a NICE little picture!

It's one of those so-corny-it's-hep 1940s comedy-horror farces that came into fashion with "The Ghost Breakers" and reached its full flowering with "Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein." Here, Kay Kyser and his Kollege provide rather more palatable comedy relief than Bob Hope or Bud and Lou, as well as some first-class musical interludes. Horror fans may regret that Lugosi and Karloff are not given quite as much screen time as Ish Kabibble, but will be pleased to find they are both handled with warmth, delicacy and a certain gravitas befitting such grand gentlemen of the cinema. As for the top-billed "bad humor man" Peter Lorre, in no other film has his exotic decadence been showcased so deliciously.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A great gimmick in this movie!
wurliguy27 March 2003
I liked this movie, I have seen it at least 5 times so far. Let's be fair to the movie,it is not Gone With The Wind, it is a B movie, but a really cute one. Kay Kaiser is always Great.

This movie has a GREAT gimmick called the Sonovox. It is similar to the electronic voice box of today, but with much better fidelity. Two small very high powered speakers are held against the upper throat, and you just mouth the words, the speakers provide the voice. Peter Frampton used a variation of this for one of his songs.

There is a wonderful demonstration of the Sonovox at the end of the movie.

Also the big band numbers are great. The two main singers "Handsome" Harry Babbitt and "Gorgeous" Ginny Simms have very fine voices and sing very fine songs in the movie. Yes "The Bad Humor Man" is silly but "WHO CARES"?

The three "horror" stars are great too, Bela Lugosi steals the show, Peter Lorre smokes up a storm, and Boris Karloff is oddly restrained. If you like Big Band music and Old Movies, I think you will like this one.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
THIS ONE GOT YOUR ATTENTION!!
yessdanc24 August 2003
It's funny how many 'reviewers' didn't 'get' YOU'LL FIND OUT. Kay Kyser was a huge star (as big as Karloff, Lugosi, and Lorre) in the late 30s thru the 40s, and his top-rated radio show spawned 7 feature films, playing himself every time except one, so to brand him as 'silly' means you're uninformed, bub! Corny, yes, but that was the cornerstone of his appeal. THAT'S WHAT RADIO COMEDY WAS LIKE THEN. Judging Kyser by today's standards is like criticizing a Jack Benny radio show because he was 'stingy'!! THAT'S THE HUMOR, FOLKS!!! I find the most criticism comes from those who watched YFO because Boris, Bela and Peter appeared together in it. Well, guys, the news for you here is, it was without a doubt a KAY KYSER VEHICLE, complete with his name above the title and everything, so don't expect friggin' FRANKENSTEIN MEETS DRACULA. The music was wonderfully appropriate, with all song lyrics by Johnny Mercer, and an academy award nomination for the song, I'D KNOW YOU ANYWHERE, so any detractors should be suitably chagrined.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tne Bad Humor Men!
PATRICK196223 October 2005
I love this movie! It's the only appearance in tandem of Bela, Boris and Peter. The popularity of Kay Kyser and his band may be lost on modern audiences and the trio of super-villains could have had more screen time, but these criticisms are minor compared to the many joys the picture offers: the art direction and photography are first rate (I love the Bellacrest mansion and its furnishings); Dennis O'Keefe is a romantic lead with a sense of humor; Alma Kruger is appropriately eerie. The seance is the true high point of the picture, a fine showcase for Bela Lugosi who comes off as the most impressive of the three villains. YOU'LL FIND OUT is a lot of fun and compares favorably to Bobe Hope's THE GHOST BREAKERS and ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN (the latter also featuring Lugosi).
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A potpourri of great entertainment and greater actors
Teenie-116 February 2003
Mystery, horror, music, slapstick, suspense - you name it - is all here. And with the all-time greatest horror actors - Lugosi, Karloff and Lorre. All we needed was Chaney with the Larry Talbot character and it would've put the icing on the cake. Who cares about the musical numbers and the singing? It all tied in to the storyline. Kay Kyser is at his best, I think, as the bumbling bandleader who gets all tangled up in this mess of a mystery. With the comic help of Ish Kabibble (who does look like a cross between Jim Carrey and Moe Howard, more the latter) this film manages to deliver chills, suspense and many, many laughs. Peter Lorre alone could've carried the suspense factor but with the other masters added it proved to be a classic.

It's wonderful how the storyline was meshed into that of a musical. That was brilliant writing. The story centers around the typical 40s mystery/horror genre - old mansion, creepy happenings, things flying around in the dark, people stuck because the bridge washed out, and music to shake in your boots by. I can certainly recommend that you check this out if you're a fan of slapstick because the horror line will definitely keep you watching. Great stuff!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Three Performances
tedg28 January 2005
This may seem like slight entertainment, and of course it is. But I am recommending it as must viewing until I find an earlier example with this structure.

The setup is simple enough: it is explicitly a self-aware movie. In fact Kyser comes on at the end and assures the audience that Lorre, Karloff and Lugosi aren't really murders. Within that are several performances of the band, performances I assume are similar to what they did in non-movie-land. Two performances.

Added to that in a clever way is a third. For this you need some background.

From about 1880 to 1910, many North Americans were spiritualists. Yes, about as many as today call themselves evangelists, the movement that displaced spiritualism. The rapidity of the change is breathtaking in a sociological context and interesting in itself. By the thirties, the "next" generation was making serious fun of spiritualism, usually in terms of uncovering a fake séance.

I've found several earlier fake séance movies, but they are all in the context of detective movies. That's another story all together. Superficially, they look like the fakery in this movie: a secret room, microphones, special effects, gullible participants holding hands.

But this is the first I think that references it as a performance. A lot flows from that tipping point on both sides: movies and the religious show.

Three layered performances, here.

Ted's Evaluation -- 3 of 3: Worth watching.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Fun!
Ariana-611 January 1999
This is a fun movie that is great at Halloween or any other time of year. While it is not the best known of any of the actors in it, it does have Bela Lugosi, Peter Lorre and Boris Karloff, where can you go wrong.

The jokes are a bit predictable but considering this film was made in 1940 it still is fun and even at times scary. Adding a bit of campiness to the classic horror genre of the time. I highly recommend it.

Ariana Eirlys
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
CLASSIC HORROR SPOOF (IF YOU'RE BRIGHT ENOUGH TO NOTICE!)
yessdanc24 October 2004
After reading many 'reviews' of this film, I STILL find it amazing how much this cute, musically satisfying film is maligned by 'horrornerds' who are too dumb to see it for what it is/was- a VERY successful vehicle for hugely popular 40s radio bandleader Kay KYSER- not KAISER, KAYSER, or KISER- it's KYSER. With Karloff, Lugosi and Lorre in it, they STILL expect FRANKENSTEIN MEETS Dracula AND MR. MOTO. Of course, horrornerds have never been known for their intellect (sorry). The music is expertly presented, with some serious songs- I'D KNOW YOU ANYWHERE, ONE TRACK MIND, upbeat swing numbers- LIKE THE FELLA ONCE SAID, and yes, silly novelties like THE BAD HUMOR MAN (originally to have been sung by the 3 horror stars). The self deprecating humor Kyser employs in most of his films (seven features)is evident here.Fact is, the man was brilliant as a front man and businessman, and kept many of his musicians for many years. He foresaw the end of the big band days, got out of the biz a millionaire, and ended up as president of the Worldwide Church of Christian Science. Laugh THAT off! YOU'LL FIND OUT will be on TCM twice this halloween 2004 season. Check your listings.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Over long but fun with, Boris,Bela and Peter
dbborroughs29 September 2004
Kay Kaiser meets Boris Karloff, Peter Lorre and Bela Lugosi. This is probably the only time the three starred together in a movie and it's the interaction of the three horror vets that makes this film worth seeing.

Who was Kay Kaiser? A band leader with a very popular radio show. It was off beat and full of double talk and music. Kaiser's career last for only a short time before he decided to give up Hollywood and move back home to North Carolina.

Here the show is on the screen as Kay and his band end up stranded in a house where the three kings of horror are wandering about. Its standard fair but everyone milks it for all they can and for the most part it's a good, if too long by 20 minute horror comedy musical.

If you run across it on TCM or one of the other oldie stations give it a shot. Its a good 97 minutes. 7 out of 10.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Scooby Doo fan must-see
whitecoyotesmj7 May 2004
I'd like to note that the Scooby Doo series was pulled directly from this film. I highly recommend it, the music is superb and the humour timeless. The Bad Humour Man scene is an absolute classic, and I have used it to teach about the time period and the history of entertainment. American Movie Classics used to have it in their Halloween season rotation, but I haven't seen it there in a while. In fact, I find it distressing that they now play such things like The Terminator as classics! I do hope you'll check this one out, it's a real keeper for anybody's library and should not be overlooked. And you can't beat Peter Lorre, Bela Lugosi, and Boris Karloff in the same room! Enjoy!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sonovox is the Real "star"
neojim30 October 2005
I see that most of the comments here focus on the movie's cast and genre, while only "A great gimmick in this movie!," 27 March 2003, identifies the special sound effect used, the Sonovox. It's my opinion that the Sonovox is the real "star" of this movie.

In brief, the Sonovox involves a source sound (such as a sound effect or musical instrument) fed through a power amplifier into two small sound transducers, like those used for horn loudspeakers that have disk rather than cone diaphragms (constructed like earphones). These transducers are pressed against a performer's throat on each side of the area outside the voice box (larynx). Audio coupled from the drivers into the voice box becomes a substitute for vocal chord stimulation, while the performer silently and carefully forms the usual speaking or singing voiced sounds using only gestures made with the mouth and tongue. An especially high quality Sonovox effect results when a well trained performer additionally speaks the unvoiced fricative components ("s", "t", "sh", etc.). A sensitive microphone closely placed in front of the performer's mouth captures the Sonovox sound for recording.

Most of my fondest Sonovox recollections come from the 1940's. A couple of famous examples of the Sonovox technique are found in radio advertising, where an antacid product was proclaimed by a chugging steam locomotive sounding like "Bromo-Seltzer, Btomo- Seltzer ...," and the need to use Lifebouy soap was promoted by a high-tone to low-tone fog horn that belched "Beeeee-Ohhhhh" (for body odor).

Perhaps one of the grandest uses of the device is found in the RKO Radio Pictures 1940 movie You'll Find Out. Here the Sonovox produces ghostly sounds such as howling winds that talk, while the Sonovox mechanism is amply (albeit somewhat unrealistically) showcased. But the best part is the concluding musical numbers where Harry Babbitt causes musical instruments "sing" along with Ginny Simms. In the first tune Harry Sonovox's with the saxophone section and muted trumpets to the song "I'd Know You anywhere" (Ginny does this one in a normal fashion midway through the film). The melody then segues into "One Track Mind" sung by Ginny, with Harry adding duet support both naturally and through the Sonovox with the clarinets. This all too brief Sonovox musical segment still runs chills up and down my spine, and is the epitome of Sonovox enhanced entertainment.

As can be deduced from the Sonovox operating description given above, producing a Sonovox sound requires specialized equipment generally unavailable to most hobbyists and musicians. However, in the early 1970's Peter Frampton developed a Sonovox like device known as a Talk Box. This much simplified unit involves a single transducer with an flexible plastic tube to transfer electric guitar music to the mouth of the performer. By mouthing the words or other effects, the guitar player emits a Sonovox type sound into a microphone. Talk Boxes may be obtained commercially for between $100-$300.

But this isn't the only modern imitation of the Sonovox. The implementation of artificial speech by means of the channel vocoder provides another way for doing the job. Quite a few hardware and software versions of these exist. There is a down-loadable PC program that is quite effective in producing Sonovox sounds and music, and the best thing about it is that it's free.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable oldie
mikeg88831 October 2003
OK, it's a bit corny by today's standards but there are some great tunes ( and one bad one Bad Humor Man!!!) but the acting is what it should be and there are plenty of laughs. Ginny Lynn was a talented singer and beauty and the Kyser gang always had something up their sleeves. The first seance scene is quite haunting even with the limited effects of that time. Karloff is fine in his role, Lugosi a bit campy as the role required and Lorre eerie in his unique way! Take it for what it is! Turns off the lights, sit back and enjoy!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Boris, Bela, and Peter
bkoganbing6 February 2012
Classic horror film fans will salivate at the thought of seeing Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, and Peter Lorre all at their devilish best in any film even if it's not a horror film per se. But the star of this film was noted band-leader and radio personality Kay Kyser who back in 1940 was enormously popular for his music and his Spike Jones lite type of orchestra comedy.

You'll Find Out features Kay and the boys hired to play at a party that their manager Dennis O'Keefe has arranged for his girlfriend Helen Parrish. She's an heiress whose money is held in trust by her aunt Alma Kruger. But Kruger is in the thrall of fake swami Bela Lugosi who's got a séance also planned for the evening. Also in attendance in addition to Parrish's girlfriends are Boris Karloff as the family attorney and Peter Lorre as a psychologist hired to expose Lugosi as a fake.

If you liked as I do Abbott&Costello Meet Frankenstein than you should like this film as well. In fact Bud and Lou also did Hold That Ghost which is even more similar to this film. But it's a double treat if you like the music of the era as I did.

Kay Kyser's orchestra also featured singers Harry Babbitt and Ginny Simms who introduce I'd Know You Anywhere which gained for You'll Find Out an Oscar nomination. Kyser himself was good as both comedian and musician.

Even though it's a comedy and not a Gothic horror film one should never pass up seeing Karloff, Lugosi, and Lorre in the same film.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A very entertaining film!
Norm-3023 June 1999
I must disagree with Leonard Maltin (I usually DO! LOL!) -- this spoof of "old house" films is just as good as the classic films it spoofs!

Granted, there is a bit too much music ("Bad Humor Man" could've been axed), but the secret panels, seances, ghost music, and other thrills make this a highly entertaining film!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Movie
cat-8910 April 2004
I first heard of it from my mother who always talked about it as the funniest movie she saw as a kid. She said it was so funny she slid down in her seat on to the floor. She couldn't remember the name but I always remembered the name Ish Kabibble. Then I saw it on tv one day and loved it. Humor, music, spooky. Good actors. It's not todays type of movie but typical of the day. It's a light hearted movie that you can watch without getting too intense. I really hope to see this one come out on DVD, because I liked it and my mother hasn't seen it since, and I'm sure she would enjoy seeing it again. I would bring back some found memories of her childhood too.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The House of Fear
lugonian9 January 2010
YOU'LL FIND OUT! (RKO Radio, 1940), produced and directed by David Butler, marks the second in a series of musical-comedies starring that band-leader and radio personality from Rocky Mount, North Carolina, Kay Kyser. A sequel to his screen introduction, THAT'S RIGHT, YOU'RE WRONG (1939), with Adolphe Menjou, Lucille Ball and Dennis O'Keefe in the cast, this edition finds Kyser and his band members (Ish Kabibble, Sully Mason, Harry Babbitt and Ginny Simms) in a "haunted house" theme supported by not one but three horror film greats, Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi and Peter Lorre, in straightforward performances. Also in support are Helen Parrish in a Deanna Durbin look-alike appearance; and Dennis O'Keefe as her romantic interest.

Beginning with Kay Kyser, dressed in graduation garb, hosting his Wednesday night radio quiz program, "College of Musical Knowledge" the story gets underway as Chuck Deam (Dennis O'Keefe), Kyser's manager, arranging for Kay and his band to come to the an estate where they are to entertain at the 21st birthday party for Chuck's girl, Janis Belocratz (Helen Parrish). Before their departure, Chuck rescues Janis from getting struck by a speeding automobile while standing outside the radio station. She then reveals to him this to be her second near miss experience during the past two weeks. Seeing that her life may be in danger, Chuck agrees to watch over her. Arriving by bus to the Belocratz estate with his troupe during a thunderstorm, Kyser and company find the place to not only have a spooky outlook but an assortment of oddball characters: namely Janis's aunt, Margo Belocratz (Alma Kruger), a psychic; Judge Spencer Mannaring (Boris Karloff), the family lawyer; Prince Saliano (Bela Lugosi), a turban wearing spiritualist; and Professor Karl Fenninger (Peter Lorre), the guest of honor. Mysterious circumstances occur following the explosion of a bridge being their only means of entering and leaving the estate; Janis's near death encounters ranging from a blowgun needle to a falling chandelier; a mysterious figure lurking through the window; and a mystery man (Leonard Mudie) claiming to be Professor Fenninger. As the Kyser band provide some musical entertainment to ease the tension, Kyser himself, assisted with Chuck and Kabibble's dog, Prince, takes it upon himself playing detective to see what lurks ahead. Does Kay get the results? You'll find out!

A mystery-comedy consisting of various songs by Johnny Mercer and Jimmy McHugh include: "I'm Telling You, Baby" (introduced by Sully Mason, sung by the Kyser band); "You Got Me This Way, Crazy for You" (sung by Harry Babbitt); "The Bad Humor Man" (sung by Babbitt and Kyser band); "I'd Know You Anywhere" (sung by Ginny Simms); "One Track Mind," "I'd Know You Anywhere" (reprise) and "One Track Mind" (sung by Simms).

Although the script may not appear too original, its time-worn related theme dating back to the silent era did serve as fine material for other comics as Bob Hope with THE GHOST BREAKERS (1940); Abbott and Costello in HOLD THAT GHOST (1941), or even The Three Stooges in one of their many comedy shorts for Columbia (1934-1959). Take notice how Ish Kabibble can very well be taken for the younger version of Stooge leader, Moe Howard, with his Buster Brown haircut that stands upward whenever Ish encounters elements of surprise. A little contrived, YOU'LL FIND OUT does allow for some exceptionally good individual scenes during its 97 minutes, namely the two separate séance sequences played for laughs with a touch of suspense, and Kyser going through the motions through secret panels and dark hallways, along with encountering movable objects and a sound effects machine known as the Sonovox.

Because Karloff and Lugosi share limited scenes together, and virtually take the back seat to the musical-comedy antics of Kay Kyser and his band, YOU'LL FIND OUT is generally dismissed or overlooked as part of their frequent pairings made famous over at Universal Studios. In spite of their great presence, it is Lorre who comes across as the creepier of the three with those sinister eyes and soft-speaking manner bearing no difference from his performance from suspense thrillers as his most recent STRANGER ON THE THIRD FLOOR (RKO, 1940) to add irony to the story such as it is. Karloff retains his dignified manner as does Lugosi with his mysterious intentions, leaving much of the comedy to others involved, namely its star, Kay Kyser, with a kind face and glasses reminiscent to silent film comedian Harold Lloyd.

Often funny, sometimes silly, but typical Kyser flare, especially when looking directly into the camera to address the motion picture audience that the movie was "all in fun," which was intended to be. YOU'LL FIND OUT, which often played on American Movie Classics prior to 2001, can be seen occasionally on Turner Classic Movies, appropriately around Halloween time. Watch for Kay Kyser's next escapade with his band in PLAYMATES(1941) with guest star John Barrymore. Any good? You'll find out! (***)
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun, Spooky Whodunit
octavalvehandle13 January 2007
In the 30's and 40's this kind of spooky whodunit was popular. These films would typically feature things like skeletons on strings, séances, secret passageways and fiends in hooded cloaks. To my memory, "You'll Find Out" seemed to be a quintessential film of that genre (even though it's comedy.)

I saw "You'll Find Out" on American Movie Classics many years ago and have wanted to see it again. Does anyone know if this has ever been released on DVD? Looks like it has not. Anyway, if you like this kind of stuff, its is one of the best. You might think its a blast. Or you might think it's goofy garbage.Watch it and "You'll Find Out!"
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Worth it just to see Lugosi, Karloff, and Lorre tearing up the screen together
Leofwine_draca6 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Typical "old dark house" comedy-horror-mystery yarn, influenced by THE CAT AND THE CANARY which had enjoyed great success with Bob Hope a year earlier. While admittedly real-life performer Kay Kyser and his band of musical misfits - which includes the exceptionally goofy Ish Kabbibie, complete with his influential ridiculous haircut - may not be to everybody's taste, and the years have tamed and made the jokes clichéd, YOU'LL FIND OUT has a spirit of fun which makes it impossible to dislike. Even though the film runs at ninety-five minutes, it never drags and once you get over the initial introduction scenes, there's plenty of fun to be had as our bumbling idiots traipse around a spooky country mansion and try desperately not to get killed.

Although (as is often the case with these comedy-horrors) the supernatural turn out to be predictably down-to-earth at the film's close, there are still plenty of spooky shenanigans before that, especially a hair-raising séance scene involving a floating disembodied head which is genuinely shuddersome after all these years, a magnificent macabre sight. This film is worth watching for horror buffs too for the casting of three of the genre's finest performers - Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, and Peter Lorre. A turbaned Lugosi is never anything less than sinister from when he first appears in a mirror and really seems to be enjoying himself in his minor role, sending up his horror persona. Karloff in comparison is his typically genteel self until his darker side is revealed later on in the film, and finally Lorre has a ball as the fraudulent professor, inimitably reading lines with his silky voice and creating plenty of shudders. Even Kyser, who starts off as being exceptionally irritating, is quite amiable as the bumbling investigator and there are some many things going on that the running time flies by. A worthwhile curiosity, not the best perhaps but definitely not bad, and worth watching just to see the famed horror trio in their only appearance together.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie -- on a first or second viewing!
JohnHowardReid15 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's good to see this movie is now available on an excellent Warner Brothers DVD entitled "Karloff & Lugosi Horror Classics". (The other titles in this four DVD set are The Walking Dead, Frankenstein 1970, and Zombies on Broadway). Mind you, it's not as entertaining on a third viewing as it is on a first or second – but what movie is? The surprises here are not only in Director David Butler's whodunit itself (when it finally gets going after a very long introductory sequence delightfully showcasing Kay Kyser and his band and his fabulous vocalists, Ginny Sims and Harry Babbitt) and the twists in the plot but in some of the characterizations. The talented Mervyn Bogue, for instance, who was actually the manager of the Kay Kyser Band in real life, is just a drag when he runs through his routines on a third viewing. Also, one is more horrified than amused in runthrough number three by Kay Kyser presenting himself as a first- class jerk and fraidy cat. On the other hand, nothing can dim Karloff, Lugosi, and especially Lorre who really comes to the fore when his two competitors are starting to lose their first and second times' charisma. And whatever happened to the lovely Helen Parrish? Ah, she went into TV as early as 1946 and died, alas, from cancer at the age of 35 in 1958.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A tale of three boogie men.
mark.waltz5 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Karloff and Lugosi are back together again, and this time, they aren't on opposite sides, but along with Peter Lorre, plotting the hopefully perfect crime. There's no vampire chaser or torch-carrying townspeople after them, just a wacky bandleader (Kay Kyser) and his assorted group of nutty band members. Helen Parrish is the heir to her aunt Alma Kruger's estate, but Aunt Alma is into the occult, under the spell of evil swami Lugosi and devoted to her attorney Karloff. Peter Lorre arrives at a party to celebrate Parrish's birthday as an investigator of fraudulent occult leaders where Parrish is in danger from someone trying to murder her.

The corny Kay Kyser had a hit radio show in the late 1930's and 1940's. He made one film a year at RKO from 1939 to 1943, and here, he gets to spoof the old dark house genre. The three villains are all appropriately creepy, and Kruger, usually cast as a stern dowager, is closer to the type of roles Billie Burke was playing. Dennis O'Keefe, who appeared in another similar film the same year ("Topper Returns"), is again the handsome hero protecting the endangered heroine. A cute little pup with a glow-in-the-dark waggedy tale also gets to steal a few scenes and even ends up a hero.

Musically, there are some good things here, with pretty Ginny Simms singing the Oscar Nominated "I'd Know You Anywhere". Two comical numbers are presented with some truly corny visual and verbal gags, including "Like the Fella Once Said" and the totally silly "The Bad Humor Man", giving mop-topped Ish Kabibble (the name says it all) his opportunity to take silliness to a new level of eye-rolling groans. When the film focuses on the supernatural elements of the script, it gives out a few goose-bumps, especially Lugosi's sound-altered voice coming from an instrument attached to his windpipe. That instrument, used for a musical finale, may not have altered the shape of American music, but it does provide both chills and amusement here. Corny humor may not have aged gracefully as we got more cynical, but in small doses, it can be amusing.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You'll Find Out (1940) **1/2
JoeKarlosi10 November 2009
I just watched this only for the first time, and I liked it. Much better than I thought it would be, and I have avoided this film for my whole life. I even had it recorded off AMC since around 1989 and I've never bothered with it. What a mistake. This was my first exposure to Kay Kyser, the famous '40s band leader/comedian, and he was okay. He agrees to bring his orchestra (including the annoying Ish Kabbible -- but the less said about him, the better) to a young girl's 21st birthday bash at a spooky mansion. Unfortunately, three criminal masterminds (Boris Karloff, Peter Lorre, and Bela Lugosi) are on hand to try and kill her. Karloff, Lorre, and Lugosi were all quite good in their parts, I thought. They worked together well as the three bad guys and I was surprised that there were actual horror trappings in this film: a lot of thunder, lightning, and mystery. It's more of a comedy/mystery with a few musical numbers strewn about. The main trouble is that it's a little too long at nearly 100 minutes, but it had the right mixture for a good time. **1/2 out of ****
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed