Sabah (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Add a Review
39 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
cute
amalkhalaf29 November 2006
i watched this film in Bahrain yesterday at the Regardes des femmes film festival run by the Alliance Francaise. it was great to see a film portraying an Arab family abroad and the love story between people from two cultures. although there were some shortcomings in the acting and delivery- as well as a few really dodgy scenes- i enjoyed this movie and laughed a lot...and i related so well to the experiences of the house and of the main character Sabah. I also loved the music and the theme tune and have been singing it all day. Overall, i was very happy to have had the opportunity to see this film and to support a young talented director who tells stories of a world that i cannot always see on the big screen.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Blows my "Big Fat Greek Wedding" out the water.
plowe164 April 2006
Let's face it: SABAH, a joyous feature concerning a Toronto Muslim woman discovering romance for the first time is everything MY BIG FAT OVERRATED Greek WEDDING should have been: hilariously funny, deeply moving, intensely profound, and wonderfully romantic- and I say this as a thirty-something male who doesn't normally like romantic comedies.

Sabah (Arsinée Khanjian) has just turned 40. Bu she's feeling the pressure of having to take care of her elderly mother, all the while trying to live up to the dogmatic standards of her overly protective brother Majid (Jeff Seymour). Taking a break from tradition, Sabah decides to go for a dip in a nearby public swimming pool. There she (literally) bumps into Stephen (Shawn Doyle) a blue-eyed, barrel-chested Caucasian. Needless to say, the twain has met as Sabah conspires to see Stephen whenever she can behind her family's back. Meanwhile, Sabah's increasingly western niece Souhaire (Fadia Nadda, the director's sister) is trying to get out of an arranged marriage that the family's inflicting on her.

Needless to say, East meets West, as it does in other culture-clash comedies, such as DOUBLE HAPPINESS, BEND IT LIKE BECKMAN, and A TOUCH OF PINK. But it's the romantic sparks that fly between Khanjian and Doyle that make this film so engaging. After years of playing the cold fish in her husband's more esoteric films, Khanjian is so bubbly, passionate, sexy, and winsome in this role that it feels like she's actually enjoying herself on screen for the first time (here she should have won the Genie award for best actress as opposed to ARARAT). Moreso, the romance between her and Doyle is believable as well as passionate, complemented by an appropriately dry performance by Doyle as Sabah's ideal, if slightly naive, Canadian Mr. Right.

It also reminds one how phony MY BIG FAT Greek WEDDING actually was. There, Nia Vardalos's relationship was consummated way too quickly, resulting in a film where the happy ending begins in the middle of the story. But here, the romance is far more believable, because every baby step Sabah makes towards Stephen becomes in itself a step to self-discovery. And yet, it never becomes a case of a poor little Muslim girl being freed by some great white hope, but a woman discovering her own independence, finding romance on her own terms.

Also, whereas BIG FAT Greek WEDDING ended up little more than an episode of THE KING OF KENSINGTON, where anyone ethnic is either too loud, hairy or boisterous, Nadda eschews the stereotypes and is able to get laughs without derision or condescension. The tension in Sabah's family, especially between her and Majid (brilliantly played by Jeff Seymour) says volumes more about the complexities of Muslim culture than anything Hollywood could come up with. And it's a fun panacea to the likes of such media nabobs as Margaret Wente or Daniel Pipes who continually preach to us about the evils of middle-Eastern culture or multiculturalism. Mind you, they wouldn't know what to do with a film like SABAH. It just doesn't exist in their books.

Suffice it to say, Nadda's first feature is my feel good comedy for the year. It makes me proud to be Canadian. It makes me want to stand up for multiculturalism. It makes me feel good to be human.

(EXTRA NOTE: I actually chanced upon SABAH when it had its North American premiere last year at the NSI's Film Exchange Festival in Winnnipeg. I was in a bad mood at the time, but half hour into the film I was elated. Actually, the film, due to a projectionist's error, had to be rescheduled to be played again the following Saturday afternoon. Nadda, in the film's DVD commentary, even admitted this to being a painful moment. But just to let her know: I was so in love with the main character's story, I came for the following screening and even got to meet Khanjian herself (who was present at the screening), who was as every bit as charming as the character she played. So don't feel bad, Rubba. It was worth the extra wait. As a result, I convinced the local Winnipeg Cinematheque to theatrically screen it, paying money two more times just to see it. Will be buying the DVD soon. Promise.)
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great movie
derhrug4 April 2006
Wow to think i loved Arsinee Khanjian without seeing this movie just sounds meaningless afterward. Great acting especially by the 2 main actors and great beat to the movie... it has that factor in it that keeps you watching every second of it, and disappointed if you miss any... Shawn Doyle is just amazing... great facial expressions and mostly superb chemistry between him and Arsinee... they simply click. The story is very well built and mounts up to a great ending... it's one of those stuff that you know will end this way but still once it's done you're thinking it wasn't exactly as you had thought in a very good way. Hats off!!! And to more and more successes Mrs. Khanjian Egoyan...
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good movie with some comments
Mohamed Abolsoud21 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Overall, I liked the movie. It is a light, comedy, romantic movie. I think the main reason people loved this movie is the Arabic culture which is rarely presented in western movies. As a Muslim and Arab as well, I can tell that from a point of view of Canadian or American this is Romantic lovely story, but from my point of view there are lots of contradiction in this movie.

How a 40 years old women living in the Canada for this long, wearing Hegab and refusing to let a man to seize her hand will jump to bed with him that easy. The fast changing of the family and especially the brother look to the lady's boyfriend is funny. Accepting your sister to spend a night with here boyfriend this is non realistic. Also, the end is like a fast systematic happy end. It could be written much better.

To be honest, I think that this movie presents Canadian people with Arabian culture, not Arabian people living in Canada. That's why I liked this movie. And by the way, these women don't know how to dance. They are not good dancers at all.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautiful film, dramatic, funny, uplifting and there's belly dancing!
Mustaser13 April 2005
I loved this movie! What a great portrayal of Arab-Canadians. Refreshing to see a change to negative stereotypes out there! The director spoke about how there are many different sides to the culture and religion and how she chose to show a lighter and more humane side. Thank god for that. As an Arab man, I appreciated seeing the culture in a different context; a more positive context. And it was so funny. I look forward to seeing it again and definitely recommend it to people. Why can't Canada make more films like this? It was a genuinely thoughtful film. An inspiring, uplifting tale that was very well supported by a brilliant cast (Arsinee Khanjian belly dances!! And she laughs and smiles and flirts. Definitely a first) Excellent directing.

Let's hope Hollywood doesn't steal our talented director away.
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the best films I've seen this year.
speels911 April 2005
I just came back from seeing a special screening of this film. And wow, what a charming little movie. I really appreciated the opportunity to sit back and be witness to another unfamiliar culture. I think it is an important story, and well told. A moving portrayal that illustrated many positive aspects of an often maligned culture. Sensitive definition of the many different conflicts that can occur in the life of an unmarried older woman. Humour made all the characters very real. The acting was excellent. Charming and lovely story and it was very nice to see Muslim culture portrayed on screen. Absolutely fantastic. The provocative subject matter was beautifully handled. I loved every minute. This is a winner, and lots of humour. And belly dancing! Wow.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic movie, well made, excellently acted and directed
miester100013 April 2005
I have never been a fan of Canadian films so I was a little apprehensive when I heard this one was. But boy was I shocked. Canada should be so proud it's broken it's boring and predictable phase of bad film-making. Sabah is a beautiful story about a Muslim woman who falls in love with a man who is not Arab nor Muslim. It's a touching tale and heartbreaking because you want so badly for Sabah (beautifully -beautifully!! played by Arsinee Khanjian) to turn out well. I left this theater feeling so happy, so uplifted, so good. I really hope this film gets it's success. I adored this film. It's refreshing to see a clean and funny film. I will definitely recommend it to everyone! A Great (Canadian) Film.
26 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
both personal film and populist entertainment
Jawsphobia27 May 2005
There was an excellent audience reaction to the comedic beats in the screening I attended (as well as all-too-audible thoughts from a guy in the row behind me) so the movie pushes buttons in a light-handed way that earns empathy without cheapening the conflicts and customs it represents. For those of us outside of those trappings, they serve as a metaphor. The story is very relatable. Ruba Nadda's early films had glimpses of humor, but this one is so well integrated scene-for-scene that it feels (in a good way) like Hollywood product. In fact, the trailer I saw didn't do it justice, because a lot of the charm comes from story context and the overall groove of the movie in progress. A Jewish friend I saw this movie with remarked on how she strongly identified with characters and situations which happen to be Arab in origin. The other person I saw it with found many of the family and story dynamics familiar, but it will be clear to most people that Ruba Nadda has mined these areas in a way that makes it all ring as fresh. As a screenwriter myself I suggest that the script can be studied for its briskness and conciseness and a certain fairness in the layers of conflict and consequence as each character speaks up and manages to change our own judgment a bit. But I wouldn't call this a message movie. That stuff may be a bonus. The movie is fun. And in a market that can get pretty stuffy, that is a huge accomplishment. One review referred to an "overly earnest" moment, but I way no evidence of that. The performances play as they should. Ruba has quietly made what may be my favorite current Canadian movie. To be more true to genre, I can safely say that if you liked Moonstruck, there is a good chance you will like Sabah (though it contains no disfiguring injuries nor contemplations of death as far as I recall).
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent film, very, very entertaining, sweet, and funny.
Rusack11 April 2005
I just came back from seeing this movie at a private screening (the film is supposed to open in theaters in Canada end of May). I thought it was spectacular. The film is about a 40 year old Arab woman (beautifully played by Arsinee Khanjian) who is Muslim and traditional and still living with her mother and overbearing family who falls in love one day with a Caucasian man. The movie left me feeling completely exhilarated. I've had many Muslim friends and to date they're culture and life has never been accurately portrayed. This film shows another side to the culture; a more universal side. I loved it. It was incredibly entertaining. It's a serious subject matter but it has been dealt with in such a humorous way that at times, I found myself not only laughing but clapping throughout the film as well. The audience around me were really into this film too. The belly dancing made me want to get up and dance and the classic way the film was shot was reminiscent of Breakfast at Tiffany's. I want to buy the soundtrack and the DVD when it comes out! Arsinee Khanjian was alive, vulnerable and quite stunning. She jumped off the screen. I really liked Shawn Doyle too who played the love interest. He played him in a very natural, sweet way. This has got to be Ms. Khanjian's best performance to date. This film is definitely the best Canadian film to come out this year.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fun movie, you feel great after-wards
kelgours54512 June 2005
Sabah is interesting. On one level, it's a love story between an Arab woman and a Canadian man, it's funny, endearing and incredibly sweet. But the great thing about Sabah, is the deeper level it goes to and succeeds with. Many people are happy we live in a multi cultural city like Toronto. But many people are completely unknowing with the person standing next to them on the platform of the subway. The humour that arises from Sabah is quite brilliant. The director doesn't make fun of the culture or religion. The characters themselves are funny which is so simple feat to accomplish. I loved this movie. It's a perfect spring/summer movie. It left me wanting more. A job well done.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great, must see movie! Excellent !
rogers487612 June 2005
A very refreshing Canadian film, dealing with fundamental Canadian issues that have never been filmed. "Sabah" is such an admirable and excellent film. It's a funny, warm, and humane film that focuses on a family that happens to be Arab and Muslim. I hope that it doesn't get reduced to a copycat of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" because this film deserves to stand on its own merits. It doesn't deserve to live in the shadow of such a shallow, callous, and crude film that just happened to hit it lucky. I hope that good marketing and word of mouth builds a healthy audience for this film. Whenever something is a made in Canada, people demean it because it lacks a Hollywood pedigree. Because Atom Egoyan is one of the executive producers, perhaps it will find an audience willing to approach Canadian film with an open mind and a big heart. You can tell that this is a carefully made film. Sabah is well wrapped in her tightly fastened hijab and plain overcoat, but then, as she removes the hair covering, one finds that provocative hair that drives Stephen crazy with love. Even the overcoat reveals this fiery fuchsia lining that shows life and passion. A later scene shows her weaving a light blue scarf, a blue knit top that compliments Stephen's blue sweater. The head scarf is not tightly knotted this time as hair protrudes from the hijab. Her acclimatization to Canadian culture and Stephen's warmth is inevitable.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I don't even know where to begin…
darkfalafel26 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Sabah, a Syrian Muslim girl living with her family in Canada. Her father is dead, she is taking care of her mother, while her brother, a dominating Muslim male type, takes care of the whole family. She's about 40 years old, single. One day, she meets Stephen, a non-Muslim Canadian, and they start to like each other.

Sabah, wears a Hijab. She met Stephen at a swimming pool, the only way where she can escape from her brother and his restriction. As she struggles with her self to take off her hijab, and get into her swimming suite, and enjoy some freedom away from her family's eyes. Stephen was like a bless, to have someone, specially a 'foreigner', to actually like her.

Obviously, the clash of civilizations begin.

Nobody can deny that this is a complicated issue, and reality is harsh for a big part of Muslim women. Bad use and interpretation of religion, ignorant cultural traditions has it's impact on Muslim and Arabic women till today.

In order for a filmmaker to approach and explore such a difficult subject cinematically, the film with all it's components should be hired in an 'artistic' way to be able to convince people of it's case. If the artistic quality is low, it will affect the plot, the judgment, and it will turn into bad propaganda. Roba Nadda clearly had a message to deliver, but it failed miserably, this is bad propaganda.

Even for a non-practicing Muslim like me, I find this very. Infusing ridiculous events and scenes to get the viewer's attention is really a cheap way to handle such topic. The prayer and cleavage scene, the over-used oriental dancing scenes, the Muslims don't do this and that (although it is real), and the mother's ridiculous character with her cheap B-movie acting, and not to forget using music to stir up emotions, really (Spoiler coming up) There is a problem, but the film doesn't provide a 'real' solution, they don't approach it from a religious point of view, or even cultural. Through the film's length, all problems are shown, Sabah tells Stephen why she can't do this and that, until the development of the story to a dramatic acceptance, and a cheap ' Happily Ever After' ending. Just to be fair, Arsinée Khanjian acting was good, other than that, this is worthless.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Light-hearted comedy
Ryu_Darkwood6 June 2007
I have a hard time judging this movie. I must admit that it's a nice, light-hearted comedy that tries to break down nasty stereo types and humanizes our Muslim brothers. But on the other hand the movie is full off strange contradictions. Take the character Sabah, for example. She chooses to wear a hi jab but does things that are completely in opposite with that choice, like drinking wine, having pre marital sex, kissing on the street with a man, etc. That just didn't feel right. It's as if the Islam is just a small layer that has to be conquered to live a free life, and that it is a good thing to drop your own religious morals and values.

I know some young, independent and intellectual women that made the choice to wear a hi jab while still respecting it's meaning. They aren't forced by evil brothers ( the cliché used in Sabah... ), they chose for expressing some virtues by wearing a strong religious symbol. Other women that I know dropped the hi jab and live a life like western women would. That's just as good as wearing it, but they're not pretending anything either...

What Sabah is doing is pretending virtues for the outside world by wearing that specific religious symbol, but while living a life that's contradicting that. It's fairly safe to say that having pre marital sex and drinking alcohol is against the Quaran. It's like a pacifist joining the army, or a socialist with a Ferrari.

Sabah is a woman that can't choose, not the heroine that the movie wants to make out of her. She'd have my respect if she either chose to drop the hi jab and have the western ''freedom'', or if she chose to keep it on and accept its responsibilities. Now she's just someone that doesn't choose, but keeps pretending something she's not. (--- I say this knowing that she's a fictional character, of course my opinion would be less strong if she was a human of flesh and blood. It's the message that the movie gives with her heroine that doesn't suit me, not that some Muslim women have sex before marriage or drink beer or anything.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great must see movie
suzan_hale18 April 2005
I just saw this movie and am not sure when it will be coming out in the States but I recommend everyone to see. It's a very simple, beautiful story about a 40 year old Muslim woman who falls in love with a Caucasian man. The storyline, acting, everything is handled so well and there were so many times I found myself laughing out loud. Arsinee Khanjian (who plays title role of SABAH) is heart breaking. We've all been there, a lovely movie for everyone. I just hope the title doesn't deter people. Much better film than "My big fat Greek Wedding". Really touching movie.

I quite enjoyed it. Arsinee Khanjian gives an stand out performance.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good, but could have been better....
toosweet4u7917 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I enthusiastically went to see this film expecting an Arabic version of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" but with more catastrophe. I expected a glimpse into the traditions of a culture, it's dating habits, it's familial responsibilities and how culture and family intermingle with personal happiness. To that extent, the film did a wonderful job. The film was appropriately titled "Sabah" meaning "Dawn". I believe that anyone who is not an Arab will watch this and get a glimpse of understanding into a culture they often find mysterious. I think that Arabs will watch it and do the knowing nods, laugh hysterically at all the wonderful humour in the film, but have a few critiques. As an Arab Christian woman, with Muslim friends, and knowledge of Arab culture and tradition, I found some points in the film shocking - I mean when would a traditional Muslim woman go from being afraid of holding a man's hand to jumping into bed with him? And comeon!!! A happy ending after that? Give me a break!!

Although a film about Canadian-Arabs was long overdue, I feel that the soundtrack could have been much better, especially for the belly dancing!!! I also wondered why actors/actresses were cast for this role whose Arabic, although completely understandable, was not very fluent.

I still would recommend this film, but not with the same enthusiasm that compelled me to go see it.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent and very important movie
JustineJeffreys20 July 2005
I had the luck of being taken to see SABAH in Montreal. An Arab friend wanted to go see it and had heard the filmmaker was going to be in attendance for a question and answer period afterwards. Well, I loved it. It's a story that has been told before but here it deals with a Muslim woman and as far as I am concerned, in Cinema, this has never been dealt with. At first, I was confused, this is after all the 21st Century. What's the big deal; A Muslim woman who falls in love with someone who is not Muslim ! But I was swept up with the humour, the humane touch and the beautiful performances and quite loved it at the end. Then I was brought back to reality when two women who claimed to be Muslim (they were wearing a head scarf but I was confused as it was a very fashionable way to wear a head scarf) attached the filmmaker for portraying a Muslim falling in love. Wow I thought. I believed we lived in an age where choice was valued but not to these woman. I walked out of the movie theatre with a much bigger understanding of just how difficult it is to be a Muslim woman and how wonderful the movie SABAH is and just how courageous the filmmakers for making it!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fun, light-hearted movie about a serious topic
Rishona018 June 2005
This topic of falling in love with someone of a different culture and religion has been done so many times but never this light hearted, sweet and with so much belly dancing. The writer really put a nice story that goes beyond the laughs that keep it light to really portray a message of "why can't we all just get along?" The lead actress is sometimes awkwardly unpretty and at other times just stunningly gorgeous! She reminds me of Ingrid Bergman / Isabella Rosselini look when she's looking like a swan. And her acting was superb. She was very believable in all her shy moments and as she blossomed. I did see it as part of the Seattle International Film Festival and was thrilled to learn some behind the scenes stuff, such as motivation for movie, that writer's younger sister is the young girl in the movie and other interesting tidbits. I highly recommend this movie and one that you could bring your kids or parents, no matter what your background.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wonderful and Uplifting film.
gh867j9 May 2005
I found Sabah to be a wonderful film.

Sabah is about the idea of love being bigger than culture, religion and tradition. Of two people who come from different backgrounds, somehow surpassing this.

It's so good to see these types of stories, of women living in two cultures, being strong and yet being true and proud of who they are and where they come from. These stories, where we show what we can bring to both cultures, is so important. Beautiful film, in so many ways.

I will definitely recommend this one to friends!

Fabulous, great, entertaining, funny, happy. Sabah is an "A" quality film.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
So far away from reality.
FilmCriticLalitRao26 June 2007
I saw this film at films de femmes International women's film festival at Créteil,a suburb of Paris in France in 2006 where it was the opening film. It pleased most of the viewers especially the French audiences were most impressed.For them it offered a nice opportunity to watch all the melodrama, songs and dances. However there are some serious, glaring defects in this film. First of all the portrayal of the lead character Sabah is so distant,aloof, cold and hardly convincing. Somehow one gets a feeling that she is not able to connect to others around her. This is also true of the actor who played her brother.In real life this chap is Canadian and he was asked to play the role of a Jordanian guy !! This is a gross casting error. How unusual. In "Sabah" the fun elements might please casual viewers but more serious viewers might feel that it is a kind of ruse adopted by the filmmaker in order to hide the scenario's drawbacks. If you have seen films by the master of modern English language Canadian cinema Atom Egoyan, you might be tempted to watch this film. The reason : he is the executive producer of this film.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Excellent, highly recommended and one of Canada's best for 2005
phbalanced18 January 2006
A beautiful, funny and entertaining story which brings back memories of another indie Canadian film a few years ago called DOUBLE HAPPINESS by Mina Shum. Sabah is the name and film title about a 40 year old single Muslim woman who meets and dates a non-Muslim man and tries to hide it from her domineering brother who's in charge of running the family. Sounds serious but it's a light hearted comedy which has some serious moments. Story is about family loyalty, romance and friendship. Great performances by the beautiful and one of Canada's most outstanding actresses, Arsinee Khanjian as Sabah and Shawn Doyle as her non-Muslim boyfriend, well-known series lead from the Canadian TV series "The Eleventh Hour". Overall, a wonderful film. Thumbs up and hope it's a Genie contender this year.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great movie, a classic, deeply moving
shelleys678 June 2005
I went to see the second screening of this film at the Seattle Film Festival after hearing so much about it from so many different people. An I glad I had a chance to go. This movie gave me hope, made me feel great, made me laugh and sigh. I was surprised to see how young the director was, after all she is telling the story of a 40 year old woman and she couldn't be older than 25! But she was so articulate and endearing. I hope Sabah comes to the US. It's such a simple story, that has been told so many times but incredibly, here, it feels fresh and original and terribly funny. Wonderful movie. Great to see and support a young director at the start of her career. If you have a chance, watch Sabah. It will make you re-think love. It will make you want to fall in love again.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Unoriginal
jonathancee25 August 2006
This movie offers nothing new to the audience. They basically put this script through a spaghetti machine and this was the end product. Id rather throw my nine dollars in the street and watch bums fight over it. It is my Big Fat Greek Wedding meets Bend It Like Beckham without the football or the Greeks. The only good part about this movie is the opening score which kind of moved me a little. I can't understand why people like this movie so much. It tries to be another film that dips into multiculturalism but in the end just falls short of being a good movie period. The main actress seems to only get work when movies are produced by her husband. There is your ten lines IMDb!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Bending the Rules
Liza_Standish21 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Sabah A Love Story is exactly that, It's not meant to be a Documentary of Muslim Life. Its a Love Story. Set in Canada, Sabah's story spans a period of a year, begins on her 40th Birthday, ends on her 41st . Sabah brilliantly played by the Award Winning Arsinée Khanjian, is a woman who has been deprived of a life, in order to look after their Mother. Sabah and Steven's relationship begins at a Community swimming pool. Swimming is something she used to love and has not done in a very long time. Their attraction to one another is instant; they meet weekly at the pool followed by coffee or Lunch. Get to know each other, their common likes such as Opera, Steven begins to learn lessons of what pursuing a relationship with this woman will mean. Steven reveals at one of their coffee clutches that he is divorced, Sabah is void of understanding "Divorce". She fears this may have killed any real hope of furthering their relationship, when Steven asks her out on a real date. But Sabah must keep this relationship a secrete from: Her older sister, Shaheera, is Conservative, and looking Marry her, westernized daughter, Souhaire, off to the highest bidder, older brother, Majid, head of the family, who tries to rule with an Iron Fist. Majid's Wife Amal, modern and has her own secrets. Souhaire, the only one to know about Steven and her Mother who is somewhere between Conservative and Modern. Again this is not a Documentary, it's a story. As Sabah's love for Steven grows, her ability to "Bend the Rules" does also. Sabah emotionally moves away from her family and closer to Steven. Steven tries to understand Sabah and Islam. Sabah tries to bend with out breaking to the point of Loosing her family or Steven. The Acting by the Leads is Strong, their chemistry, remarkable. The ensemble is good. The Dancing is Great! No rated, there is one use of foul language, No nudity but yes an Adult situation, lets be honest, Day Time Soap Operas are more offensive than Sabah A Love Story. Likely would have been PG.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Ugh
rehabpatail-769-71234916 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
In a nutshell, "Sabah" is a lot of Arab stereotypes rolled into one and sends the wrong message about Muslim women. This is not something I usually care to defend but throughout the entire movie, all Sabah does is contradict herself. "Oh I can't do this because Islam says not to but hey, let me change 40 years of beliefs within a matter of a few minutes/days".

I understand it's a movie and it's supposed to be lighthearted and whatnot but come on, this is extremely unrealistic for a movie that's trying to portray a situation a lot of Muslim women in the Western world are going through. Her transitions make no sense at all.

SPOILER Does no one find it strange that her sister-in-law's affair is a topic that doesn't even get touched after it's been introduced? What was the point of bringing it up in the first place? SPOILER

I don't know how people who have no experience with Islam and the Arab culture feel about this movie but as someone who does, I can say it sucked. A lot. A LOT. It was...just horrid. I don't think a minute went by when I didn't cringe or groan out of disbelief.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This film has soul!
harp2wing15 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
For anyone who is looking for a love story that brings to the table verve, joy in life, a rare kind of courage, and beauty both musical and visual, look no further. SABAH has all of these.

Picture a woman, 40 years old--never touched by love that sweeps one off the feet. Then picture her Muslim, in a family governed by tradition, and add the spice: a non-Muslim man lost in love with this 40 year old woman, and you have a wonderful story that crosses boundaries.

It shows a woman who thought herself uncaring of marriage blossom suddenly, learning to make the most of the beauty that was already there. It shows surprise and wonder as a shy woman comes slowly out of her shell, coming fully into herself. It shows a man who sees his heart in that woman--and her courage to stand for that love.

The music is wonderful. The actors all make you feel that you are a part of their story, as if you are a guest who knows them well, and can only hope for the best outcome. It also shows how two cultures can clash, then blend in the magical way that humans can manage, when the heart is there to do so.

Watch this movie. Explore its colors. And prepare to be enchanted.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews