The Best Directors of the Year! See Complete DGA Awards Nominees!

The Directors Guild of America has announced the nominees for the 68th annual DGA Awards! Missing were Todd Haynes ("Carol") and Steven Spielberg for "Bridge of Spies." But I'm very happy that George Miller for "Mad Max: Fury Road" got in. While we're in the subject of sequel, apparently, the DGA felt that J.J. Abrams is not worthy...yet...for a nod!

But this year's awards offer a bunch of newbies like Tom McCarthy ("Spotlight"), Adam McKay ("The Big Short"), and Miller. Meanwhile, Ridley Scott has been nominated three times before but never won for "Thelma and Louise" in 1991, "Gladiator" in 2000, and "Black Hawk Down" in 2001. Let's see if "The Martian" will do the trick and get Ridley his DGA! By the way, he hasn't won an Oscar either and he was nominated for those movies too!

Winners will be announced on Feb. 6th. Here's your complete list of nominees
See full article at Manny the Movie Guy »

Here Are the 2015 DGA Awards Film Nominees

Fresh off its impressive haul at the Golden Globes the weekend, "The Revenant" is poised to nab yet another statuette with a nomination for a Directors Guild of America Award.

The DGA announced its annual slate of honorees for outstanding directorial achievement on Tuesday, and "Revenant" director Alejandro G. Inarritu was among the five nominees. Inarritu also won the DGA award last year, for 2014's "Birdman," and with the new momentum from "The Revenant"'s Globes wins, the director looks like an early favorite to repeat.

The rest of the nominees were rounded out by Tom McCarthy ("Spotlight"), Adam McKay ("The Big Short"), George Miller ("Mad Max: Fury Road"), and Ridley Scott ("The Martian"). In addition to those names, the DGA also included a new category this year, honoring directors who helmed their first feature films in 2015.

"There's a first time for every feature filmmaker, but not every first time
See full article at Moviefone »

See also

Credited With |  External Sites

Recently Viewed