Six Aftrs shorts to screen as part of Cinema Des Antipodes at Cannes

Six student short films from the Australian Film Television and Radio School will screen in a specially designated program at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival.

Cinema des Antipodes is an organisation directed by Bernard Bories that screens and supports Australian and New Zealand films in France. Its non-competitive program runs parallel to the Cannes Film Festival main program.

The dedicated Aftrs session consists of six films including writer/director Ben Matthews' Emily, which is currently in the running for a Student Oscar in the Best Foreign Film category. The psychological thriller examines teen suicide from the perspective of a parent.

Meryl Tankard, the creator of the Sydney Olympics opening ceremony also has a film in the program. Moth, which stars Sophie Lowe, is a story inspired by accounts from Australian reform schools in the 60's and 70's..

For a complete list of films, see below:..

Moth Written by Alana Valentine
See full article at »

John Edwards awarded Aftrs honorary degree

Producer John Edwards has been given an honorary degree from the Australian Film Television and Radio School (Aftrs).

The honour was part of the Aftrs 2011 student graduation ceremony held at Carriage Works on Friday 9 December.

Claudia Karvan, co-producer of Spirited and Love My Way with Edwards, presented him with the honour. Simon Crean, minister for the arts also delivered a keynote speech.

Edwards, producer of Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo, the upcoming Beaconsfield the Telemovie and number Three in Encore’s 2011 Power 50, joins past honorary recipients Baz Luhrmann, Jan Chapman, George Miller and John Doyle.

As well as Edwards, at the student graduation ceremony, students also received eight students also received awards and grants.

Students awards and grants include:

Av Myers Indigenous Award for exceptional talent

Cornel Ozies (graduate diploma cinematography) – $20,000 grant

John Harvey (Aftrs Alumni) – $20,000 grant

Kenneth B Myer Scholarship for exceptional talent

Flynn Wheeler – $20,000 grant

Kenneth B
See full article at Encore Magazine »

See also

Credited With |  External Sites

Recently Viewed