Save the Last Dance 2 (Video 2006) Poster

(2006 Video)

User Reviews

Add a Review
25 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
3/10
This Writer Should Not Be Allowed to Hold a Pen
nimbus-chick16 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
There were some good moments in STLD2, sure, but the few good ones could not make up for all the bad. In the first five minutes of this movie we saw an interview with no context (Who was interviewing her? Why? Documentary?) and a misfired Hamlet joke.

On the first appearance of the room mate, Zoe (who even has a cliché quirky brunette name) we see that the writer clearly doesn't even have the basic knowledge required for his craft. Zoe's trunk is full of random things that are nothing but random and there to paint her as the crazy whore drama kid. Thanks. I appreciate you stereotyping my people. When the skull was picked up and Zoe said that it was Hamlet, I almost turned off the movie. I don't think you can call yourself a writer if you are not familiar with the masterpiece of English speaking literature. THE SKULL IS YORIK! The rest of the movie follows in this way. Clichés, bad lines and jokes that don't quite make sense in context. There was a good moment where Miles (Columbus Short, the redeeming actor in this movie) plays the sound of ice cracking. That was pretty much it. The dances weren't that good and half of them were cut creatively so they didn't really have to show them. Half of one girl's dance was inter cut with the exact same "oh puh-lease" expression that the main actress kept pulling. It was painful.

The movie didn't address the race issue (which was half the point of its predecessor) and the conflict was a creation of the main character's head where she decided her boyfriend lied to her when in fact he never did. They never danced together either. So why was it a sequel? The movie also had an annoyingly self righteous message about conservatory schools. They painted the elite elimination of students in the lower half of the class as cruel. Sorry, in the real world you DON'T get an A for effort and people CHOOSE to go to conservatory schools for the elitism and the status they can achieve if they make it through. Boohoo, life isn't fair.

At the end of the movie I really hated the main character. She pretty much spat in the face of her teacher by refusing to go to the party. Instead of being grateful for her amazing opportunity and letting the old bird show her off for a few hours and then quitting ballet the next day, she had to embarrass her. It's not her fault you don't wanna be a ballerina! In the end I think someone else wrote Miles (Columbus Short) and then they hired a fifteen year old girl wannabe dancer to write the rest of the movie. Way to go. When there are so many talented writers who are struggling to make ends meet, you go and pay someone who should probably go be an accountant.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Terrible!!
leanne_hoadley198823 February 2007
This film has got to be one of the worst sequels ever produced. The plot line was poor, confusing and the ending was really unclear.

Characters who were in it just disappeared without any fuss.

No where near as good as number one.

This sequel goes down in flop history with:

Grease 2 & Dirty Dancing 2

Classics having their names ruined with producers who make one film to many!

I just wondering if any of the people who have written reviews have actually seen the film??

Total waste of money. I wouldn't recommend it at all!!!
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
i thought it was going to be poor, but you know what its not bad.....
lucasrulez10 December 2006
I've got to say when I first heard about a Save the last dance 2 I thought cheap knock off can never come near the original. Then when I saw the cast for this film i was even inclined to feeling this was going to be a poor sequel but you know what its not that bad...

I think that this is a fun lively little film its not a world beating film or anything like that but a good film to watch in the comfort of your home. I find this is probably one of the better dance films on the market at the moment and the love story element flowing in the background carries the film along nicely. I think perhaps 6/10 is a fair mark for this film.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good Entry
tedg2 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a sucker for dance movies, even teen dance movies.

Its one of the most basic pleasures, to see young people dance and if I am lucky, to dance with them.

I'll tell you straight out that this is one of the very best of these. Yes, it has problems. Those first. Its stuck with this teen notion of "being yourself," to not let adult traditions become expectations that guide your life. Like all such movies, it itself is a rigid expectation, and the "freedom" here has our gal move into the most commercially defined trend in all the world. Its hardly free and individual to follow an adult template (refined to capture your ticketfare) which guides you to a mere collection of styles (appropriated and packaged to collect other dollars).

Today, there is no genuine Hip Hop. Anywhere. And there are problems with the movie as well. There clearly were huge cuts. An entire story line involving a modern dance teacher seems to have been excised, even to the point that the actor isn't even credited! Some edits are really bad. All of the background characters are offensively trite.

And maybe the worst offense is that the hip hop dance sequences aren't energetically photographed. Shucks. Our girl, is pretty. Very pretty. But the makeup is so perfect and extreme that it fights the impression we are supposed to get.

Because this was made cheaply, it rents stock footage of New York and the exteriors of the center. One shot has the skyline with the twin towers. Its so jarring it breaks the flow.

But forget that, because what's good is very good. I saw this young actress in "Forsaken" where she was merely the designated boobs. She's come a long way. She's credible in this rather constrained character. She seems natural, perhaps because she actually went through a similar experience.

She really is a dancer, with a dancer's body. Strong back which we are allowed to see move. Ballet moves that because she is a real ballerina seem genuine. I see in the credits that she is doubled by a real dancer, but I could not see where. She is credible in both the ballet and "street" dancing.

The male interest is also playing a role close to who he is, or thinks he is. So he does well.

The story is a bit choppy, but it isn't at all the typical fare. There's a real surprise here that raises deeper issues of family than you expect. It really is nice to be surprised in the middle of one of these things. Its not predicable at all.

The one ballet performance is photographed well, really well. Its only few moments, but dear, borrowing from Altman and "Red Shoes." Now, let me tell you why I want you to see this. Teen projects almost exclusively start and end clumsily. Its because they are so formulaic they needn't introduce you to the world because you come to the theater already tuned. This project starts so expertly I was charmed from the start.

Our girl is in a chair with a small table, white background. She is speaking directly to us as if we were interviewing her. She explains the background of the predecessor movie as the background behind her changes. It seems she is controlling the staging of what we see while she is giving it.

This is a scriptwriter's intelligence. The central notion in all these is to fold the audience in the theater to one on screen watching the climactic performance. This opening tells us that we will be a folded audience all the way through. Its a schooled technique, but I was glad to see it.

The story comes to a close with all sorts of hanging threads. In an ordinary production, you'd see each of these in turn being resolved. Does she quit? Does she move in? How are the upset parental issues resolved? Thankfully, all these are left hanging. The final image we see is our girl in a frozen ecstatic leap, in the midst of a fusion dance, free. In a sort of Olivia Newton John wild girl outfit. Juices flowing.

Ted's Evaluation -- 3 of 3: Worth watching.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
adequate
mattkratz17 November 2006
This wasn't too bad a movie. It was basically about following your dreams and dealing with adversity along the way. Although I had basically seen the movie before with different titles (if you get my meaning), I thought the movie was good. Izabella Miko was good in the lead role as she performed the dance scenes well. Those scenes, by the way, were spectacular! (especially the ballet scenes and the part at a night club) While the themes of the movie were familiar, I found this movie to be refreshing and a good way to spend less than an hour and a half. I would recommend it.

** 1/2 out of ****
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Worth your time
Hazem Elshabini3 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
What i didn't expect about (Save The Last Dance 2) is that a movie made for a home release only can be that good. To be honest it's almost an exact replica of (Save The Last Dance), same plot, same dance styles. However a different cast and a slightly different story could make you enjoy this one just as much you enjoyed (Save The Last Dance). The acting was good enough, directing was OK, although the editing was quite bizarre, scenes were like suddenly changing that at some point made the movie a little bit hard to follow at a certain plot twist. Izabella Miko and her fabulous look and her excellent dancing style was the best thing in the movie. also the music chosen in the movie really fits. To sum up i think this movie is worth your time. i hope you enjoy it. .
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Izabella Miko and the Dance Choreography Make It Worth
Claudio Carvalho25 May 2009
Sara (Izabella Miko) joins Julliard in New York to fulfill hers and her mother dream and become the prima ballerina of the school. She befriends her roommate Zoe (Aubrey Dollar) and Miles (Columbus Short), who gives classes of hip-hop. She has ballet classes with the rigid and famous Monique Delacroix (Jacqueline Bisset) that she idolizes and Monique requires full commitment, discipline and hard work from her students. When Miles, who is a composer that researches sounds, invites Sara to help him in the dance choreography of his music, Sara's passion for hip- hop arises and she falls in love for Miles. When she is assigned to perform Giselle in an important event, she feels divided between the technique of the ballet and the creative work offered by Miles.

"Save the Last Dance 2" is a messy romance, full of incoherencies. For example, Sara's dream has always been to join Julliard and become the prima ballerina. Her mother died while driving to see her audition. However, when she has just accomplished success and recognition, she concludes that ballet is a mechanical repetition of steps and movements and she throws her promising career in the garbage in an absurd impulse. The relationship between Miles and Monique is ridiculous. I could list many other flaws in the story, but "Save the Last Dance 2" is also pleasant and entertaining if the viewer does not think much about the plot. Last but not the least, Izabella Miko and the dance choreography make it worth. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "No Balanço do Amor 2" ("In the Swing of Love 2")
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
loved it, definitely buying it :)
Heather Heistand9 October 2006
I liked this movie just about as much as the first, if not more. I know it's odd to say that about a sequel, and a sequel going straight to DVD without it's original cast no less, but I really liked it. I thought it was a good movie about following your heart and finding your place and passion. Some people are saying that it has the same storyline as the original, but I didn't see that. I thought it was completely different. There are different people, different surroundings. Sara is already at Julliard in this one and she's in love with rap and hip-hop music at this point. How can you be more different than that? This movie talks about the love of dance whichever way your dreams take you.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Very well done dance movie.
santill2829 October 2006
I really enjoyed this movie. Most Hollywood dance movies are very poorly done, simply because they rarely cast anyone with the requisite training to make the dancing sequences enjoyable, believable, or even worth watching. Ballet is not something you can pick up in 6 months of intense training. Prior to watching the movie, I looked up the lead actress, and was delighted to find she actually has had classic dance training. That became very clear, watching her dance. The movie does have a few nice plot twists, as far as the relationships of the key characters. I also enjoyed the portrayal of Julliard.

Excellent movie, if you enjoy dance, and, have danced, or been involved with the world of ballet, or modern dance.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Don't See If You Liked the First
the_green_monster19 January 2007
This was a terrible movie with a bad plot line. They repeated the same story line as the first but with a different love interest for the same main character. The girl that they got to play Sara however was a terrible actress and was like watching a bad car crash. They had her in red gothy lipstick throughout the entire film that was distracting and unlike Sara. I can't even remember the dancing or the music because all I could think of was how bad this movie is. It totally ruined a great movie and now I am going to have to try to forget that I ever saw it in the first place. I honestly only watched it because it was on t.v. and there was nothing better to watch. It did not relay the message as the first one did. It sent out weird racial messages and was a disgusting display of how Hollywood is out of original ideas. I'd hate to be the writer of this script.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews