Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
943 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
A 'spectacular' Spider-Man movie that proves that Spider-Man's still got it.
William Harrison21 July 2017
Jon Watts (Director of Clown and Cop Car) perfects the character and charm of Spider-Man that we all love from the comics without doing disservice to either fans of both the Raimi and Amazing Spider-Man franchises with a fun superhero movie oozing with joy with its great cast and characters, big and small, as well as an 'amazing' performance from Tom Holland who brilliantly combines what Maguire and Garfield brought to the character by truly demonstrating the differences and similarities between the awkward nerd Peter Parker and the quippy crime fighting Spider-Man. The film also gives many critics of Marvel's lack of great villains what they want most, a relatable villain that is as, if not more, interesting than the hero itself and not only is great adversary physically but also psychologically and we see this with Michael Keaton's excellent portrayal of the Vulture. What Spider-Man: Homecoming does best, however, is its attention to detail and world building put into the town of Queens, which feels more real and believable than any other fictional world we have seen in the MCU, making Spider-Man: Homecoming one of the best chapters of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and another great example for future superhero movies to learn from.
87 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Stellar movie...but what about Spider-man?
Sara G (Saramargard)20 July 2017
Oh Spider-Man, we meet again. It's been a long time since we saw tantalizing Tobey Maguire in the suit. Spidey was in need of a comeback- oh wait, I forgot that already happened...Andrew Garfield this one is for you!

Okay but for real, this movie was great. It hit on every truthful aspect of Peter Parker. Geeky high school teen with great angst, a need to prove himself and get the girl he supposedly loves. I would 10/10 recommend it to anyone as one of the greatest Marvel movies every made (it definitely lived up to it's reputation), but what about the greatest Spidey movie every made?

I agree that there has to be major differences between this movie and the other two heart-throb tales because Spider-Man is now official in league with the Avengers. But caught in the crossfires of the Marvel Legacy, was the movie even about Peter Parker? I mean, did they even have to try to make it about him? Everybody already knew the story so why bother retelling it? I believe a better title for the movie may have been Iron Man 4-Tony Stark's Coming of Age.

The Marvel makers seemed to have realized that they already created a vast empire so adding in Peter Parker shouldn't be difficult at all; if we remember to keep the main stars close behind...

I may still be a little too attached to the previous web of spidey movies to believe that Spider-Man is now part of something more than just himself, but it may have been nice to stick a little closer to the reality of Spider-Man's true nature. He is a lonely, angsty teen from queens, but he seemed to be still on the back burner to the bigger starts cameo-ed in his own film. Maybe that was the point though...right?
63 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best one after the original trilogy!
Hamza Saleem21 July 2017
You should definitely watch if you are a true fan of Spider-Man and Marvel. Tom Holland revived Peter Parker as a new. Michael Keaton's portrayal as Vulture was very good.There is no doubt that Tobey Maguire was a better actor. But if we give Holland more time than I hope that he will nail it with his performance. :)
75 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst movie adaptation of Spider-Man ever
KH-Fan13 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Did the Homecoming writers actually think that pushing together the 2 split halves of the ferry boat would stop the boat from sinking? And why did Iron Man just fly away after pushing the 2 split halves of the ferry boat together, without even checking if any of the passengers might be injured and need to be air-lifted to a hospital? And why were there cars on the Staten Island Ferry? Don't the writers know that cars haven't been allowed on the Staten Island Ferry after 9/11? And why doesn't Spider-Man have Spider-Sense in MCU? When Peter ditched Liz at the Homecoming dance and leaves the building, he gets ambushed outside by 1 of the bad guys. No way that should happen with Spider-Sense. So he definitely doesn't have Spider-Sense in MCU.

Also, the absurdity of the Washington Monument scene. The elevator of the Washington Monument gets blown up by a bomb that the fat kid had. DHS would've interrogated the fat kid about where he got the bomb and the fat kid would've been held in custody until he gave up Peter as the guy who gave him the bomb.

Then DHS would've investigated Peter and would've been suspicious as to why Peter at the last minute decided to re-join the Academic Decathlon after quitting the team earlier and travel with the team to Washington, D.C. only to skip out on the Decathlon competition and the skip out on the team's trip to the Washington Monument on the same day that his best friend blows up an elevator in the Washington Monument using a bomb that Peter gave him. And DHS would've gotten a warrant to search Aunt May's apartment.

Just more bad writing, as is usually the case in MCU movies.

In addition to the bad writing, SMH's shallow and uninspiring portrayal of Spider-Man's motivations make SMH the worst movie adaptation of Spider-Man ever. Without outright mentioning Uncle Ben's death, Peter being Spider-Man is reduced to a simple show-off. There's nothing driving him other than wanting to look cool and impress Tony Stark - and that's a shallow reason which betrays his true comic origins.

Superman is shown by Jor-El how he can unite the human and Kryptonian species and bring hope to Earth. Batman is driven by the death of his parents and vows to do everything in his power to stop crime in Gotham. Wonder Woman feels that it's her duty to end war and bring peace to Mankind.

Those are noble reasons which are inspiring. Spider-Man is in 1 of the 4 most iconic comic-book superheroes along with Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman. But his motivation for being Spider-Man in Homecoming isn't because he believes he has a "great responsibility" to use his powers for good (as he learned from his failure to prevent Uncle Ben's death when he could've) but simply because he's hoping to get a reply from Happy Hogan.
249 out of 401 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Welcome home, web-head
pyrocitor15 July 2017
Spider-Fans are a thick-skinned lot. And, in watching his attempts to crawl onto the big screen, we've taken some gut-punches. From the early, fun-but-twee Sam Raimi days to the murky, Marc Webb hipster days (to say nothing of the nightmare of 'Dancing Emo Peter' - a farce of idiocy the character will be lucky to ever shrug off), we've watched our boy take more beats than a bout with Doctor Octopus. So, even finally(!) reacquainted with his REAL parents - a Marvellous accomplishment in itself - dare we hope? In the face of so much misguided corporate overreach, hackneyed tonal imbalance, flagrant disregard for comic backstory, and (shudder) hip-thrusts, dare we dream the dream of a half-decent cinematic Spider-Man, for the first time in more than some viewers' lifetimes?

Rest easy, true believers: Homecoming is the best Spider-Man movie ever made.

Right from the playful strains of a certain familiar theme over the opening logos, it's immediately apparent that Marvel Studios have not treated the reacquisition of their most beloved character lightly. Director Jon Watts' film practically leaps off the screen with a bouncy, mischievous energy, snappy humour, and such a sheer outpouring of joy at its own existence (no tired teen angst here!) that it's nigh impossible to resist grinning from start to finish. In contrast to the increasingly cosmic Marvel Cinematic Universe growing around it, Homecoming is winningly small and intimate: not only does Watts paint a love letter to the rough and tumble charm of Queens and its inhabitants, but the film's stakes are not the fate of the world or universe, but, appropriately, the neighbourhood becoming less friendly.

It's a hugely welcome tonic to blockbuster bloat, and the rare summer romp with space for characters to breathe. Watts channels Parker's bustling eagerness for a higher calling into one of the most organic, truthful depictions of a modern high school, with a John Hughes ear for its stresses, infantilization, and small joys. One sequence, where Peter wrestles with the ethics of crashing a party as Spider-Man to raise his social standing to help bag a date to the titular dance, is so adorably true to the character it's hard not to shed a tear in gratitude. It's telling that we know and care more about Parker's high school classmates than many of the B-tier, celebrity-cast superheroes in the MCU, and Laura Harrier, Zendaya, Tony Revolori (whose Flash, while no longer a jock, hits terribly credible cringeworthy notes of modern bullying), and especially Jacob Batalon (who sells many of the film's comedic and emotional beats with surprisingly hilarious aplomb) flesh them out superbly. Paradoxically, the film's grounded aesthetic also helps blend it into the MCU much more seamlessly than many of its cohort, reframing the MCU's macro conflicts through a nonplussed ground level (upon an exquisitely tongue-in-cheek Chris Evans cameo, Parker's teacher deadpans "or maybe he's a war criminal now. I dunno"), while the House of Mouse cheerfully works in Star Wars swag at every turn.

But, in the midst of this uncharacteristically unassuming 'world-building,' for Marvel, the fun and thrills have not been left crammed into a locker. Watts' action interludes are fizzy, raucous, clumsy (one car chase has Peter destroying - and chatting with - most of Queens in his inexperienced tenacity), and just as exhilarating as any of the bigger, brawnier Marvel counterparts. If anything, Watts infuses his blowouts with such worry Peter is in way over his head (his heroic intervention to the crumbling Washington Monument is interrupted by a panic attack from the altitude), that emotions are unprecedentedly ratcheted up for superhero combat. Even initial concerns of Spider-Man being too governed by Stark tech melt away in the face of Parker's unquenchable enthusiasm in the face of his costume's wacky potential, as his stacked super-suit cues many of the film's biggest laughs (two words: 'Intimidation Mode'), while Michael Giacchino's twinkling score soars and lilts with the quintessence of Spider-Man.

Michael Keaton's Vulture is unexpectedly terrifying, adding a uniquely aerodynamic to keep their tussles fresh and thrilling. Keaton's idiosyncratic, bristling, and grimly heartfelt performance (a righteously indignant 'working class hero' antithesis to Tony Stark) takes what could have been another bland, disposable villain and makes him one of the most deceptively memorable and compelling of the MCU. There are the slightest wobbles in the web - the Shocker is fun but a touch underwhelming for such a cult classic Spider-foe, while Donald Glover's cameo is amusing but superfluous. But in the face of the film's relentless outpouring of fun and heart, including a third act twist as astonishingly unexpected as it is retroactively self- evident, they are less than inconsequential. And there is one sequence, ripped from the comic pages of the Lee/Ditko days, that is almost overwhelmingly emotional, anchoring the core 'tireless underdog' ethos of Spider-Man in tearfully perfect fashion.

And Tom Holland. Dear Tom Holland. To call his impish, earnest charisma perfect for Peter Parker would be an understatement - he's almost achingly affable and human in and out of homespun or high tech costume, with a flair for pitch-perfect Spider-quips, raw vulnerability, and self-reproachful asides that are almost too lovable for words. In short, he is Spider-Man through-and-through. Supporting him, Robert Downey Jr. continues to find unexplored wrinkles in his eighth time embodying Tony Stark, and his clumsy 'Uncle Tony' mentoring ("my dad was never there for me, so, uh, breaking the cycle of shame") is hugely amusing without overstaying his welcome. Marisa Tomei is too effervescently delightedly not to larb as Aunt May (now with more charm and less life lessons! Yay!), while Jon Favreau is reliably hilarious as the crusty Happy Hogan.

Homecoming doesn't just do whatever a spider can - it redefines Spider-Man while showing unprecedented care and affection for what makes the character tick, all while teeming with humour, heart, humanity, and infectious fun. Soak it in, Spider-Friends. He's home.

-9.5/10
62 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Spit in the face of spider man fans
Nick6 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers and review coming from a Spider-Man fan. I want to say if I knew nothing about Spider-Man, this movie was good. But sadly I loved him and grew up with spidey. The movie was a typical marvel movie and funny at parts. But the rest, they hurt my inner child ruining spidey.

Tom Holland was a great Peter Parker and Spider-Man. But the producers and creative team behind this, ruined Spider-Man. I don't know how Stan lee could could happy with this. My god. They ruined Spider-Man. Spider-Man never needed a high tech suit, with all the gadgets and a damn voice helping him like batman and iron man. They made him look pathetic and took away his intelligence. Spider man relied on his abilities, not tech. This movie made iron man look responsible for the creation and power behind Spider-Man. Any kid could have been potentially Spider-Man with iron mans help then. Other than sticking to walls according to this movie. No spidey sense and no further explanation on his abilities.

Next, the flash. My god what were they thinking with him? A small Indian kid, smaller than tom Holland even?? Not a jock and hardly intimidating. That's not flash. He's suppose to be a dumb jock and bully. Not a hardly noticeable nerd bully on a math team picking on Peter.

Aunt may. What...why they make her a hot mom figure. She's suppose to be old, not long luscious hair and sexy. People hitting on her all the time. Why??

Spider-Mans webbing was lame and made him look oblivious to using it. He barely created it, tony did all the work. Other than a moment in class we saw him making some and the end where he used his old webbing.

His love interest was lame and they made the vulture her dad??? Really? And then end put a nail in the coffin. The Michelle random character....calling herself MJ. Please no. She cannot be or replace Mary Jane. And can't even nod to Gwen Stacy.

There was so much political correct crap in this. I don't mind changing the characters into other races, but doing it just for the sake of doing it was lame. Making flash Indian, making his friend who also could be the hobgoblin Asian, and probably maybe getting rid of Mary Jane as Michelle who is black. Does Hollywood have something against red heads?? Every girl or hero who has red hair in the comics is never ginger.

The shocker was terrible. No custom and lame. And they needed two of him too? Stupid.

Just everything about this movie killed my inner child and spat in my face for making comic book and cartoons of my beloved Spider-Man a waste of time.

Oh and people figured out who Spider-Man was quickly. The vulture, his friend, iron man obviously, and drum roll....his aunt may. Already aunt may?? Unless they make another movie and add a dumb excuse like, oh I just like the costume and I made one. How stupid.

I'm sorry to tom Holland for being involved in this. This was not a true version of Spider- Man. If you know nothing of Spider-Man then you'll probably enjoy this movie. But if you know anything about him, his story and who he is, Hollywood shat on it.

RIP spidey in the movies. They can't get a simple concept down of him. They have to add a bunch of garbage.

This is my one big review of a movie and I never bothered to make one this in depth, but I couldn't keep it in. Plus the post credit scene was even lamer at the very end. To add to that, they brought back the ugliest captain America costume that made him look like a joke in the first avengers.
494 out of 825 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best Spiderman movie yet!
Antik .15 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Honestly, when the movie was announced I really did think that this would've ruined the classic Spiderman franchise, seems that I was wrong. This is an absolutely 'amazing' movie, best Spiderman movie yet! Although actors have changed, this time the Avengers recognise this young man as a hero and they also add a story to it, the classic Spiderman trying to stop the train with the tensile strength of his webs was recreated in the movie and many of the original features were retained. There is also a very funny sense of humour (personally) and I honestly found it hilarious. They could not choose anyone better than Ned as Spidey's best friend and I would rate this movie an excellent 9.6 out of 10!
51 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best Spider-Man and Marvel movie
nickgabis13 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This Movie is fantastic Tom Holland is an amazing Peter Parker and Spider-Man!Maguire was a great Peter and Garfield was a great Spidey but Holland nails both of them.It is a great movie with many jokes and twists.Near the end of the movie Peter asks Liz to Homecoming and she says yes.When Peter arrives at Liz's house Adrian Toomes(The Vulture) answers the door and says he's Liz's dad.Peter then leaves Liz at Homecoming to stop him from stealing Tony Stark's plane that is moving all his stuff to the new Avengers Facility Upstate.Peter stops the Vulture and the Vulture is arrested. Peter then learns Liz is moving to Oregon because her father doesn't want them there during the trial.Michelle is elected the new Leader of the Decathlon team is tells them her friends call her MJ making us believe she will be a Mary Jane like character.Tony Stark then offers Peter a spot in the Avengers and a new suit that looks like the Iron Spider suit.Peter declines the offer and continues being a Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man.Tony gives Peter back the suit he made for him and he puts it on and takes off the mask not knowing Aunt May is right behind him in the Apartment she then shouts "WHAT THE F..." with the rest of the curse being cut off by the end credits.There are two after credit scenes one with The Vulture in prison and he runs into a man who will become the Scorpion and Vulture denies knowing Peter's identity even though he knows it.The final after credit scene has another Captain America PSA about patience and being disappointed for waiting so long so so little. So all in all fantastic movie best marvel movie and Spider-Man movie by a long shot.
52 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Spidey done right!
Hold_the_door7 July 2017
"Spider-Man: Homecoming" is the newest installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and a much needed Spider-Man reboot after the mess that the "Amazing Spider-Man" series were. This movie is actually a tie with Raimi's "Spider-Man 2" for the best movie based on the character and Tom Holland, after this movie and his debut in last year's "Civil War" is easily the best on-screen Spidey.

What I loved about this film is that it manages to introduce us to Peter Parker without showing us things that we know from all his previews movies. And if you don't think that's great enough, prepare for a funny, lighthearted, surprising, easter-egg filled, action-packed, stunning Summer blockbuster.

It's also one of those rare comic book movies that the villain doesn't feel wasted, thanks to Michael Keaton's flawless performance. The rest of the cast does a great job too - with Zendaya being a standout, to my surprise.

To conclude, I believe "Homecoming" is a nearly perfect adaptation of the beloved Web shooter with barely any flaws that every fan (and non-fan) should see.
85 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best Spider-Man to date!
ubaid_samadi19 July 2017
There was nothing wrong or bad about this movie. It was witty, comical and funny, and had many twists and turns along the way as well. I have been a big fan of Spider- Man for years and it was honestly better than the Spider-Man movies starring Tobey Maguire and much better than the Amazing Spider-Man movies starring Andrew Garfield. It stuck to its comical roots; Spider-man is just a young kid trying to prove himself. The Amazing Spider-man series focused too much on the action and tried to make the movie look cooler in 3-D and did not focus on the story-line too much. Homecoming had a perfect blend of action, drama, and story-line and that is what makes this movie great.

Go grab a popcorn and watch it in the cinema and have a blast!
70 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad, Marvel's self-sabotaging with jokes. Raimi's Spider-Man 2 still the best.
gtrboy-356647 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
With good CGI and an interesting take on The Vulture, but extremely cringy jokes forced in seemingly every line of dialogue, bad acting by everyone except Keaton and Holland, and the inexplicable reason to have Iron Man & his tech dominate a film that isn't even his (and make Spider-Man seem weak/dependent). SM: Homecoming is disappointing. 4/10

... *Spoilers* (Compensating for shockingly overrated reviews)

I don't want it to seem like I'm a hater. I love Spider-Man. He's my favorite Marvel hero and one of the first ones I ever followed as a kid. But, that doesn't mean I can just ignore this very flawed film, especially when critics are unfairly over-inflating reviews for Marvel movies again (literally every one gets 90%+ when maybe 1/3 of them deserve that high.. fishy) and even mentioning it in the same sentence as "greatest superhero film ever" when in reality, it's not even the best Spider-Man movie.

Let's start with the bad. First, the jokes. Literally almost every line of dialogue in the movie had extremely cringy jokes forced in centering around immature and stupid things like puberty, Larb (you'll understand once you see it), male body parts (repeatedly, Flash is soooo clever with that joke man), pretend-hugging to open doors, and Zendaya's hipster girl hating on everything & flicking off the camera for no reason. I understand Peter's in High School, but the jokes were INSULTINGLY juvenile & unbearable even by MCU's joke standards (which have been bad). I really want to like Marvel's movies and do for many of them like Civil War and Winter Soldier, but I cannot explain this weird trend they've been on recently to kill their own movies with overloaded humor and make the movies jokes instead of art.

Also, the acting and characters except for Michael Keaton and Tom Holland were just horrible. Usually don't go into superhero movies expecting Oscar-level acting unless it's The Dark Knight, but this was so bad I felt the need to point it out. Spider-Man's overly giddy best friend is annoying and overdone in superhero movies, while every other supporting character like Zendaya's hipster girl who hates everything, Flash Thompson who is completely miscast, and Aunt May who people bizarrely crush over are dull, uninteresting, and badly acted.

Next, the one I came into the theater fearing the most: Iron Man and his tech DOMINATED the movie when it's not even his. I like Iron Man, but his forced shoehorning into a movie he had no business being in was a hated decision by many from the beginning (myself included), but was worse than I thought it'd be. He, Happy, and his tech in the suit literally make up 3/4 of the movie, so much that it's made to seem like Spider-Man is weak and dependent on Stark's tech when in the comics he doesn't have an ounce of that sophisticated tech. Also, he is belittled by Tony constantly, a fact that as a Spider-Man fan, I find absolutely infuriating when Spider-Man is Marvel's best/most recognizable hero.

Finally, the film is riddled with plot holes, action scenes not nearly as wowing as other superhero films, and forced diversity. Spoilers- E.g., how could aunt May not see Peter's suit when he reveals to Ned for the first time and puts it on the ground when she walks in? Also, the movie begins after Avengers in 2012, then jumps "8 years" to 2020 but is after Civil War in 2016??.. The diversity in the movie is so overly forced to copy WW's praised real diversity that it ends up rubbing off the wrong way like it's a last-second afterthought to increase box office #'s instead of cleverly working it in. Every single couple in the movie is biracial, which is cheating diversity-wise as it's the easiest by FAR to write in. Finally, there were sequences that were just dumb, like the selfie video sequence that lasted a good 15 minutes in the beginning of the film.

While there was a tornado of cons, I looked for positives too. There were bright spots. For one, the new suit looks great. Having an All-CGI suit was actually a good idea as it came out beautifully, even if I hate how they made it too tech-based. The CGI throughout the film was admittedly good as well, especially in Vulture's case, although with an insane budget like this movie had, that should be a given instead of an achievement. Holland was a good Spider-Man, although he sometimes overplayed the role by talking too much.

Also, Michael Keaton as The Vulture was great. Keaton is a gifted actor (Batman!) and gives a new light to a previously cheesy villain and makes him likable. His character was well fleshed-out and his take on the character fascinating, which is why he should be even more upset the rest of the movie did not perform to his level.

Overall, I came in wanting to love this movie as much as I loved the originals, but was very disappointed. Convinced there is something going on here as I cannot possibly explain how the MCU gets 90's every time from critics, influencing the public perception into wanting to agree based on the basic psychological want to agree with people of perceived higher authority like critics instead of thinking differently.

Raimi's Spider-Man 2 = still the best Spider-Man film by almost EVERY metric of cinema.

Most Memorable Moment: Plane-side Spider-Man vs Vulture fight

Pros: Good CGI and a great Spider-Man suit, good performance by Holland although occasionally overacted, great performance by Keaton

Cons: Extremely cringy jokes forced in seemingly every line of dialogue, bad acting and characters except Holland/Keaton, Iron Man and his tech dominate Spider-Man's movie and make him seem weak/dependent, plot holes, forced diversity by lazily making every couple biracial instead of writing in cleverly, action scenes not as wowing as previous MCU entries

Rating: 4/10
342 out of 578 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Another Spidey?
need_coffee17 July 2017
Another try to show us the same angsty story about power and great responsibility? Wrong! Peter stuck in the middle of the teenage drama? Not quite! Spider-man as an Avenger? Well.... let me stop you there. My first impression when the trailer came out was, well I had a lot of doubts. For instance why there is no Uncle Ben, why Peter's best friend knows his best-guarded secret (that has been reviled in the comics only to help Iron Man's team during Civil War). Aunt May who is even less aware of everything? Iron Man in the background? No 'Friendly Neighbourhood Spider-man'? But then I went to see the movie and to say, I was pleasantly surprised. We got the whole need look at Peter Parker's life. First of all, we've never got to see Peter so young, though Andrew Garfield and Toby Maguire tried. He looks young and he is young. His life isn't exactly defined by his uncle's death. Sure it is implied but at the same time, it doesn't imply that this is why Peter became Spiderman. What we also got to see is Peter who learns how to be a hero. This kid really got one of the most solid moral core among the heroes. And now we can see how he learns how to do his job. It's no longer than 5 minutes of speeded process of embracing the powers, where in one moment he breaks the tap, can't control his 'sticky' powers and performs superhuman reflex and the next scene he has his suit made and his powers under control. No. And that's why it's good. It's funny, comical even, but true. Peter is true, he eats larb, builds lego Deathstar, studies for Spanish quiz, and saves the day. The other thing that surprised me was how well Tom and his real friend Jacob played the dynamic duo of Peter and his 'guy in the chair' Ned. It gives us a bit of fresh view, innocent even when it all is a game, an awesome adventure. And it also gives us A LOT of good humour. Then next we've got Aunt May, who is building a new life with Peter, starting over. She also has some kind of different innocence than we've seen before. She supports Peter and is just a bit more than an episodical character needed for the plot. Another character that has been rebooted is Flash Thompson, Peter's bully. Of course, he still is a bully, but the writers decided to expose the other side of him. For me, it gives a glimpse at the future where after all Peter and Flash became friends and Spider-man's ex- bully becomes a hero, Venom. Additionally, we had a chance to witness Happy's great return, yay!? And finally RJ, we are here. He did good, what did you expect. But he didn't steal the show, oh no. it was A Spider-man movie from the very end. Another pro of the movie is that there is no romance-centric plot. It's not always about getting a girl people! Moving on, that scene! You know which one! You didn't see that coming? Because I didn't. Simple yet great plot twist. But enough about the plot. Then again, the marvellous Marvel logo that constantly gets better and SPIDER-MAN THEME! That's right! The music was good, even though I was hoping to get another catch and a great soundtrack like we had in GoTG and GoTG vol2. Another thing that got me surprised was the camera. We've been served with a whole lot of scenes from new, and different angles. We got lots of different perspectives. General, big, from point of view and the best of all Peter's vlog from Germany. Last but not least brilliance of the credits. It really makes you want to sit there and wait for the credits to end, not like we wouldn't do this anyway. ;) I heard someone saying that they were disappointed with Peter. He was making a fool of himself. He was constantly saying: "I'm sorry but I gotta go" and couldn't get the job done right from the take one. But isn't it just how his life goes? because from what I know it is. Peter is one of the most relatable and at the same time tragic (ok, maybe not that tragic) comic characters. Because of he always, always does what is right. No matter what. he sacrifices his personal life, his love his happiness to make the world a better place. This is the reboot. This is the beginning. This is young Peter learning to be a hero. Him learning about power and responsibility. Learning to stay closer to the ground. And even though teenage Peter being pulled into high schools drama does sound cliché it paradoxically isn't. It's good. It's funny and it's just simply Peter Parker's life.

PS. Don't miss the extra Cap's message, straight from Middletown High.
63 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This is AWESOME.
Eye S.21 July 2017
I'm a huge fan of SpiderMan. I was grown up with this hero's movies, animated television, etc. I'm the one who always likes Peter's invention. I think many of you might think like me about his suit. It seemed to be a big nothing if Tony Stark wasn't helping Peter with his tech support but if you watch this movie and open your mind. you'll understand what he wants to prove himself like as Tony said "If you're nothing without this suit, then you shouldn't have it." So In my opinion it's this version that finally puts a truly portrayal of #PeterParker. Tom did great job. I love it.

I've watched it in three projection systems. In my personal opinion 4DX is kind of exhausting.. but it would be more fun if you see it in the normal screen or IMAX first. I always prefer #IMAX as it enhances my movie going experience. Moreover, I've seen Peter's face on big screen with full of my eye.
70 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very good film with not as much action packed scenes.
Zap11910 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I felt like this spider man movie was over the top. The high school setting made it feel like a true spider man movie where a kid wants to be a hero. The moment we all know is when peter parker runs into the alleyway and and rips his shirt off showing his spidey symbol. I think Tom Holland did a fantastic job at acting in this film. But the only dull part is, it didn't have as much action packed moments as I expected, being a long time Michael Bay fan, I've gotten used to the explosions and action packed scene. But very well done movie!
38 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Watch Spiderman Homecoming You Review
ktdet15 July 2017
Watch Spiderman Homecoming You Review

love this movie. Best movie how Young Peter Parker Started out.

Spider-Man for the past 15 years. First there was Tobey Maguire, who under the direction of Sam Raimi for three films ushered in the modern superhero era, and then there was Andrew Garfield whose two films with Marc Webb were immediately forgettable. And now, like all obedient franchises, they're trying to start all over again, this time with the much more age-appropriate Tom Holland in "Spider-Man: Homecoming."

And you know what? Superhero cynicism aside, "Spider-Man: Homecoming" is really fun. Director Jon Watts, whose only previous feature film credit is the indie thriller "Cop Car," has confidently put his stamp on the friendly neighborhood web slinger by making one bold move: actually casting teenagers to play teenagers.

Yes, after two films with late 20-somethings donning the Spidey suit and getting bitten by that pesky spider, Spider-Man finally gets to be a kid (and we get to skip over the whole origin/ Uncle Ben story). Instead, Watts' film, which is upsettingly credited to six screenwriters, picks up with Peter Parker (Holland) right before, during and after the events of "Captain America: Civil War," which introduced Holland's Spider-Man in that epic airport Avengers battle.

Instead of a "last week in Marvel" segment to catch up, we're given a refresher via Peter's perspective. He's just an excited kid who filmed the whole adventure and ever since has been thirsting for more Avengers action. He tries, endearingly, to prove his mettle on his own as he waits idly in Queens for a call from Tony Stark — giving directions to the elderly, retrieving stolen bikes and doing flips on command.

What he doesn't know is that for eight years, there has been a supervillain emerging in his town in the form of a wronged construction worker, Adrian (Michael Keaton), who decided to break bad after losing a job to a government crew that clears post- superhero fight disaster areas. Peter, with his true-blue heart and naivete and eagerness to prove himself, of course takes on more than he can handle, while also trying to navigate high school, homework, crushes and the awkwardness of just being a teenager. Time passes easily and just when you might worry that you don't actually care about any of the characters, the story throws a great curveball that carries interest to the end.

The film is overflowing with stellar talent, even in the smallest of roles and not counting the Marvel loaners in Robert Downey Jr. (who oozes charisma and charm even when phoning it in for a handful of scenes) and Jon Favreau. In the high school alone, there's the too- cool Michelle (Zendaya), the crush Liz (Laura Harrier) and the adorable breakout best friend Ned (Jacob Batalon). Hannibal Buress and Martin Starr are there, too, to add reliable laughs. Adrian's bad-guy crew includes Logan Marshall-Green and Michael Cernus. Even Spider-Man's suit has an Oscar winner behind its voice (Jennifer Connelly).

Then of course there is Holland, a terrific actor since "The Impossible," who is the perfect amount of empathetic, excitable and clueless to make Peter Parker work now and for years to come. For the most part, "Homecoming" is a joy. It's light-hearted, smart, a little meta and the first Marvel film to really consider what it might be like for kids living in a world where superheroes are real.

My only quibble with "Spider-Man: Homecoming" is that for all of its charming and infectious realism about race, high school life and class issues, it has a bit of a woman problem. Simply: every significant and semi-significant female character looks like a model. It wouldn't be an issue of the film not so spot-on with casting such a realistic variety of men and teenage boys, or if it were less concerned with hammering down on the "Aunt May is hot" bit that goes a little too far, but when taken together you start to wonder if maybe things would have been different if just one of the six screenwriters was a woman. But just as Peter has some growing up to do, so does this young franchise.
51 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Tom Holland the Man
mohamad youssef29 June 2017
You will enjoy every single minute of this movie, Tom Holland is definitely the best peter Parker and Spider-Man we have ever seen. Marvel studios really did deliver with this one great action, humor, comedy, and much more. The villain in this movie who is the vulture is probably the best marvel movie villain ever, Michael Keaton gives his best portrayal of the role. This is not a iron man movie this is a straight Spider-Man movie that tells us his life before and after civil war and it all sums up very good.
99 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Modern and Funny Adaptation of our Favorite Web-Head Hero!!!
adonis98-743-1865036 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Several months after the events of Captain America: Civil War, Peter Parker, with the help of his mentor Tony Stark, tries to balance his life as an ordinary high school student in Queens, New York City while fighting crime as his superhero alter ego Spider-Man as a new threat, the Vulture, emerges. Spider-Man: Homecoming is what a 2nd reboot should look and feel like and personally as much as i liked those 'Amazing Spider-Man' Movies i would definitely pick this one over those 2 films. Tom Holland's portrayal is a little bit more closer to the comics from tone, to humor to everything plus every time he goes to School and he does things like talking to Ned about building the Lego Death Star or about Spider-Man and basically nerd stuff or school stuff you as a viewer you can relate to this kid and i found myself relate to Peter Parker he is a nerd, he is awkward and makes other people around him either mad or just makes them laugh. Now the important stuff about Homecoming is if the villain is actually you know? good? Well i'll tell you this The Vulture is not just a great villain but the best one so far just those 5 first minutes of the film make total sense of why this guy chose the crime life and why it's important for him to succeed his mission plus Michael Keaton once again he knocked it out of the park he was an amazing Batman, an amazing Birdman and now an amazing Vulture i mean the guy delivers a great performance in everything that he does plus he is the only actually scary looking villain of the Entire MCU, Shocker is also in the film but he doesn't get to do much i guess we will see more of him in the Near Future so just relax it's still way early to judge him, Flash Thompson was also quite good and Tony Revolori really surprised me a lot cause i was very much against that casting at first but i was very blown away by the guy i mean it's a different Spider-Man so we need a different Flash too right? Another actor that surprised me as well was Marisa Tomei as Aunt May and sure she is very young to play the part but do you honestly really care at this point? You just want to see every single character get justice and you do get that. Jacob Batalon and Zendaya also surprised me a lot and they were both super funny especially Jacob some of his lines are super funny. Laura Harrier who plays Liz also portrays the character in a different way and personally i did liked her a lot as Peter's Girlfriend. Iron Man and Happy also make a return and their just as good as they where back in 2008 when we first met them because let's face it there's no way that RDJ can disappoint as Iron Man and then we have our breaking star Tom Holland a.k.a Peter Parker/Spider-Man this kid was just terrific and full of so much freaking energy and he does portray Spidey in a great way it's also way more modern and different than the previous 2 versions and that doesn't mean it's a bad thing he delivers the humor, the action and the drama in a great way and that has to do with the excellent team behind this MCU Film. In the end i was very much blown away by Spider-Man: Homecoming it was everything i wanted it to be and even more plus there's some great twists and turns along the way that i think die hard fans of the Franchise will love. Many critics did say that this is the 'Best Spider-Man Yet' and although i do agree in some parts i still think that Maguire's and Raimi's Spider-Man Trilogy was a bit better than this film but for a 2nd reboot and a Marvel film this is definitely on my Top 3 easily and i really can't wait for Spider-Man 2.

GO SPIDER-MAN!!!!!!!!!
48 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
No,no,no,
Jeffery Dickerson25 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is what I was afraid of when Disney took over marvel,it should have been called Spider-Man,high school musical ,I know it,s comic-book movie ,but we came a long way to show that comics are not just for kids ,but this sets us back ,none of the characters are like they are in the comics ,Peter was a nerdy school kid but not like this ,flash was a big school bully ,but this flash is a wimp ,my grandmother could take him ,and aunt May is a hottie in this movie ,not the old caring aunt of the comics ,why ,why ,hope this is not a trend ,the suits sucks too.i know they are trying to hit a new up to date audience ,but really.good graphics and action but lame characters and story .guess I,m just getting old .
174 out of 299 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Overrated Garbage! Worst Spiderman Movie EVER!
VanillaMint663 September 2017
Spideman: Homecoming was TERRIBLE and by far the worst spider-man film. This movie was a HUGE set back for Spiderman but sadly we live in a very tight lip controlled marvel press that have told us this is "great movie" because it came from another soulless product cake factory from marvel. This is the same Spiderman/Peter Parker from Civil War??? They severely dumbed him down for his solo movie and turned him into whiny clumsy idiot who screwed up constantly. Despite that Tom Holland is the best on screen Peter Parker and Spiderman to date. He deserved a MUCH better movie.

I like Michael Keaton but his performance felt phoned in only to find that Keaton turned down this role twice before excepting it. Not his fault, am I'm the only one who thought the Vulture was lame? He was so hollow and them tying it up with the whole Damage Control thing felt forced and rushed.

The high school stuff in this movie is awful. This movie was trying to so hard to be a John Hughes movie and it failed miserably. Homecoming was nothing like those movies. The teens in those movies were real, they smoked, drinked, swore, and acted like real teens. The supporting teen cast in Homecoming are nothing but terrible caricatures. Liz is a stock love interest with all the personality of a dry brick. She's useless and Laura Harrier and Tom Holland have zero chemistry. I never bought that these two liked each other. All they're very few scenes together are awkward. Flash was turned from a big jock bully bully into a annoying little doucebag who's about as threatening as a newborn kitten. Ned is stock fat friend comic relief who's not funny at all. Michelle was some wannabe hipster Daria type girl who hate everything. She served no purpose and the twist with character at the end was so forced and stupid. Aunt May's transformation into an object of male gaze/desire (and nothing more). No mention of Uncle Ben which is ridiculous. I didn't need to see him die again, but replacing Tony Stark as Uncle Ben's place as a father figure is absolutely ludicrous!

Dull washed out cinematography. This looked like a TV movie. Michael Giacchino's uninspired score. Bad CGI on Spiderman, it looked WAY too cartoon. The action scenes were forgettable and had zero stakes. The Rubble scene had potential but it was poorly done, rushed, and ruined by water reflection with Tony's voice over. It's sucks because Holland acted his but off in that scene. All the Avengers/MCU references were forced and shoehorned it was eye rolling. The worst was the F, Marry, Kill game with Thor, Hulk, and Iron Man during the gym class. Really??? Speaking of gym class, those Captain America PSA segments were unfunny pointless filler. Jon Watts was a poor pick to direct this movie. His direction is bland and uncreative. He also doesn't know how to direct action scenes. At least the Raimi movie had their own distinctive zany kooky style. Homecoming looks like every other MCU movie. This movie also had 6, yes SIX writers and it's shows.

The The forced diversity is so in your face. His best friends is Filipino, love interest is biracial, his bully is Guatemalan, weird girl is black, the Chinese and African kid on the decathlon team. No story-line progression. The movie is Peter wants to impress Mr. Stark to become an Avenger. That's.... it. The terrible childish comedy. "Hur duh penis parker", "I was watching porn", "your aunt is so hot". This is the comedy were supposed to laugh at? What was with the cringe built by slaves comment in the Washington scene? That has no place in a spider-man movie.

Bottom line! Spiderman: Homecoming is another over-hyped Summer blockbuster that will be forgotten about after a month which is exactly what happened. These MCU movies have no staying power. I already forgot Guardians 2 came out 3 months ago. By the way that movie also sucked too!
246 out of 430 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is one of the worst SpiderMan Movie.
aleeeisonfire30 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Simply awful.

This is not Spider Man, is a new superhero.

And all the secondary characters was political correct, with a lot diverse ethnic people, just to make the movie more modern. Diversity for the sake of diversity is a dumb thing. I needs creativity to make them fit right.

But creativity is something that Hollywood doesn't have.

I could write a much better script in just one damn day.

This is a movie for dumb kids. Even Tobey Maguire's Spiderman was better, with all those ridiculous things.

The only thing good is Tom Holand, who fits in the role. But that's the only thing.

The rest, is not spider man. Is a "Iron Spider Man With 1892987192 Suit Features but no sign of spider sense and his other abilities.

In case you guy don't know, SPIDERMAN don't need a suit because he is SUPER STRONG and FAST. He can easily defeat IronMan just to give you an example.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
not good
jidanu_lenesh29 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
How can people rate this movie with a straight A - 10 is beyond my comprehension ?!?!? Political correctness ... or are they just blind? I grew up watching spider man and there was no black mj or fat sidekick, aunt may wasn't sexy, no super spider suit made by iron man..... this movie was for children and only for them. I'm old enough to have children and i still love cartoons, but this movie made Tobey Maguire spiderman look good and i hate first spider man movie. Michael Keaton is a good actor and he deliver a good performance as the villain, but that isn't good enough. I don't need to remember how spider man got his powers but i need to see that he understand that with great power, comes great responsibility..... or this is not the case.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
BEST Spiderman of all time
Travis Hancock13 July 2017
I have to say this is one of the best marvel ever made Tom Holland has got to be the best spider-man ever to act in the role the others were just the beginning of what Tom Holland can do to make the marvel cinematic universe a better world with super hero's. He could be the next best thin in marvel.
54 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Good Job Spidey!
ashchooko5 July 2017
This movie was totally off the hook. The storyline was amazing. It was completely hilarious and full of action at the same time. The graphics and choreography were both awesome. I enjoyed every moment of it. Love the new Spider-man suit. Robert Downey Jr/Iron Man was spectacular of course. Love his mentorship towards Spidey. Michael Keaton made a fantastic villain. I would recommend lots of people to view and savour this classical blockbuster masterpiece. This movie deserves 5/5 stars. Kudos!!!
55 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
The worst Spiderman ever!
michaeldlunney15 July 2017
This was the worst Spiderman ever made. The movie centers on Parker waiting for Tony Stark to call on him for another "mission". The movie centers on him watching the clock waiting for Tony's call. Spiderman's beginning was ignored completely and what the hell is with the side kick, the "chair guy"? Spiderman is already a well done story, do not mess with it. Keep it simple, with bad guys and lots of hero stuff. And what the hell is up with the MJ story line? Ignoring the fact that this film like some others have cowed to the politically correct crowd, the MJ in the movie appears like a loner, not really liked by others, clearly she isn't the MJ from the original story. She is kind of grungy, almost a homeless vibe to her. While watching the movie I observed 5 people who got up and left the theatre. It really isn't a fun movie.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
What a Spider-Man movie should always be
alec-812779 July 2017
Let me start by saying Spider-Man Homecoming is an absolute blast. It's everything you could want from a Spider-Man movie. Tom Holland did a fantastic job as Spider-Man. He was an interesting, lovable Peter Parker and an absolutely classic Spider-Man. Michael Keaton was an exceptional vulture. You couldn't ask for a better actor to play him. This also had a lot of very comedic moments so if you enjoy comedies, this would be a good movie to see. This is how Spider-Man should always be. Lovable, funny, kind of awkward and witty and that's exactly what we get from this movie that we didn't fully get in The Amazing Spider-Man movies. I noticed some people were comparing to Spider-Man 2 and saying which one was better. I think they are both awesome but they are also very different in certain ways. Overall, this is a fun flick for the whole family to watch. Not much more you could have asked for.
112 out of 190 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews