Professor Marston and the Wonder Women (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
47 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Not Henry & June ... But Worth Your Time
Antonovich8411 October 2017
Grateful to have caught an early screening of this movie in NYC, in which the cast made a brief appearance at the movie theater. The first thing I want to say is that this is a movie I will watch more than once.

Professor Marston and the Wonder Women is a film about ideas. It explores polyamory ("the philosophy or state of being in love or romantically involved with more than one person at the same time") and touches on explorations of dominance/submission and role-play, along the lines of BDSM.

Having read Jill Lepore's excellent book, The Secret History of Wonder Woman, I knew a great deal about this story before going into the theater. As Lepore writes, "Wonder Woman's debt is to the fictional feminist utopia and the struggle for women's rights. Her origins lie in William Moulton Marston's past, and in the lives of the women he loved; they created Wonder Woman, too." It's this dynamic that sets the stage for this story, and the preview trailer for this film made it look erotic too. But those expecting to see a film along the lines of Henry & June may be disappointed.

I enjoyed this movie, but wished the romantic elements were explored more fully, particularly between the two women. The editing seemed at times overly efficient, too much in a hurry, far more concerned with propelling the narrative forward than in creating a relaxed, intimate atmosphere where the characters could indulge in the situation and be in the moment. I wish there were more "real time" scenes of foreplay, actually. Not sex, foreplay - as in flirting. Because I couldn't see the bond these people shared, and this was a movie about how these people connected.

My favorite character, by far, was Olive Byrne as played by Bella Heathcote, who is vulnerable and beautiful in the film. A real Gwendoline, to use fetish parlance. Least favorite would be Marston's wife as played by Rebecca Hall, who's an accomplished actress but seemed too uptight - and, worse, too contemporary - in this role. It always amazes me that costume and set design for period pieces like this are thoroughly researched and accurately reproduced, while almost no research goes into reproducing language use and speech patterns of the day (1925 - 1947). Did people actually use the f-word as much as Rebecca Hall uses it in this film? I think not. It made her character more grating than she needed to be. This is a fault of the script, and the f-word was used as a crutch far too often.

Marston was played adequately by the rugged-looking Luke Evans, who bears no resemblance to the overweight, dreamy-eyed real-life William Moulton Marston, but this was a concession to female audience members I suppose.

In real life, it's unknown how Marston developed an interest in BDSM. In the film, it's through Marston's encounter with the mythical pioneer of fetish history, Charles Guyette (the "G-string King"), a real historical figure. What I know of Guyette I learned through reading Charles Guyette: Godfather of American Fetish Art by Richard Perez Seves. As suavely played by JJ Field, he serves as mentor to Marston. Again, this is a bit of shorthand. Guyette is not mentioned in Lepore's history, but the audience is quickly introduced to this fetish underworld, which serves as a strong influence in the creation of Wonder Woman. No mention of Guyette being French in the Seves's book; in fact, he was born and raised in Massachusetts, according to Seves, but the people making this film may not have known this at the time as this brief book is more recent.

Overall, I'll wrap up this review by saying that despite these flaws, this is a film worth viewing. Maybe my own high expectations for it were impossible to meet. I enjoyed many scenes, with my favorite relying on the lie detector machine used in the first half of the movie; I truly loved those scenes. Again, I loved Bella Heathcote as Olive Byrne in this. So, in spite of all my nitpicking, I still give this movie a strong 7 out of 10. The ideas explored in this film make it worth watching. Maybe there's a director's cut of this film out there with additional scenes between the actors. One can only hope. But I would still see this movie again, as is, and certainly plan to.
32 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is squalid fiction masquerading as documentary.
tonyhunstiger22 October 2017
This film is a shallow and inaccurate depiction of someone's fantasy. It has little to do with Dr. Marston's life and the creation of Wonder Women. For a well researched history of this topic see Jill Lepore's work, The Secret History of Wonder Women.

Wikipedia says, "In an interview with Mark Walters, William Moulton Marston's granddaughter Christie Marston stated that the film is historically inaccurate. She said that the creators of the film did not contact her family and that the "depiction of the family and Wonder Woman's origins are made up". She also posted a statement on Twitter saying that "the film is not a true story. It is based on someone's imagination not in any way related to my family." In another interview with Rob Salkowitz for Forbes, Marston argues against two aspects of the film. The first lies in the depiction of the Elizabeth and Olive: "The relationship between Gram, Elizabeth Marston, and Dots, Olive Byrne, is wrong; they were as sisters, not lovers." The second part revolves around the depiction of the origin of Wonder Woman, which has "William Moulton Marston presenting an idea for a female hero, and Elizabeth nay saying the idea, declaring that nobody would ever publish it." Christie Marston states instead that when her grandfather was asked by his publisher to create a comic character, he "went home and discussed it with my grandmother. She said to go ahead and do it, but that it had to be a woman." Marston further elaborates on Elizabeth and Olive by stating that she spent a lot of time with her open-minded grandmother who never gave indication to her of a relationship with Olive. She also states that Elizabeth and Olive continued to share the responsibilities for bringing up the four children in the household after Marston's death because it was economically viable for both women. Christie Marston repeated and elaborated upon these statements in an op-ed for the Hollywood Reporter.

It is appalling to me that someone would capitalize on the revolutionary work done by Dr. Marston and misrepresent it so badly.
26 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A very smart, funny, and inspiring work from one of Comic Books eccentric minds
CinePendejo23 October 2017
OK I'm not going to say a whole lot but I'm short: I really like this one.

Even if, by design, it looks like an unexceptional biopic by each fricken frame, the characters and dialogue more than make up for it. The story is centered around William Moulton Marston who - and I'm not kidding here - is 1. The inventor of the lie detector, 2. a radical progressive feminist that thinks women are the superior race with proof in the form of his psychological research 3. One of which include bondage (seriously) 4. Manages to have 2 wives who loved and lived together and 5. Used all his fixations and progressive ideals to invent Wonder Woman.

I mean hell! You could tell me if this guy could turn water into wine and I would believe you. The film knows how bonkers this guy is, but presents him matter-of-factly rather than with scorn or praise. Much like my closest film comparison THE PEOPLE VS LARRY FLINT, it's the type of eccentric, perverse mindset that doesn't allow you to like the man but understand and appreciate how he changed the world with his ideals.

However, the film is mostly concerned with the three-way (sorry) love story at the center. The wife gets all the most complexity as she struggles with her bisexuality, her suppressed opportunities based on her gender, and the everyday family lifestyle that rejects her. It gets deep as well as heartbreaking.

Olive turns out to be the partner of the two, and easily gets more of an arc. At first very shy and uncertain of her status in life, the film progresses her to the free-spirited bisexuality that the movie treats as a hopeful triumph. The best moment is when she dawns the Wonder Woman costume in order to perform S&M ( Just bare with me, guys) and it's presented as a sign of self-discovery rather than gratuitous sleaze. I'm not sure if people like her would connect to this, but I would say it's a lot more hopeful and cathartic than anything BATTLE OF THE SEXES could ever wish to offer.

Angela Robinson directs this with the type of directing chops you expect from a run-of-the-mill miniseries rather than a movie. But much like Patty Jenkins work with WONDER WOMAN, her limited chops is unmatched by the utter love and conviction to the subject matter. It's the type of film where the imperfections make the film more real and self-confident.

Professor Marston & The Wonder Women is a damn good time and the rare biopic you rarely see anymore. Classy, funny, sexy, delightful, brilliantly acted, and overall passionate, you have to see this!
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Squalid, Lurid, Distasteful...and Inaccurate
Carl Schultz16 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If the intended purpose of "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women" is to illustrate the persecution of an American visionary for his family's unconventional lifestyle, the movie is a failure. The picture can be interpreted that way, but only if the viewer sort of squints and turns his head sideways, just so.

But it's just as easy to see the picture as a cautionary tale, not unlike the exploitation pictures from the 1930s including "Reefer Madness" and "The Cocaine Fiends," but instead of depicting the dangers of narcotics detailing one man's undoing and eventual downfall as a result of his addiction to pornography.

Written and directed by Angela Robinson, "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women" purports to depict the life of William Moulton Marston, a prominent American psychologist during the 1930s. Believing the loving authority and instinctive empathy of women could greatly advance the development of civilization especially during an era of anarchy, Dr. Marston advocated the advancement of the female gender to positions of power.

Eventually, as a means of illustrating his beliefs, Dr. Marston created the comic book character Wonder Woman, basing the character on qualities he observed in both his wife, psychologist Elizabeth Holloway, and their live-in lover, a former graduate student named Olive Byrne. Both Marston's wife and their lover bore children to Marston, and in fact were on occasion pregnant simultaneously.

Despite an honest, earnest performance by actor Luke Evans as Marston, the picture becomes hopelessly mired in inaccuracies presumably formulated to either sensationalize the subject matter or titillate the audience. Its dubious premise—that the Wonder Woman comic books of the 1940s were a means of proselytizing to children Marston's uncommon beliefs, colored by his own fevered obsession with an alternative lifestyle—is illustrated by the inclusion of laughably suggestive individual panels from the Wonder Woman comic books of the time.

Obviously influenced by the 2014 Smithsonian Magazine article which revealed after several decades the details of Marston's life, influences, and lifestyle, this is one movie which plainly hitches its production's wagon to the unexpected worldwide success of this year's "Wonder Woman" motion picture adaptation.

Accordingly, "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women" has been criticized as inaccurate by Marston's family, who contend the picture is "based on someone's imagination," that "the depiction of the family and Wonder Woman's origins are made up."

"Professor Marston and the Wonder Women" is squalid, lurid, and distasteful. Marston's story is mildly interesting, but should've been confined to a few sentences and an asterisk in an encyclopedia of comic book history.
16 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Rebecca Hall is a Revelation
popcorninhell15 October 2017
With some exception, Hollywood pretty much makes two distinct kinds of biopics. The first kind are the ones that almost seem obligatory – your Gandhi's (1982), your Lincoln's (2012) and the upcoming Darkest Hour (2017); movies about historical giants who did truly incredible things with their lives, incredible things that should be projected (and even embellished) on the silver screen for the world to see. Then there are the ones about the others – your oddballs, your misfits – the characters that history books often ignore but are nevertheless important in the way our world is shaped.

Professor Marston is certainly one of the latter folk. Outside of DC comic devotees and the odd discredited crime scene investigator swearing by the validity of the lie detector, William Moulton Marston is not a name people know. But believe me when I say that after watching this movie, you'll want to read up on him and his equally fascinating partners Elizabeth Marston and Olive Byrne. For not only is he the originator of Wonder Woman, the most famous female comic-book hero ever, he's quietly the most fascinating academics to steer the sexual proclivities of modern society since Albert Kinsey.

He, Elizabeth and Olive I should say. The film starts with the three of them bouncing around the psychology department of Tuft University working on research and fine-tuning William's (Evans) latest invention. Olive (Heathcote), the Marston's graduate assistant becomes enamored with the two of them, binding the three in a love triangle that turns into a healthy polyamorous relationship. It being the puritanical state of Massachusetts in the 1920's however, the three couldn't be insulated by the academic bubble for too long before The Marstons are quickly forced out and move to New York City. From there, they hide their double lives with Olive assuming the role of homemaker and "widow" while William and Elizabeth (Hall) find work where they can as "the couple".

As the narrative slowly ebbs towards the inevitable formation of the first Wonder Woman comic-book, the film occasionally diverts from its primary story and uses a red-baiting comic-book committee as connective tissue to William's complicated past. We've seen this kind of framing before. In fact, apart from the decade's long love story involving three people in a committed and loving relationship, we've seen all of this before…which may be the point. Instead of treating the subject matter as salacious or radically divergent, it treats it as another day in dramatic romance-land. Even when the trio develops an interest in the virtually criminalized BDSM subculture, there's a normalcy there that could potentially bore the one couple in the movie theater looking for their unicorn.

What makes Professor Marston ultimately work is director/writer Angela Robinson decision to make the tension largely external. It's never a question of whether all their goings-on will work but if the world will openly allow it. That concern is personified in Rebecca Hall's inner struggle that has the duel burden of her trying to be a smart, capable, 20th century working girl while also being madly in love with two people. One of whom is a woman.

As the brash, irascible Elizabeth, actress Rebecca Hall is an absolute revelation. She bursts onto the screen, all but announces she's smarter than everyone else in the room and easily proves it with her wit and pragmatism. While Heathcote displays the mirage of idyllic feminine beauty, it is Elizabeth's radical feminism that makes the punchy title worth the watch. Seriously though, if Hall doesn't get an Oscar nom by years' end I may have to boycott (#hall&Oscars).

Less successful is Luke Evans who, while certainly displaying the outward charm of a 1920's lad-about-town just has a knack for putting too fine a point on things. Every time we return to Connie Britton and her committee of comic-book hating cronies, Evans lectures like he's explaining particle physics to a freshman undergrad. Perhaps, given Marston's private life, Robinson may have figured the only way out of being questioned by a HUAC analog would be to be so soporific that they'd just move on to Superman or something.

All in all, Professor Marston and the Wonder Women may not be reverential enough to induce comic-book fans to check it out. The film spans decades ultimately treating the creation of Wonder Woman as an afterthought. Yet for those looking for a decently paced, boiler-plate great biopic it may just be the right ticket for you. Additionally because it smuggles in a few liberalizing tidbits about love and modern feminism (Luke Evans's goofy grin notwithstanding), Professor Marston may even be worth a detour to a theater ballsy enough to play it.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Original Interpretation of an interesting story -- for adults
leemadisonauthor19 October 2017
Fantastic film. But not as sexual as the advertisements promised. In fact, apart from the curse words, this film should be rated PG-13 at best. I found it surprisingly chaste.

The first thing you should know is that this film is NOT based on the book, The Secret History of Wonder Woman. It is based on original research by the director/writer of the movie, who did a great job interpreting the story her own way. It's a story about what happens when you defy convention! And the good that can come of it.

Is it factual? Mostly, yes. Kinkiness and BDSM is in the book as well, not to mention the early comics of Wonder Woman. Anyone denying the lesbian/BDSM content of the real story and the BDSM content of the comic ... is in denial. The granddaughter of Marston has started a campaign to destroy the film, unleashing neoconservatives and Trumppets to spread the word about how it's "fake." But what's fake? It's a fictional retelling, not a documentary, based on a true story. Fake is the show, Fargo, which claims to be based on actual events, but is COMPLETELY made up. But no one seems to make a big deal about that. Why? No BDSM or lesbian content in it -- so it's perfectly fine? I think certain people need to acknowledge their own prejudice.

Anway, I thought the actors were solid. The director did a great job telling an unconventional story. This is a movie for adults, obviously. I could see this film as a theater piece -- a Broadway play -- actually -- particularly those dress-up scenes with the Frenchman, Charles Guyette, the "G-String King." Very theatrical indeed.

*** SPECIAL NOTE: this movie is shockingly CGI free! Will comic fans be able to handle that? Probably not! ***
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
There really should be laws against doing this to real people!
intrepidami23 October 2017
Even if they like it, like Joy Mangano liked the fictional movie about herself. None of the stuff in it actually happened to Joy. She was a huge hit right off the bat, so 3/4's of the movie has her struggling with added dramatic BS! In her very first appearance she sold more product than anybody in history! I also hated Cobb, which took all sorts of poetic license with Cobbs reputation, and was written by a guy Al Stump, who really, really was a back stabbing scoundrel, just go to a sports memorabilia show and start throwing his name around and prepare to get screamed at by the tens of thousands of people Al Stump screwed over with fake stuff! Here's the problem, they make a false, fake movie, idiots think it's gospel. Cobb was an Archie Bunker type, who lived in a time when black people couldn't drink out of the same fountains as white people! People know about his opinions because he was by far the biggest star baseball player when he lived, so he was interviewed constantly. The movie literally made it seem like he was the only person with racism in the 50's. And also made it seem a guy confined to a wheelchair was running around doing all sorts of crazy stuff 6 months before he died.

I'm very familiar with this particular movies subject matter. Early Wonder Women comic did indeed contain a lot of erotic bondage. The thing they're not mentioning is that a lot of other comics did too! Literally half the comics on the shelves each month had a woman tied up on the cover! They're taking the Wonder Women stuff and implanting their own wild fantasies about what it must all mean.

There's even scenes with this made up proto Comic Book Authority coming after them, that didn't happen until well after Marstons death. But having it around during his life made the story seem more real.

There is no, Zero proof, of any of this kinky stuff in Marstons life. Therefore the family should be able to sue the producers and the distributors into oblivion.

This kind of revisionist history is everywhere. I just watched a mini series about Howard Carters finding King Tuts tomb and wow, they made Carter 30 years younger, and having an affair with Lord Carnarvon's daughter! Ridiculous.

In this case the two women were lifelong best friends, that's pretty much it. They lived together after Marstons death to save money and try to raise 4 children.

And some scumbag decided to make a soft core porno out of these peoples lives. I hope the family wins Billions! Not only this travesty of justice, but the movie sucked ass! It's like watching A high school drama and all the understudies are performing.

Read through the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes and you'll see that a lot of the professional reviewers felt obligated to give it higher rating. Because they like the anything goes lifestyle.
16 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The got me in the seats because of Wonder Woman, but I stayed because it was a unique movie about love.
subxerogravity17 October 2017
I had a feeling that the title was propaganda to get me into the seats. After all, Wonder Woman was one of 2017's best pictures, so I figure the title of this movie (as well as the well done poster) was a way to get butts into the seats. Not that I want my money back, cause it was an excellent movie. It was lots of fun and it made me chuckle a lot of times, but if your here because you want to learn more about Wonder Woman, the movie is not designed like that specifically.

What I knew about William Marston before was that he created Wonder Woman (right!), the same guy who created Wonder Woman created the lie detector test (But the movie does point out how much his wife contributed to this) and that the original Wonder Woman comics was filled with images of bonding and S&M (Which according to the movie visualized Marston's theories on human behavior) . What I did not know is that this guy was in a three way relationship with his wife and one of his students. This part of the movie seems to take center stage above anything else.

Once again ,I'm not complaining, cause it made for one of the most interesting love stories I've ever seen. Not really into romance movies, and you can make an argument that it's not, but what stands out for me in this film is a story about three people trying to be in a loving relationship with one another in a world that's still not really ready for what is going on here. So, it was a romance film done differently, under a mask of  the drama and the biography( How very Superhero-like of them).

http://cinemagardens.com/?p=1732
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A beautiful story that could have been so much better
munjalemail14 September 2017
Powerful script crafted into a beautiful movie that I liked very much. My only grievance is that the Director chose not to portray all three legs of the tripod in the same light and hence the movie comes across as another romantic movie instead of showing how tantalizingly tumultuous polyamorous relationships are. They are so much more than two human beings of any sex being attracted to each other. Two plus one becomes four or five or so much more but certainly not three. One minute of the scene in a similar vein in House of Cards captures that passion more so than I could locate anywhere in this movie. Hall played her role perfectly and seemed natural in a triad. While this was a missed opportunity, I am glad this movie was made and an interesting story was shared and for that I am very thankful to TIFF and the Director.
17 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Unfortunately...No
ciaran-550081 November 2017
Considering the cost of seeing a movie today - this one would probably be better off viewed if checked out (for free) from the library.

Based - loosely - and I mean loosely - on the life and times of psychologist William Moulton Marston - this film attempts to provide some background to the comic book creation of Wonder Woman.

Unfortunately, there is a good deal of Marston's life that is left out. Marston was a Harvard-educated "law man" who chose psychology as his career of interest. His writings are almost obsessively focused on lie-detection.

Apparently, Marston had a criminal record - and the Detroit police department didn't care much for him. For a lawyer, he didn't seem to have much respect for the law, morals or ethics.
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Professor Marston was a sleaze and so were his wife and their girlfriend
jasons066024 October 2017
Let's not pretend that Marston wasn't a bit of a perv. Here was a man with some interest in bondage who had a wife but who brought into his marriage another woman, presumably to fulfill his pervy fetishes for girl-girl action and the like. Pathetic.

There is nothing liberating for women in this arrangement. In fact, the man always comes out on top. The idea that Marston's female partners were "liberated" or even "empowered" is pure Hollywood nonsense of the type you often see in connection with movie promotion.

As for the 1930's and 1940's being oppressive times, no they weren't. Privately, you could do pretty much whatever you liked in bed. The only sexuality that was really prosecuted was male homosexuality.
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The a movie wonder woman broke box office records, This though is not what i expected from a biography of the character's creator.
Aktham Tashtush14 January 2018
The movie is okay, had some dramatic sensual facts about wonder woman i'd never known, it was definitely informative and again exotic.

The plot revolves around the relationship between Proffesor Marston, his wife and his student and their weird exciting love triangle which helped creating Wonder Woman,, the problem for me was the screenplay, which focused more on the sexual part "which i know played a huge part in creating the character" but in my opinion it cheapened the movie so it looked demeaning,, but yeah the whole story was genuine and worth knowing.

The cast were really good, with the likes of Luke Evans and Rebecca Hall and even with the Australian beauty Bella Heathcote made the scenes Hotter ,, not a spoiler in here but a fact,, the real characters are not that attractive, nope, not at all , oh , with all due respect ;)

Anyway, to conclude, the story is nice, but the script needed a bit more variety ,, again i'm not sure if the story was really that sensual , but even if,, i think it just needed more focus on other arias of Wonder woman story, like publishing process or the real legal issues they faced...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Slow paced but definitely worth the investment
awp200816 October 2017
First, I must confess that I am little acquainted with the Wonder Woman comic books. I loved the Wonder Woman series with Lynda Carter and I absolutely loved and am obsessed with the movie starring Gal Gadot. I watched this movie at once because I was curious about the background of the comic book author and because it stars two actors I really admire, Luke Evans and Rebecca Hall. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. The pacing was right, I felt, for the story. I loved how the story was about him but the main focus was always, rightly so, on the two amazing and powerful women who shaped Wonder Woman as much as they influence and shaped the man who created the character from what he saw as the best of both women. The nudity/love scenes in this movie were not graphic and were done, again, my opinion, tastefully and with reverence to the story. I highly recommend this movie to everyone. I loved Wonder Woman before, I now understand why.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
No Sense
Tweetienator13 January 2018
So you make a movie about some non-fictional people and you mostly make the most stuff up... On top a boring movie with some "soft-porn" and "bondage" scenes... Ah, I almost forgot, wasn't there something lately called Fifty Shades of Whatever!? And a story about a ménage à trois. How provocative - ho ho ho. And you young people just google something like pulp-magazines of the 40s and have a look at all those cover artworks...

Rebecca Hall I really like and respect as an actress a lot, but this movie, what a waste of her time - and talent. Especially all the acting and dialog are imo terrible unbelievable - non did make me believe I do watch some people of the respective times. But this of course has something to do with the script.

As it is marketed as a bio a straight 1, for a fictional movie I would rate it 4.

p.s. Ernst Lubitsch made a movie called Serenade zu dritt (Design for Living), a movie about a - ménage à trois. The movie was almost made 100 years ago, in 1933...
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Professor Marston and the Wonder Women (2017)
rockman18216 October 2017
I really do love Wonder Woman. She is probably my favorite superhero. I love the 70s TV show with Lynda Carter and the recent film. So I was definitely hyped to see the inspiration for the creation of such an iconic character. The trailer immediately had me intrigued. An unconventional and BDSM filled relationship being the inspiration for Wonder Woman? Very exciting prospect. I did like the film though the film is more engaging in some aspects and draining in others.

The film follows William Moulton Marston and his wife Elizabeth. Marston was known to be an inventor of an early version of the lie detector. The couple decide to form a relationship with their teaching assistant, despite being a very forbidden thought in the pre World War II era. This relationship and Olive Byrne (the teaching assistant) become the inspiration for Marston's Wonder Woman. Wonder Woman is seen as disgusting at first by the media and as something that would never take off. Well guess what? I firstly loved Bella Heathcote in this. I liked her in Neon Demon but this was her real breakout performance. Her humanity is so on display, you can't help but fall in love with her. The film is also complemented with a typically great Rebecca Hall performance, she remains quite underrated. The story telling isn't always strong as the film does spend lengthy time on the development of the relationship. The film also really doesn't set itself far apart from other biopics.

The main strength of the film is its source material. This is a very interesting story. Especially if you love Wonder Woman. The inspiration for one of the most beloved superheros is rooted in a poly-amorous relationship, that's fantastic. Overall, the film isn't spectacular but the acting delivers a credible relationship and the film is a nice segway into the backstory of a hero we all know and love.

7/10
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Warning - watching this movie will forever change your idea of Wonder Woman
phd_travel12 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If I'd know the story behind the creator of Wonder Woman I might not have watched it. It's an interesting and bizarre story about the creator himself. If only it didn't cast this pervy slant to Wonder Woman that will be hard to erase from the mind. The story is about the unusual professor who invented the Lie Detector Test with his brilliant wife and his bisexual mistress all living together in a menage a trois and having 2 kids with each woman. The movie does focus on the salacious arrangement. It's quite a revelation to see the inspiration behind the costume and the lasso etc but oh my I would rather not have known.

Luke Evans looks a bit lecherous here - right for the role. Rebecca Hall is surprisingly quite believable as an intellectual even though she is getting less attractive as the years go by. Bella Heathcote is the not so innocent mistress.

Watch this with caution.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Elegant movie that tells a remarkable piece of feminist history.
Harm ten Napel15 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I propose for every self proclaimed proponent of freedom to watch this movie and then afterward to search their souls if they are still in the same belief system. You can imagine there would be some societal backlash if three consenting adults would engage in a love triangle and in the process lay the foundation for a popular comic series that at its heart attempts to redefine femininity based on an insightful psychological theory on the relationships between men and women of which they are their own research subjects. Since that is what you are going to get. It's done mostly quite elegantly and if you're not overly puritan you may even be persuaded to conclude "why not". But even for those for whom these sort of relationships are not their piece of cake this is at least a piece of history that is quite remarkable. One of the best movies I've seen that while it avoids being really pornographic at the same time is capable to arouse a pleasurable erotic tension, all in the name of balanced drama being totally defensible. I liked it and I applaud anyone involved for the courage to shoot it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The right cocktail for an awesome movie
webwizardbe15 January 2018
I went in with lots of hesitation, I feared this was one of those tedious academic movies just using Wonder Woman to attract viewers. But I came out with one of the best movie experiences this year.

The cocktail is just right. The topics are serious but they keep it light enough too (the lie detector f.i. is hilarious). So you are invited to think about relationships, feminism, censorship,... but without too much drama that gives you that uneasy feeling. As it goes for a drama based on true events, this one is very entertaining and enjoyable yet thought provoking. Now I even have a new view on the movie Wonder Woman, it lacked a lot...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Bad Accents everywhere.
willz18715 January 2018
Rebecca Hall has done too many American movies. Her natural British accent is butchered. She already hammers every word when she acts, over emphasizing them, now she sounds stupider with a half British/half american accent. She can't use the F word convincingly. Couldn't concentrate on the movie. From what I could tell, the dialogue was baloney anyways. Luke Evans is great, in everything else. So-so American accent. Adds nothing to the Wonder Woman myth. Psychobabble
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Wonder Story
chizdamasii14 January 2018
If we start comparing this with our normal lives, it will just blow our minds, it will even make us hate the sinning examples portrayed in the movie. We are the sum of our experiences though, and we all hate to be hated. From this point, i admire the protagonists courage because, we like it or not, we are pure sexual beings. With that in mind, i welcome and give a big thumbs up of approval to this wonderful movie, go and see it, it will change your heart and mind equally. 9* out of 10!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Just another soft core porno movie
Rifleman7714 October 2017
Just another soft core porn movie. Threesomes, nudity, and horse-faced women make for the origin story of Wonder Woman. A professor and his wife start a threesome with a student, and they do drugs and have lots of sleazy sex while hashing out the origin story of Wonder Woman.

Kind of sad and sick to realize that there were middle aged college campus sexual predators even in the 1940s.
9 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A three-way marriage---of head, heart, and libido
jcf-3768214 October 2017
The challenging---yet ultimately satisfying---approach of "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women", is that it isn't about any one thing, it's about several things (at least 3).

It's a *think piece* about relationships and sexuality. What's normal? What makes for true happiness? What sacrifices should the individual (couple, throuple) make to fit in to the larger society? Can men really be feminist, or does male privilege get in the way? Is sexual jealousy inevitable, or can it be transcended through empathy?

It's a heart-tugger, of very *human* beings facing real pain. But meeting that pain with real love---and then triumphing through their creativity.

And it's well, um, a loin-tingler: the sex is HOT! (And so few movies get that right). It's especially the accomplishment of the *female gaze* (thank you, writer/director Angela Robinson!) Female sexual agency (and even female romantic foibles---but played seriously, not for male laughs).

Even if this movie has some of the innate problems of the bio-pic (trying to make every Real Life Story aspect FIT into the mechanics of good drama), its narrative framing(s) lift it considerably above the average in this genre. There are at least 2: 1) the Child Psychology Board hearing (looking back at the beginning/evolution of the William/Elizabeth/Olive relationship, via the origins of the Wonder Woman comic, and 2) WM Marston's "DISC" theory: literally evaluating their individual lives and relationship, via Dominance-Inducement-Submission-Compliance. Marston tells us what makes for a happy life...but how much more powerful when the film actually shows us (in the struggle to get there).

All this, and lie detectors/Wonder Woman too! With a crackling script, and outstanding performances (above all, by Rebecca Hall: Academy, "For Your Consideration"!) If you're ready to think, feel---and then maybe have a fun night w/ someone(s?) special afterwards, "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women" is your movie. Make it a date night! ;-)
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not For Everyone
steve beard15 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women", starring Luke Evans- The Fast & the Furious movies, Clash of the Titans_2010; Rebecca Hall- Iron Man 3, The Prestige; Bella Heathcote-Fifty Shades Darker, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Connie Britton-Nashville_tv, A Nightmare on Elm Street_2010. This is based on a true story about the man that created the comic book hero, Wonder Woman, in 1941. If you know me, you know that I know a little bit about comics so I did know some of the facts in the movie, but not all of them. Luke plays William Moulton Marston, a psychology professor at Harvard that was studying human emotions and had theories about dominance & submission in relationships. He came up with what he called the DISC theory-Dominance, Inducement, Submission & Compliance-which he said was the basis of all relationships. He was a feminist and besides being married to Rebecca, he also had a female student, Bella, that he & his wife became lovers with. Oh yeah, he invented the lie detector machine, which he incorporated into his comic book creation-remember Wonder Woman's magic lasso of truth? He took different characteristics from Rebecca & Bella to use in creating Wonder Woman and also had children with both women but he did receive some resistance to the sexual connotations that he slipped into the comics-there was a lot of light bondage portrayed in his books. Connie plays the head of the children's group that did not think his Wonder Woman book was suitable for the young readers and her interviews with Luke are shown throughout the movie. If you are a comic fan like me, you will probably enjoy it a little more than the average viewer-or if you are into role playing &/or bondage. It's rated "R" for language and sexual content-including nudity-and has a running time of 1 hour & 48 minutes. It's not for everyone but I enjoyed it and would buy it on DVD.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Entertaining and illuminating cinema.
jdesando14 October 2017
Who would have thought Wonder Woman, whom we have this year glorified in a worthy film, has her roots in an American ménage a trois? Professor Marston and the Wonder Women almost chastely depicts Marston (Luke Evans), a psychology professor at Radcliffe in the late 1930's and early '40's; his brilliant wife, Elizabeth (Rebecca Hall); and Bella Heathcote (Olive Byrne), a comely student and niece of Margaret Sanger, the birth-control feminist.

Their research and the comic-book heroine get parallel inspiration from Marston's fundamental DISC theory that all human behavior can be traced to a form of dominance, inducement, submission, or compliance. The take away from this unusual docudrama is that Wonder Woman for several years was steeped in violence and sadomasochism until puritanical forces overcame it, only for it to be resurrected with her super powers but, alas, no bondage, no homosexuality, no controversy.

Except for that skimpy bathing suit, to which apparently the male power structure gave a pass. Although Professor Marston's comic-book gift to feminism can't be overstated, the film spends much more time on the love triangle, its difficult reception in the burbs, and the surface pleasantries of seeing three lovely actors kissing.

Credit writer-director Angela Robinson for tastefully depicting this alternative life style without rancor or dramatic turns. Quietly out of it came the lie-detector machine and a comic book that shook the culture, mirroring the professor's own beliefs that men should respect the power of women, whose power should be glorified rather than feared (take that, Harvey W).

Professor Marston and the Wonder Women combines the inherently interesting origin of the Wonder Woman myth and the groundbreaking assertion of three people fighting for their right to love as they like. You'll leave the theater with history and a fuller appreciation of contemporary feminism's roots. That's just entertaining and illuminating cinema.
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A good take and historical informative film on how the woman with the golden lasso and bracelets became about thru trial and error.
Danny Blankenship14 October 2017
Most who follow entertainment and history knew that psych professor William Moulton Marston was the one who invented the lie detector test and created the Wonder Women character. This film sheds light on the history and the behind the scenes journey and struggles of how that came about. William a professor began working and doing research on how emotions can effect truth, health, and feeling and for many of these test his duo to work with were his wife Elizabeth and mistress and young student Olive. And along the way the work gave insight to women and the gender roles and reactions of mixed pain, pleasure, and truth seeking would make them out to be special. All of it would be tied to dominance, compliance, and feel good free will and at the time most of this shocked most of the culture. Yet still this would spark personal freedom for not just women but all in the form of sexual freedom, and outspoken rights as it was nice to see how these touch and go topics became the background and under work that helped create a national treasure and icon like "Wonder Woman". Really this is a great informative historical film to see worth your time to explore topics like sexual freedom, outspoken women's rights and hope and freedom for all to open up to all generations.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews